Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars breathtaking!!!
i bought this album knowing nothing of the contents.i heard the pretties were dirty r`n b punks.their debut and get the picture ? are just that but this is something else entirely!!i bought s.f sorrow first and was honestly really dissapointed.i thought i`d give parachute a go and its one of my best buys ever.'grass' is one of the best songs ive ever heard.amazing...
Published on 18 Jan 2001

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The most talented outsiders in history?
This is a really good album, wonderful melodies, sparkling playing, some cracking tunes (the Good Mr Square, and She Sent Me A Letter particularly stand out of a very good collection). My only gripe is that the spectre of 'prog' hangs over it slightly, manifesting itself in one or two overlong guitar solos which don't add anything to the songs. My advice to those...
Published on 8 Aug 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars breathtaking!!!, 18 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Parachute (Audio CD)
i bought this album knowing nothing of the contents.i heard the pretties were dirty r`n b punks.their debut and get the picture ? are just that but this is something else entirely!!i bought s.f sorrow first and was honestly really dissapointed.i thought i`d give parachute a go and its one of my best buys ever.'grass' is one of the best songs ive ever heard.amazing harmonies and melodies and the songs content make every listen like the first.on the limited edition release theres some extra tracks:the breathtaking single that i think preceaded the album,october 26 is like grass,an amazing composition.the wah-wah guitar and sweet,sweet harmonies make this a true timepiece thats just too good to grow old.there isnt a bad song on this one and what a wide range they cover!!WHEWW!!everyone raves about s.f sorrow (everyone being the people who have actually heard of them that is !!) but i`d say this album is their crowning glory.just stunning. "as silver tears,they weave and lace,sad patterns upon her face,she waits for you..." heartbreakingly good.the best discovery ive ever made!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly why this album remains a cult., 11 Mar 2003
By 
ampar (somewhere in your computer) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Parachute (Audio CD)
The Pretty Things. What a dreadful, career-in-the-dumper name for a group. Even shortened (the "Pretties", anyone?) it's a nonsense. I know it's ironic, but it's also terrible.
The album cover. One of the worst sixth-form paste-and-scissors photomontage crimes ever committed in the name of "art".
So; rubbish name, rubbish cover. And yes, these things matter. So does kicking off the album with a "challenging" (ie dissonant, dreary) opening track. Anyone unfamiliar with this wonderful album is most likely not going to get past these three hurdles. Tough on them, and tough on the "Things", too, because it is one of the few albums that define rock music, as opposed to pop, or whatever, as an art form in itself. Don't sneer. This is art. This is beautiful, and this is timeless. It also sounds fantastic. If it was released today, by some bunch of unknowns, it would effortlessly go to number one. No question. Ther's nothing dated or embarrassing about a single note of it; you don't have to excuse anything. What you won't find; humour, singalong nursery-rhymes, boogie, timewasting. What you will find; the best harmony singing ever recorded by a British band (hearing people SING is just such a treat, isn't it? As opposed to people who think they can?), the best ensemble playing ever recorded by a British band (yes, there are great guitar solos, but this isn't an exercise in nostril-hair guitar histrionics, and everybody's listening to everybody else), and quite possibly, the best rock album ever recorded. There are others as great (Dark Side of the Moon, f'rinstance, and maybe the first Mighty Baby album, and -add your favourite here-) but it really doesn't get any better than this. There's music here so beautiful, so deep, so strong, so subtle ... ahhh ... I'm going to shut up. Really, for once, the cult is right, and what people say about this album has a real basis in the groove. Get this before you get SF Sorrow, if you have nothing yet. Then get their last album (Rage ...). These guys are, incredibly, still out there and still making fine music.
Look at it this way. It's a few quid you'd spend without noticing it somewhere else. Help get this album to number one in the charts, because it deserves the view. What it doesn't deserve is to remain a cult pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly timeless, 20 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Parachute (MP3 Download)
Back in 1970, this was the first ever stereo LP I ever bought and, listening to it on a stereo system put together with my brother based on a pair of Mullard 5-10 amps (now they were great!), it absolutely blew my mind and turned me on to psychedelia and all that stuff.

But, listening to it from time to time over the years it continues to affect me and has become one of my all time favourites. Strangely, unlike much from those days this just refuses to age (unlike me...). Some call it a classic, I just call it brilliant.

As a piece of British psychedelic rock it is almost unbeatable and the mixture of smooth vocal harmonies, edgy guitar riffs and magical vocals all backed up by a tight rhythm section pre-dates much of what we have heard since and beats most of it hands down. As has been said elsewhere if many of today's bands could put together songs like these with the range of expression and level of creativity we'd have a much healthier music industry. Whereas many of those that followed found fame and fortune, The Pretty Things fell foul of bad management and bad decision-making - which is a shame because this and "S F Sorrow" really are the peak of their output.There's not a bad song here and the stream of music created by the programming of this album just washes over you.

It's so good I tend to have to ration myself on how often I play it because I'm almost afraid the sheer joy I get when listening to it just might fade, and that would be a shame.

Forget the age of this, forget the history of the Pretties and just give this a try with an open mind as if is was released today and let it take you over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 40 Years Old and Still Great, 12 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parachute (Audio CD)
I first bought this as an LP back in '73 purely because the Hipgnosis cover caught my attention in the record shop (Note to Ampar's review!) and I still listen to it at frequent intervals and with equal enjoyment to when I first heard it. Most relevant comments as to how it should have been up there with other "Classics" of its time have been made in other reviews. So all I'll add is that if you like well-crafted, slightly 'Heady' music, especially of the type on 'Side Two' of Abbey Road, then this should definitely be added to your collection. Rolling Stone magazine were right to make it their 1970 album of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Earlies - 1971 Vintage!, 14 Mar 2007
By 
M. Thomas "TOM BLUENOSE-CHERRIES!" (Bournemouth UK!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Parachute (Audio CD)
Listening to the Earlies new release 'The Enemy Chorus' it struck my ears that the harmonies are real similar to the Pretty Things. Especially on Parachute. SF Sorrow was so tremendous but Parachute was totally the better album. Sadly the Pretties slowly lapsed into MOR and AOR american road stuff with Silk Torpedo and Freeway Madness - they were good, but were they GREAT! Get Parachute and join in those harmonies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instant Classic!, 21 Feb 2007
By 
M. Jones (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Parachute (Audio CD)
I would urge anyone to buy this album. I first heard of the Pretty Things on the Nuggets box set, and reading other reviews on this site decided to get this LP. This is their 5th ablum, and quite different to some of the stuff on Nuggets.

However, it is instantly listenable, not like some other albums with 5 stars that require a dozen listens!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a near classic!, 7 Sep 2000
This review is from: Parachute (Audio CD)
It's a shame The Pretties never received the recognition they truly deserved as this and the earlier 'S.F Sorrow' are excellent examples of post-'Pepper' late '60s rock. Perhaps best described as 'pop-prog' the album features the Beatle -esque 'The Letter' and 'The Good Mr. Square' alongside the darker, paranoid strains of 'Cries from the Midnight Circus' featuring a twisted killer of a slow-burning riff. Highlight though is the wonderful 'Grass' - the aural equivalent of shimmering summer rain; in a word - glorious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Pretties, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parachute (MP3 Download)
Always loved S F Sorrow, never got around to buying this at the time. took advantage of the CD reissue and did not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh, those Pretty Things, 16 Jun 2013
By 
John Harris "Happymann" (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parachute (Audio CD)
Last year my knowledge of the Pretties was limited to "The good Mr Square" from the Harvest "Breath of Fresh Air" sampler - then I got the "Still Unrepentant" CD/DVD set and definitely wanted more. This album delivers in spades both quality, quantity and value for money. Next up "S F Sorrow"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great cd, 13 Mar 2013
By 
J. D. Ruddick - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parachute (Audio CD)
10/10 a fantastic album a great follow up to s.f. sorrow - well played and fantastic songs a great cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Parachute
Parachute by The Pretty Things (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews