Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Price:£18.95+ £2.03 shipping

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 2 November 2003
I'm a long time Star Trek fan and I loved this game, but even friends of mine who can't stand Star Trek liked it. It has a lot better campaigns than its sequal, and the multiplayer is awesome! The instant action is something you will never get bored of as there are about 30 maps and many others on the web. There are also a lot of mods for the game. My two favorites are the Empires and Federations and Star Trek versus Star Wars. Each of them changes species to give them nearly 25 new vessels, and the Star Trek versus Star Wars replaces the Romulans and Borg with the Empire and Rebel Alliance. I ran this game on a variety of operating systems and computers, but mostly on a 500MHz Celeron with 90MBs of ram and a 16MB voodoo 3 video card, and they worked great. This game ranks along with the C&C series and is my personal favorites. I highly recomend the above mentioned mods.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 13 January 2009
I bought this a while ago having played Klingon Academy to death. I enjoy being able to play any one of the four races to get some variety, as each fleet has it's own strengths and weaknesses, therefore requiring a different strategy to succeed.

Each race has it's own set of missions to form a campaign, and without giving too much away the different missions are interlinked. You don't even have to complete all the missions for one race before playing as a different one!

On the downside some of the missions are quite difficult to complete, even in the Easy difficulty mode. There is a cheat code to bypass difficult missions, but I think it's best to keep trying until you either; a) win or b) give up and use the cheat code!

I got bored of the single player missions after a while and decided to try the multiplayer version instead. Although I was unable to establish a connection to the outside world, probably due to the firewall settings on my router, there IS an "Instant Action" mode available which allows you to play against random or chosen adversaries in a randomly generated environment. I've had great fun experimenting with different combinations of enemies and difficulty levels. A word of warning though - the Hard difficulty level is not an overstatement!

You will receive warning messages when installing and running this game under XP, however it will work provided that you either; a) install and run using an Administrator account or b) use the "Run as Administrator" option when right-clicking on the setup file (to install) and "Play Star Trek Armada" icon (to run the game) if you are sensible enough to use a Limited User account for day-to-day computing.

The game seems to run even better under Windows Vista. Apart from answering a User Account Control (UAC) prompt to install Armada, the software appears to run with no problems on Vista, even with a non-Adminstrator account.

Overall this game has already provided me with hours of entertainment already and I plan on playing it for many more hours to come!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 8 August 2002
The storyline is built upon a federation vessel coming back from the future to warn of a pending borg invasion of the alpha quadrant. You have to stop the borg before they destroy the federation and take over the alpha quadrant. You command four races (Federation, Klingon, Romulan and Borg) in there bid to stop this from happening or as in the case of the borg make this happen. You can opt to go on the suggested route of first Federation then Klingon and so on as the the different races get harder continualy but you can start off as the Borg if you realy want to. Each race has 6 combat vessels for you to control and some stations. This is the game to get if your computer does not have the ability to run star trek armada 2. The reason this game only gets 4 stars are the lack of different reasources for you to gather like to build a huge starship all you need is dilithium and some crew! apart from that this is one of the best games i have ever played
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 12 July 2002
The Borg have returned! A starship from the future has materialized to warn of the latest Borg threat. You are in charge of the fleets on Federation, Klingon, Romulan, and Borg ships that will wage this epic battle. Build starships, construct space stations, and research special weapons to lead your side to victory. Along the journey you will survive a Klingon civil war, Romulan subterfuge and the Borg's search for perfection. The future is in your command.
Survive up to 20 Camaign Missions and few extra ones if you are lukey, if you are a Trekky this is a game defiently for you, if your not, it is bound to get you into ther role of the Star Trek Univerese:D.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 9 September 2009
Ive owned this game for years now. Every now and then I get bored of it and stop playing - however I find that this game always gets a few hundred hours per year played. Its an absolutely amazing game and I recommend it to anyone.

Many campaigns to choose from and the ability to have instant games. Its possible to play this online however i'm not sure if the servers are running anymore.

It is possible to create your own maps with additional software that's easily available online. Using this software you can have fun creating your own instant action maps against up to 7 computer opponents. (I always put me as fed's and 1 klingon on the hardest setting VS 6 borg. Fun stuff!

In my honest opinion I felt this game was even better that armada 2 in every aspect.

5/5 stars.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 16 October 2004
This is an amazing addictive game, better than the second, with four species to play, Federation, Borg, Klingon and Romulan, with a few mods from filefront its even better, I can't say anything more about the content than what's already been said but well worth a play, for both non fans and fans of Star Trek, Don't bother if you have Windows Vista and above, it just will not run, it would be nice to get it remastered so it can play on Windows XP and above.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 21 November 2010
Old game should work on older computers but would struggle on newer ones?
Fantastic strategy game for all star trek fans and maybe even none star trek fans.
its a 3D game on a 2D platform gathering resources, building stations, ships and defences, O and destroying the enemy in a instant action, missions or on line playing... (Please note that the on line forums maybe closed?).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 23 July 2003
If you're a fan of Star Trek, this is a great game. It allows you to control an entire fleet of ships (and play Admiral). You also have to build up your fleet from just handful of ships at the beginning of each round. This game is quite challenging and should keep you amused for hours at a time. However, I did find that if there are a lot of ships around (particularly visible), the graphics, sound and controls became very choppy. This meant that it was difficult to control your ships in a real-time fashion. The system I was running on exceeded the requirements (400MHz CPU w/ 512Mb RAM), so this really shouldn't have been a problem.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2015
Great classic game. If you like games like command and conquer, starcraft 2 and warcraft 3. You will enjoy this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
The game is quite good especially, as it is old school but for me it is just right & enjoyable to play.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Star Trek: Starfleet Command III (PC CD)
Star Trek: Starfleet Command III (PC CD) by Activision (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)

Star Trek: Armada (PC CD-ROM)
Star Trek: Armada (PC CD-ROM) by ATS Dist Ltd (Windows 98)

Star Trek: Armada (DVD Box)
Star Trek: Armada (DVD Box) by Activision (Windows 95 / 98 / XP)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.