Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fighting is incredible!
Forget the story. Its only there to set the scene for some of the most incredible and amazing fight scenes I have ever seen! Jet Li is amazing, and especially the fight at the end where he fights himself is truly the work of a martial arts film phenomenon!
Special effects are pretty cool too, especially, again, when he fights himself. Its so cleverly edited I dare...
Published on 11 Nov 2002 by Rosslock

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars slick, stylish sci-fi..not as deep as it aims but great fun!
The One is a fusion of Matrix-esque stylish mind-bending sci-fi thriller with the more tradition kung-fu action that we expect from Jet Li. While it's action is high-octane and often looks stunning, the interdimensional plotline seems a little "done before", although this film does offer a new twist...
Li plays both the villain and hero of The One. The power-hungry...
Published on 3 Dec 2003 by Priyan Meewella


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fighting is incredible!, 11 Nov 2002
By 
Rosslock "rosslock" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The One [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Forget the story. Its only there to set the scene for some of the most incredible and amazing fight scenes I have ever seen! Jet Li is amazing, and especially the fight at the end where he fights himself is truly the work of a martial arts film phenomenon!
Special effects are pretty cool too, especially, again, when he fights himself. Its so cleverly edited I dare you to spot when they use the double (as I'm sure they must have done even though I couldn't spot it!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wicked!, 13 Oct 2003
This review is from: The One [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
No doubt about it, martial arts at it's best here people. Jet Li plays a fine part. The effects included are amazing to say the least, many of them see jet fight himself!!! Don't understand me huh? Don't worry about it, you'll understand if you see the film, even if the story is a little 'brain racking'. Action fans-a must. Jet li fans-definetely. Martial arts fans-Certainly. People in search of something light-sorry but no. The storyline is good but confusing. Overall though, a film worth getting and I'm sure you'll love it-Action/jet li/martial arts or even random fans. ENJOY!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if not better than the matrix!, 30 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The One [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is a must see movie - if you liked The Matrix, you'll love The One. Jet Li's acting is pretty good, but the fight sequences are even better - every one of them, they get better as the movie goes on. The acting from Stratham and Lindo is impressive - Lindo's is better thatn it was in Gone In 60 Seconds, and if Stratham's acting is anything like it is in The One, than I am looking foward to The Transporter. The Soundtrack to the film is outstanding, and fits the film perfectly. So if you like action/sci - fi movies, this a definite must see.Top quality filming at it's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars slick, stylish sci-fi..not as deep as it aims but great fun!, 3 Dec 2003
By 
Priyan Meewella "Phoenix" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The One [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
The One is a fusion of Matrix-esque stylish mind-bending sci-fi thriller with the more tradition kung-fu action that we expect from Jet Li. While it's action is high-octane and often looks stunning, the interdimensional plotline seems a little "done before", although this film does offer a new twist...
Li plays both the villain and hero of The One. The power-hungry Yulaw is killing off his 124 alter-egos in other dimensions, one by one, absorbing their life essence in order to become "The One". Having killed off 123, only Gabriel Law (of our dimension) remains to prevent him becoming a supreme being. He too shares in Yulaw's increased strength, dexterity, speed and mental capacity, and trained as a cop, a showdown is imminent. Yulaw is also being chased by two multiverse agents [Delroy Lindo, Jason Statham] who track and follow him through wormholes, but now cannot risk killing him as the consequences of Gabriel becoming "The One" are just as unpredictably dangerous.
The plot is riddled with unexplained elements, such as just why there are only 124 different universes. Indeed all the convoluted sci-fi theory has to be discussed between Lindo and Statham, due to Li's typically wooden delivery of his lines. Nonetheless, the sci-fi element is embellished with decent dimension-hopping special effects to cover any problems, and the story is generally coherent.
The acting and dialogue is largely forgettable. Li's English and acting abilities have never been terribly strong, but he does provide a charismatic performance as Yulaw and a sympathetic one as the rather confused Gabriel. The film is also able to build up some tension through the fact both characters are dressed similarly so even the audience often becomes confused as to which of the two they are viewing (although perhaps it might help Gabriel's case if he switched to a bright yellow jumpsuit so the police would realise they were chasing two people?). Statham's hammed up acting is slightly more convincing. Carla Gugino as Gabriel's wife, T.K., evokes more sympathy from the audience, but in such a short film we never really get too close to her either.
What fans are really here to see, of course, is the action. And here the movie does deliver pretty well, especially in the opening and closing scenes. Unfortunately these bouts of action are sporadically scattered amongst a little too much sci-fi rambling, and are often a little too brief in duration. Li's usual martial arts antics are spiced up with some interesting speed-ups and slow-downs to represent Yulaw's superhuman speed. However, the inevitable Li vs. Li showdown is rather disappointing, a missed opportunity. While the fight itself is adequately choreographed, it lacks any special spark. The choppy music video editing with shifting camera angles and overblown sound effects that suited the earlier gun battles and shorter fights is unwelcome here, breaking the flow of the Li's smooth fighting style.
The film always looks sci-fi stylish, but in what has now become a rather conventional and unremarkable way, using dark clothing and blue/grey lens filters (just look at the palettes in the stills here). This aids the action, especially in the time-slowing sequences (not really a Matrix rip-off as some have argued: there's no bullet-time here) which look great.
The key reason that The One works is that it is unshamedly campy but utilising a big budget to create an exciting glossy surface. It never pretends to be genuinely quality cinema, it never tries to cover up its plot holes, it never tries to push Jet Li's acting, and so the sci-fi action remains thoroughly enjoyable throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The One, 23 April 2009
This review is from: The One [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This dvd is one I purchased as I am a fan of Jason Statham, who appears in this film, I found after watching that I am now also a fan of Jet Li. Excellent film with a very good plot running through it, twists and turns in the direction of the film make it thrilling viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wicked action,but bit too unrealistic, 8 July 2002
By 
simon lau (redhill, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The One [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
From renting this movie, i thought i was pretty cool as with most of the Jet Lee movies are. With a mixture of tastes from the Matric film i.e. the dodging of bullets was pretty cool. But it was kinda unrealistic when the evil jet lee picked up the two police cycles (one in each hand) to kill the cop.Was a bit over the top.
Though I do think its a film worth renting/buying,its full of state of the art martial arts action,one jet lee in the film is good enough, two jet lee's fighting eachother makes it totally out of the world.
The film itself was slightly a bit too short to be honest, I still need to rent the other movies i.e. Kiss of the Dragon. This movie would be excellent if they had added the x-ray vision effects like they had with Romeo Must Die.
All i can say that if your a jet lee fan, this film is a must to prove that you are a fan of Jet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jet Li vs Jet Li for the multiverse championship, 12 Oct 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The One [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
What else could a guy ask for really? Not only do you have Jet Li doing his martial arts thing, which he does better than anyone else working in movies today, but he finally faces a worthy opponent (himself); then there's the gorgeous Carla Gugino, who has long been one of my favorite actresses; throw in a visionary, science fiction storyline, all kinds of explosions, some pretty darn impressive CGI, and you've got yourself a movie I will gladly pay to watch. But it gets better. The story comes from the minds of X-Files legends Glen Morgan and James Wong, with Wong directing and Morgan serving as co-producer of the story they co-wrote. Best of all, though, we get to see Jet Li portray a bad guy, and that is something you just don't want to miss.
Jet Li plays both of the characters at the heart of this story. The universe of The One is not even a universe, it's a multiverse, with versions of each person existing simultaneously in each universe; all these different versions of "you" are connected somehow, and the power vacuum left by the death of one "you" is not lost but is shared equally among all of the other versions of "you." Travel between the universes is possible through wormholes, and such travel is strictly policed. When one agent discovers that he can become more powerful by killing one of his counterparts elsewhere, he becomes a renegade who knocks off 123 versions of himself to become almost all-powerful. Lawless (the bad Jet Li) makes a spectacular escape from the universe cops and comes after the one remaining version of himself out there, Gabe Law (the good Jet Li). Gabe has naturally been gaining in power and strength himself all this time, and this fact plus his martial arts background makes Gabe a force to be reckoned with. The movie builds to the ultimate confrontation between these two selves, a nice twist on the struggle between good and evil.
I, for the most part, like my martial arts displays realistic and natural; if you're going to use wires and allow for all sorts of superhuman abilities, you'd better do an impressive job with the special effects. Consider that job done in The One. Using such devices as different film speed and CGI animation, this movie's special effects are quite impressive; Wong avoids the kind of excess you find in many a Matrix clone. There are a couple of scenes in which the animation does not look real for a moment or two, but one can easily overlook this because the things that the souped up version of Jet Li does pretty much rock the house. The fight scenes are in no way diminished by the use of the old hidden wire technique, and you walk away from this movie knowing you have gotten your money's worth of entertainment. The DVD adds a plethora of special features on the making of the movie, including a commentary by Wong and crew, some good looks at the fight choreography work of Cory Yuen, a really cool animation sequence of one action scene using G.I. Joe-type figures, and another look at all of the faces of Jet Li that go to form the funniest part of the movie – as Lawless' crimes are detailed, we are shown photos of all the incredibly diverse and oftentimes hilarious guises of Jet Li's character across the multiverse.
I think The One is a fantastic, action-packed winner. Just accept the premise of the whole multiverse idea; it works quite well so long as you don't let yourself ponder over the implications and questions the whole concept raises in your mind. If you find yourself overanalyzing the movie's premise, just think about how gorgeous Carla Gugino is – that's the strategy I employed, and I must say it worked quite well indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great Jet Li film., 28 Aug 2002
By 
R Eagles (Northamptonshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The One [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Jet Li has managed to get out yet another great movie with this one. It combines one of the very best in the Martial Arts movie world, with a very interesting view of what could be. And if you have seen the Matrix, then you might see one or two things in this movie that your like. There is a lot of fighting in it, and I will say that the story does drag on a little as really the movie is totally devoted to fighting, (and killing in one or two bits of the movie), but overall, a very good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great film on two levels, 21 July 2002
By 
Simon Stockford (Preston, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The One [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
There is not one universe, but many - a multiverse.We have the technology to travel between universes, but travel is highly restricted - and policed!There is not one you, there are many, each of us exists in present time in parallel universes.There was balance in the system, but now a force exists to destroy the balance, so that he can become The One...
There are two very different ways people will see this film.If you are not a martial artist, you will see this as a visual spectacle,containing many great effects and action sequences, but you may not think it is a good martial arts film.If you are a martial artists, you should be pretty impressed by this film, the two different styles used by the two different Jet's (xing yi quan and bagua zhang) show of Jet Li's awesome talent, with some great techniques being used.Of course these like any Jet Li movie are interlinked with wire work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hits the ground running and never lets up., 19 Mar 2014
This review is from: The One [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
The One is all sound and fury , The movie offers brainless high-tech action,Critics were rather grumpy about this Jet Li vehicle, but it has some decent action moments, an original premise, and a supporting role for Jason Statham in its favour. Li plays Gabriel Yulaw, a sociopath who's rampaging through parallel dimensions, killing the alternate versions of himself and absorbing their energy. Li also plays Law, who in our version of reality is a mild-mannered LA cop. The good Yulaw then teams up with 'Multiverse Authority Agents' Delroy Lindo and Jason Statham to put a stop to his evil counterpart's antics, and much high-kicking action ensues.A film best enjoyed with an alcoholic beverage and some friends rather than interrogating with beard-stroking analysis, The One provides a great evening's entertainment, with even its drawbacks - Jet Li struggling with its English-language script, and some variable computer graphics - merely adding to the fun. It's also pleasing to see Statham team up with one of Hong Kong cinema's finest martial arts stars, years before the 2007 film War or the action team-up of The Expendables.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa493ea0)

This product

The One [DVD] [2002]
The One [DVD] [2002] by James Wong (DVD - 2002)
3.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews