Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest American Poet (musically), 3 Aug 2002
This review is from: Live From New York City, 1967 (Audio CD)
I bought this CD last week and havent stopped playing it since. As a Paul Simon/Simon & Garfunkel fan since i discovered them as a 12 yearold in 1980, this CD is incredible. The quality for a 35 year old recording is astounding. And the range of songs throws up a load of unusual tunes as the concert took place when they only had three albums released. With two men, one guitar, one stage and an entralled audience and great versions of A most peculiar man, Richard Cory, Hazy shade of winter and a new song never before released called where your interest lies, this is a must for all S&G fans. The chat in between songs is also very enjoyable and witty. The guy in the last release was saying it would be better if more songs were added but there wasnt anymore to add, this is the entire concert. In the 60's concerts never lasted more than an hour anyway. On headphones you have Paul Simon in your left ear, Art in your right and the harmonies are just beautiful.
So come home some night late, turn off the light, plug in the headphones, put on the CD and lie back and close your eyes. Bring yourself back to the 60's and hear some great acoustic versions of S&G classics and other songs you never hear live. A lot of people think Bob Dylan was the greatest American folk/poet of the 60's, for me, no one touches Paul Simon, just listen to A poem on the underground wall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars S&G Live In New York, 16 July 2002
By 
Mr Martin G Pollard (Chatburn, Clitheroe, Lancs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live From New York City, 1967 (Audio CD)
Anybody with a passing interest in Simon & Garfunkel will not be disappointed with this new release from Sony's Legacy label; fans who have all the releases may feel that a little more could have been offered. The CD itself is of the quality you would expect of a remastered concert from 1967, and the liner notes are suitably evocative. The actual concert pre-dates S&G's rise to superstardom, and as such does not include what many people who own Greatest Hits albums, would know as their more well known songs: no 'Mrs.Robinson', 'The Boxer', 'Bridge', or 'America'. However, this should not be seen as a negative, as it allows the duo to showcase their more folkly Everly Brothers roots.
Four tracks have already appeared on the 'Old Friends' box set, and at just under an hour, it may be suggested that a few more tracks could have been included.
But don't let this put you off, this in an excellent, if long overdue addition to the brief cannon of work of an underappreciated, yet important '60's group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As essential as any of their studio albums - if not more so, 6 July 2007
This review is from: Live From New York City, 1967 (Audio CD)
The sonic quality of this recording is amazing. Fair enough, one doesn't need 64-track technology to record 2 voices and a guitar (and the audience) but nevertheless, the standards that were employed to produce this recording were of the highest.

The performance is at turns exciting, funny and moving.
Both singers are in fine voice, notably on 'Benedictus' (first heard on the debut album), taken to a new level here in terms of perfectly matched harmony, melody and counter-melody. Beautiful stuff.

The only low points (and they're not really all that low) are 'Homeward Bound' - Arty strains to get the high notes at times (hear a better live version on the Greatest Hits album) - and 'You Don't Know Where You're Interest Lies', which was only half-developed at the time, and even in its finished state was never the strongest of Simon's songs.

Still, this album is still brilliant, even breathtaking the first couple of times you hear it such is its amazing sound. Put it on, lie back, listen, and (assuming your system is half-decent) you'll be right there.

* Of the earlier reviewer who gave this a low score, lamenting the lack of 'Mrs Robinson' or 'The Boxer' - this performance predates those songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding recording, 28 April 2003
By 
A keen reader "A reader" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Live From New York City, 1967 (Audio CD)
This recording from 1967 contains a great selection of early Simon and Garfunkel songs. Art and Paul take turns to introduce the songs, and it is clear that they are enjoying what they are doing. I discovered Simon and Garfunkel after they had release Bridge Over Troubled Water -- and I rememember the excitement of buying the LP "Wednesday Morning 3 a.m." I feel the same excitement listening to this live album. The presentation is simple: two guys and a guitar on stage, singing great songs. You wish you could have been there, to feel the optimism of the sixties. But listening to Simon and Garfunkel is not just about nostalgia: these guys produced superb music, which has stood the test of time. I hope Sony will release more "hidden" material!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul and Artie sing some of their songs in NYC in 1967, 14 Oct 2005
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
In contemporary parlance this would be an "unplugged" concert since all you have is Paul Simon on acoustic guitar while he and Artie (call me "Arthur") Garfunkle blend their voices in sweet two-part harmony. But that misses the main point of this 1967 concert in New York City, which is that Simon & Garfunkle were originally folk singers. That is clear from the start when they open their concert with "He Was My Brother" and sing about a Freedom Rider killed in the South. Both of the songs that will be new to those of us who have all five of the albums they produced during their relative few years together, "You Don't Know Where Your Interest Lies" and "A Church is Burning," are definitely in that tradition as well.
I remember seeing Simon & Garfunkle when they appeared on network television for the first time on "The Smothers Brothers Comedy Hour," but then we moved to Japan, which meant the end of American television and it was not until "The Graduate" came out that I started to check them out. That meant the "Bookends" album and I remember reading about what it was like in the studio with Simon trying to find the right instruments and the exact blend of tracks and takes to get the effect that he wanted with each song. The simplicity of the duo singing on this album stands in stark contrast to what they were doing at that point in their careers, on the cusp of going out in a blaze of glory with the triump of the "Bridge Over Troubled Water" album.
What will stand out here for Simon & Garfunkle fans are the stripped down version of songs like "A Hazy Shade of Winter" and "I Am a Rock." We already knew from their first greatest hits collection that "Homeward Bound" and "For Emily, Wherever I May Find" would work fine in this setting. But clearly some songs lend themselves better to this format than others. A passionate "Sparrow" and a rather hushed version of "A Most Peculiar Man" work just fine, but "Blessed" does not click. There are a few moments when Simon is banging away on the guitar a bit too much (e.g., "A Most Peculiar Man"), but those are few and far between. Overall, fans of the duo will truly appreciate an opportunity to go back to the early days and the simple single of long familiar songs.
The concert provides a nice balance of tunes from Simon & Garfunkle's early albums, with five tracks each from "Wednesday Morning, 3 A.M.," "Sounds of Silence," and "Parsley, Sage, Rosemary & Thyme," and one from "Bookends." What stands out in the end is the rather unique niche the duo had in folk revival of the Sixties. I have been trying to think of another "group" that consisted of two guys singing with only one playing the guitar and I am drawing a blank. Then you toss into the mix the fact that Simon's lyrics meet the requisite standard for poetry just like it was written by Edwin Arlington Robinson or one of the crowd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best CD bargains you can ever hope to buy, 7 Jan 2013
By 
Stephen Reid "Stephen" (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Live From New York City, 1967 (Audio CD)
These days many artists release live albums as a matter of course. It is such a shame that Simon and Garfunkel's live recordings were not made available at the right time, as they are classics and would have strengthened their catalogue. This album is superb, and I also recommend the 1969 live recording, bundled with Bridge Over Troubled Water's anniversary edition or available separately.

This concert comprised one guitar and two voices. There's no room for weakness there. And what comes across is very, very strong. Two voices that complement each other sublimely and guitar playing of the highest order. The harmonies are beautiful and, coupled with lyrics that are meaningful and at times poignant, this is a play-list to treasure.

In 1967, Simon and Garfunkel were playing their earlier material, rooted heavily in the folk tradition and out-doing the Everley brothers who had heavily influenced them in their formative years. (See the 'Old Friends' reunion concerts where they perform as a foursome). There are some very good songs here that were to be dropped from their live repertoire as they expanded their material - songs like 'Richard Cory' and 'A most peculiar man' which I believe have some of the most poignant words ever written.

'Homeward Bound', allegedly written on a railway station, is especially well received by the audience. 'I am a Rock' and 'The Sound of Silence' are classics with 'Sound of Silence' an absolute gem. By the end of this concert the audience is cheering for more.

This recording was made almost fifty years ago. The recording quality is first class and the performances are the early Simon and Garfunkel at their very best. At the price it is one of the best CD bargains you can ever hope to buy. Unhesitatingly, five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars S & G - the ultimate duo!, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From New York City, 1967 (Audio CD)
I have everything they recorded, and play them on a loop! No-one and nothing compares with the glorious harmonies created between PS and AG. Wonderful, Wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant performance, 27 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. Terry Gallagher "Terry_G" (Nottingham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live From New York City, 1967 (Audio CD)
I have been a 'fan' of Simon & Garfunkel's work for years. I have all their studio albums and, naturally, the Central Park Concert. However, this live performance adds dimensions not seen in their studio albums and so is well worth buying even if you have all the songs already. Paul's guitar fun at the end of a song makes this worth it just for that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 15 Oct 2009
By 
Hikmet Shah "phoenix" (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live From New York City, 1967 (Audio CD)
This is one hell of an album,I listened to it a couple of time and it brought back happy memories of the great S&G songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars S & G: Raw, 17 Jun 2009
This review is from: Live From New York City, 1967 (Audio CD)
The awesome talent of Simon and Garfunkel raw and uncomplicated, this CD is wonderful not only it terms of quality, but also in value as well. Just the two of them and a gitar. Fantastic vocals, makes you wish you'd been around back then just to take part in what they created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live From New York City, 1967
Live From New York City, 1967 by Simon & Garfunkel (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews