Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tarzan & Jane
Can't beat Disney films and my daughter loved this as much as every other one she has ever watched. Can't fault the film
Published on 6 April 2013 by Ms. S. E. Worthington

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A poor sequel - AVOID......
Tarzan had great animation and songs, a good storyline and stars to d othe voices. The animation in Tarzan and Jane is poor (a leaf shadow is used to give the impression of depth) and the storylines are terrible, especially the 3rd one which is appalling. Stay away to avoid disappointment.
Published on 2 Aug. 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A poor sequel - AVOID......, 2 Aug. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tarzan And Jane (Disney) [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Tarzan had great animation and songs, a good storyline and stars to d othe voices. The animation in Tarzan and Jane is poor (a leaf shadow is used to give the impression of depth) and the storylines are terrible, especially the 3rd one which is appalling. Stay away to avoid disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tarzan & Jane - another poor sequel, 2 Sept. 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (Sheffield, South Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tarzan And Jane (Disney) [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Tarzan & Jane, like Cinderella II, is a series of animated stories and not a feature-length film. Whilst Little Mermaid II and Lady & the Tramp II were essentially inverted remakes of the originals (Meoldy wants to be a mermaid as much as Ariel wanted to be human, and Scamp wants to be wild as much as Tramp became a house-dog), this latest serving from Disney house of re-makes copies the Cinderella II formula for providing short stories based on the Tarzan & Jane characters. The animation is not a patch on the original Tarzan film, and does spoil the film. But the worst thing about it is the fact that kids can watch better Tarzan animated episodes from Disney's weekend show, "Diggit". Having cost almost £15, it would have been better had Tarzan & Jane been a whole new, full-length story of the couple's adventures in the jungle. There is an abundance of new material for a new story-line, yet Disney have taken the easy way out in producing another sequel that will cost parents and leave families wondering if it was really worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tarzan and Jane, 2 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. Terry Black "Mr. Terry Black" (Douglas, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tarzan And Jane (Disney) [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Tarzan is one of those stories most people know (or at least know a version of it) or are at least familiar with. The story I know is the Disney version - Tarzan is raised by gorillas then meets Jane and falls in love with her. You know, it's one of those lovey dovey stories (although there is a lot of action in it - remember it's animated though, don't get your hopes up). Anyway, I spotted the sequal in Oxfam and it's a film I don't have. Since all the videos in the shop are 3 for £1.00 just now I decided just to buy it and see what it's like. I'm afraid to say I was very disappointed by it. It was a waste of money (although I'm not going to complain about 33p).
There were many things I didn't like about it. For a start it was nothing like the original. Although it features some of the same characters - Tarzan, Jane, Jane's father, Turk and the elephant (I've forgotten it's name) - there is little to do with Tarzan being raised by gorillas, which was a part I liked (I mean, who honestly wouldn't want to be raised by gorillas - it would be a welcome relief for me from our dangerous, violent, corrupt society). There was also far too much romance in it. It was all to do with Tarzan and Jane being in love and the central theme was Jane thinking about what to do for their aniversary.

Another thing was that it wasn't just one story - it was three. It involved Jane, Turk and the elephant (and in the final story, Jane's father) telling stories of the adventures Tarzan and Jane have had since the last film. Jane was thinking about what to do for the aniversary, with the help of the others mentioned. She thinks about throwing a party but is reminded it would be too like the English society Tarzan doesn't fit into. She thinks about getting him a ring but is reminded of the events which occurred when Tarzan tried to get Jane some diamonds (which I am sure I have seen in the TV series of Tarzan - the whole film may just be epiosdes from the TV series - I don't know for sure, though). Finally, she wants to dance with Tarzan but is reminded of the last time she danced with Tarzan by her father, although they don't dance for very long - the story goes off in another direction. When I buy a film I expect to sit down and watch a full 2-hour long story (this lasts just over an hour, by the way - if you're trying to keep the kids busy it won't last long). Perhaps Disney just didn't have an ideas for good films. They do make some great films - this just isn't one of them!
The final gripe I have with the film is the soundtrack. Either it was so bad I just can't remember any of the songs or there was no music at all (either was, the film deserve the rating I've given it for soundtrack). Music is one of the things I look forward too in a Disney film - especially in the classics. Even the sequels usually have some music to them but this really displeased me.

In conclusion, the film is nothing like the original, has 3 unmemorable stories and has no music. I suggest you don't buy this as you'll be very disappointed with it, especially if you've seen Tarzan.

© 2009, Clydesdale Enterprises
This review was submitted by a Clydesdale Enterprises employee. The views reflected in this review do not necessarily reflect the views of the business.
Submitted by Terry Black
This review can be found on Amazon, Ciao, DooYoo and eBay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars we all reviewing this and conclusion rubbish!!, 10 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tarzan & Jane [DVD] (DVD)
we saw trailers and thought maybe good/? but no nope nope nope not tarzan at all.. my middle son says its rubbish different and rubbish odd voices esp the monkey he is 10.. my youngest says its ok.but... my middle one well he just made a grunting sound and walked off declaring not being made to sit and watch this rubbish ... now some people may like esp if not seen the original.. but i honestly wouldnt expect to spend a fortune on it.. will bid you mine if you wish feel really let down.. watch or hire before buying my advice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 16 May 2011
This review is from: Tarzan And Jane (Disney) [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is an awful sequel. Considering it is the newest one out, you would expect great animation but Tarzan & Jane is awful. Throught the movie there is alot of shadow on the characters which is not necessary and off puting.
It is pretty vital that when you're doing a sequel, you use the same voices from the original . Tarzan, Jane, Terk & Tantor all have different voices which i was really disappointed with; especially with Terk's voice because she was soo funny in the last two movies. I don't know about the rest of the voices because I only watched the first five mintues or so because it was just crap! I can see why it is suitable for a child because they wouldn't notice these things, but don't get it if you're a fan of Tarzan!!!! The detail of the characters wasn't as good as the last two either, something was really lacking.
I was really disappointed with this! But thankfully, I bought this with the two so it isn't so bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DISNEY, 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tarzan & Jane [DVD] (DVD)
JUST NOT QUITE AS GOOD AS THE OTHER TARZAN MOVIES, DIFFERENT ACTORS DOING THE VOICE AND STOEY A BIT THIN BUT MY SON LOVES THE CARACTERS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tarzan & Jane, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tarzan & Jane [DVD] (DVD)
Can't beat Disney films and my daughter loved this as much as every other one she has ever watched. Can't fault the film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disney's sloppy cartoon, 6 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tarzan & Jane [DVD] (DVD)
Tarzan 1 and Tarzan 2 were great in quality of visuals and sound, this one is relatively too low and disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tarzan & Jane, 13 Oct. 2012
By 
Patrick G "PJG" (Ardrosson, Ayrshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tarzan & Jane [DVD] (DVD)
The legend continues in Tarzan & Jane More hilarious fun and laughter
All our favourite characters are back in an all new Adventure
old friends and new foes in more exciting Tarzan aventures we all love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing ..., 30 April 2012
By 
S. J. Duckles "ezysteve" (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tarzan & Jane [DVD] (DVD)
Not a patch on the original Tarzan movie - which was pretty spectacular visually. This one has obviously been made 'on the cheap', and doesn't compare. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tarzan And Jane (Disney) [VHS]
Tarzan And Jane (Disney) [VHS] by Victor Cook (VHS Tape - 2002)
£3.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews