Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


108 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent "cut above the rest" space/astronomy series.
Right from the start, the use of CG(computer graphics), adds a sense of the fantastic to an otherwise stereotypically boring description of the solar system and space.
A journey that begins at the sun and moves to deep space links real footage with CG. I found this approach far more interesting then say "THE PLANETS", the series by the BBC. Now don't get me wrong I...
Published on 7 Oct 2004 by Derek Flanagan

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Confusing
The information is excellent, but I found using the dvds a very frustrating experience. Any time you pause the film, it reverts to the menu, and you have to navigate your way back to where you were. The menu itself is a mess, and instead of being able to watch the episodes seamlessly, you have to keep going back to the menu to tell it what you want to watch next...
Published on 23 Mar 2009 by F. Merritt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

108 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent "cut above the rest" space/astronomy series., 7 Oct 2004
This review is from: The Complete Cosmos: The Solar System/Discovery Into Deep Space [DVD] (DVD)
Right from the start, the use of CG(computer graphics), adds a sense of the fantastic to an otherwise stereotypically boring description of the solar system and space.
A journey that begins at the sun and moves to deep space links real footage with CG. I found this approach far more interesting then say "THE PLANETS", the series by the BBC. Now don't get me wrong I think "The Planets" was a benchmark series,"I saw it on the BBC and had to buy it on DVD". It would be an excellent purchase along with The Complete Cosmos.
But where "The Planets" interviews a researcher then cuts back and forth to CG or narration or real footage, "The Complete Cosmos" stays with its formula of narration with scenes created from CG + real footage fluidly. In my opinion the latter works far better. The product of which is that "The Complete Cosmos" series explains far more in far less time. Now given that the complete series runtime is 4hours+10 minutes, one gets the sense of just how complete this series is.
So if you are in any way interested in the Solar System and Deep Space buy "The Complete Cosmos" + "The Planets" to form the perfect space DVD series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent DVD about the Cosmos, 20 Dec 2007
By 
Rasih Bensan (Istanbul, Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Cosmos: The Solar System/Discovery Into Deep Space [DVD] (DVD)
Astronomy is one of my hobbies, I am an amateur. Anybody interested in astronomy, beginner or advanced will benefit from the knowledge given in this DVD and at the same time will enjoy very good pictures and accompanying music. The explanations are very clear, information up to date and all topics in astronomy are covered. Explanations are made in a curiosity arousing and motivating manner. If you like astronomy you can not be bored watching this DVD. It can be watched several times a year to refresh knowledge and enjoy a sound and picture show. This DVD is very different than some other DVD's on the subject that are too concentrated on too few topics and/or are doomsday declarers. Historical development of Astronomy and the history of space flights are also well summarized in this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD but is in NTSC format and not PAL as described, 29 Jun 2008
By 
J. Stigter (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Cosmos: The Solar System/Discovery Into Deep Space [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good DVD for those wanting to learn about the solar system and space. This DVD is in NTSC format not PAL as described on Amazon's website, indeed it is not even available in PAL format according to the publishers, Beckman. This means that on some equipment setups this DVD will only play in black and white (although it is a colour DVD) if you are not able to change the output settings on your DVD player and your TV is not able to display NTSC. Most modern DVD players will automatically detect the correct format to display to the TV without any problem, but if your TV set is old it may only be able to display PAL. You should be able to correct this by changing the output from your DVD from NTSC to PAL (instructions are usually in the manual that came with your DVD player, or contact the manufacturer of your DVD player). If you should buy this DVD and are not able to view it in colour even after making the appropriate adjustments to your DVD player, a possible alternative is to buy "Spacefiles" DVD series (which I believe is PAL format). I hope this helps those people who have had problems trying to view this DVD in colour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Confusing, 23 Mar 2009
By 
F. Merritt (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Cosmos: The Solar System/Discovery Into Deep Space [DVD] (DVD)
The information is excellent, but I found using the dvds a very frustrating experience. Any time you pause the film, it reverts to the menu, and you have to navigate your way back to where you were. The menu itself is a mess, and instead of being able to watch the episodes seamlessly, you have to keep going back to the menu to tell it what you want to watch next.

I suppose that whoever designed this was trying to be clever and technical, but ended up creating a bit of a dog's breakfast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A marvellous and very interesting view of the universe, 15 Oct 2004
This review is from: The Complete Cosmos: The Solar System/Discovery Into Deep Space [DVD] (DVD)
Those who are interested in the universe and the solar system, this DVD is a must in appreciating the beauty, wonders and overall view of the universe. One by one the planets including our Star (The Sun) is viewed and talked about with extreme precision. A good history of space and pioneers, black holes and future space travell, which one day will be essential in order for mankind to survive the disasters in which our universe, and even our own star has for our ancestors future. Overall an have to buy and a DVD to treasure for those who are interested in the cosmos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 18 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Cosmos: The Solar System/Discovery Into Deep Space [DVD] (DVD)
one of the best space docs i've seen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews