Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For me behind only 'Annie Hall' in all Allen's films.
A wonderful mix of moving and funny, thought provoking and silly. There's amazing acting all around from the first rate ensemble cast including Diane Wiest, Michael Caine (both of whom deservedly won Oscars), Max Von Sydow, Allen, Mia Farrow, Barbara Hershey etc.

(Mild spoiler) It features a rare movie happy ending that's actually earned!

This is...
Published on 25 Jun 2010 by K. Gordon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars awfully dull
The problem with Hannah and her Sisters as that I needed subtitles. Last saw it in the cinema when it came out. I guess it
just wasn`t my kind of story anymore.

It was the same with Annie Hall. Used to love it,had a video. Then it became very dated.
There are people out there who would love it.

I donated H and her S to the Save the...
Published 9 months ago by catherine koppana


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For me behind only 'Annie Hall' in all Allen's films., 25 Jun 2010
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hannah and Her Sisters [DVD] (1986) (DVD)
A wonderful mix of moving and funny, thought provoking and silly. There's amazing acting all around from the first rate ensemble cast including Diane Wiest, Michael Caine (both of whom deservedly won Oscars), Max Von Sydow, Allen, Mia Farrow, Barbara Hershey etc.

(Mild spoiler) It features a rare movie happy ending that's actually earned!

This is probably the closest to Annie Hall of all Woody Allen films in the mix of wit, technical proficiency, sophisticated style, acting, emotion, etc. He takes a bevy of characters and creates a complex heartfelt portrait of family, lovers, friends, and artists that's funny but with insightful bite. A rare film that acknowledges how wonderful life is, without denying how hard it can be at the same time. Or at least how hard we find ways to make it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quintessential Allen, 14 May 2012
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hannah and Her Sisters [DVD] (1986) (DVD)
This is one of Woody Allen's most profoundly touching films, dating from the mid-eighties run of releases that were fully-integrated dramas rather than the more comic-sketch style of his earlier work. It feels a bit like a very comfortable brown leather chair that fits your shape and that allows you a more upholstered view of the world for the time you are in it. Not that Allen had abandoned his comic style; it is very much in evidence, but the context has more depth. All the performances are brilliant, starting with the three sisters - presumably based on Chekhov - and it is amazing how he writes the undercurrents in their relationships so seamlessly into the script. The lunch date with the three of them shows this. The friction between the Dianne Wiest character and Mia Farrow is conveyed so subtly and, in a way, quite painfully, yet it is contained within the broader comic framework of the film. Michael Caine has amazing comic timing, and his character's temptation to go astray forms the central plot strand. The way this is handled and resolved is very satisfying and you feel you have walked around the hidden recesses of the heart - and Manhattan - by the time the credits roll, but with a gentle, conciliatory spirit guiding you through, for all the hilarity along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine cast armed with a fine script, 14 Aug 2004
By 
Thomas Pots "T Pots" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannah and Her Sisters [DVD] (1986) (DVD)
Here we have a classic Woody script, fuelled by mid-life angst and fraught affections. It follows the relationship woes, conflicts and rivalries of three sisters. Into their lives comes Michael Caine, Woody Allen, and Max Von Sydow, and so the plot revolves around the interaction of these six characters, as they each contemplate their lot in life. Of the three men, we focus mainly on Woody, who frets about the meaning of his life, we focus a little on Michael, and not at all on Max - possibly the most interesting of them because of his odd approach to society. It is one of my favourite movies. I must have watched it 40 times. It has subtlety and style, and the script has pace even when it deals with the issues of small lives. In the middle we also get a snippet of E E Cummings' poem "Somewhere I Have Never Travelled".
For some reason, Woody's movies never get the full DVD treatment, and here we receive no narratives, documentaries or interviews. The DVD menu is bland and cheaply done. We are not even offered Dolby sound, though I concede that the movie was originally recorded in mono. What we do get is the movie, dubbed in five languages (English, German, French, Spanish and Italian) and theatrical trailer.
Woody is an important figure in cinema but not huge box-office. That may explain why MGM lavishes so little attention on the DVDs of his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tender and poignant commentary on modern relationships, 4 Feb 2001
By 
Mr. D. Woods "dwoods92" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
To my mind, only 'Annie Hall' has the beating of this excellent piece of drama. Mia Farrow, Dianne Wiest and Barbara Hershey are all wonderful as the three sisters and Woody himself is typically neurotic in his role as a hypochondriac comic writer. However, the best performance is from Michael Caine as the guilt-ridden husband who loves his wife (Farrow) but is infatuated with her beautiful and passionate sister (Hershey). Max von Sydow nearly steals the scene as Hershey's tempestuous artist lover and watch out for Carrie Fisher in a subsidary role. This is a beautiful film that is honest and yet uplifting in one motion, an absolute triumph in observational drama. If you're an Allen fan and do not yet own this film...well, what are you waiting for ? Buy it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Comedy From Woody Allen's Career Zenith, 27 Dec 2012
By 
Philoctetes (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hannah and Her Sisters [DVD] (1986) (DVD)
I am impressed by the lack of perception displayed by those individuals proffering 2 and 3-star reviews.

H&HS is an ensemble comedy with the trio of sisters at the centre of the action. Circling around them are their lovers and parents and Woody himself as Hannah's ex-husband Mickey. The movie begins at a Thanksgiving party and ends at another one a couple of years later.

Mia Farrow as Hannah does have a comparatively restrained role because she is the sister the others rely on for support; all the same, she does get to display a range of emotions including anger and frustration, happiness and patience. Both her sisters (Holly, Leigh) are flaky and vulnerable in different ways, Holly as an actress cum singer cum caterer cum etc, Leigh artistic in a more passive way, a muse rather than a creator. All three are the plausible consequences of two boozy unfaithful actor-parents.

The important point is that the ensemble is brilliant and the script is brilliant for creating so many interesting problems, such as Leigh's affair with Hannah's husband (Michael Caine) and Mickey's determination to find religion after a brush with death. Allen has created a whole raft of unique characters, even comparatively minor characters like the parents or Frederick the artist are memorable. He fuses dialogue with internal monologue and word cards like those seen later in episodes of Frasier. The great thing is, Allen's pov doesn't prevent his acknowledging other ideas and perspectives.

You'll see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woody at his most neurotic, hilarious and deeply perceptive, 14 Jan 2003
By 
Lydia (Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hannah and Her Sisters [DVD] (1986) (DVD)
This has to be, undoubtedly, one of Woody Allen's masterpieces. One of the films in which he begins to break away from his usual style, Allen focuses both on his typical neurotic, quavering character and also on the lives of three sisters, one of which he was previously married to. The insight into their tangled and deceitful lives, the lies and games played around each other and, at the same time, their deep love, are shown both humourously and with incredible sensitivity. The film is beautifully shot and flits quickly from one instance to the next, weaving together a potentially bland story and making it a cinematic joy.
Allen plays Mickey Sachs, a troubled television producer struggling with the question of the meaning of life. A series of experiences lead him to try and find his 'higher truth,' in the same inimitable and hilarious style portrayed in so many of Allen's films. Artistic and philosophical anecdotes and queries are applied relevantly and humourously, making the viewer laugh as well as ponder.
Mickey's ex-wife Hannah is played brilliantly by Mia Farrow, and the cast is completed by a host of other great names including Michael Caine, Barbara Hershey, Dianne Wiest, Carrie Fisher and, one of Allen's favourites, Julie Kavner. The film focuses intently on the theme of reality: the lives of three ordinary sisters, the ones they love, and the lengths taken to keep the peace and help each other: but not without a few mishaps on the way. The integration of Allen's character and the sisters is brought together at the end in a way the viewer could never expect.
With a musical score including music by McCarthy-Monaco and Cahn-Styne, and references to artists and poets such as E.E Cummings cleverly applied, 'Hannah and her Sisters' really is Woody at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bewitched, Bothered & Bewildered, 23 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: Hannah and Her Sisters [DVD] (1986) (DVD)
This film is definitely one of Woody's best and the equal to `Annie Hall,' IMHO.
An excellent storyline and script I have to say, with some really classic scenes. I especially liked Woody's initial date with Hannah's sister, of course, the more humorous parts of the film usually occur when Woody is around! The acting from all of the `sisters' is brilliant; I also loved the Mum & Dad too! I still have the classic, `Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered,' floating around in my head! There are stunning views of the New York architecture to admire.
My only gripe was that I found the dialogue hard to pick up at times, especially early on in the film. Other than that, a great watch and thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars awfully dull, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannah and Her Sisters [DVD] (1986) (DVD)
The problem with Hannah and her Sisters as that I needed subtitles. Last saw it in the cinema when it came out. I guess it
just wasn`t my kind of story anymore.

It was the same with Annie Hall. Used to love it,had a video. Then it became very dated.
There are people out there who would love it.

I donated H and her S to the Save the Children charity shop, so it can do some good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Film, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannah and Her Sisters [DVD] (1986) (DVD)
Another Woody Allen film which had passed me by. I thoroughly enjoyed watching it after all the years since it was produced and it made good watching and didn't seem dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannah and Her Sisters [DVD] (1986) (DVD)
Good typical woody Allan particularly enjoyed hypocritical scenes. Believe it was filmed in Mia farrows apartment. Which is very interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hannah and Her Sisters [DVD] (1986)
Hannah and Her Sisters [DVD] (1986) by Woody Allen (DVD - 2002)
£3.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews