Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars393
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 September 2002
Never before has an Elvis album been remastered with such care. BMG has found the original masters and session tapes of 30 songs which made the top of the pop charts in the US and the UK between 1956 and 1977, remixed and remastered them, and added the JXL remix which recently topped the charts in fourteen countries. Similar to the ground-breaking Beatles Number Ones album in that Elvis' greatest songs aren't included if they didn't get to No.1, this therefore excludes songs like 'That's All Right', 'If I Can Dream' and 'Always On My Mind'. But it does include great songs like 'Heartbreak Hotel', 'Don't Be Cruel' and 'Suspicious Minds', all remastered to perfection. Some songs have sounded rather flat in the past, paarticularly 'Hound Dog', where they didn't have the master tape at hand, but now they've found it in a vault and used it for the first time since 1956.Two songs are noticably different, in that they've used a different version for this release. 'A Fool Such As I' is a different, earlier take of the song, and 'The Wonder Of You' is an undubbed version from an evening Vegas show, here replacing the overdubbed version recorded at the afternoon show the same day. Both lack the finesse of the master versions, but add to the collectability of the CD.These are the greatest hits of the worlds greatest entertainer ever. Therefore this has got to be the greatest album ever released by anyone, and should be in everyone's collection, along with 'The Sun Collection', 'Elvis Is Back' and 'From Elvis In Memphis'. Buy it now.
11 comment|86 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2002
The 31 songs on this album do not neccessarily give a complete picture of the enormous talent of the greatest recording artist of all time, but they are better than anything anyone else has to offer. All these songs are classics, many have already sold tens of millions of copies as singles and on albums.
With this cd there is the added bonus of the songs being remastered from the origonal tapes so that the sound quality is excellent. You can really hear ELV1S' voice crisp and clear, much better than on any earlier cd. It is almost like hearing the K1NG for the first time.
If you are an ELV1S fan then you have probably already decided to buy this album. If you are not yet a fan, listen to this cd. You will quickly realise why the Legend lives on.
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2002
When JXL remixed the '68 hit 'A Little Less Conversation' and got it to number one, it brought Elvis to a whole new generation of fans, including me. My parents are both Elvis fans and I've grown up with his music, but I bought this cd for myself, and to all young fans - it shows why Elvis is the King!
Most of the hits are from the 50's and early 60's, and the infamous tracks 'Heartbeak Hotel', 'Hound dog' and 'All Shook Up' are featured, as well as some lesser-known ones like 'too much' and 'hard headed woman'. What is great about this cd is that it shows Elvis' versatality - no other artist (not even Jacko, who many kids today think is better than Elvis, as if!) could change from rock (Jailhouse rock, burning love) to beautiful ballads (love me tender, don't, can't help falling in love) to gospel (crying in the chapel).
This cd also features 'suspicious minds' which puts Gareth Gates' recent cover to shame. And for newer or younger fans, the sleeve includes information on each track. Once you have this cd, you will want more. And remember:
Before anyone did anything, Elvis did Everything!
0Comment|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
THE KING AT HIS BEST ! A SELECTION OF SOME OF HIS BEST KNOWN SONGS SUNG AS ONLY HE CAN !
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
Came back from a visit to Gracelands and needed a quick fix of Elvis !! Cant stop listening to cd love it ,all the hits on this !!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
Although not a massive Elvis fan, he is a must for the ipod, as a lover of all types of music the king had to be included
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
we didnt have any elvis in our collection this is the only one needed old to new its all there
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
This disc has a good many Elvis hits. The interesting thing about it really is that you get to hear the tracks much more as the recording engineer would before any "sanitising" takes place. The disc is in " hi - res" quality( only playable on compatible disc players) which tends to show all the imperfections of the original "take". This is neither a "good" nor "bad" feature - it all depends what you prefer - personally I'm pleased I bought it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
A cd that should be in every music lover 's collection. Put on your headphones and listen to the songs that made people like Bob Dylan, Elton John , The Beatles, The ten years after, David Bowie go into music. Here you can hear Heartbreak Hotel, "we had never heard anything like this"(John Lennon), "Hearing it was like breaking out of jail"(Bob Dylan ). Or the two semi opera tunes 'It's now or never' (o sole mio) and Surrender' (il surrento' ) that made Pavarotti say "I can't sing like Elvis, but he can sing like me !", and made the famous female opera singer Kiri Te Kanawa chose the early 60' Elvis voice, as the best voice she had ever heard. Or listen to the most succesful song in U.K in 1970 'The wonder of You', or to the song 'Burning Love' that showed that in 72 Elvis could still rock your boots of, and make you wonder if this was the song that made a young Bruce Springsteen crawl over the wall at Graceland to meet Elvis ( who unfortunately wasn't home). There are plenty of other of Elvis' greatest songs on this release, and the sound of this release made one music critic write "Elvis' voice come jumping out of your loud speakers like a black panter" !!
If you have never bought an Elvis cd before then this one is a perfect choice for you.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2008
Here on 'one' cd are most of Elvis Presleys greatest hits. Starting with Heartbreak Hotel we get the early rock 'n roll hits. Jailhouse Rock, All Shook Up, Hound Dog etc etc. Next we move onto Elvis's change in style as he leaves the army and we get a 'new' Elvis. It's Now Or Never, Surrender, Are You Lonesome Tonight plus the movie hits of Wooden Heart, Can't help Falling In Love, Return To Sender. And the early 60's had Elvis releasing pure pop gems like 'His Latest Flame, Good Luck Charm' & She's Not You.
Then, as everyone believed Elvis would never have another #1 we get the mid 60's #1 hit 'Crying In The Chapel'. To round of this great Cd Elvis proves he can still reach the top of the charts as he does so with more gems. Suspicious Minds, Wonder Of You, & Burnin' Love to name a few. And to round of the #1's on the Cd 'A Little Less Conversation (Remix).
It's a pity time available on this 'ONE' Cd did not allow space for the other #1's like 'I Want You, I Need You, I love You, Little Sister, Rock a Hula Baby, I Need Your Love Tonight, I Got Stung, and Party to name a few.
So if you like to listen to pop music from the 50's right into the 2000's this Cd is a must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)