Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better then you might have heard
Well, this has come in for one hell of a slating. Season Six's dark tones and emotional catastrophes have set off raging debates among fans of the show. There are plenty of people who are claiming the Season is awful. They're wrong. While Season Six is nowhere near as strong as Five, it's nevertheless full of good ideas. It's the execution that is sometimes lacking. The...
Published on 13 Nov. 2002 by themirror26

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first half of Season Six...
I watched Buffy the Vampire Slayer from the very first episode, and really enjoyed it. The show got better, and Seasons Two and Three blew me away...witty dialogue, intersting plots, and the underlying relationships of the central characters made this show a teen drama with a difference. Season Four tried to make the show grow up; it went all sci-fi, lost three regular...
Published on 5 Aug. 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better then you might have heard, 13 Nov. 2002
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Season 6 - Episodes 12-22 (Box Set) [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
Well, this has come in for one hell of a slating. Season Six's dark tones and emotional catastrophes have set off raging debates among fans of the show. There are plenty of people who are claiming the Season is awful. They're wrong. While Season Six is nowhere near as strong as Five, it's nevertheless full of good ideas. It's the execution that is sometimes lacking. The box set starts badly with the cringeworthy 'Doublemeat Palace' but improves radically with 'Dead Things'. This is one of the few episodes of the Season where the dark tone actually works, as the nerd trio commit an atrocity and try to pin it on Buffy. 'Older and Far Away' is dull melodrama and the return of 'Captain Cardboard' Riley is as bland and uninteresting as the character. However, things vastly improve on the second tape. 'Hell's Bells' is a good dark comedy episode, although it heartily embraces the jilted bride cliche and leaves you wondering how you could ever like Xander again. Emma Caulfield saves the day with a strong performance as the heartbroken Anya. 'Normal Again' is one of the most interesting concepts for an episode of Buffy, and the first 25 minutes is a genuine spine-tingler. It takes a downturn with a dodgy 'I must kill all my friends' twist, but is sufficiently interesting to keep your attention and has an amazing ending. 'Entropy' features the return of Anya. This strikes a good balance. The first half is hilarious comedy (Anya trying get the Scoobies to wish Xander's bits would explode!) and the second half is an accurate portrayal of how betrayed people can make foolish, and damaging decisions. Things heat up in 'Seeing Red'. It's one of the best episodes, but falls victim to two big problems (spoiler ahead). The rape scene is obviously a last minute addition and is out of character for the lovestruck Spike. Yes, he's evil, but he wouldn't rape Buffy, and Buffy herself would have kicked his butt instead of resorting to the typical weak female cliche that the character has always stood against. Tara's death is callous and poorly done solely to bring about Dark Willow. It marks the departure of the show's only likeable character. I suppose you're probably wondering why this got 4 stars. Despite the contived story, the Dark Willow plotline in 'Villains' 'Two To Go' and 'Grave' is fascinating to watch and marks a return to classic Buffy. The final showdown in 'Grave' between Willow and Xander is one of the most heartbreaking Buffy moments ever. Overall, this box set has suffered due to the cliched direction the show has taken this year, but there are more than enough strong, enjoyable episodes to warrant your buying this. Roll on Season Seven!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Now, what do we have here?, 30 Nov. 2002
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Season 6 - Episodes 12-22 (Box Set) [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
Season Six got a definite bad rap. It's darker, more sinister than the previous seasons, and nearly a letdown after the glorious - bad pun - Season Five. First, I'll get my gripes out, then concentrate on the lighter parts.
From the point of view of my pro-Spike and pro-Buffy/Spike relationshippingness, Buffy's using of Spike turned out to be a disappointment. Joss should have never left the writers on their own for this season, and maybe even Marti shouldn't have co-produced the show along with him. At the end of S5, Spike was being treated like a man. This all goes down the drain in S6, especially in "Dead Things". Also, the near-rape scene in "Seeing Red". Not fun. Not IC for Spike. Might be a demon, still can love. If you love someone, you don't do that to them. Sure, opens the gate for the whole Soulful!Spike idea, but still, iffy.
Also, Buffy is not a character completely incapable of love. If the season had continued on the way I would have wanted it to be, she wouldn't have ended up using Spike and feeling nothing for him in the end. Still, I'm biased. Blatantly biased.
Dawn was also written a little too young in this season. If she had been written her age - which happens to be my current age - the transition from S6 Dawn to S7 Dawn wouldn't have seemed so sudden. She goes from pastels and sneakers to black and high heels.
I know that power corrupts the best of people, but with Willow... it was almost taken too far. Also, Tara's death was completely unnecessary. Yes, it made Willow become the Big Bad, but it was a shame. Amber Benson should have been in the opening credits for all of the season, not just the episode where her character was killed off.
Also, the Troika - the Three Geeks. A little mixed on that. Sometimes it was strong, sometimes weak. There was vague comic relief, and Warren's transition from robot-making guy to Big Bad was a little off-putting at first, but the idea of having a real, human villain was good. A little strange, though - demons can't be good, can be killed. Humans can be evil, can't be killed. Biased, much? And Jonathan. I love the little guy! Him going all Big Bad wannabe was a little iffy. Of course, he was redeemed. Andrew was just annoying.
Things of the likeage -
Xander and Anya. The drama in their relationship was enjoyable, probably the best thing during the entire season. Also, Halfrek. The appearance of William the Bloody's old love object as a vengeance demon was simply too sweet.
Xander and Willow's scene in "Grave". It's refreshing to see the normal guy save the world for once. By talking about yellow crayons, too.
Highlight episodes of this set -
"Hell's Bells", "Normal Again", "Entropy", "Two to Go", and "Grave". "Villains" wasn't bad. "Doublemeat Palace", "Dead Things", "Older and Far Away", "As You Were", and "Seeing Red" were simply unenjoyable.
A decent season, if not a slight disappointment. It's nice to see that S7 has picked itself up off the ground better than S6 did.
I'd buy this set. Strangely enough, I'd almost say it's better than the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars messy, 25 Jun. 2003
By 
Lendrick (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Season 6 - Episodes 12-22 (Box Set) [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
The main thing that season 6 proves is the genius of Joss Whedon. He steps away from his creation for a series and the whole thing goes a bit wobbly. Don't get me wrong this is still way ahead of most television and all of its pale imitators but this series is just to flawed to be classic. Much has been made of the darkness of this series, I have no problem with that - series 2 wasn't exactly light - what I do have a problem with is the quality of the writing.
Firstly there are just too many plot lines competing for attention so that none really held my attention, is this about the (awful) Trio, Willow, or Buffy & Spike? Previous series had a strong central plot combined with sub plotting and standalone episodes all expertly balanced. This series was all over the place and the only good standalone episode was the one Joss Whedon wrote.
Secondly the Trio of geeks were a big mistake, they were never more than mildly amusing at the start and Warren transformation into superbaddy completely ridiculous.
Thirdly there is some truly awful scripting and plotting. The dialogue always one of the joys of Buffy only rarely sparkled. While some of the plot developments are incredibly clumsily handled, oh Tara is back with Willow, oh 1 episode later Tara is dead and Willow is back on the magic. While much as I missed Giles he had at least one to many exits this series; I'm leaving, I'm back but I'm leaving again, I'm back but I'm dying, oh actually I'm OK!!!
Why 4 stars then? Because the best bits are still some of the best things on television and the final confrontation between Xander and Willow was as powerful as anything the series has done - though I suspect only for long term fans, Xanders character was seriously undermined in this series.
Overall a disappointment compared too the high standards Buffy can achieve, for those that don't agree ask yourselves which was more shocking & moving, Taras death or Glory feeding of her mind in series 5?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated Buffy Season, 17 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Season 6 - Episodes 12-22 (Box Set) [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
Series six got a lot of criticism from regular Buffy fans, but looking back over it, its hard to understand why. It's a slight change in direction from previous seasons, and although the message is different it's no less valid. There are the usual episodes which are a slight let down, but this is inevitable in a series with such a high standard as Buffy. The majority of the episodes are very entertaining, thought provoking and moving. I haven't given it 5 stars because the humour of which Buffy used to be full of is almost obsolete and although it contains many good episodes, there are no stand outs as with many previous box sets (The Gift, Hush etc).
Doublemeat Palace - 4/10
Buffy gets a job in a burger bar, when employees are rapidly disappearing she suspects the secret ingredient is something more sinister than 'the meat process'. A clever attempt of satire towards the fast food industry, but it comes across as more silly than funny.
A very poor start to the set, this episode is aiming for humour and never quite hits the mark. It's generally acknowledged to be the worst episode in Buffy 's history, and although it improves with repeated viewing it is not memorable.

Dead Things - 10/10
A very dark and depressing episode which is very well written and acted. The main story line is Buffy trying to come to terms with her unhealthy, self-destructive relationship with Spike. All the scoobies are suffering and although it is a very Buffy/Spike centred episode, the pain of the others is evident too.
Older and Further Away - 6.5/10
The title is referring to Buffy, who, in another birthday disaster episode is growing apart from her friends. It's defiantly filler, despite revelling a story line that has unfolded for sometime.
There are some funny moments here, mainly from Xander, and occasionally Tara cryptically teasing Spike about his relationship with Buffy, but its hard to get involved in the story line and the viewer feels relatively detached throughout, a suitable episode to follow the intensity of 'Dead Things'.
As You Were 5/10
In the final let down episode of the season, we see Riley return to Sunnydale and while doing so he reminds Buffy she is much more than what she has become. It is not so much about moving on, as it is moving back. All the scoobies have made bad decisions recently especially Buffy and Willow, and here they are coming to terms with it and trying to get back on their feet. Of course the season isn't over yet so they will encounter more obstacles on the way.
Hells Bells 7/10
This improves considerably on repeated viewing. Each individual scene has something to offer. Xander and Anya's wedding does not go ahead which looks like the end of their relationship but things are looking up for Willow and Tara.
Normal Again 10/10
The best episode on the box set.
Buffy gets struck by a demon which gives her hallucinations, making her believe she is in a mental institution. Raising the issue of how do we know if the reality we experience is real?

Entropy 9/10
The only comic episode from this box set that achieves what it set out to do. It is dark, it is also very funny. Clever title for an episode showing 'Things fall apart, you can't ever put them back the way they were'
Seeing Red 8/10
Another well-written episode which is quite disturbing.
Villains 8/10 Two To Go 9/10 Grave 9/10
Three episodes that see Willow fall back into her magic addiction. Xander's speech at the end of Grave is wonderful, offering Willow his unconditional love - even if she kills him, telling her how much she has grown from 'crayon breaky Willow to Scary Veiny Willow'. Excellent acting from everyone, especially Alyson, reminding us why we love the show so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as strong as part 1, but still very much worth buying., 19 Dec. 2002
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Season 6 - Episodes 12-22 (Box Set) [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
"DoubleMeat Palace" - 4/10. This is a very weak episode with plot holes galore and a truly awful ending.
"Dead Things" - 9/10. Excellent episode, excellent cinematography and acting, and the drama elements were very well done.
"Older and Far Away" - 3/10. A whine-fest. Anya and Dawn have tantrums like they're three year olds. The high-point is the sword-swinging demon.
"As You Were" - 9/10. Riley has never been my favourite character but I really liked this episode. There were some great lines ("Troublemeat palace") and some further development for Buffy.
"Hell's Bells" - 5/10. I really used to like this episode, but everytime I watch it it declines in quality. The jokes aren't funny, the motives are awful (I hate Xander now) and the whole Buffy feel wasn't there.
"Normal Again" - 9/10. Terrific and original episode, with some particularly disturbing scenes in the mental hospital. Lots of subtle touches make this one a must-see.
"Entropy" - 8/10. Very good drama episode. Emma Caulfield and James Marsters are great. The first half is weak, the second half is brilliant.
"Seeing Red" - 10/10. One of those amazing episodes that mixes outrageous comedy with tragic sadness. Tara's death was shocking and sudden, and Willow's red eyes are the single best Buffy shot in history.
"Villains" - 10/10. I must've watched this brilliant episode about 20 times. It's truly amazing, Alyson Hannigan is incredible. Everything here is great, making it only second to "Once More, With Feeling" in the season 6 best-of list.
"Two to Go" - 9/10. This episode is almost a 10/10 but there is some silly dialogue here that brings it down a notch. The Buffy-Willow fight is classic.
"Grave" - 9/10. Had to rewatch this to get to really like it. Now I love it. Alyson Hannigan continues her run of great performances, all the Magic Box scenes are great, and the scene with Willow and Xander is classic.
SEASON 6 AVERAGE: 7.7/10. Even with some bad episodes ("Older and Far Away", "DoubleMeat Palace"), this box set is worth buying just to see Black Magick Willow, probably my personal favourite villain ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The end of Willow? The beginning of a new Spike?, 25 Jun. 2002
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Season 6 - Episodes 12-22 (Box Set) [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
The second half of season 6 continues with the darker tone present since Buffy's return from the grave. The second half opens with Doublemeat Palace, and sees Buffy become an employee at a burger restaurant, to make money after being rejected from college; we get to witness Anya and Xander's almost-marriage, Buffy continues her ill-fated relationship with Spike, and theres an appearance by Buffy's old beau Riley.
However, this year also comes with tragedy, which all kicks off in 'Entrophy'. There is Spike's adempted rape on Buffy, several gun shots leaving characters severly wounded, and the BigScoobyDeath. These events lead to Willow losing it, as she finally gives into her magick temptation. In 'Seeing Red', 'Two To Go' and 'Grave' we get to see a side of Willow we have rarely seen. The side of Willow we really don't want to mess with.
Personally, my fave episodes are definitely 'Two To Go' and 'Grave' (season finale). One episode that stands out is 'Normal Again' which leaves Buffy thinking that she is a patient in a mental hospital and that her life as the slayer has been an illusion for the past 6 years. To be honest, all of the episodes on this set are genius, which is what we have come to expect from an established show like this, and from the brilliant workings of Whedon and Noxon.
Where can it go from here? We will know soon, as season 7 is confirmed and the cast are about to start filming, with rumours that a few scenes of the Season Seven opener will been filmed in England. And as for Spike? Will we be seeing a new side to him after the last shocking scene? And most importantly, will these rumours that Sarah Michelle Gellar leaving be confirmed?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buffy series 6, 9 Feb. 2003
By 
James Castell (Luton, Bedfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Season 6 - Episodes 12-22 (Box Set) [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
i really enjoyed this. this series just keeps on giving. First we have buffy back from the dead and we have an all exclusive musical episode. Then you get part two of the series. Theres not a lot you can say without giving it away. It gets very dark. After this series you see willow in a new perspective she is not just the harmless girl that has been portrayed over the past six years. Buffy and dawn are developing their sister-sister relationship, xander and anya also have a few twists in this series. A very shocking episode is also included (Seeing Red). and it has a great finale leaving many possibilities for the next season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On A Par With Previous Seasons, 2 Oct. 2002
By 
Russell Tofts (Cambridge, Cambs, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Season 6 - Episodes 12-22 (Box Set) [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
The new, darker theme explored in Season Six may not meet with every die-hard fan's approval, but I found the new direction a refreshing change from the levity that characterised the early seasons which, at times, was inappropriate for the grave situations (no pun intended) in which Buffy and the others found themselves. The characters in Season Six are older, wiser; they've mellowed; they're facing adult responsibilities. And Buffy is coming to realise that slaying all the evils the Hellmouth can unleash against her is a piece of cake compared with the travails of managing a house, acting as a surrogate mother to a kleptomaniac sibling, and holding down a regular job. Watching her getting "sloshed" in one episode makes the character more "human", less infallible. Somehow she's not that much different from the rest of us.
And I love her new, shorter hair style. It suits her.
Willow is finding it hard to do without magic. The drug addiction/cold turkey metaphor is obvious. A less obvious metaphor is Buffy's use of Spike to extract information about the Underworld. Spike is useful to her, although she doesn't admit, even to herself, just how useful. He has the "info" on all the demons, leading Buffy to resort to what is, to all intents and purposes, prostitution. Instead of rewarding Spike with money for all the help he gives her, as she has done in the past, she uses her body as payment.
There are many highlights which put this purchase on a par with previous seasons. The very best episodes are: "Doublemeat Palace"; "Dead Things"; and "Normal Again" (this last one I rate among the very best from all the seasons, especially for its originality, integrity, and courage in deliberately choosing to draw attention to certain anomalies that have crept into the last two seasons, such as the very sudden and unexpected appearance of Dawn). And who could fail to be excited by the concluding episodes which portray the apocalyptic aftermath of the death of one of the main characters (I won't reveal which one, although the character's identity is fairly common knowledge)?
The worst episodes are "Older and Far Away" and "Hell's Bells". Set on Buffy's twenty-first birthday, "Older and Far Away" does contain a memorable demon with an unusual method of escaping. Question: Since something terrible always seems to happen on Buffy's birthday, why doesn't she just give up celebrating them?
"Hell's Bells" is redeemed to a certain extent by Emma Caulfield's as usual delightfully quirky portrayal of Anya.
The episode in which Buffy is convinced she has killed a young woman and is about to confess all to the police, provides one of the most emotionally charged scenes. Buffy tries to explain to a tearful Dawn that she (Buffy) has no choice but to turn herself in. What makes the scene so poignant is Buffy's use of exactly the same words ("Dawny, I have to") that she first used when about to make the ultimate sacrifice at the climax of Season Five. The parallel is striking and makes for engrossing viewing. Then she was about to lose her life; now she is faced with the prospect of losing her liberty. In both cases, she is resigned to her fate; in both cases, she is prepared to sacrifice herself for the people she loves.
I enjoyed the "pop culture" references which pepper the script as thickly as they have done in previous seasons, which show that BTVS does not exist in isolation, but the characters inhabit the same world, and are affected by the same influences, as the rest of us. The danger is that such topical references might prematurely date the show when episodes are repeated (as I'm sure they will be) in ten or fifteen years time.
"Buffy" is spoiled slightly by the number of unexplained dramatic conveniences. For example, the night, just after Willow had turned bad, when Dawn sneaks off for a secret assignation with a powerful, evil warlock, how did Buffy know where to find her, and arrived (of course) just in the nick of time to save her?
The last three or four episodes, in which Willow embraces black magic big time, are extremely dramatic and suspenseful, and show the old adage of Hell having no fury like a woman scorned, to be a gross understatement, as Willow prepares to destroy all she loves in her insatiable quest for revenge. I couldn't wait to watch each succeeding episode to see how things panned out, even if the final denouement, when it came, seemed rather contrived. This is truly edge-of-the-seat stuff. For once, in an unexpected turn of events, Buffy doesn't get to save the world - one of the other Scoobies does.
The major problem facing the scriptwriters must be (to paraphrase a line heard in "Once More, With Feeling") where to go from here. Having had Buffy face such apparently indestructable foes as The Master, The Judge, The Mayor, Adam, Glory, and now a vengeful Willow Witch, it can't be easy to think up new adversities for Buffy to come up against.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She may have died... twice, but she's still pretty., 22 July 2002
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Season 6 - Episodes 12-22 (Box Set) [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
Right from the word go i was hooked on Buffy. I couldn't wait to get in from school and go watch the next episode. Now, six years down the line, i'm still completely fascinated by the show. There have been many negative responses about the shows sixth year saying it took a totally wrong direction whilst Joss Whedon abandoned it and it was the worst season by far. Just for the record, i think this is the best season by far!!! Yes, it has gone in a completely new direction but the direction it takes is fantastic. It is darker, sexier, more dramatic, and more involving. Willow's addiction to magic and the eventual consequences of Tara's death makes for the best television i've seen in a long time! The metaphor was fabulous. The only thing i am sorry about is Tara's death. I don't think i stopped crying for a week - but there you go, stands to reason. It took hold and never let go, that's what televisions all about!!! Outstanding episodes - Hell's Bells, Normal Again, Two to Go, Grave... and the rest. Buy it now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It's not as a good as it used to be" LIES! LIES! LIES!, 5 Aug. 2002
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Season 6 - Episodes 12-22 (Box Set) [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
Okay, Season 6 got a bit wonky in the middle, I'll admit that. It sort of mutated into Dawson's Creek with fangs and puns. A lot of emotion got thrown into the mix and the outcome wasn't pretty, but luckily, Joss Whedon and his crew spotted this, and decided to f**k things up. Literally. Everything got turned around, ripped apart, thrown into walls, kicked while down and finally spat on. Some people would see this as a complaint, that the show moved on, that the show progressed, that the show didn't stay in high school and have the monster of the week scenario. People don't like change, when something *does* change (I mean, with Buffy, it's not like it just happened, it's been going that way for a while) people can't get used to it and loose interest. These people annoy me and I have no time for them.
Buffy is an extremely intelligent show, the writers know what they're doing, they have faith in their audience, and as fans, we have faith in them. The ending of Season 6 is a natural progression. Buffy has a job, she HAS to work to provide money for her and sister, if she doesn't, social services will take Dawn away. Joss isn't going to make Buffy win the lottery or inherit a small fortune from a Cuban drug lord. He's going to do what he's always done. Make it as realistic as possible (without regards to the monsters/vampires/demons etc.)
The cast out shine them selves this year; James Marsters and Alyson Hannigan deserve more recognition for their efforts this season. Both handled the scripts brilliantly.
Overall, season 6 is a bumpy ride. You'll either love it, or hate it. The structure's been messed with this season and why not? Joss and co pulled it off. This season is as strong as any other season before it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Season 6 - Episodes 12-22 (Box Set) [VHS] [1998]
Used & New from: £0.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews