Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thoughtful film about two guys not thinking straight
Any thoughts that "Changing Lanes" would be a predictable film should have gone out the window as soon as you saw Samuel L. Jackson was involved. The story is about two men who do not have time for a freeway fender bender. Gavin Banek (Ben Affleck) is a lawyer who has some important papers to file to prove an ailing millionaire signed over control of his foundation to...
Published on 3 Nov 2003 by Lawrance M. Bernabo

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Many wrongs never make right
This is a movie with no heroes, no nudity, no CGI and practically no fancy stunts, yet somehow it manages to hold your interest.
After feeling genuine hatred for the two lead characters, more so for Banek (Affleck) than Gipson (Jackson), I found that the ending wrapped up too quickly, too conveniently and too smoothly, and while it was reasonably watchable the first...
Published on 5 July 2004 by Amanda Richards


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Fender Bender turns dark with SLJ, 28 Mar 2012
This review is from: Changing Lanes [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I'm a big SLJ fan so loved this movie. It takes a very familiar situation and flips it on its head and is very unpredictable.
Great performances from SLJ and Ben Affleck and an all round entertaining film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Changing Lanes DVD, 23 Jun 2011
This review is from: Changing Lanes [DVD] (DVD)
Delivery on time great movie edge of your seat stuff if you haven't seen it before but for me just wanted to have a copy that I can watch whenever and wasn't disappointed, condition as new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MORALISTIC, 13 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Changing Lanes [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
The story centres on two characters, Gavin Banek, played by Ben Affleck, and Doyle Gipson, played by Samuel L. Jackson. Both are on their way to court, one as a lawyer, the other to attend a custody hearing, both heading in the same direction, total strangers in seperate cars. After a minor collision, Gavin Banek leaves Doyle Gipson stranded on a busy freeway to find his own way. Later, in court, Gavin Banek finds an important document is missing and realises he left it in the hands of Doyle Gipson. Not realising the importance of the document, (and not caring) he throws it away in anger. Samuel L. Jackson's character's morals are high on his list, whereas Ben Affleck's character's morals are none existant. This film is all about morals, and doing the right thing. It has good characterisation, and as the story unfolds, tells the viewer more about each character, and why they are both in court. While this film concentrates on a story, (there are no guns or explosions) the acting from both is good. This film may not be for everybody's tastes, and is not one of Samuel L. Jackson's best, but it is still a good film, and worth a watch.
The film is presented in it's original aspect ratio of 2.35:1. And has a 5.1 soundtrack. Picture Quality is also good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating duel, 19 Aug 2010
This review is from: Changing Lanes [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
If you think you've had a hard day, try this.

Jackson plays Doyle Gipson, an insurance salesman who is trying to earn his family back. Between attending AA meetings, he is seeking regular access to his two children. Affleck plays Gavin Banek, whose law firm demands he do morally questionable deeds so they can keep earning from their clients. We see their flaws but if there is a difference early on, it is that Gipson wants to do right by everyone while Banek is blinkered into looking after himself.

Beginning sharply with a car accident, Banek makes a choice which robs Gipson of something that can't be replaced. Gipson in turn has something Banek desperately needs. As one man's manipulative tactics are used in increasingly desperate measures, the other's wanting to do the right thing quickly evaporates as he is pushed to the brink and beyond. All the action is played out over the course of a day and what a day it is. I've seldom seen so much packed into one 24-hour period that feels as real as this. Things of course move along rapidly. Just when you think a scene may become bogged down in too much talk, one guy makes his move, sparking off the next in the series of clashes. By the end however, both come to ground with a view of themselves they didn't have when they set out that morning. Damage has been done but maybe some can be repaired as two men learn from each other how to be better and move forward. The ending is a very satisfying one.

The writing is excellent and moves between moral drama and gritty thriller. It's not all about two men locking horns as their story is interwoven with background to their lives. Whether Banek in discussion with his wife or Gipson having a dilemma in a bar, these scenes add depth but never take away from the intensity. The success of this film is also largely about the two lead performances. Affleck raises his game while Jackson is as charged as ever. He doesn't radiate hugeness as in other roles, but is just as effective in this often broken character. Both ensure their duel is a fascinating one from start to finish.

* extras: commentary by director Roger Michelle / 'The Making Of Changing Lanes' / 'A Writers Perspective' / deleted and extended scenes / trailer *
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Changing DVDs, 2 May 2004
By 
This review is from: Changing Lanes [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
It's unfortunate when a film appears to gather so much praise from some reviewers when it is in fact junk. What we have here is a nasty little film played by actors who should know better than to get involved with this morally confused escapade. Without any core background material the characters are meaningless and the decisions that they and their peers take are laughable in the extreme. The ending is limp and predictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good film, 30 April 2009
By 
Ms. Charlotte S. Downham (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Changing Lanes [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
i thought the idea of this film might be quite obvious and unimpressive but it really is a good film. It is refreshing to see Samuel L Jackson play such a different role from usual and I think this is Ben Afflecks best film to date. I enjoyed watching it but I don't think it's the type of film I'll watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NEW DVD, 26 April 2010
By 
Grocer ""Joker"" (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Changing Lanes [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
DVD came as promised, if fact before the due date. It was new and still in its wrapper. It was exactly as I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I understand why people like this film, but I hated it, 3 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Changing Lanes [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Yes, the acting is superb in this film. The script is tight and thought provoking and, although it does succumb to a disappointing Hollywood ending, the majority of the film is suitably bleak and intense.
However, I wouldnt recommend this film. There was no lead character to support as both Affleck and Jackson are incredibly unlikeable. Because of this I was left feeling emotionally detached from the escalating violence between the pair, which made the film feel quite relentless and wearing.
If for whatever reason you wouldnt normally watch this kind of film and are thinking of giving it a go.....dont. I feel like I've been shouted at for 90 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Changing Lanes [DVD] [2002]
Changing Lanes [DVD] [2002] by Roger Michell (DVD - 2003)
£2.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews