Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Moustache & The Beard
What happened to the fascinating Peter Cook after Derek & Clives I, II, III & the video? While Dudley was swanning around Hollywood with women twice his size, Peter held the fort in Hampstead, England. He strolled, stumbled or gallivanted around to his neighbour George's house, where the eccentric guru George taped him in a variety of moods... laughing, slurred,...
Published on 8 Jan 2003 by hulucas

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible.
It really disappoints me to write with negativity about Cook as he is one of my heroes.
However...
This is dreadful. I won't hold Cook responsible for it as, obviously, he didn't choose to release it. Rainbow George, though, needs to be chastened for using Cook as a means to making a name for himself.
The material is compiled from a number of nights around...
Published on 11 Sep 2002 by bluejorj


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Moustache & The Beard, 8 Jan 2003
This review is from: Over at Rainbow's (Audio CD)
What happened to the fascinating Peter Cook after Derek & Clives I, II, III & the video? While Dudley was swanning around Hollywood with women twice his size, Peter held the fort in Hampstead, England. He strolled, stumbled or gallivanted around to his neighbour George's house, where the eccentric guru George taped him in a variety of moods... laughing, slurred, razor-sharp, witty as sin, ludicrous, bored and plain glorious. It is said that the two CDs (an hour each) in this package are taken from countless years of conversation. Until we can hear the rest of it, 'Over At Rainbow's' will do very very nicely indeed. Because this really does feel like we are meeting the real Cook. It is a revelation. Who would have thought that the father of modern satire would have been sitting around claiming to be jewish, or phoning radio shows as a German and a Norwegian, or discussing exercise with a tramp (standing on his last legs), or rehearsing visits to a psychiatrist, or discussing Mickey Rooney's entrapment in a lift, Jane Russell's assault on Elizabeth Taylor's breasts, and whether bringing down the establishment would just mean "some other cu*ts coming round asking me for something for nothing".
These CDs encapsulate the story that followed Derek & Clive, which most know off by heart now. They resonate on many levels - being both funny and funny-peculiar, rather spooky, a massive piss-take of new-age religion and suprisingly touching.
Dudley Moore left Peter Cook when he most needed him. And - as we hear here - Cook struggled through in the most philosophical, mystical, polite and hysterical way.
I will give this four stars rather than five stars only because Peter is sporting a moustache on the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Dreamy Peter, 25 Oct 2002
By 
This review is from: Over at Rainbow's (Audio CD)
This is strange and funny and unique.
Over At Rainbow's is interspersed by the sound of a door-buzzer, announcing the return trips by Peter Cook to the home of his neighbour; there to talk about everything from **** to how film footage of fish is used to bore hooligans to death at Norwegian football matches.
The late comedian's neighbour is called Rainbow George and - judging by the pretty wild booklet that comes with these two compact discs - he has a disturbing taste in pullovers. George wants to bring down everything and create a perfect new society, with the aid of a powerful alien force he says he has been speaking to. Peter thinks he's funny and good company. (It's great to hear Peter laughing, long & hard).
Early on in the record Peter tells a female guest of George's that he (Peter) gave up comedy years ago and that he's now a spiritualist. But he cannot take George's mystical notions seriously for more than a minute at a time.
The album contains phone-calls made by Peter to radio phone-in shows, in the guise of a man called Sven. They're brilliant and briliantly drole, but the main course, the main meat, is elsewhere. What we get on these records (recorded in the '80s)are lots of suprises and lots of insights into Peter's later life (he seems very much all there, if a little stoned) plus a wonderful array of silly ideas to feed the appetite of Cook fanatics who've listened to his 60s & 70s material and want a twist, a new perversion even. Peter discusses and spins surreal ideas around everything from whether Hampstead is the holy-land to whether 100 women stuffed up in the bedroom can make you wise; from the merits of bribing your mother's psychiatrist, to the woes of prehistoric hunting ("She says 'Why couldn't you have brought me fish, instead of tiger?. There's no way Alvin can win..."). On one track Peter pretends and insists he is jewish, in a room full of hassidic jews ("Is there anyone here who is jewish apart from me?"). On another track he becomes Nigella Lawson, directing the making of beans on toast for a vagrant who believes he is shortly to die and is almost as funny as him. On another track...
No, I won't spoil suprises for you.
This album has given me the horn, slowly but surely and strongly.
Peter is back from the dead. Or making this stuff from heaven. Or maybe he never died and he's just in hiding, making lovely spacey, ludicrous, adult, spooky, piss-taking stuff like this.
The tinkle of tea spoons was never so funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead But Beautiful, 16 Dec 2002
This review is from: Over at Rainbow's (Audio CD)
Comedy to shave to. Or is it comedy? Some claim not - but categorically this reeks of humour. Towards the end, Cook phoning a radio programme to discuss the effects of cannabis on fish and of smoking fish on humans is Cook at his very very best. Cook is all over the place at the moment - a celebrated dead comedian with the same sketches repeated and similar comments made on him by commentators. But 'Over At Rainbow's' (the Rainbow's being the home of Cook's neighbour 'Rainbow/Coy George') shows a new Cook and perhaps the real Cook and certainly a fascinating Cook on his home turf.
When a tramp tells him excitedly 'I was in the War On Want shop and I saw you go past', well, call me new-fashioned but I felt giddy with affection and cheer.
Some say that humour on these two CDs (what a bargain)is at times downbeat. And in some ways it feels like Cook's Mid-Life Crisis Album... but what mirth is not mixed with some misery?
Some of 'Over At rainbow's' is poetry.
This is my album for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible., 11 Sep 2002
This review is from: Over at Rainbow's (Audio CD)
It really disappoints me to write with negativity about Cook as he is one of my heroes.
However...
This is dreadful. I won't hold Cook responsible for it as, obviously, he didn't choose to release it. Rainbow George, though, needs to be chastened for using Cook as a means to making a name for himself.
The material is compiled from a number of nights around at his neighbours house with a reel-to-reel recorder. What we are left with are the spurious, disconnected and unfunny ramblings of Cook and a rag-tag assortment of spurious, disconnected and unfunny droppers-by.
It's heartbreaking to write it like this but the two disks are so awful. Rainbow George is desperately trying to fill Dudley Moore's shoes (not that Cook needed Moore) and he does so with absolutely no comic ability. His musings aren't even interesting.
For his part, Cook just assumes the role of "the man who must entertain" so it's not as though we're granted any glimpses into the years when he really drank himself to death. It's tragic, lonely and, ultimately, quite repellant.
Buying this disk will only lower your opinion of Cook. So I urge you not to do so. This wasn't released as an addition to the body of Cook's work that we have left, it is a shameless attempt to make a celebrity of a nonentity on the coat-tails of another man's tragedy.
Foul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Evenings, 23 Jun 2004
By 
This review is from: Over at Rainbow's (Audio CD)
it's strange and even stranger and I liked that. the laughs grow and I liked that. it's not often I'm suprised and maybe that's good, but this suprised me and that's good. don't buy this if you want Lenny Henry. the Peter Cook on "Over In Rainbows' is subtle and snide and sweet and silly and serious and very shaggable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fly on the Wall Stuff, 18 Jun 2011
This review is from: Over at Rainbow's (Audio CD)
It would be a mistake to expect brilliantly honed comedy from these recordings, rather they present a historical document for those interested in the life of Peter Cook. These are home recordings but the sound is clear throughout. I hope more are released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent intimate rare listening experience, 19 Mar 2010
By 
J. S. Silke "hobo-john" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Over at Rainbow's (Audio CD)
Someones personal tapes that were probably never meant for general consumption. For hardcore fans only. The tramp section is one of the funniest things I've ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough Peter, too much Paul, 9 July 2003
By 
This review is from: Over at Rainbow's (Audio CD)
While it is undoubtedly interesting (at ANY time) to read or learn something valuable about Peter (he had a giant gift for improvised comedy, although I dislike the word Genius at any time) having bought this CD I do feel a little cheated... Yes, it was nice to have a look behind the scenes of Peter's more private moments and to finally hear those legendary recordings of his conversations with Dan Damon et al on LBC, but these points aside, I was left with a slight sense of being scammed.
Perhaps it's a little uncharitable but Rainbow George had a bit too much time to proselytise his independent bent (albeit mildly comical at times) and to punctuate the recording with quasi-musical nonsense, and although Peter featured in all the recordings, he was often shouted down, by irritating voices, who filled the time I expected to spend listening to conversation led by Peter. Of course I got the point - this was unrehearsed, unintentioned (except by George) and the comedy displayed was almost accidental by comparison with other Cook recordings you can spend a tenner on. But still.. I feel a bit let down... and this is coming from as big a fan of Peter Cook/Derek and Clive/E.L.Wisty etc, as you will ever find..
In short, this CD is for lovers of the esoteric and for completists, in the main. I have enjoyed it... but I also enjoy knitting!...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the hype, 14 Oct 2003
By 
Ted Manzie (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Over at Rainbow's (Audio CD)
It is hard to believe that out of the hundreds of hours of taped conversation that 'Rainbow George' must have, that these 2 cd's constitute the finest moments. Some tracks have virtually no Cook on at all let alone humourous conversation. Others are simply mystifying in their selection. Worth it for the excellent radio excerpts and the 'placebo' conversation, but don't get your hopes up - most of it is virtually worthless. How the other reviewers here can give it 5 stars is beyond me, but there you go. It's quite cheap... ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderfull, 25 Sep 2002
This review is from: Over at Rainbow's (Audio CD)
I bought this double-disc after reading how wonderful it was in the New Statesman. I'm happy to say I acquired a treasure which I imagine any true fan of Peter Cook would find thought-provoking and amusing. My favourite line, that I can't get out of my head, is Peter's prouncement that "Every effect has it's effect". He's sooo wise.
I am hungry for more of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Over at Rainbow's
Over at Rainbow's by Peter Cook (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews