Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


118 of 120 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silly Old Bear
Before his death, Walt Disney had started his staff on a series of shorts starring A. A. Milne's creation Winnie the Pooh. Because he knew American audiences weren't that familiar with the character yet, he decides that a series of short features would be best, followed by a movie combining them together. This is that movie. Originally released in 1977, it combines the...
Published on 2 Nov 2005 by Mark Baker

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too many ads for a kids video!
My daughter loves Pooh, and enjoys the video. However, her patience runs thin when we have to fast forward through more than 20 minutes of ads and "making of" at the beginning before we get to the story. While we are used to using the fast forward button on most movies, on a kids video which you watch again, again, and again, it is tiring. The teletubbies and...
Published on 2 Feb 2001


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

118 of 120 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silly Old Bear, 2 Nov 2005
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Winnie The Pooh - The Many Adventures Of Winnie The Pooh [DVD] (DVD)
Before his death, Walt Disney had started his staff on a series of shorts starring A. A. Milne's creation Winnie the Pooh. Because he knew American audiences weren't that familiar with the character yet, he decides that a series of short features would be best, followed by a movie combining them together. This is that movie. Originally released in 1977, it combines the three shorts that had been previously released, "Winnie the Pooh and the Honey Tree," "Winnie the Pooh and the Blustery Day," and "Winnie the Pooh and Tigger, Too" with a couple new transitions to make the stories flow together.
The story is set in the Hundred Acre Wood where Winnie the Pooh, a bear with very little brain, lives along with his friends. There's Christopher Robin, a young boy, wise Owl, gloomy Eeyore, Rabbit, small and easily frightened Piglet, Kanga and her son Roo, and bouncy Tigger. No matter what they face, they face it together, at least in the end.
The first set of stories revolves around Pooh's love of honey. When he runs out, he tries to get some from bees and then visits Rabbit where he gets stuck after eating too much.
A natural disaster visits the Hundred Acre woods when a blustery day is followed by a flood. While facing danger, Pooh also learns about Heffalumps and Woozles who may be after his honey.
Finally, Tigger's bouncing gets the best of Rabbit and he tries to debounce Tigger. Undeterred, Tigger gets himself and Roo stuck in a tree.
These cartoons are sweet and innocent. They easily bring back memories of childhood and simpler times. There is gentle humor and the simple lessons aren't done in a heavy-handed manner.
The style of the animation is fairly unique in the Disney canon. It's pencil line heavy. Even though the artists have made it their own, it still reminds the view of Ernest Shepherds charming "decorations" from the books.
These stories are very true to their source material. The new character Gopher is introduced, but as he's not in the book, he's not even in the second half. Probably the most curious choice was the use of a book. The pages turn as the story progresses and we move in on page illustrations to see what happens next. I'll admit it took me quite some time to get used to the idea, but I do see the charm in it now.
The main audience for this movie has always been kids, and the 25th anniversary release reflects that. Most of the features are kid friendly, with games, a sing along song, and a story time segment. Adults will enjoy the behind the scenes featurette. You can choose to watch the movie with pop up facts running. Most of them are ordinary, but there are a few fun trivia items included. Also included is the short "A Day for Eeyore." It was originally released in 1981 and features a few new voices because of cast deaths. It's a fun feature with a couple of my favorite stories from the books, but is a little disconcerting to watch right after seeing the film. As to the film itself, the picture is sharp and the sound is great. It's presented in full frame. I have no proof, but I suspect that was the original aspect ration.
This is a nice film for young kids. Adults may not enjoy it as much as some kid's films, but if they watch with an open mind, it will release their inner child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 11 Feb 2004
By 
This review is from: Winnie The Pooh - The Many Adventures Of Winnie The Pooh [DVD] (DVD)
Winnie the Pooh and his friends have had many movies made about them but this remains the best of the bunch.
Adults and children will simply love this enchanting tale of a bear named Pooh.
Personally, I watched this with my one-year old son (who now knows all the characters by name - this film alone has brought his speaking skills on by leaps and bounds, purely because it kept his interest.)
I am looking forward to when he watches it again in a few years and actually understands the story behind it.
I am also looking forward to the day when he watches it as an adult and becomes as "choked" as I was at seeing the ending of the film... I truly didn't remember how this film ended from when I watched it as a child... the ending may well take you by surprise.
If you feel the cartoons and films made for children today lack something of the "innocence" of the cartoons and films made in yesteryear, get this and have a thoroughly pleasureable time.
Beautiful.
But that beaver isn't in the book (as he keeps reminding us) ... and he shouldn't be in the film... GGGGrrrrr!!!! Disney being Disney I suppose...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars T. I. Double-Guh. Errrrr., 20 Feb 2006
By 
tracey (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Winnie The Pooh - The Many Adventures Of Winnie The Pooh [DVD] (DVD)
BLISS
Still reticent about letting my small sone watch too much TV, I was *so* relieved when I put this movie on. The bliss of being whicked immediately back to my own childhood, the beaming pleasure of my small son as he watched the familiar, lovable, gorgeous little characters.
The hilarity when Pooh falls out of the honey tree!
This is the best of the Pooh movies. The animation is done in the style of the original EH Sheppard drawings, and the stories follow those in the book (apart from a very brief appearance of annoying new beaver character, who falls down a hole anyway).
The film is shown on a book, and the pages turn between scenes with the charaters sometimes walking/hopping over to the next page. It's gorgeous. It's adorable.
IT'S ALL ADORABLE. It's childhood in a plastic box. It's superb. Well done Disney. Well done A A Milne. Well done E H Sheppard. Well done everyone. And well done me for buying it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great first effort at adapting A.A. Milne's stories, 18 Nov 2001
By A Customer
In 1966 Walt Disney decided to make a movie based on A.A. Milne's classic stories because his daughters had loved the stories so much.Walt soon found out the Americans were not so familiar with the Winnie The Pooh characters so Walt decided to break the film up into 3 short movies so Pooh could be more popular if he could build up an American following.Later the 3 films were combined to make this film masterpiece.Walt did perfect casting.Sterling Holloway IS Winnie The Pooh.Paul Winchell IS Tigger.John Fiedler IS Piglet.Junius Matthews IS Rabbit.All these actors did their characters perfectly.Sterling Holloway (Kaa in The Jungle Book) used his timeless amusing talent on Pooh.Paul Winchell (Dick Dastardly in Wacky Races) does brilliantly as Tigger.Character actor John Fiedler did Piglet wondrously and ageing voice actor Junius Matthews retired with a bang as Rabbit.You should check out the film even if you haven't got any children because it is a masterpiece.The film is also filled with charm and delight.Not a laugh-your-head-off-type film but smiling,charming comedy in places.Buy it,stick it in your VCR and you will see one of Disney's best movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars walt disney classics-winnie the pooh, 17 Jan 2004
This review is from: Winnie The Pooh - The Many Adventures Of Winnie The Pooh [DVD] (DVD)
one thing with a disney dvd you know it will last you for ever.
this is the original feature length film of A.A. Milnes classic, you dont have to be a kid to enjoy this its pure disney fun from beginning to end,with great extras and great picture and sound the main films 71 minutes long but theirs extras in their that last like a day for eoyore a short animated film,the main film constists of 3 shorts; the honey tree,the blustery day, winnie the pooh and tigger too, this makes great entertainment if you only have 20 minutes or so, pop one of the stories in,all in all disneys 22nd animated classic... that you can keep for ever..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A reminder of what childhood is all about., 4 Feb 2001
By A Customer
The film is narrated throughout as though it were still on the pages of the book, which is a humourous and novel way to portray the characters. My 2yr old was truly transfixed by this video, when he saw all his nursery characters come to life. It is an all time favourite with children and adults alike. A chance to forget your problems and remember what it was like not to have any, when life was a mystery waiting to happen...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not far from the original book, 5 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. Michael J. Cuff "michaeljcuff" (South East, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Winnie The Pooh - The Many Adventures Of Winnie The Pooh [DVD] (DVD)
The strong links to the original book make this my favourite Disney Pooh film and the kids like it too!!

Does Gopher matter? For a purist I suppose so, but as other reviewers have pointed out he does always say 'I'm not in the book you know'.

Winnie The Pooh - The Many Adventures Of Winnie The Pooh [1977]

For everyone who likes this film, and if you haven't done it for a long time, read the books again as an adult. The humour is fantastic and the child like phonetic spelling (haycorns etc.) and backwards letters makes it all the more fun. Who can resist the ramblings of the 'bear of very little brain'?
Winnie the Pooh: Complete Collection of Stories and Poems

And if you want to know more of the background/history try Beyond The World Of Pooh by Christopher Milne (yes it is 'Christopher Robin' who the stories were written for)
Beyond the World of Pooh

Finally if you want to see the Hundred Acre Wood you can always visit Ashdown Forest in East Sussex. Just don't try and get in the Pooh Sticks Bridge Car Park on a summer weekend!
Ashdown Forest (Explorer Maps) (OS Explorer Map)
Walks in Ashdown Forest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too many ads for a kids video!, 2 Feb 2001
By A Customer
My daughter loves Pooh, and enjoys the video. However, her patience runs thin when we have to fast forward through more than 20 minutes of ads and "making of" at the beginning before we get to the story. While we are used to using the fast forward button on most movies, on a kids video which you watch again, again, and again, it is tiring. The teletubbies and Thomas videos have figured this out - they start immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tiggers really are wonderful things!!!, 16 Mar 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winnie The Pooh - The Many Adventures Of Winnie The Pooh [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my 2 year old as I've just started to read to him Winnie the Pooh and the Blustery Day which he loves. All I can do is just add to the positive comments already made. This is just wonderful and beautiful to watch and it is so nice to see something of such QUALITY which you can all watch together as a family. It just knocked our socks off.
Sorry just have to add TI gg ERRRR!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must have, 4 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Winnie The Pooh - The Many Adventures Of Winnie The Pooh [DVD] (DVD)
My daughters mid 2 years and although toys and posters of Pooh & Co have held general appeal (no mean feat as she's not easily patient) - I've never been inclined to go for all the modern Pooh-ness thats around, it's just not us. So I saw this on Amazon and pondered, and thought I'd give it a go.
Now Florrie imble has been relegated to the bottom of the toy bin and Pooh bear has to sleep in the madams bed at night and this dvd has to go on daily at some point.
It's suitable for bedtimes if times too difficult for a storey, it's quiet and peaceful and in short chunks although described as a movie-theres 3 stories to choose from plus a 4th if you include the bonus eyore one. lots of old style sing along songs, rescues, friendship and love without being sickly. Raucus laughter when the gopher is it? (so I'm told) falls down the hole, height of sophistication in commedy for a 2.3 yr old.
If you really dont get along with it(cant think why not!) then you can pass it on to another small persons househld as Pooh Bear is a classic and as such, both a rest from modern overload - soft and familiar and loved naturally by little people everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Winnie The Pooh - The Many Adventures Of Winnie The Pooh [DVD]
Winnie The Pooh - The Many Adventures Of Winnie The Pooh [DVD] by Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh (DVD - 2002)
£5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews