Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5.9, 5.9, 5.8, 5.8, 5.7, 5.8...
This is a charming, if somewhat predictable, movie. With wonderful performances by the sexy D.B. Sweeney and the lovely Moira Kelly, two very underrated actors, this movie will keep the viewer entertained. The story revolves around two athletes. One is a top notch, Olympic level, ice hockey player, who sees his potential professional career go down the tubes, when he is...
Published on 1 Jan 2003 by Lawyeraau

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Family entertainment
Charming family film for young teenagers which highlights the emotional and physical demands of an amazing sport. I would have liked to see more performance skating footage but this was a very watchable, if predictable, romantic comedy set against the background of the stress of compet
Published 14 months ago by Gail McLaren


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5.9, 5.9, 5.8, 5.8, 5.7, 5.8..., 1 Jan 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Cutting Edge [DVD] (DVD)
This is a charming, if somewhat predictable, movie. With wonderful performances by the sexy D.B. Sweeney and the lovely Moira Kelly, two very underrated actors, this movie will keep the viewer entertained. The story revolves around two athletes. One is a top notch, Olympic level, ice hockey player, who sees his potential professional career go down the tubes, when he is injured during the Olympics. The other is the female half of a pairs figure skating team, who choked during the Olympics, ending their quest for the gold.
Both would be Olympians are not doing well after their own personal waterloo. He is now playing with amatuer teams, as his injury precludes him from going pro. She, a total prima donna, is busy going through one skating partner after another with no success. Her coach, knowing that the ex-hockey player has a lot of skating talent, contacts him in hopes that maybe he will be the one that will be able to work with his temperamental, Olympic hopeful. He agrees and goes to work on learning the niceties of figure skating. She goes to work on learning to get along with him. Together, they are working towards earning an Olympic Gold medal.
There are some delightfully funny and heartwarming scenes in this film. Probably the funniest is the toe pick scene. When you see the film, you will know what I mean. While there is some hockey and figure skating action in this film, it is really not a movie about either sport. It is essentially a romantic comedy that is delightfully directed by Paul Michael Glaser. All in all, it is a very enjoyable film and well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toepick!, 28 Jan 2006
This review is from: The Cutting Edge [DVD] (DVD)
I was absolutely delighted when this was released on DVD. It's one of those wonderful, lighthearted films, but it's got a real edge (pardon the pun) to it - snappy dialogue and great one-liners. There's a sparkling chemistry between Moira Kelly and DB Sweeney, both of whom were perfectly cast. This is one chick-flick that even guys will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So, the skating apparently is not so good etc., 17 Jan 2006
This review is from: The Cutting Edge [DVD] (DVD)
BUT I STILL LOVE THIS MOVIE...I dont know...i am not big on the chick-flick genre, but this is one movie that I have enjoyed a lot of times and I have never been accused of having bad taste in movies. So maybe it is predictable, but it is a sweet and feel-good type of movie for someone who has never skated or seen snow looked good...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5.9, 5.9, 5.8, 5.8, 5.7, 5.8...,, 17 Nov 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a charming, if somewhat predictable, movie. With wonderful performances by the sexy D.B. Sweeney and the lovely Moira Kelly, two very underrated actors, this movie will keep the viewer entertained. The story revolves around two athletes. One is a top notch, Olympic level, ice hockey player, who sees his potential professional career go down the tubes, when he is injured during the Olympics. The other is the female half of a pairs figure skating team, who choked during the Olympics, ending their quest for the gold.
Both are not doing well after their own personal waterloo. He is now playing with amatuer teams, as his injury precludes him from going pro. She, a total prima donna, is busy, going through one skating partner after another with no success. Her coach, knowing that the ex hockey player has a lot of skating talent, contacts him in hopes that maybe he will be the one that will be able to work with his temperamental, Olympic hopeful. He agrees and goes to work on learning the niceties of figure skating. She goes to work on learning to get along with him. Together, they are working towards earning an Olympic Gold medal.
There are some delightfully funny and heartwarming scenes in this film. Probably the funniest is the toe pick scene. When you see the film, you will know what I mean. While there is some hockey and figure skating action in this film, it is really not a movie about either sport. It is essentially a romantic comedy that is delightfully directed by Paul Michael Glaser. All in all, it is a very enjoyable film and well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Edgy Chemistry, 14 July 2007
By 
J. A. Eyon "Little Raven" (Seattle - USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cutting Edge [DVD] (DVD)
While I had been mildly tempted by the film, I put off seeing it for a number of years. Well. My loss. Someday I'll learn that a good chick flick can still be a good flick.

This turned out to be fun and fast moving. With lead actors who are comfortable on skates and expert at deliverying the witty, biting dialog. And there's an extra something here: the chemistry of the two lead actors which lifts this film from simply being a good film to a winning one for fans of romantic comedy/drama. Even guy fans--who'll probably moan sympathetically when Doug walks out on Kate in my favorite scene of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite film!!, 14 Sep 2004
By 
Snow lover (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cutting Edge [DVD] (DVD)
I have owned this film for nearly ten years and never tire of it! I have been told I have dreadful taste in films but if like me you love a good romantic comedy with a hilarious early 90's soundtrack and some fantastically camp stereotypical ice-skater characters then you will LOVE this film! My copy even survived sabotage by my uni mates having been subjected to it for 3 years...! I have no idea why I love this but everyone who has watched it with me (other than my uni mates...) has absolutely loved it! BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Romance on ice, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cutting Edge [DVD] (DVD)
A typical relationship that progresses from can't stand the sight of each other to love. A predictable, but enjoyable film to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 15 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Cutting Edge [DVD] (DVD)
I was telling a friend about it & decided to look on Amazon & found it... So I ordered it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Briliant, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cutting Edge [DVD] (DVD)
Arrived on time from the supplier in great condition. The storyline was imaginative and the acting was brilliant with some great clips of figure skating with a wonderful appearance from Roy Dotrice as the skating coach. A great family film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cutting Edge [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is really great, because it combines love with sport passion. For sure, it is the best version of "The Cutting Edge" saga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xacf1f138)

This product

The Cutting Edge [DVD]
The Cutting Edge [DVD] by Steve Sears (DVD - 2002)
9.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews