Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!
This is definately the best F1 game yet, which is encouraging, as this means it is better than Formula One 2001 overall.
In the past, things wandered in the wrong direction after Formula One '97, and only once the power of the PS2 was put to use had the title got back on track with Formula One 2001.
This 2002 evolution of the game got me instantly hooked...
Published on 8 Nov 2002 by M. Barty

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars What ever you reviewers this game sucks
When you start off it is excellent. but as you get through your arcade season Williams lead by about 20 points. Also BAR is called Bar for some reason. In Formula One 2003 BAR is called Bar as well. but that doesn't do it in. F1 2004 is worse because it is Bar too. The graphics look like PSone as you've played it for a while. The computer cars seem to crash into you which...
Published on 25 Aug 2004 by A Harrington


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 8 Nov 2002
By 
M. Barty "part-time dj" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Formula One 2002 (PS2) (Video Game)
This is definately the best F1 game yet, which is encouraging, as this means it is better than Formula One 2001 overall.
In the past, things wandered in the wrong direction after Formula One '97, and only once the power of the PS2 was put to use had the title got back on track with Formula One 2001.
This 2002 evolution of the game got me instantly hooked.
Whilst I dreaded the thought of James Allen rambling about tyres and fuel strategy to the extent I might fall asleep, I was pleasantly surprised that during the on-track gaming itself, I'm treated to radio communication from the team .... hmmmm, that feature reminds me of another very similar game of a very similar name ....... anyway, the track layouts and scenery are an improvement, most notably the run-off areas, and the arcade mode is a hoot - I won the drivers championship with Alex Yoong and the constructors championship for Minardi - surely this could only ever happen in arcade mode!
The car visuals are smoother than the 2001 game, although the driver helmet details are a let-down when compared to the prequel.
It's great when someone retires because sometimes there are those ever so cool flames bursting from the V10 and it's admittedly fun to see Michael Schumacher's car upside down in the gravel trap!
The screen does sometimes feel a little cluttered with all the displays, but some of those can be turned off.
The replays are really good, with the different camera angles available from any car at that particular time.
The really impressive stuff however, is in spectator mode which is a feature carried over from the 2001 game, but this time, it's had a big revamp.
The race positions, best lap times, lap record times, gaps between cars etc are all displayed at various times on the screen exactly like on tv. The graphics used for on screen info in spectator mode are the same as those used on the F1 Digital+ tv service in Europe, which will possibly be used on free tv next season. The commentary in this mode is great as it changes to suit the car you have chosen to follow.
And here's another tip for spectator mode - if you go onboard one of the cars (you can act as tv director), for example, Montoya, and cycle through to the camera which faces the driver's visor...who do you see behind the visor? Montoya of course! Onboard Takuma Sato's car - you see Sato's face, and you can really tell it's supposed to be them peering through that visor - very realistic facials.
The engine notes and car handling are all slightly different, and with lots of full screen photo slides to collect with your game progress, this title will keep you going through those long winter months, and before you know it, the 2003 season will be here .... and if the 2003 season is another dreary paint drying session, you can just sit and play the game and pretend it's real :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a game, 4 Nov 2002
This review is from: Formula One 2002 (PS2) (Video Game)
I had Formula One 2001 which I thought was great, but this game is amazing, it's like watching formula one on TV, the game play is good also it's not easy to overtake like in other formula one games, also launch control is just great. If you like F1 then you will like this game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars What ever you reviewers this game sucks, 25 Aug 2004
By 
A Harrington "Racing Driver" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Formula One 2002 (PS2) (Video Game)
When you start off it is excellent. but as you get through your arcade season Williams lead by about 20 points. Also BAR is called Bar for some reason. In Formula One 2003 BAR is called Bar as well. but that doesn't do it in. F1 2004 is worse because it is Bar too. The graphics look like PSone as you've played it for a while. The computer cars seem to crash into you which is pathetic. It is the same in 2003 and 2004. In collisions you don't get marks on your car. The game is too frustrating too. I'm selling my copy after the realism of GT3 3 years ago. this product is a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's not the worst F1 game around., 18 July 2004
By 
A Harrington "Racing Driver" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Formula One 2002 (PS2) (Video Game)
Formula One 2002 is the best. better than Ea's F1 2002.
You people who wrote bad reviews about this game it seems like
you don't like Formula One . I've only played a demo. but ordered the game and it's going to arrive next week. I love it through. I can play it more time than i do play it! formula one 2002 is one of the best f1 games out. (it's true!!!) Buy this now if you're a F1 fan. or buy it with a memory card or formula one 2003 as a bonus. When i have the money. i'm getting formula one 2003
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best formula one game I've ever played, 21 July 2004
By 
A Harrington "Racing Driver" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Formula One 2002 (PS2) (Video Game)
formula one 2002 is the best formula one game i have played at the moment. i am going to review it on gamestation aswell!
Ok. i also have the original Formula One 2000 game. that can be called FormulaOne2000 for something. That F1 game doesn't have many features. Formula One 2000 is a bit easy for me. Michael Schumacher can be winning any time. Buy it.If you already dont have a PS2. buy a PS2 then this!!! An absolute 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Formula 1 is Number 1 for me!, 18 Nov 2002
By 
This review is from: Formula One 2002 (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is excellent!
I cant stand anything but racing games myself, and this is the pick of the bunch for me. Its a great improvement on the previous version, and kicks EA's effort out of touch.
This is the only game worth buying for me at the moment(I dont like GTA much or soccer games).
Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game takes pole and the win, 14 Nov 2002
This review is from: Formula One 2002 (PS2) (Video Game)
What a game, I also own EA sports F1 2002 but had more fun with this version in 10 mins. It is graphically brilliant and the gameplay is smooth and realistic. There are plenty of race types and mant settings to change for the enthusiastic F1 fan. A must for motorsport fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars what a let down!!, 5 Jun 2003
This review is from: Formula One 2002 (PS2) (Video Game)
this game is a total let down! i read alot of reviews on magazines and on the internet saying how this is the best F1 game there is on the PS2....but it isnt! yea the tracks have been updated for 2002 but they are still unrealistic, the game comes with a DVD and you can easily see the differences! the computer cars are idiotic and just crash into you let alone shake down the straights! also the handling is very basic with no chalenge! To an F1 game this one is poor, get Grand prix Challenge instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FormulaOne04isMcpants., 6 Aug 2004
By 
A Harrington "Racing Driver" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Formula One 2002 (PS2) (Video Game)
GetFormulaOne2002. Mc Race In Arcad and Simulatio Hahaaha IT Is Not Easy Or Rubish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not Great, 9 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Formula One 2002 (PS2) (Video Game)
The real version of formula one has long turned into a farce under the dominance of Ferrari and Michael Schumacher but that counts for nothing in this game.
This game is full of the usual features like quick races, challenges(11 insted of 25), the single race weekend, the full championship so it has some replay value and has the ea sports card reminicent of nhl 2002,and has all the cars(including toyota, and the renault teams) and the cars look pretty good.
Murray Walker's retirement means the new commentator who tells you about the course you're going to race and pit interaction, where you control the speed and consistecy of your pit stop. The game has some pop-up problems but it looks beautiful, courses look exactly as they should, racing is a blast, with two handling modes,normal and simulation the ai of drivers can be changed and you do have certain advantages of them when they're dumb.
Overall this game is an improvement on the previous Formula One games and is probably the best on the market but it is still flawed. It will appeal to die hard racing fans but most of the rest of us will just have to wait for a better formula one game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Formula One 2002 (PS2)
Formula One 2002 (PS2) by Sony (PlayStation2)
£15.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews