Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy, jazzy, smile-making musicianship, 27 Sept. 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SPECIALIST IN ALL STYLES (Audio CD)
From the very first few bars of Bul Ma Miin you can't help but close your eyes and sway to the beat.
The consummate musicianship of vocalists Deing, Mbouf and others are matched and surpassed by the guitar of Attisso and the sax of Koite. But, to single out certain band members is unfair, because it's the totality, the assuredness of the ensemble which makes you smile and dance.
So, what sort of music is it? Well, it's jazz, it's Cuban, it's African, it's everything which describes sunshine at a party with your favourite friends.
I think I'll be playing this and only this for the next month!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot African Music, 5 Dec. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: SPECIALIST IN ALL STYLES (Audio CD)
I chose this CD as album of the month for an online music club after I saw them on the Jools Holland show on BBC2. To picture their music, just imagine that Paul Simon and Youssou N'Dour were asked to play the music for Fidel Castro's birthday party. Their music is definitely African but has serous echoes of the Cuban style, like an Afro-Buena Vista Social Club.
A lot of the lyrics are in French, probably due to the Senegalese cononial history. The music is full of life and conjours images of sitting on a beach among the palm trees siping cocktails. Their music is distinctly African in origin, give or take the odd trumpet or sax. There are also modern influences too, half way through the first track "Bulmamiin" (my favourite) the brilliant guitar style is heavily influenced by western music - listen to track 1 and tell me that you never thought of The Shdaows 3-step walk. The african percussion is bordering on the hypnotic and is a joy to listen to. Yet the sleeve notes hint at a higher cause for their music making - the song are written along important social themes that are missed by those of us who can't understand the language of the lyrics; themes including a dying parent, anti-corruption messages and the importance of having "good character".
I love this CD. I play it in the car every day on the way to work, much better than listening to local traffic reports!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music to make you smile and dance., 16 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: SPECIALIST IN ALL STYLES (Audio CD)
Sorry i stole the title from the "music fan from London"'s review. Have to say i think you're review is spot on. Saw them at the Cambridge folk-festival this year whilst drinking a bottle of red wine smiling an swaying with hundreds of others. Bought the cd of course but was a bit worried that the happy memory was mainly due to the effect of the red wine...but oh boy, was i wrong !! This album never fails to make me smile and want to get up and start dancing...even on a miserable December morning in Cambridge...and even if i haven't got a clue what the French lyrics really mean!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All a bit samey, 16 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SPECIALIST IN ALL STYLES (Audio CD)
The oldest song on there - Homage à Tonton Ferrer - the one where everyone and his uncle chips in - sounds like a good old jam session but isn't as tight in delivery as earlier recordings. A bit like a movie remake with loads of walk-on parts by top stars, but gets Youssou N'Dour's name on the album. The title "Specialist in all styles" implies there are a number of styles present; I can't detect them, maybe you have to be a specialist musicologist for that. For me it's all good music but of the background, cafe style talk to your friends and have a drink over it and imagine you're in Paris or Africa. Same shelf as Penguine Cafe Orchestra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How to be happy, mellow and dancing, 9 May 2008
By 
D. O'Reilly "Dom O'Reilly" (West London, forever) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SPECIALIST IN ALL STYLES (Audio CD)
I discovered this by accident when using a cybercafe in Bath. I asked the bloke behind the counter about it and he offered to burn a CD of it for me.

I did the honest thing and bought it but it shows how, once you've heard this, you'll want to share it with everyone.

Why? Because it calms you after a bad day, makes you smile and want to dance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So, so good, 4 Dec. 2012
Love love love this CD, the musicianship is seriously world class, no doubt.

The style is a little repetitive sometimes, but that is my only negative comment (it may in fact be a positive to get more of the same if that "same" is what you like!)

This album has the Macktastic Slim seal of approval ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Orchestra Baobab, 22 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SPECIALIST IN ALL STYLES (Audio CD)
Excellent musicians, original with a varied style. In these days of manufactured groups in the west it is wonderful to hear quality musicians playing instruments without the aid of sound engineers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SPECIALIST IN ALL STYLES (Audio CD)
just what I'd hoped for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SPECIALIST IN ALL STYLES
SPECIALIST IN ALL STYLES by Orchestra Baobab (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews