Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wolfenstein is Resurrected
This game is fantastic! The graphics may look old and flat when compared to games such as Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance, but the still get the job done. Return to castle wolfenstein: operation resurrection is an update to the PC original, with new levels and new cutscenes. You play as B.J. Blazkowicz, who is (As in all First Person Shooter games) a one man army whom...
Published on 4 Aug 2003 by saneperson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bog Standard
I agree with Chris Kippers review, or at least the PS2 parts.

This game is a bog standard first person shooter. Not great, not particularly bad, just average. You run, gun, kick things and open things. Later on there are zombies and Nazis etc.

The games has a DOOM feel about it (by the same developer). Graphics are a bit rough and the sound is...
Published on 17 Dec 2008 by Duncan McDonald


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wolfenstein is Resurrected, 4 Aug 2003
This review is from: Return to Castle Wolfenstein: Operation Resurrection (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is fantastic! The graphics may look old and flat when compared to games such as Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance, but the still get the job done. Return to castle wolfenstein: operation resurrection is an update to the PC original, with new levels and new cutscenes. You play as B.J. Blazkowicz, who is (As in all First Person Shooter games) a one man army whom the balance of victory is counting on. The action is fast-paced and varied. One minute your in a top secret nazi lab, trying to destroy the deadly X-Creatures, the next your sneaking round a snow coated village, silently assasinating the nazi officers. The weapons are OK, if not very varied. The enemies are quite inteligent andare varied. There are the standand nazis, zombies, Huge part robot, part organic beasts with Telsa guns, and leathered up girls. The game is often compared with Medal of Honor: Frontline. It shouldn't be. They are both great for differant reasons. But the game Is longer than MOH:FL and has lot more to do in it. But this game doesn't have Multi-player, which lets it down. But all in all, this is a great game that all FPS fans should buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheeky Yank takes out the Hun and his zombie buddies, 15 July 2004
This review is from: Return to Castle Wolfenstein: Operation Resurrection (PS2) (Video Game)
Immediatly satisfying and atmospheric. I was able to become quickly addictive and was able to put aside all my fatherly duties and concentrate on what is truely a quality game. My children were particuarly horrified when I came accross the half man half microwave demons known as Lopers. Taking out these reborn road kills with the aptly named venom gun gave a sence of real acheivement.
I am currently nearing the end of the mission which fills me with dread as i will have to engage with family members and re-engage what is left of my social life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tense, atmospheric FPS!, 10 Feb 2004
This review is from: Return to Castle Wolfenstein: Operation Resurrection (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought this PS2 game on the cheap after it's price had been slashed. To be honest, I didn't really know what to expect, and am pleased to say that I was pleasantly surprised. It has a good, evolving storyline, good graphics, lots of variety, and a great atmosphere!
There's a good mix of killing Nazis (either in a rain of bullets from a variety of authentic weapons, stealthily with a knife, or with a discrete sniper shot from afar), and killing zombies and monsters. It's actually quite a creepy game, especially if played late at night with the lights off. Or maybe I'm just a girl....
And there's great variety in terms of locations/weather etc. You start off in hot, dusty, bright Africa, then you're off to dampy, dark Germany, then icy cold Castle Wolfenstein, including riding down the cable car to the town, then it's off to the Forest for some Medal-of-Honour style battles. In fact, that's as far as I've got, which is probably 50% of the way through the game.
So in summary, great value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Class., 13 Oct 2003
By 
Mondo (teenchat.com) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Return to Castle Wolfenstein: Operation Resurrection (PS2) (Video Game)
Return to castle Wolfenstein-Operation Ressurection is by far one of the best games on the playstation2. What it loses in graphics it most certainly makes up for in authentic weaponry and complex enemies, as well as a decent sound thrown in for good measure. Best of all, you get to kill enemies AND zombies!
Your enemies range from idle enemies and groaning mummies to highly intelligent venom soldiers and downright wrong half machine half frankenstein's monster x-creatures.
The weapons in this are highly realistic. Whereas in some games (james bond a guilty one) you might find lasers with unlimited ammo, even the most powerful weapons (the venom machine cannon and the electrical feild tesla gun) have limited ammo.
All in all, a suberb game which you will play over and over again, with missions ranging from silent assassinations to a battlefield of enemies against you. This game is most certainly a must have!
--MonDo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bog Standard, 17 Dec 2008
By 
Duncan McDonald "Dunk" (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Return to Castle Wolfenstein: Operation Resurrection (PS2) (Video Game)
I agree with Chris Kippers review, or at least the PS2 parts.

This game is a bog standard first person shooter. Not great, not particularly bad, just average. You run, gun, kick things and open things. Later on there are zombies and Nazis etc.

The games has a DOOM feel about it (by the same developer). Graphics are a bit rough and the sound is practically non-existent, gunshots only. Controls are clear enough but I had to turn the sensitivity way down to make it playable.

The problem with the game is that it does get repetitive after a while and starts to get a bit monotonous. It didn't effect me too much as I got stuck and gave up.

One for the id fanboys I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return, again and again to Castle Wolfenstein, 23 July 2003
By 
Jason Garbutt "jay_bug" (Romford - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return to Castle Wolfenstein: Operation Resurrection (PS2) (Video Game)
Good news and Bad news.
Bad First... the nazis are back in business, upto all sorts of evil and nasty things.
Goods news ??? guns... lots of guns... big ones, small ones... and all of them make a nice mess of the nasty nazis.
From the first level right the way to the end the is plenty of action, plenty of atmosphere too. Graphics and animation are second to none, sound and speach are fantastic too.
To often a game has all the above but tends to be too short... but not this one, lots of levels... tons of baddies.....
If you buy any game this year... you have to have this one
Any way to improve the game ??... simple.... multi player next time please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'World domination eludes me! Damn that one man army!', 30 Sep 2003
By 
Mr. SCM Bell "Black Cat Theory" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Return to Castle Wolfenstein: Operation Resurrection (PS2) (Video Game)
With a whole load of exciting shooters like Mace Griffin, Fire Warrior, Killzone and Halo 2 showing up on the main console formats it is worth asking the question whether there is a place in the market this year for Castle Wolfenstein – Operation Ressurrection? ID Software blew the doors off PC owners a couple of years back with the Original Castle Wolfenstein however things have moved on significantly since then and the oft-used and rapidly ageing Quakes Engine's days with us may well be numbered.
On firing up CW-OR I was strongly expecting a lame old PC port much in the vein of the embarrassingly awful PS2 version of Quake III Arena. Did I want to transpose the blurry, camply leaping combatants of said title to a World War II setting? Not likely. I want to see the SS Paranormal Division clearly. And you can.
The most obvious comparison to this title would, of course, be Medal of Honour and there are many similarities. The (mostly) semi-authentic selection of weapons, the linear accomplish, escape and evade structure of the levels and the emphasis of fantasic Saving Private Ryanesque sound effects. But where the MOH franchise scores immediately higher than CW-OR is character movement. CW-OR’s protagonists will often slide along surfaces, appearing not to be walking, their action and death animations are very primitive compared to MOH (especially in the case of the supernatural characters) and shot detection can often be a little too forgiving. In terms of feel too CW-OR looses out. When you fire a weapon in MOH, it feels like you are shooting. The weapon seems to recoil and the shot rings out through the level. In CW-OR things feel a bit more computer gameish. The weapons chatter away excitingly enough, but you never really feel like you are doing it.
That said there is a lot good going on with the game. The first levels, set in Libya immediately give you a sense of light, space and open air. Although not as profound a feeling as the hallowed levels of Halo this is none the less quite an achievement for a game that is basically a good few years old. You can almost feel the sun on your brow as you traverse the first few levels and level detail is pleasant with lots of things to smash and lots of nooks and crannies to investigate. You will experience the feelings of openness and exploration many times during the game as the levels are generously varied with countryside, factories, ruined towns, as well as crypts, tombs, cathedrals and Castle Wolfenstein itself. And it’s not all empty exploration, as the game approaches its far fetched yet strangely stirring climax there are set pieces a-plenty. Some of the boss encounters are pretty gripping and the way bits of armour fly off your opponents as you pump bullets into them more than makes up for the naff sight of zombies exploding in a puff of bones.
So it’s a rehash, but a pretty good rehash. It doesn’t bring anything new whatsoever to the genre but nicely showcases all of its staples (cool guns, sinister locations, atmospheric noises and a ridiculous story). CW-OR is just about worth the price, but then it has a hell of a lot of stiff competition coming its way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEST IN WOLFENSTEIN FRANCHISE., 17 July 2014
This review is from: Return to Castle Wolfenstein: Operation Resurrection (PS2) (Video Game)
THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST GAMES TO EVER COME FROM PS2, A CLASSIC AND THE BEST IN THE WOLFENSTEIN STORY,A BIG GAME WITH SOME GREAT GUNS AND ENEMIES OF THE UNDEAD AND BIO MECHANICAL MONSTROSITIES THAT MAKE YOU JUMP......X CREATURES......HEEEELP. THE MOST INTERESTING THING ABOUT THIS GAME IS THAT HEINRICH HIMMLER OF THE SS(HITLERS RIGHT HAND MAN) WAS REALLY INTO THIS KIND OF THING AS WAS HITLER HIMSELF. IMAGINE A RACE OF LIVING DEAD SOLDIERS COMIN AT YA.........NO THANKS. I CANNOT PRAISE THIS GAME ENOUGH ITS ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVS AND A LOOOOOONG GAME TOO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ba-dum, 2 Mar 2005
This review is from: Return to Castle Wolfenstein: Operation Resurrection (PS2) (Video Game)
OK, I'm 30, worked as a doorman for 2 years recently, play rugby regularly, and my heart hasn't thumped so hard in a long time!!! sad i know ;o) Great game, in the tunnels near the begining, with the creaking and the moaning and late at night with my lights turned of and the headphones on (isolating me) - where's my mum! ;o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MEDAL OF HONOUR WITH GHOULIES, 31 Oct 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Return to Castle Wolfenstein: Operation Resurrection (PS2) (Video Game)
Really like this game. Usual hero fights the Germans during WW2 and set in the desert of North Africa, returning to Castle Wolfenstein, which i presume is in Germany.

The Germans are trying to create monster soldiers to win the war for them and you find yourself fighting a myriad of ghouls, skeletons, suits of armour and bowls of ferocious fruit (just kidding). The action is constant and the story/levels keep the interest well.

Well worth buying/playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Return to Castle Wolfenstein: Operation Resurrection (PS2)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews