Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Great Double
This is the album that got me through my `O' Levels (remember them?) and was accordingly played to death, so it is great to hear it again in pristine condition.

Chicago III is the last great double album in a trilogy of doubles that kick-started Chicago's career way back in the early 1970s. After this came the slow descent into MOR and 1980s balladeering, but...
Published on 20 July 2007 by Thoughtform

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Two Faulty Copies
There is a QUALITY PROBLEM with this product. The first disc delivered was unplayable due to massive distortion therefore it was returned. The replacement has exactly the same problem. I have tried it in four different players, same result. The copy of Chicago's second album ordered at the same time has exactly the same problem. It is caused, I believe, by something...
Published 18 months ago by DaveAboard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Great Double, 20 July 2007
This review is from: Chicago III: Remastered And Expanded (Audio CD)
This is the album that got me through my `O' Levels (remember them?) and was accordingly played to death, so it is great to hear it again in pristine condition.

Chicago III is the last great double album in a trilogy of doubles that kick-started Chicago's career way back in the early 1970s. After this came the slow descent into MOR and 1980s balladeering, but it is the first three albums that contain the spirit of Chicago and should be how they are remembered.

What really becomes apparent listening to this album today is the sheer breadth of style and diversity contained within it, something today's bands seem to struggle to produce, almost without exception. In loose terms the four sides of the original vinyl album can be labelled, `Rock', `Jazz', `Folk/Blues' and `Film Soundtrack'. Within these categories we are treated to complex instrumentals, simple acoustic songs, full-blown rock `n' roll with Terry Kath's rampant guitar to the fore and delicate `chamber' music using combinations of brass and woodwind instruments in addition to the usual rock fare.

In addition to the variety and quality of the writing and arrangements, the standard of playing is exceptional. Make no mistake these are talented individuals. Anyone looking for some energetic jazz rock in a variety of forms, look no further than this album and its two predecessors. Those used to `If You Leave Me Now' may be in for a shock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Energy Continues.........., 6 Sep 2010
This review is from: Chicago III: Remastered And Expanded (Audio CD)
Another great album from Chicago and the quality was maintained on III. However please ignore the previous reviewer's comment as 25 or 6 to 4 is actually on Chicago II not this album. The first three albums are fabulous exercises in stereo splendour so you cannot go wrong in purchasing any of them. Personally I'd rate II as the best album, followed by I (unfortunately a couple of the long tracks are a bit laboured and you can't play them often) followed by this one - III.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, 7 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chicago III: Remastered And Expanded (Audio CD)
I could never afford this on vinyl when it first came out, it was in the premium priced list of CBS, so I heard much of it but never owned it. I bought this to complete a major part of their catalogue and to finally own it.

I was surprised at just how well it is recorded, my memory doesn't seem to remember that.

Terry Kath excels. The bass work of Peter Cetera is just amazing.

I just need to get volume 4 and I will have all the albums of their's that I want, I have up to volume 9, don't like their "wishy washy" radio rock stuff after that time. Plus, Terry was their "only" guitarist as far as I am concerned.

It has some pretty amazing stuff on it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Funky Double, 30 May 2014
By 
Mr. Peter Steward "petersteward" (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chicago III: Remastered And Expanded (Audio CD)
Sustaining three double albums in two years must have been a great burden to the band who were also touring non stop. And the cracks were beginning to show. There was plenty of funk about Chicago III but at times the band were trying to sound different and trying to prove on tracks like I Don't Want Your Money that they were really having a good old time. Elsewhere Travel Suite documents a feeling of homesickness with the opening piece "Flight 602" seeing Chicago trying to sound like Crosby, Stills and Nash with close harmony. Then on At the Sunrise the style is more akin to late era Beatles with a brass section. Overall it just feels as if there is too much filler material here to justify a double album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Before they went soppy1, 22 Mar 2011
This review is from: Chicago III: Remastered And Expanded (Audio CD)
Chicago were a great band. Talented musicians, great songwriters and massively respected. Chicago 3 is a superb album from their classic period, a mixture of blues, rock and jazz. Terry Kath, God rest his soul, was undoubtedly a great rock guitarist and much admired by Hendrix. This album allows him to show his great talent. The use of the brass gives it that disticntive Chicago sound. To anybody who only knows Chicago from their later commercial love songs, don't be put off, they were a respected full on rock band with one foot firmly in the blues. Chicago were never afraid to push the boundaries, there first three albums were all double albums with some very long tracks, they never set out to be a commercial hit, they did their own thing. I played this album to my 20 yrs old son, who is a big blues/rock fan and he was blown away by the talent of display.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chicago III Expanded and Remastered., 27 July 2010
By 
P. R. Phillips (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chicago III: Remastered And Expanded (Audio CD)
Although I only liked half of the tracks on this album, the tracks I liked made the album worth getting.Tracks such as "Loneliness Is Just A Word" "What Else Can I Say" "Flight 602" "At The Sunrise" "Happy 'Cause I'm Going Home" (unfortunately left out on all Best Of Chicago collections) and "Lowdown", the latter possibly one of Chicago's best tracks rank in my opinion as some of their best tracks. This album was strangely ommitted from their latest collection, a box set called The Original Chicago Series I think it is called comprising Chicago I, II, V, VI and VII. A great album non the less.

Peter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Two Faulty Copies, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chicago III: Remastered And Expanded (Audio CD)
There is a QUALITY PROBLEM with this product. The first disc delivered was unplayable due to massive distortion therefore it was returned. The replacement has exactly the same problem. I have tried it in four different players, same result. The copy of Chicago's second album ordered at the same time has exactly the same problem. It is caused, I believe, by something called "CD Rot" which is a manufacturing defect whereby the mirrored surface is not correctly attached to the surface of the disc. A copy of the same album I bought from a High St retailer six months ago developed exactly the same problem within a week of purchase. There is clearly a manufacturing problem with Rhino's (the record label)contracted supplier.

This is a great shame as it is a good record, Chicago's last before they changed track to become a dull middle of the road (but no doubt wealthy) pop band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chicago III re-re-master due June 2013, I Don't Want Your Money!, 27 May 2013
By 
Mr. A. W. Riggs "bernard shakey" (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chicago III: Remastered And Expanded (Audio CD)
I see Chicago's third record is due for another release in late June with TWO bonus tracks & upgraded packaging. There's no mention of the TWO new tracks but I'm not optimistic that there's anything new here. It's out on Friday Records not Rhino so tread careful. Chicago III has aged pretty well and contains some fine songs from Lamm & Kath, but loses it's way during Kath's Hour In The Shower and the last suite which has not worn that well. III contains one of the last great Chicago extended songs 'Sing A Mean Tune' and the superb Lamm song 'Happy cause I'm Going Home' and an early warning about pollution on 'Mother'. 5 stars for the ideas and innovation, and what a great cover the stars & stripes looking worn and tattered which was Chicago's message about the Vietnam War. How the band compromised itself to now appearing on McDonald channel heaven knows! Terry must be laughing up there.

Full details and songs below, I was right about the bonus songs and the info below from Friday Music - this offers nothing new, What Else Can I Say?

After the much heralded success of the Chicago Transit Authority and Chicago albums, Chicago III was a much anticipated release from this legendary band in the winter of 1971. While touring most of 1969 through 1970, the band still managed to find the time and energy to get back into the studio environment and create another masterpiece which at the time was the highest charting album of their career.

Netting several hit singles like the funk infused Free and the soulful Lowdown, Chicago III was a more organic affair than their previous works, allowing its principal writers Robert Lamm, James Pankow, Terry Kath and Peter Cetera to develop more introspective thoughts into musical forms. This truly pleased the listener and brought the band even more accolades and success which continues four decades later.

Kicking off things with Robert Lamm's rocker Sing A Mean Tune Kid as well as a wealth of more favorites like What Else Can I Say and Happy `Cause I'm Going Home, the album immediately intrigues the listener into realms about the touring life, the environment, war and peace, and loves old and new. It also showcases the masterful musicianship of each of its seven important founders, thanks to the three extensive suites which encompasses Sides 2, 3 & 4, making this another first for the band. To illustrate this concept, check the brilliant and sorely missed Terry Kath performance on his An Hour In The Shower, truly a highlight of this platinum plus affair.

Friday Music and Chicago are pleased to announce Chicago III/Expanded & Remastered. Mastered impeccably by Joe Reagoso from the original Chicago Records tapes at Friday Music Studios and authorized by Chicago's Lee Loughnane, Chicago III/Expanded & Remastered is truly one of the most important albums in their highly enduring catalog of classic rock releases.

For this limited anniversary edition remaster, Chicago founder member Lee Loughnane located the super Rare Mono 45 Edit of the smash hit Free as well as the rarely heard Rare Japanese Stereo 45 Version of Lowdown, which brought them further acclaim in the Far East in 1971. The CD packaging also includes original artwork elements not seen in years, making this truly a wonderful revisit to this massive catalog fan favorite.

Chicago III/Expanded & Remastered... Now more than ever! Exclusively from your friends at Friday Music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chicago III: Remastered And Expanded
Chicago III: Remastered And Expanded by Chicago (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews