Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ok Computer:Re-Boot.
We've been waiting for this.The scene: Your living room.A silver Lexus streaks through the streets of Rome.Nice Car.The music in the background is nicer
Smooth,calming, undulating orchestral sweeps.What is it ? Mozart? Beethoven?....then suddenly a jarring,psudo-electronic,operatic,hermaphrodite voice comes out of no-where..Is that Tom Yorke? can't be...too...
Published on 27 Jun 2002 by Guccichild

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Voice, thin songs.
The boy has the voice, band him with Radiohead and Muse but take away their strong song writing. There are 2-3 good songs, the album is highly polished and produced to death but where as Radio head will take you on a journey or Muse will make the hairs tingle on your neck, this boy falls between the two. His talent is highly visable and hopefully will grow into his niche...
Published on 29 July 2002 by Moog


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ok Computer:Re-Boot., 27 Jun 2002
This review is from: Open Heart Zoo (Audio CD)
We've been waiting for this.The scene: Your living room.A silver Lexus streaks through the streets of Rome.Nice Car.The music in the background is nicer
Smooth,calming, undulating orchestral sweeps.What is it ? Mozart? Beethoven?....then suddenly a jarring,psudo-electronic,operatic,hermaphrodite voice comes out of no-where..Is that Tom Yorke? can't be...too feminine...all in tune.It ends,your bemused.Such is life.Such is Martin Grech.
What you've been listening to is the title track from his debut album,Open Heart Zoo,and from familiar beginings it turns into something half-alien,half vague recollection.It kinda remind me of one of those weird polish arthouse cartoon soundtracks you find on C4 at 4am on a wet wednesday morning,except it's not just listenable-it's starkly beautiful,strangly addictive
I have to admit I've heard only three tracks from this Album, this one,the Floyd-esque German industrial metal debut single Dali and the ambient,etherial Irish rasps of Catch up(Ibiza Chillout anthem anyone?), but I've have to say I'm already salivating at it's potential.
This Aylesbury lad is only 19, but he's making music a scale of which Pink Floyd in their pomp would be proud of.Apparently he cites Radioheads "the Bends" as his main inspiration,and you can definately see the comparisons...it's Kid-A style music with a real direction and the orchestral scale of standout O.K computer tracks such as Paranoid Android and let down, and yet subtle hints of industrial metal/Ambient trance can be heard creeping in.This is what Amnesiac tried but failed to be.
There are also parts which remind me in it's starkness with Trickys Debut "Maxinque",it has that subtle techno chillout tone, and an alarmingly familiar promo photo with the heavy green Eyeliner,German uniform worn by the Tricky of that time.
I have a real feeling that critics will love this album,the tracks I've heard are just...soooooo different,So fresh.It's gonna take a while to get into the publics head too...this is not a first listen and you will love album....But it sounds like a grower of the highest order.It also sounds like a British youth rock movement waiting to happen,on par with "Whats the story" or "Never mind the Bollocks".Pop Idol it is not.
I just prey you somehow get to hear parts if not all of this album,and that this dosn't become a cult record that no-one but fanatics will hear.Somehow,I doubt it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Stunning, 2 Nov 2004
By 
L. Thornewill "Neenz" (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open Heart Zoo (Audio CD)
I, like many people bought this album on the strength of the title track when it first came out.
Recently I saw him play a solo acoustic set, I have never seen an audience as quiet as when he started to sing. And by the time he had finished everyone looked stunned that such a voice existed.
All the songs on the album could be life-changing, if you are debating whether to buy this or not, my advice is do buy it and just sit and listen. If you get a chance to see him live dont debate, just go and hear one of the most beautiful voices that I have ever heard.
This album is beautiful, buy it, then tell everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No, really, 25 July 2005
By 
Elliot Davies "ahttt" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open Heart Zoo (Audio CD)
Ever noticed how every single album that's ever been released, ever, gets the five star treatment on Amazon? On a site where anyone who is anyone can review, this is bound to happen, no matter how good or bad something is considered to be, there'll ALWAYS be someone who disagrees. Consequently, it's hard to rely on customer feedback.
But seriously, this is a five star album. I consider it to be the best bits of Jeff Buckley, Radiohead and Nine Inch Nails all rolled into one. The lyrics are pure misery ("I seek medical attention for this disease in my blood"/"I am so useless, so pathetic"), one tends to wonder just what sort of life this young man has led. Only nineteen at release, sixteen when recording began, it seems he's suffered through plane crashes, terminal diseases, public scourn and judging by "Notorious", it seems his life has been one of crime. Hope he doesn't write from experience. Eitherway, the lyrics compliment the music perfectly: Extremely intense and melancholic but simmering in something almost alien.
Every track stands out, but good sir Grech seems to have divided the album neatly into three sections. Section one is a real roller coaster of emotions: Opener "Here it Comes" is a hypercharged electro saunter through a graveyard of dying robots. "Open Heart Zoo" is the one everyone knows from the Lexus ad...operatic, with a cataclysmic explosion at the end, a wall of fuzzed up sound that engulfs the listener. The end of section one, "Dali", is extremely impressive: Heavier than an overweight golem, running in about fourteen directions at once, Martin practices pretty much every trick in the metal guitarists handbook and still manages an ambient chorus.
The second section is one of optimism. "Tonight" used to remind me of hospitals, but now I see street corners bathed in darkness, lone romantics observing distant traffic with tears streaming down their faces. "Push" wouldn't sound oout of place on Jeff Buckley's "Grace", it's so big that the biggest stadium in the world couldn't contain it. This size is maintained up 'til "Penicillin" - epic stadium rock. Then Grech enters the third section, that of maudlin funereal piano led balladry. Yes it's depressing, but somehow simultaneously uplifting...
So yeah, definately a five star album. Seriously, it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Opened His Heart, 22 Oct 2003
This review is from: Open Heart Zoo (Audio CD)
This album is extraordinary - a wonderful debut flooded with beautiful contradiction, angst, and oppresion. An album created with passion, Grech has the strength to produce a world of confusion with his natural ability. Inspirational both musically and poetically this record can and should be admired by any artist with a soul
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Voice, thin songs., 29 July 2002
This review is from: Open Heart Zoo (Audio CD)
The boy has the voice, band him with Radiohead and Muse but take away their strong song writing. There are 2-3 good songs, the album is highly polished and produced to death but where as Radio head will take you on a journey or Muse will make the hairs tingle on your neck, this boy falls between the two. His talent is highly visable and hopefully will grow into his niche but sorry to say (as they have tried so dam hard, extra hard really) that this album is a let down from track 2 onwards.
My copy has been played a few times to see iff the liking grows but already it is on the shelf and probally will not be out for a very (if ever) long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 27 July 2003
By 
ben abbott (worthing, west sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Open Heart Zoo (Audio CD)
This guy is amazing! I have seen him live many time's, and each time it gets better. the album is amazing and it is well worth the money. GO BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, soulful and the guys only 19!, 9 Sep 2002
This review is from: Open Heart Zoo (Audio CD)
The first time I saw "that ad" I thought what an amazing vocal, it sounds just like Thom Yorke, I just have to find out who that's by! Turns out to be a young man called Martin Grech, who has just come out with the outstanding album of the year so far! It encompasses a huge variety of music from Radiohead in a guise somewhere between Ok Computer and Amnesiac to heavier metal bands such as NIN. His soaring vocals are incredible and it has to be said reminiscent of Thom Yorke, but that can't be a bad thing now can it!!
I love my melancholy music and this is the only album this year which has the power and emotion to bring a lump to my throat and a tear to my eye. Stand out tracks have to be:
Open Heart Zoo-the best example perhaps of this young mans incredible voice
Tonight- possibly the closest he gets to radiohead in ok computer mood, fantastic.
Notorious- builds up from brooding start to epic levels reminiscent of pink floyd in full flow!
Penicillin- another slice of psychedellic rock with depressing but very clever lyrics,
death of a loved one- it's all in the title, very very depressing track but beautiful... suggests that grech shares thom yorkes fear of flyin ("plane crash kills you, burn slowly to ashes"),
and the bonus track ill- acoustic guitars, plaintive lyrics, as good a bonus track as you'll hear!
But to be fair there isn't a track on this album that I wouldn't happily stick on repeat for an hour or two!!
If you love Radiohead, Pink Floyd and some heavier stuff too, you will not buy a better album this year!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars LOOKING FOR SOMTHING DIFFERENT, 5 Jun 2011
This review is from: Open Heart Zoo (Audio CD)
Are you looking for somthiing different, somthing a bit mournful, some times over the top, a bit heavy now and again, or somthing a bit dark and I mean Deepest darkest dark. Then this might be what you are looking for. There is nothing out there like Mr Grech. Perhaps a more mournful Radiohead, yes thats right more mournful. But be warned if you think The Smiths and Radiohead are too depressing then I can put my hand on my heart and say you will not like this. But if you are musicaly adventurous then give it a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very unique, 20 Sep 2010
This review is from: Open Heart Zoo (Audio CD)
A unique and pleasurable listen. Difficult to compare or describe, but well worth a listen. The title track is the best song though, so don't expect too many hidden gems if you don't like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - 12 months of avid listening, 10 Nov 2003
This review is from: Open Heart Zoo (Audio CD)
I bought this album when it came out, having been keen to hear of the music that featured on "that Lexus car ad". Alas that classic track is one of a kind on the album. This isn't to say the others aren't as good, they're just good in a different way. A strange mix of styles, with a predominance of complex rhythms and guitar. I saw the youthful Mr Grech preform live in Bristol last year, and he's certainly a talented chap. This album won't be everyone's cup of tea though, as his occasionally moany voice is an acquired taste. Best played loud, ideally whilst driving!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Open Heart Zoo
Open Heart Zoo by Martin Grech (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews