Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny film, serious message
This is an extraordinarily funny film which, while it doesn't quite reach the heights of Hasek's "Good Soldier Svejk", views war from the perspective of the little man, the naïve participant caught up and swept along by the currents of history and blind obedience of those around him. While the humour does achieve moments of high farce, it is usually kept as an...
Published on 16 Sept. 2005 by Budge Burgess

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Small Film Dealing with the Darkest Subject Matter with Humor
EUROPA, EUROPA, 1990. This rare World War II holocaust comedy/drama tells an unlikely and ironic tale. Salomon Perel, a handsome German Jewish boy of 13, finds himself in Poland, separated from his family, in the early days of WWII. He is taken into a Soviet orphanage, where he becomes a member of the Komsomol, the Soviet youth organization. He is then captured by the...
Published 8 months ago by Stephanie De Pue


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Europa, Europa - a film to treasure and value, 29 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Europa Europa [DVD] (DVD)
As a teacher of Holocaust Studies I can say unreservedly that this is one of the most stunning films one is likely to see on the subject, ideal for Year 10 and above and compulsive watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Have had this for a number of years, still ..., 10 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Europa Europa [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
Have had this for a number of years, still provokes emotion. It is a disturbing account of events during the Nazi era in Europe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Europa Europa [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
excellent! I was very happy with this purchase as it done exactly what I wanted it to and it was in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Europa Europa [DVD] (DVD)
Interesting film abouth a young boy hiding his jewish origin in the Nazi time in Europe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 30 Oct. 2004
This review is from: Europa Europa [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film at 2am one morning on British telly, while up for work the next day and dozing I struggled to stay awake to watch it but indeed I did, and loved it so much I remembered the name seconds after the end titles had been done then passing out on the sofa and sleeping in for work next day, none of my colleagues had heard of it but I still remembered it which was almost 3 years ago! after many shop searches I lost hope until finally put 2+2 together and searhed for it on amazon a must buy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 14 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Europa Europa [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a superb but very emotional film that will have the hairs on your neck standing on end and a lump in your throat permanently in place throughout. There's more than enough reviews here going in to detail of what is so great about it and I concur with the majority of these so won't bother to repeat it all - but to add my two penny worth, if you like wartime dramas this is a film for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Europa Europa [DVD] (DVD)
very unusual story based on fact - well worth watching !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film. Glad I took a gamble on buying ..., 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Europa Europa [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent film. Glad I took a gamble on buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Europa Europa [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film I first saw as a child late one night on channel four. The images and story have been burned in my mind since then. As a story of survival in truly brutal times this film is up there with The Pianist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful journey!, 25 Nov. 2003
By 
This review is from: Europa Europa [DVD] (DVD)
This film is simply wonderfull.
The story revolves around a young jew who, in order to servive ,joins The Hitler youth movement,and finds himself the hero of the german army,and every blond german girls fantacy.
His story takes us on a long and thrilling journy of self discovery where he finds love, frendship, mindles hate and eventualy self exceptence.
If you love films with depth and feeling, this Europe Europa is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Europa Europa [DVD]
Europa Europa [DVD] by Agnieszka Holland (DVD - 2002)
£19.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews