Customer Reviews


275 Reviews
5 star:
 (213)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It took me 5 years to find it, but I am glad I did
I never understood the hype around 24. I never got to see the first episode on TV of any series, and couldn't dedicate the time to it, so never gave it a chance.

Someone recently said it was like the Bourne Identity, which I loved and the box set was very reasonably priced on amazon at the time, so I thought I would give it a go.

WOW!!!!!!!!!!!! By...
Published on 17 Mar 2007 by Darryl Curtis

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 6 episodes worth of material dragged, stretched and repeated over 24 episodes
24 suffers from being 6 episodes worth of material being dragged, repeated and stretched out over 24 episodes. A good example would be when a character bangs her head and is afflicted with amnesia for 4 episodes then `cured' and it is never brought up again. This is sadly very obviously done because they had nothing for that character to do for these episodes and so this...
Published 19 months ago by Mr Blonde


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It took me 5 years to find it, but I am glad I did, 17 Mar 2007
By 
Darryl Curtis "Max" (Shepperton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 24: Season One DVD Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I never understood the hype around 24. I never got to see the first episode on TV of any series, and couldn't dedicate the time to it, so never gave it a chance.

Someone recently said it was like the Bourne Identity, which I loved and the box set was very reasonably priced on amazon at the time, so I thought I would give it a go.

WOW!!!!!!!!!!!! By the second episode I was hooked. The pace keeps on going through each episode, with more twists and turns than a roller coaster. OK so some of them are a little contrived, but you forgive the show, cos it is so clever. It sucks you in, to thinking you have worked out what is going on, then it twists the other way and you have to rethink everything.

Be warned though. It will take over your life, and you will not be able to turn it off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most gripping show on the box - bar none!, 20 Mar 2006
By 
painreliever (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 24: Season One DVD Collection [DVD] (DVD)
For those unfamiliar with the format, 24's "gimmick" is that each hour-long episode follows, in more or less real time, an hour in the life of Jack Bauer (Kiefer Sutherland), a Government agent working at the Counter-Terrorist Unit (CTU), in Los Angeles, as he races to avert a national crisis.

In this first series, Jack's wife and daughter are held hostage and he is blackmailed into helping a group of terrorists assassinate U.S. Presidential candidate Senator David Palmer (Dennis Haysbert) on election day. The supporting characters have their own subplots as well, with Jack's daughter Kim (Elisha Cuthbert) trying to escape her captors and Senator Palmer dealing with a family crisis.

The series has become known for its outlandish leaps of logic and plot twists which defy belief, and there are many, but all of these add to the drama and tension, and are handled in such a way that the viewer readily accepts them and at the end of each episode is left screaming for more.

24 has the uncanny power to grab your attention and not let go until that iconic clock ticks down to the end of another day. If you have the series on DVD, you will quite happily sit and watch four, five or even six episodes in succession because you just will not want to wait to find out how Jack gets himself out of ever more absurd and life threatening cliffhanger situations at the end of each episode. This show instantly became my favourite TV programme when I first watched it in 2001, and has remained so over the four subsequent series, right up to the gripping series 5 currently airing on Sky One.

For the first series, the writers kept to a fairly safe and familiar situation and set about telling it in a fresh and new way, saving the edgier stories for later series when the show had become a hit. The basic plot is as outlined above, with an important political figure under threat, the kidnapping of a government agent's family in order to force him to help the terrorists, a personal vendetta and a mole inside the agency feeding terrorists information. Oh, and a major twist right at the end, but you'll have to watch it to find out what it is.

The series, while brilliant, is not without its faults. The writers of the series never wrote more than four or five episodes ahead, so even they did not know how the show was going to end, which does show as the pacing is off in places, with some slow, lumbering episodes with not much happening sandwiched between high-drama shows with way too much going on. And of course the ubiquitous plot twists, which stretch the realms of belief to the limits but as I say are accepted because they enhance the drama.

This show is unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly, irresistably addictive, 6 Feb 2003
By 
Mark (St Helens, Merseyside) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 24: Season One DVD Collection [DVD] (DVD)
A short while ago, I was sat watching 24 on DVD. It was about twelve midnight and I was on disc four of the set. I went to sleep at 9am the next morning, having fed all the discs into my player one after the other. That's the power of this brilliant drama series.
24 begins straightforward enough: someone is plotting to assassinate an African - American senator who's on the doorstep to becoming President of the U.S. By the time the series ends, this is long forgotten...
The acting of the main players is flawless without exception, with Kiefer Sutherland being particularly brilliant in this series which was notoriously difficult to shoot. The 24 of the title refers to the fact that every event of the series occurs inside a day. I was constantly trying to grasp this concept while watching, but it is merely a device used to accelerate the action to warp speed; there is literally no dead space on the screen since every act, no matter how innocuous it may seem, is drenched in tension.
The plot rapidly becomes simply serpentine, with traitors being exposed and then replaced by other traitors, villains die and are replaced by even more insane and clever villains, bluff follows bluff, counter bluff follows counter bluff, and the series is capped by a shocking and yet somehow sickeningly "on the cards" ending.
Being on DVD has the sole advantage of making use of the 16:9 aspect ratio for those with widescreen TVs. There are no real "extras" to speak of, except for a lovely little spot with Sutherland explaining how the show was conceived and produced, and an alternate ending (although it's a good job they didn't use it). Be Warned: inside the DVD cover you'll find a small booklet. FOR HEAVEN'S SAKE, DON'T READ IT UNTIL YOU'VE WATCHED THE SERIES, AS IT CONTAINS EACH HOUR'S EVENTS.
You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars take note james bond, 23 Nov 2005
This review is from: 24: Season One DVD Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Quite simply amazing. You spend nearly a day of you life watching this, and then with an hour to go it blows you away. Don't even try to guess what is going to happen from one episode to the next, you can't. Sutherland is excellent, and the latest James Bond movies could learn a lot from convincing plotlines, and slick pacing - Daniel Craig plerase take note of how to be a modern day field agent.
Buy this DVD at your peril - you'll lose all contact with the outside world until you've finished!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 24 SEASON 1, 31 Mar 2007
This review is from: 24: Season One DVD Collection [DVD] (DVD)
We are now on season 6, but sometimes you have to remember your roots and this is where it all began for federal agent Jack Bauer. This season of 24 begins at midnight and from the moment the clock begins to tick down your eyes will be glued to thier screens until the dramatic season finale which is arguably the best episode of 24 and the best season finale of all time. This season really does provide the goods, i can guarantee you after the first episode you'll be hooked. 24s first season may not be the most explosive season, or the most explosive first season for any show but what 24 does do well is take its sucess right into the next season and always gets better, something which many shows have failed to do, the most easy example is lost. Lost came, made this big dramitic entrance to our screens but by the end of the second season the whole story seemed old and tired, but this is not the case with 24. You may as well buy all the other seasons now and pre-order season 6 while your at it, which comes out on the 5th november (24s most violent, explosive and hard hitting season) ENJOY your about to be kept wide awake for another 24 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 24 first series, 19 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: 24: Season One DVD Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the best action/suspense series i have seen in a very long time. The action is all the way through and you don't know what is going to happen. You do not get bored at all it is a very adictive series you just cannot wait to see the next episode. great, fantastic, you will just love watching and want more and more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you buy one thing, it should be this, 23 April 2003
This review is from: 24: Season One DVD Collection [DVD] (DVD)
24 is such an addictive series that you feel compelled to watch the next episode. You are continually on the edge of your seat, with the majority of the episodes ending on cliff hangers.
I started watching 24 series one after the third epsiode and have become addicted. Basically Jack is a federal agent for the CTU, and at midnight he is called in to help protect a senator from a death threat. However, His daughter Kim has snuck out of the house and gone partying with her friend Janice and two guys. The guys turn out to be evil and working for the people who are trying to kill Senator David Palmer. Jack is torn between his duty as a federal agent and protecting his family.
It all takes part in real time and by the end of the 'day' you feel like you are actually there. The twists are shocking and make you want more.
The DVD box set is excellent providing you with numerous opportunities to watch it. If something had to be wrong with them, I would have to say that the series two trailer isn't that good. However the overall pure genious of the actual series is enough. Roll on series 2 on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TV Drama of The Highest Standard, 25 Aug 2006
By 
Scully Bloke (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 24: Season One DVD Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I never watched the show on TV, just heard from a number of people that it was good. I also dont watch TV much, just an hour or two a week.

Have to say myself and my partner watched this within just a few nights. We couldnt switch off. Its very compeling, very entertaining.

Its also much better to have it on DVD than wait a week between episodes on the TV.

This is TV drama of the highest standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the best series ever.....that is one of the later days!, 14 Mar 2007
This review is from: 24: Season One DVD Collection [DVD] (DVD)
When I first heard about a tv show that lasted a full 24 one hour show that follow on I thought it was the worst idea EVER..... but got a cheap copy and now I cant get enough of it!

Jack Bauer (Sutherland) is by turns the hero and the villan who has some agonising chioces to make throughout the day of the presidential primary.

With his daughter and wife kidnapped and an attempt on the president it is all go with very little let up.

Supported by his collegues at CTU (Counter Terrorist Unit) Los Angeles he tracks down those resbonsibly finds the traitors and gets his family back only for a final twist of the knife to be played at the end!

The gloves are off and the gauntlet thown down for the pace and genious of the 24 brand can the other series keep up?

If you like any form of film (except romance) you will like this it has action suspense and much more including 23 cliffhanging endings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immediately addictive, 21 Jun 2006
This review is from: 24: Season One DVD Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this after a friend bugged me for ages about it. Bought it to see what the hype was about, watched 1st episode and immediately hooked! Couldnt stop watching.

Buy this and you will not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

24: Season One DVD Collection [DVD]
24: Season One DVD Collection [DVD] by Kiefer Sutherland (DVD - 2002)
9.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews