Customer Reviews


344 Reviews
5 star:
 (282)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Poppins; practically perfect in every way.
This is one of those films that has stood the test of time and is still entertaining now as it was 40 years ago. Everyone knows the tale of the magical nanny that blows in on the east wind and into the lives of the Banks family of 17 Cherry Tree Lane. Jane and Michael Banks have had a succession of strict nannies as well as a very strict father and a mother who is always...
Published on 23 April 2005 by Ms. H. Sinton

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fine Disney classic - but it's a flipper!
The film's great, but it's one of the few DVDs left you have to turn over half way through. This is really annoying when your kids aren't old enough to do this themselves.
Published on 14 Jan 2001 by Peter


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Poppins; practically perfect in every way., 23 April 2005
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of those films that has stood the test of time and is still entertaining now as it was 40 years ago. Everyone knows the tale of the magical nanny that blows in on the east wind and into the lives of the Banks family of 17 Cherry Tree Lane. Jane and Michael Banks have had a succession of strict nannies as well as a very strict father and a mother who is always out with her fellow suffragettes. Mary Poppins brings magic and fun into the children's lives, something that has been sorely lacking prior to her arrival.
Julie Andrews stars as the nanny and Dick Van Dyke as the lovable cockney Bert, (just forgive his dreadful accent) who always seems to be around at the right time for an adventure. The children find themselves having outings such as jumping into a chalk picture into a cartoon world, having a tea-party on a ceiling and dancing across the rooftops of London. Stuffed to the gills with songs such as 'Spoonful of Sugar', 'Chim Chim Cheree', 'Feed the Birds' and 'Jolly Holiday', this will have you tapping your foot throughout.
This 40th anniversary edition is on 2 discs and features lots of extras such as a documentary, commentary, footage of the premieres etc. The quality of print is very high, the colours have never looked so vibrant and the picture is razor sharp. Wonderful stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last! Mary Poppins in true Widescreen glory., 19 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mary Poppins [DVD] [1965] (DVD)
Disney has finally done full justice to its finest live-action adventure. There are no extras on this DVD, in true Disney fashion, but scene-access, pin-sharp clarity and vivid colour are the reasons for buying this classic.
We've all seen it on television several times, but to witness it in such quality and in a correct Widescreen ratio (1.85:1, true 35mm format) is the icing on the cake.
We all know the plot - Mary Poppins (Julie Andrews, of course) turns up at the home of crusty Mr Banks to take charge of his children, Jane and Michael. She has a few more tricks up her sleeve than the usual nanny - namely, the ability to take the kids on wonderful cartoon adventures along with her chimney-sweep friend Bert. Along the way, Disney's most memorable songs are heard.
This wasn't the first Disney film to combine live-action and animation (don't forget that Song of the South did that in 1946), but it was their finest achievement. And what's more - Julie Andrews IS Mary Poppins! She's "practically perfect in every way" according to her tape measure in the film - much like this DVD version of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 11 Feb 2002
By A Customer
Everything about Mary Poppins is brilliant. The music is legendary and it is certainly no surprise that songs such as A Spoon Full of Sugar have become household whistling tunes!
The best part has to be the trip Mary takes the children to the country. But forget wearing wellingtons and wrapping up in duvet-thick coats - the country is animated with a host of loveable animal characters that each contribute to a fanastic musical sequence. Also, don't miss 'Feed the Birds' - the whole song is just excellent and from the little ornament of St Paul's Mary starts singing with at the start of the song to wher she tucks in the now sleeping children while finishing the number can get you quite emotional and is a classic.
You never forget the film's different scenes and at the end where Mary leaves the Bank's house on Cherrytree Lane, you really are downhearted that she's leaving.
Just enjoy the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 50th Anniversary Blu Ray details for Disney classic, 13 Oct 2013
By 
Most prospective buyers will know about the film itself (one of Disney's all-time classics) but will be keen to know as much as possible about the Blu Ray release. In terms of review I have given the title 4 stars because of the film (one of my favourites) and the generally good specs for the release but have dropped a star as this release seems to fall slightly short of the USA release. I hope therefore that the following is of help should you be considering buying this title.

Firstly the UK release does not appear to be the same as the USA version and I will update on this point once I have the USA version when it is released in December (yes I will get both!). For now I can report that for the 50th release Disney has given the film some restoration work. Promised is a 'full digital restoration' and the picture quality from the trailer at least ([...] certainly looks good - you can view this trailer in 1080p and I am certainly encouraged by how clean it looks. Viewing the Blu Ray and I find the picture OK (considering the age) with good sharpness but a fair bit of grain too although most who know this title intimately say this is to be expected (and good!).

Audio is OK with a DTS-HD Audio 5.1 track (USA release is 7.1) being available (as will as other languages in DD 5.1) but very little activity from the rear surrounds. For the technically minded this is an MPEG-4 AVC release with an aspect ratio of 1.66:1 (original aspect ration 1.75:1). Note that there is a very small black border to the left and right hand side of the image - this is strange and have not seen this before apart from when viewing 1.33:1 films. Not sure why Disney has done this as the original 1.75:1 would suggest we should have slight borders top and bottom unless my maths is out. This is the same on both the UK and USA release. The audio is a strange one as we clearly do not have the 7.1 lossless track that the USA release has. I have added in the comments a few more thoughts on this so I won't repeat now but just point out that if you are after the best version of this classic film possible this UK release may not be the one.

There are a lot of extras but most of these have been present on past releases of DVD's etc., I have detailed below what I have found from various sources but have pasted up a copy of the rear cover if you want to see for yourself what is included. Note these extras are substantial - 2 of the features alone are close to 1-hour long each! Some of the special features are quite recent with HD footage for the stage show and the new film based on the author of the book. Brilliant footage from the premiere too with a very young Julie Andrews being interviewed alongside Walt Disney! A list of the special features as follows:

Mary-Oke: Spoon Full Of Sugar, Supercalafragilisticexpealidocious, Step In Time, Chim Chim Cher-Ee
Disney's Song Selection: "A Spoonful Of Sugar", "Jolly Holiday", "Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious", "I Love To Laugh", "Feed The Birds", "Chim Chim Cher-Ee", "Step In Time", "Let's Go Fly A Kite"
Sing-Along With The Movie
Audio Commentary
Mary Poppins From Page To Stage
Step In Time
Deleted Song: Chimpanzoo
A Magical Musical Reunion Featuring Julie Andrews, Dick Van Dyke And Richard Sherman
Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious: The Making Of Mary Poppins
The Gala World Premiere, The Gala World Premiere Party
"The Cat That Looked At A King" From "Mary Poppins Opens The Door" By P.L Travers
Movie Magic, Deconstruction Of A Scene: Jolly Holliday, Deconstruction Of A Scene: Step In Time
Dick Van Dyke Make-Up Test
Original Theatrical Teaser Trailer, Original Theatrical Trailer
Julie Andrews' Premiere Greeting, Original TV Spot #1, Original TV Spot # 2
1966 Re-Issue Trailer, Re-Issue Trailer #1, 1973 Re-Issue Trailer #2

The rear cover scan confirms the audio/sound format for the release.

Overall it is a very good release and especially so considering the relatively low price. Can't help feel though that we have an inferior offering compared to the USA release so I intend to get this and do a proper comparison. Perhaps a 4.5 stars would have been appropriate but going with a 4 until I see if the USA one is what we should have had in the UK (will have to wait until 10th December when it is released). I suspect we have a cut-down 1-disc release with everything squeezed down to fit the single disc but I will confirm once I have the USA version.

Update: I now have the USA release and have taken a quick look (and listen). In terms of picture quality I can not tell any difference as they both look exactly the same. The USA release does have the DTS 7.1 HDMA track though, to be honest, I can't tell much of a difference to the UK one but will have another listen later. The USA version does not have the same foreign languages as the UK one and it is here, I suspect where we have lost out with the lossless track in order to accommodate the additional tracks. Extras seem to be the same as well. You do get the DVD with the USA release if this is important to you (and a digital download code). Overall there is not much in it - if you want the lossless track then the USA release is the one to go with and will be the one I keep out of the two of them. The USA release is zone free for the Blu Ray so it should work with all UK players. Have not checked the DVD and will not bother with the digital download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The movie every kid on earth should wacth, 31 Oct 2006
By 
Scala Antonio "goldenvibe" (Naples, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Mary Poppins is undoubtedly among the most terrific stories ever told on celluloid for children. It has it all: comedy, music, values, colours, dreams all packed in 2 hours together with the beautiful Julie Andrews. If you wacthed it when you were young the memory will stay with you for the rest of your life, if you didn't you still have the chanche to come back in time and enjoy it for the first time. GO AND GET A COPY.

Someone wrote that they found it boring, lacking in plot and full of cheesy music. My opinion is that you would have liked it as a kid, but growing up you simply lost your capability of astonishment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supercalifragalisticexpealidocious!, 15 April 2005
By 
MrsOsborne2013 "Legally_Lillywhite" (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of Disney's best films and, from viewing one of the documentaries on the bonus disc, one of his personal favourites. The film beats the stage musical into a cocked hat - I don't think that Julie Andrews and Dick van Dyke can be bettered in the musical numbers - the highlights of course being "It's a Jolly Holiday with Mary", "Superfraga(you know the rest)" and "Step in time". This is not just a kids film, it is a bone fide fabulous musical.
The "pop up" facts available on this version are interesting, if not a bit distracting (save them for your second viewing) and the karaoke option is great fun! All the extras, in fact, are very much worth seeing.
I thoroughly recommend this version if you are a Poppins fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If Only I Could Give It 10 Stars, 2 Jan 2006
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
What can i say about this film but it is the greatest musical Julie Andrews has ever been in next to the Sound Of Music. I simply don't understand how anybody can hate this film regardless of reading the book or not. The music is amazing, the acting i must admit is sub-par but the direction and camera shots in this film are fantastic. Dick Van Dyke does an amusing role of trying to do a strong cockney east end accent but Julie Andrews as always with her beautifully spoken accent saves the day. The Childrens acting in this aswell is superb considering their age and the times in which this film was set. Kids will especially love it as that is the target audience after all but i garauntee that no matter what your age at the end of the film you will be singing Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious (If You're confused then you will soon see what that word means if you buy the film) or singing chim chimery cheroo or humming it to yourself while you're in work at your desk.
10 out of 5 = You haven't lived unless you've seen this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars And a Spoonful of Blu-Ray, 2 Aug 2014
By 
P. Kennard (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
Remastered and issued onto Blu-Ray to mark her 50th Anniversary, Mary Poppins sings and dances her way into our living rooms all over again. There are very few who will never have seen this film and know nothing about it, so what can I say that's fresh?
Well, I could say that once you have seen Saving Mr Banks, you will never look at Mary in quite the same way.

The film is very fragmentary, more a collection of mini adventures than a cohesive whole, but this is probably more down to the source material than any particular fault of the film-makers. Originally, there was no real through thread to Travers' short stories, so Disney created one. Significantly, they tried to hide in plain sight the underlying message about the stories, which if you weren't looking for it, you would be unlikely to consider.

Why is Mary actually there?

I have watched this film numerous times over the years and never really understood or noticed the nuances, the songs and dances distract you far too easily. But, the haunting melody of `Feed the Birds' has so many levels and explains so much, you can see why Walt himself found it so moving.
This is one of the things that this new release brings out so well, the music comes across magnificently, ably supporting the cleaned-up image, which has been restored with a great deal of care. Natural grain still adorns the darker scenes, with the picture remaining sharp and rich throughout. The theatrical style of the film comes across stronger than it ever has before, particularly in the sweep's routine, where more detail is visible than ever before.
One particular piece of note is the animated section, where it appears that they might have recomposed everything from the original elements, reducing the halo effect surrounding the live actors to almost non-existence. Certainly they had access to the original elements, numerous raw clips appear in the extras on the disc, where the sodium process used renders the empty backgrounds as black.

Overall, the film is designed to work on multiple levels and has aged surprisingly well. The songs are still fun and great for the children to sing along to, while the multiple subtexts can be caught by the attentive adult. About the only sequence that felt a little weak was, sadly, Ed Wynn's comedy uncle. His jokes were cringeworthy when the film was made and now they just feel like the final desperate attempts of a lonely old man trying to get some attention.
Of course, this could have been the point: much of the film feels deliberately off-kilter, the outlandish sets, the overtly silly songs, Dick van Dyke's truly appalling `mockney' accent, surely at least SOME of it was intended?

The film is not perfect, some of it has dated badly, the story is fragmentary, losing sight of some of the key messages and some of the songs can get wearisome, but the good points far outweigh the bad, making it worth a revisit for the older people and a good laugh for the younger.

About the Disc
As mentioned above, the picture and sound quality are a significant improvement over previous releases and the film is presented in what was apparently the ORIGINAL ratio of 1.66:1, resulting in very slight pillar-boxing on a normal widescreen TV.
The European edition sports multiple language tracks many of which are in Dolby 5.1. These appear to have replaced the lossless Dolby 7.1 track on the US release, which only has an English soundtrack available.

All of the DVD extras from the two-disc 40th Anniversary release appear to have been ported over, with some now apparently in HD. An excellent package of behind-the-scenes pieces, interviews and a couple of good scene deconstructions (one all about the penguins and one featuring the startling sight of virtually naked `chimney sweeps' rehearsing on a clearly hot day!), will take you several hours to get through. There are also compilations of the surviving material from the Premiere and after-premiere party, which are well worth a viewing.

New to the disc are an entirely forgettable `Mary-Oke' sing-a-long segment and a wonderful interview/chat with Richard Sherman, one of the composers, who is interviewed by the man playing him in Saving Mr Banks. This is a charming and sweet extra that leaves a lump in the throat. This goes a long way to showing just how talented these people were and how hard they worked to entertain us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Most delightful in every way", 22 Nov 2007
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This 40th Anniversary Edition on Mary Poppins is a credit all the re-releases that have both boggled (with odd cuts/features) and enhanced our experiences. Packed with extras and the restored film, its a bargain!
The first thing you'll notice, if like me you've been stingy enough to stick to your VHS version when it was on TV, is that the sheer clarity makes it appear like it was filmed yesterday. Bright, bold colours, not a single defect in clarity, it could easily pass as a new release. Theirs no 'cell' shake like on original features too, were it would appear as if the screen was a bit shakey at times.
If you've taken an interest into this film (and you've never seen it) then it's likely you've gathered the storyline by now, so I won't pound on with what happens. But as far as Disneys go, this is on level with Bed Knobs and Broomsticks when it comes to superior technicality and animation.
I have to admit, this is the first time i've seen the film for over 10 years, and it's never looked so good. As a kid, we hammered the video it was so magical, and as an adult you only appreciate the work that's been put in it further. The merging of cell animation with the acting is truly seamless, and entertaining in its own right because is just so clever. Though this is actually a rare Disney in that the animation is spread through the film - its only used for a few scenes in the first half of the film. And perhaps this allowed Disney to concentrate their time better on producing such tight and accurate merges with the actors, from Dick van Dyk seemingly dancing around the penguins (while they dance around him) to the incredible horse chase scene. But in an of the instances, most credit goes to the actors for their sheer ability to percieve how they're going interact with the animation, in the latter stages of production. This must have been incredibly time consuming, but it was worth it, because this is something no computer generated film can copy. The combining of art and acting.
The dance scenes are perfect as usual - in time, and incredibly (almost cringingly!) impossible, as the chimney sweepers smoothly dart about all over the place. The musical score ties in nicely, and gives the extra edge to the animated sequences.
Favourite scene? Has to be Berts (Dick van dyk) and May Poppins (Julie Andrews) jolly outing as they group enter the summery animated world. The way they interact with their surroundings is truly amazing, from Bert picking a bunch of cell animated flowers and giving them to Mary, to the general composition and landscape, to which both actors ramble about in the perfect directions that don't look un-real at all. You may think I'm hapring on about this theme, but it has to be seen, thought of, and the realised that this is film making at its creative peak.
This 2 disc edition contains fantastic extras that explain in great detail how the many wonderful effects were created, and a fab commentary in the film too. I can't recommend this DVD enough. I had to laugh though at the only 1 star review for this film.. why not check it out for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite, 28 Mar 2005
I loved Mary Poppins from beginning to end. Everything about it is brilliantly done. The songs are a joy to hear, and not only the ones sung by Julie Andrews, but also those by the rest of the cast. The magic performed by Mary Poppins is consistent with her calm and self-assuredness; she is both in control as well as brings joy into the childrens' lives - and ours. And simple though the special effects may seem today, they are totally engaging. I also particularly enjoyed the animated panorama of London.
On the technical side, this set is wonderful: the extras include the songs performed by Julie Andrews, with lyrics, pop-up facts about the movie which you can enable or disable as you wish, an interactive game, but the best extra is the documentary about the making of Mary Poppins, which shows some deleted scenes as well as some of the methods used in filming. That was quite interesting. To all these I must add the vibrant colours, which are a feast to the eyes.
This is a thoroughly engaging movie, and I warmly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mary Poppins [DVD]
Mary Poppins [DVD] by Robert Stevenson (DVD - 2002)
£14.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews