Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise
I've always been a moderate Boy George fan, thought Cheapness and Beauty was good (if a little pretentious). This album (You Can Never Be Too Straight) is possibly one of the best albums I have bought this year. I was concerned about being ripped off with the older songs being re-used, but after listening to the album, I can say I now understand why. As a collection of...
Published on 17 Aug 2002 by andyjowen

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I ran out and purchased this CD thinking only about how wonderful BG's past work has been. I was truly disappointed. The only song I liked was Ich Bin Kunst, which sounded like a campy cabaret song - I like campy. However, on all the other songs, George sounded the same - is his voice going? I saw him in concert in 2000 and he was in wonderful voice. Or maybe it was the...
Published on 16 Jan 2003 by Joe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise, 17 Aug 2002
This review is from: U Can Never B2 Straight (Audio CD)
I've always been a moderate Boy George fan, thought Cheapness and Beauty was good (if a little pretentious). This album (You Can Never Be Too Straight) is possibly one of the best albums I have bought this year. I was concerned about being ripped off with the older songs being re-used, but after listening to the album, I can say I now understand why. As a collection of work, the album is powerful and solid, tragic and inspiring. LIstening to it, is an experience, one I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can u ever be 2 straight ?, 16 Aug 2002
This review is from: U Can Never B2 Straight (Audio CD)
Well I was apprehensive as I had heard some quibbles about the songs on the CD all being old, previously recorded tracks, but I LOVE IT :)
There are new tracks , plus a bonus track of Out Of Fashion from Taboo , which is fabulous, ( you have to have it on loud tho !) There are songs such as Cheapness & Beauty , Same Thing In Reverse that sound new, they are very lively and lift your spirits. On , If I could fly you hear George giggle which is funny but then the emotion in the song is so serious , another definate weepie is Ill Adore , a very moving song indeed , where Georges beautifull, soulfull voice envelopes you in its sound and intensity. You feel like your sat in his front room and hes sat next to you singing.
For any George fans , its a must , For anyone who likes ballards , love songs, try it you might just like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From A Boy To A Man, 5 Aug 2002
By 
justin dunn (Edgbaston , Birmingham) - See all my reviews
This review is from: U Can Never B2 Straight (Audio CD)
It's hard to belive that it's been seven years since Boy George's last studio album Cheapness & Beauty , but if it takes that long to produce such a good album I don't mind waiting another severn years till the next .
Givern his wit and Multi media presence ( Behind a turntable , In front of a TV camera or on a West End stage ) it's not suprising that it is often forgotten that Mr O'Dowd is actuley a very good songwriter .
This intimately delivered album , is a change from past efforts and would not be out of place being titled Boy George Unplugged .
Adopting a Somthing Old Somthing New Somthing Borrowed and Somthing Blue philosophy , George brings new life to overlooked Gems like Unfinshed Business and Culture Club's Fat Cat , The odd tune from TABOO ( George's West End Show ) and hit's you like a curveball on the smokey St Christopher .
The dylanesque You Are The Deal is a timeless piece , instantly affecting you like all his best songs , almost painfully confessional . The album as a whole is an Excellent Piece , and has been written fearlessly in Blood and Tears . If a real fan or just simply intrested , this album comes highly recomended and without any doubt will be the top of any CD Collection .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Boy stripped bare, 8 Aug 2002
This review is from: U Can Never B2 Straight (Audio CD)
Boy George one the industrys most colourful and out spoken artists releases this his first studio album since Cheapness &Beauty in 1995. U Can Never Be 2 Straight is boy stripped to the bone and George at his very best. This album by far is one of his best works. The album features 5 tracks from Cheapness and Beauty which in my view are very under rated and richely deserved to be given the chance of an second hearing, plus two tracks Ich Bin Kunst & Wrong from his smash hit musical Taboo. But most of the album consists of new tracks such as Julian and Letter From A School Friend that will have u taking a personnel journey with George , each song on this albium has the ability to stire emotions within even the hardest of hearts and cannot fail to touch the soul. Georges soulful voice mixed with the air of vunability only serves to add that extra special something to bring the songs to life and reach out and touch u.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boy George back with a bang!, 7 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: U Can Never B2 Straight (Audio CD)
Boy George's first solo album of the new millenium is a collection of truely amazing songs! The mix of new material, re-recorded favourites, pieces from 'Taboo' and un-touched classics such as 'Bow Down Mister' & 'Same Thing In Reverse' form a record you could simply describe as "Boy George to the bone". Each track is full of raw emotion and excellence. It proves that George has not lost any of his talent for producing fine pop music and I'm sure he will achieve huge amounts of praise for this fantasic CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George's best solo work since the album "Cheapness & Beauty", 7 Aug 2002
This review is from: U Can Never B2 Straight (Audio CD)
This album has to be the best to come from George since the last album, Cheapness & Beauty back in 1995. Some fans may complain that they are getting ripped off, but I would disagree. Inch Bin Kunst is fantastic, and George is successfully doing his rounds at Taboo especially with this track. She Was Never He, Cheapness & Beauty, Fat Cat, If I could Fly and Unfinished Business which are featured on other albums appear on this one and sound just as good. This album is very autobiographical, it can be very sad but also very uplifting especially with tracks such as Bow Down Mister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to Basics, 19 Aug 2002
By 
elaine dobby (Whitstable, KENT United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: U Can Never B2 Straight (Audio CD)
This is the George album I've been waiting for.The album that shows his songwriting abilities and lets you hear that voice!
George has to be the most underated vocalist this country has and the acoustic feel of this album pushes those vocals to the fore.While I love all the tracks on this "DEAL" has always been one of my fave songs and finally it gets a release.After nearly 20 years of being a major fan i admit to have lapsed since Cheapness and Beauty , but this is the album to drag me back in.Buy it now, you wont regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mellow!, 12 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: U Can Never B2 Straight (Audio CD)
Not being familiar with some of the reworked tune on this album, I found it fresh and mellow... The lyrics are often sad but somehow the orchestrations just make it very easy to listen to.
"Bow Down Mister" seems very current in those fashionable bollywood times and the songs from Taboo (Ich Bin Kunst & the "hidden" Out of Fashion) are either very funny or very powerful.
Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Educated Freaks, 25 Aug 2002
This review is from: U Can Never B2 Straight (Audio CD)
Being ushered into UCNB2S is stepping into an artist's universe. Musical and literary influences are subtly acknowledged yet merged in a unique, personal fashion. Songs echo each other as in a dialogue, revealing, through words and instrumentation, different postures in life, from contemplative melancholy to derisive madness, when feelings and certainties are slipping out of your grasp. It was "mon plaisir" to find in one album alone, stage performance, true authorship, sensations and emotions that open up new opportunities to "freaks they could not teach" and teachers that freak out. And because presents have to be beautiful if they're genuine, the bonus track is indeed a precious gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars U CAN NEVER B2 STRAIGHT, 28 Sep 2002
By 
Gail (Philadelphia, Pa. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: U Can Never B2 Straight (Audio CD)
Everytime I listen to each song it is just so extraordinary! Each song with it's own identity..I can visualize him singing (St Christopher) so much attitude and love went into this cd.Boy George is such an over whelming singer/composer/actor/DJ ok I am pouring it on a little thick but he is the only artist I truly love because he has such a wonderful gift!!The Deal is so well written and the guitarist on the cd John Themis is just so supurb!!buy this cd it is a must have for your collection..and the hidden track is a the best surprise of all!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

U Can Never B2 Straight
U Can Never B2 Straight by Boy George (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews