Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Primal Scree-am (Sorry!)
I have picked this game up and played it again recently and I had forgotten how good this actually is.
People complain about the combat in this game. I can understand why. It is simple and requires the minimum of skill but this game isn't really about the fighting.
Most of the game is spent exploring the locations and solving mostly environmental puzzles. The...
Published on 18 Feb. 2005 by Stattox

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Soul Reaver clone - NOT an RPG!
This game is pretty average, run from location to location, killing bad guys, solving puzzles in order to gain an extra power/ability at the end of the level.

The levels are big, and this plays pretty much like Soul Reaver insofar that certain areas become available only once you've got the new power, and the next stage loads before you move into it, so there...
Published on 4 Aug. 2009 by M Sockel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An underrated Playstation 2 adventure game, 11 Nov. 2003
By 
Dylan Parmar "Dylan Parmar" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Primal (PS2) (Video Game)
An underrated Playstation 2 adventure game from Sony Computer Entertainment Europe’s Studio in Cambridge (UK).
To very vaguely summarize the plot:
A sprung-up ordinary everyday goth girl (Jennifer) learns her luck; to re-establish the balance to the primal forces of existence with the adviser of a mysterious gargoyle (Scree) and the hidden power contained by her.
In order to restore the primal forces; she and her adviser must travel into what seems another dimension of worlds. There are 4 worlds Jen and Scree must travel to; fixing the chaos of what has become of them. Each world has a different race of creatures she must interact and, most of the time fights with. The plot story is deep and strong; and should keep you interested until the game’s completion.
The graphics are certainly pleasing enough (Some worlds more then others). Beautiful rendered worlds; together with a movie-like score, certainly brings the game to life. (Especially, if you have a widescreen television and a Dolby Pro-Logic 2 sound system)
The gameplay is exceptionally great; swapping control of both Jen and Scree; is essential to get past certain paths in the game; as one can do what the other cannot.
The main elements of the gameplay involve exploring each world and solving the problems of the race it occupies. This is no easy task; or at least it’s time consuming as each world is HUGE! Despite the massive areas of the worlds; its difficult to get totally lost in, mainly thanks to the great map that is displayed by pressing the “Start” button.
You are able to save your game; at mostly anytime; which is a great asset, as you don’t have to worry looking for save points in the vast areas.
Whilst in combat (only Jen can fight and be hurt from enemies!) the shoulder buttons of the PS2 control pad is used. The enemies are ever so passive in the game; you probably are able to always win by attacking and then retreating.
The controls are given in-game. But they don’t last on the screen for long and a good read of the instruction manuel is advised before setting off in your quest; or when Jen learns a new hidden power! Mature gamers will find this game easy; with only a few baffling moments.
The biggest drawbacks are when in battle (yes, this is a widespread for 3D games!) the camera angles may be bad and you may not get enough time to adjust it using the “right analog stick” before you are attacked.
There are several graphically bugs and glitches in the game and would not be surprised if the game crashes at least once during your quest; which is unfortunate for console gaming.
Also, some of the puzzles are not difficult but are frustrating due to sometimes unresponsive nature of controls; you may find yourself trying to do something three times before it actually works! (Though this problem is very superficial in terms of the actual gameplay)
Overall, excellent graphics and sound.
The gameplay is solid but a bit of a complex controlling system resulting in the illusion of unresponsive controls lets it down.
4 out of 5 stars. A good gaming experience; especially with a widescreen TV and a Dolby Pro-Logic 2 sound system!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A genuinely original, beautiful game, 29 Aug. 2003
By 
Mr. S. Price - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Primal (PS2) (Video Game)
With graphics that you couldn't have believed possible on the PS2, and gameplay that lets you think your way through danger rather than blasting its head off with a pair of handguns, Primal is a genuinely original PS2 title that sucks you in. There are a few glitches, but this was made without the budget of Metal Gear Solid 2 so what do you expect?
With some witty dialogue from the two heroes (who's relationship progresses as you go through the game, like all good character's) and some amazing graphics (I spent hours just looking at the trees on the first level as the wind bustled them about), this game is right up there with Ico. BEWARE: this game has very little action in it, and what is there is very easy. So not for Halo fans then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Primal, 12 April 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Primal (PS2) (Video Game)
Primal is a fantastic game with an original, compelling storyline and excellent graphics. Each realm is fantstic and the environmental puzzles are fun to try and figure out. the only bad thing was when it ended it didnt really answer all the questions!! very annoying but overall a very good game i realy wish they would bring out a sequel for the ps3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Oct. 2014
By 
Denene L. Crossley (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Primal (PS2) (Video Game)
Excellent game, good story line, good graphics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging yet addicitve, 19 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Primal (PS2) (Video Game)
When i first started this game after being lent it by a friend i was not quite sure i would like it. I'm not normally into dark fighting games but this was brilliant. The moment you get into the four realms you are suprised by its realness. You play either scree or jenny while the other follows. you really need to get used to switching them to complete the game. When i began the first realm i was a bit unsure of what i would find. Thankfully this game is not obbsessed with killing . The objectives can become quite puzzling with some of the answers being so simple you miss it completely. The first realm seems to be the longest but really gets you stuck in the game. Once you start to change into your demon self the fun really starts with amazing weapons and jens stylish new, evil looks. This game makes you want to kill without making you blood thirsty. This is a good game for anyone who fancies a chanllenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Soul Reaver clone - NOT an RPG!, 4 Aug. 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Primal (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is pretty average, run from location to location, killing bad guys, solving puzzles in order to gain an extra power/ability at the end of the level.

The levels are big, and this plays pretty much like Soul Reaver insofar that certain areas become available only once you've got the new power, and the next stage loads before you move into it, so there is no waiting time.

The graphics are good, and it is playable.

The problem that I have with this game is that it is a missed opportunity. There is only the main quest - running round ruined towns etc, it would be nice if there were a couple side quests; but no all the doors are locked and you can never access them.

Further, you can never level up and enhance your stats. There is just the possibility of getting an additional ability at the end of the level.

The game is fun, and the interaction between the main character and their sidekick is good, quirky and fun.

On occasion the game does lapse into monotony; solve puzzle, run, kill stuff, repeat... end of level boss... new arena, repeat.

3/5; honestly, there are better games out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
This review is from: Primal (PS2) (Video Game)
Great product great value :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the dull thrill of brilliance, 25 Jan. 2008
By 
Frederick Graham (Whitley bay, Tyne and Wear, The UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Primal (PS2) (Video Game)
This game acomplishes many targets in beauty,depth and overall gaming pleasure. I dont kid myself into thinking that this game wasnt brilliantly made, its a work of art and its release was eagerly awaited. The reason this game doesnt get its place in the hall of fame is simple;
its gameplay - though beautyfully detailed and brilliantly unique- is dull. after a few hours of playing this game you lose the will to live; like so many other could-have-been games.

But dont let this put you off, in small amounts, this is gaming heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad game, 23 July 2003
By 
Sivakanesh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Primal (PS2) (Video Game)
If you are into action adventure games, you should give this a go. I was sucked in by the graphics straight away. The game takes you through 4 completely unique worlds, with its own enemies and puzzles.
OK the story is a bit thin, but I don't think you'll notice that often. I did like its occasional comedy moments.
HOWEVER, the battle system (if you can call it that) is one of the worst I have ever seen. You just get tired of hitting the same couple of buttons all the time.
Otherwise I would play this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Primal, 26 May 2003
This review is from: Primal (PS2) (Video Game)
I had not, before purchasing this title, heard much in the way of reviews of this game. However, a pop up was all that was needed to persuade me to buy it, due to the fact that the lead character not only looks oddly attractive, but also has that "Don't mess with me" body language. I expected the game to be taxing, as well as full of action and looking spectacular
This it turned out to be. The storyline is that the lead character and her boyfriend are attacked by a strange creature, leaving her boyfriend missing, and her with serious injuries. She is taken, by a moving gargoyle, into a subconcious world, where she seems to be a kind of prophet designed to bring together the balances of good and evil.
The mythical countries she visits are spectacular. They have a superb aesthetic that seems as if they are in fact real. Whether its hills and mountains, under water cities or barren landscapes, all look superbly feasible, supported by the sounds surrounding them.
The lead character has an unusual ability in that she can transform into creature-like states in order to combat her foes. These states all have their own special abilities, which do nothing more than make gameplay more intense.
The game also has the unique feature of allowing the player to switch between the female character (Jen) and the gargoyle (Scree) who both have abilities vital to an exciting, and mind confusing plot.
It is not a case, in this game, of completion in one day. The game is hard enough to mentally strain the player, as well as keeping them relatively engaged.
The idea is, however, very like Tomb Raider, but it suits as a welcome diversion while we wait for the next installment to appear
Well done to the creators. A superb game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Primal (PS2)
Primal (PS2) by Sony (PlayStation2)
£3.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews