Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music
This is simply glorious music. John McLaughlin's guitar playing at the beginning of track 2 is pure beauty. Miles himself plays less on this record than most of his others, but his influence can be felt echoing around the music. There are also hints on McLaughlin's music in this CD. Simple, open and spacious are all perfect descriptions of the tracks. My favourite moment...
Published on 20 May 2001

versus
13 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad MP3 download
The MP3 download of this album has so much hiss and distortion it sounds like a field recording from the 1920s. Don't be tempted to try and get the (2-track) album for a knockdown price.
Published on 17 Jun 2010 by V. Vexman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 21 April 2013
By 
Mr. D. J. A. Walker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In A Silent Way (Audio CD)
Could this album come out of any other decade than the 60's?

If you don't get this album, you don't understand music. Superb interplay of sounds and beats.
Mozart and Beethoven would have been amazed.

Davis was like 20 different musicians rolled into one, he never stood still. This shows his development to such complex patterns and contrasts of sounds - no one tune, the total of all.

Listen and be amazed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars miles davis is great music, 3 Nov 2007
By 
for whom the bell tolls "a.ka. enter sandman" (seattle, san francisco, san diego usa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In A Silent Way (Audio CD)
i love miles davis and this is one of his best! this miles davis cd is a beautiful jazz cd and it has some terrific songs like shhh/peaceful. miles davis is one of my favorite artists in the world, get this cd for your great music collection. i also recommend kind of blue too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad MP3 download, 17 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In A Silent Way (MP3 Download)
The MP3 download of this album has so much hiss and distortion it sounds like a field recording from the 1920s. Don't be tempted to try and get the (2-track) album for a knockdown price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic recording not stocked bt Amazon?, 3 Aug 2009
By 
P. Syson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In A Silent Way (Audio CD)
A brief observation - this title has been out of stock at Amazon for weeks with no indication of when it will return. HMV online have, on the other hand, been in stock throughout so clearly there are now production issues so I assume it must be caused by Amazon's supplier?

Its a bit like a supermarket running out of bread and milk! This is a staple item in the Miles Davis catalogue.

Come on people get it sorted out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars only 5 stars? this needs many more, 11 Jun 2004
By 
This review is from: In A Silent Way (Audio CD)
I am of the opinion that certain albums are so very good that they should cost more to buy. This is one of those albums - should be priced at at least 100, and would still represent value for money. I bought this about 10 years ago after reading an article on ambient music in Q magazine - it is odd for a jazz album to be included, but then this is no ordinary jazz album. A 1968 summit meeting of chemically deranged hippy jazzheads might not sound like the most beautiful music you have ever heard, but you'll just have to trust me here. The only problem is - never lend your cd (once bought) to a drummer, they never give you it back. Having now bought IASW 7 times (6 on cd - only one copy still in my possession - one on Vinyl) I still don't think I've paid enough. Calm. Cool. Lush. Pastoral. Not forgetting that flash of steel which Miles always has up his sleeve. My favourite album by him or anyone else for that matter, and I'll lay bets my cd collection makes yours look a) rubbish and b) very very small.
Oh the boring bit: 2 tracks, one spliced together from two separate improvisations by producer Teo Macero, the musicians include John (Mahavishnu) McLaughlin (generally referred to as "God" round my house), Wayne Shorter, Chick Corea, Joe Zawinul, Herbie Hancock and some other people you'd only have heard of if you were either a muso or tremendously dull. Oh and its not as pretentious as I've made out - just perfect.... please buy it (or if you're skint I'll lend you it, I wouldn't expect it back!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An icinic disc, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In A Silent Way (Audio CD)
Many listeners may find Miles' forays into new are3as of music interesting? Personally I think he lost his way with these
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool and relaxing, 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In A Silent Way (MP3 Download)
Bought this on recommendation in a magazine mainly because by buying it on mp3 it was as cheap as chips. Not my usual weapon of choice but close to some of the type of stuff I like and it is a "classic" according to those in the know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In A Silent Way
In A Silent Way by Miles Davis (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews