Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage, matured Supertramp
Famous Last Words is an excellent album.

Most tracks do lack the immediacy and radio friendly commercial appeal of Supertramp's previous 'peak' works such as those on the "Breakfast in America" album; however this album is notable as it represents the high watermark of the band when Davies/Hodgson were together as a dynamic creative force.

Some...
Published on 19 Oct 2008 by LXIX

versus
8 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slipping in quality
I'm afraid that this album is vastly inferior to most of their 70s output. Apart from a couple of melodic piano intros there are no classic tracks here. For those wanting to get to know the band visit 'crime of the century' first and then 'even in the quietest moments'
Published on 13 April 2005 by fleet22


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage, matured Supertramp, 19 Oct 2008
By 
LXIX (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Famous Last Words (Rmst) (Audio CD)
Famous Last Words is an excellent album.

Most tracks do lack the immediacy and radio friendly commercial appeal of Supertramp's previous 'peak' works such as those on the "Breakfast in America" album; however this album is notable as it represents the high watermark of the band when Davies/Hodgson were together as a dynamic creative force.

Some tracks are still quirky and catchy pop tunes - such as "It's Raining Again", but the strength of this collection is in the sophisticated (almost prog rock type) offerings such as "I've Been Waiting So Long" and "Don't Leave Me Now".

It's also a grower. There's introspection here ("C'est Le Bon", "Bonnie" and "Know Who you Are"), mainstream ("Crazy"), and of course, it wouldn't be a Supertramp album without a little bit of flippancy added in just to spice things up ("Put On Your Old Brown Shoes" and "My Kind of Lady").

Overall, an excellent, listenable and enjoyable album. It's just a great shame that the two main men then went their separate ways as the sonic sum was greater than the individual parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of Supertramp's Very Best, 14 Jun 2006
This review is from: Famous Last Words (Rmst) (Audio CD)
Vastly under rated album.

This album is just as good as Breakfast in America and Crime Of The Century. So easy to listen to and lovingly created it's hard not to be impressed. Even more catchty choruses than ever before and all the famous Supertramp trademarks well in place.

Crazy:

The first track gets off to a great start. Wonderful chorus with some great catchy piano and a irresistable plodding beat. Great harmonies.

Put on your Old Brown Shoes:

Nice playful song with clapping and gospel style vocals. Very sing-a-long. Great stuff.

It's Raining Again:

One of Supertramp's biggest singles, and it's obvious why. The piano chords drill into your mind and your certain to be whistling it all day. Despite it's subject matter, it's a very jolly, Summery song.

Bonnie:

A great epic track. Full of conflicting emotions in the lyrics and the tune. Nice vocal performance from Rick Davis. Wonderful piano work, as usual.

Know Who You Are:

Very relaxing and one of my personal favorites. This song needs to be listened to rather than just heard. Peaceful acoustic work. Very nicely done.

My Kind Of Lady:

Can't help but raise a smile when I hear this song. Jolly, fun-loving with an enlightening subject matter. One of Supertramp's best songs. Roger Hodgeson is a great sport for putting on woman's vocals like he does. Wonderfully crafted. Yet another fantastic song.

C'est le Bon:

Acoustic track much like 'Know who you are' but slightly more upbeat with an inspiring chorus. It's full effect doesn't hit you until you find yourself singing it later on in the day. Just try and get it out of your head!

Waiting So Long:

A great song with great texture. Wonderful plinky plonky piano work. I'd say it goes on a little too long but it's down to opinion really. Nice to hear Supertramp doing something a little more dark and different.

Don't Leave Me Now:

Superb calming intro suddenly kicks into on of the greatest piano riffs of all time, which then in turn bursts into great horns and vocals. Sounds so emotional and desperate. An epic track, up there with the likes of Fools Overture [although not as classy].

Simply superb album. If you're a fan of Supertramp and don't have this album, I strongly suggest you get it. May take 2 or 3 listens before you grow to love it as much as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The End of An Era, 22 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Famous Last Words (Audio CD)
When this album was released after the success of "Breakfast in America", there was doubt about the cover - was Supertramps's career at an end? The cover shows a clown en route across a tight rope, while his mortality hangs in the balance - will the scissors cut the rope or not? This was a time that rumours of Hogdson's departure from the band were abundant - Did the cover symbolise Hogdson's pursuit of a solo career - who knows?
On to the music:
This album was quite unlike the rest in that the lyrics to the song were not as heavy or complex as the previous albums were. A more electric based album.
"Crazy" is quite loud and electric sounding - but effective.
"Put on your old brown shoes" sounds as if it were recorded in some smoke-filled club at the end of a band's night of songs.
"It's raining Again" a lively song, much like "Dreamer" of '74.
"Bonnie" again, a hard rock song.
"Know who you are" a very emotional and depressing song - very poetic and romantic.
"My Kind Of Lady" a fun song - shown by their fun music video.
"C'est le Bon" an emotional song, very lively, with good acoustic guitar by Hogdson.
"Waiting So Long" Again, like so many on this album, a rock song, that amalgamates guitars and keyboards.
"Don't leave me now" a sad love song, with excellent saxaphone at the start.
Another landmark album - one that marked Roger Hogdson's departure from the band, which he had been with for 13 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A shocking rediscovery!, 21 Feb 2008
This review is from: Famous Last Words (Rmst) (Audio CD)
i have just rediscovered this album after 26 years and what a very pleasant surprise (ok a massive understatement). How i overlooked it at the time, in the title of a Beach Boys classic, 'God only knows'. Ok one moderately duffer track but four or five great tracks, and a few in-between. Some absolutely great melodies, superb playing, and Roger definitely in form with his singing. I also thought Rick is very strong vocally on Bonnie, what a great track, in fact another one of more than a few on this album? My conclusion, i now include it with the other four great supertramp albums, as their only slightly flawed peer, and you know what, it just might actually be their best with the classic line-up. What a treasure to find after all those years. Brother i am bound forward!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Famous Last Words indeed, 2 Jun 2010
By 
virgo47 (Bratislava, Slovakia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Famous Last Words (Rmst) (Audio CD)
This album is very nice wrap-up of the era when Supertramp were led by two men - Rick and Roger. Some people like Roger more, some Rick, I don't care - but what I'm sure of: I like Supertramp with both of them more. Album may be more "popie" (It's Raining Again), but really all these songs are strong. Maybe the funny Put On Your Old Brown Shoes is forgettable the most - but hey, what would it be - album without fun? I like Ricks piano work, their sax, Roger's moody songs, and their long winding endings - Bonnie with repetitive "piano riff", Waiting So Long, Don't Leave Me Now. These all have really great endings that just must catch you - unless you're totally Supertramp-indifferent. Supertramp's music is often different from the classic verse-refrain-verse-refrain-bridge-solo-refrain... it often has parts where you can't tell if it's bridge or what, solos placed often way too soon, but it all just fits! And for that I like them and this album delivers just as any of their previous - even if songs seem to be built more traditionally. It's still Supertramp in their best.

The only trouble I have with my particular CD is that Bonnie's first second (intro piano attack) is repeated over second second and it's extremely annoying as you can imagine. Especially when you know it should not be there. Don't know if it can be one-piece glitch (can it?!), but it's funny that when you buy your own CD after knowing it for years, you get it with error like this. And I bet every interested listener can confirm that every second counts. :-) I'm sure it's not on every CD or every release, because all MP3s I listened so far were without this flaw. But even so I can enjoy this CD and it is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prophetic Title?, 9 Aug 2009
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Famous Last Words (Rmst) (Audio CD)
Supertramp's `Breakfast in America' album had been their most successful. But there had been radical changes in the music scene between 1979 and 1982, when `Famous Last Words' was issued. The opening track, `Crazy', serves to show that they had not perhaps changed as much with the times as perhaps they should have done if they wanted to maintain a strong commercial presence. But money and fame isn't everything, and so perhaps we should be glad of only a seemingly minor change of gear. The opening single from the album, `It's Raining Again', is also reminiscent of former Supertramp upbeat feel-good hits such as `Dreamer'. It forms part of a line of songs that every album seems to have in one or two doses, but here may be it somehow not as fresh anymore.

It's another Supertramp tradition, well at least for me, for each album also to contain a ponderous contribution from Rick Davies: here, `Bonnie' is the one. The feel of the following `Know Who You Are' is also a Supertramp tradition, with its hippy New Age philosophy, but alas few were listening as the materialistic 1980s progressed. Roger Hodgson here has a haunting voice, but an opportunity was missed, I feel, for a more extensive orchestration.

`C'est le Bon' has some good lyrics, but the best track on the album is, in my opinion, `Waiting So Long'. Rick Davies laments that there "Ain't nothing new, it's just the same old thing": but "the blindness goes on." This is a powerful song, with some brilliant guitar work during the fade out.

With regards to the choice of name for the album, did they know how prophetic the title would be, considering that Roger Hodgson left the group after the Famous Last Words world tour? `Famous Last Words' is almost like two albums, but that's often been the case to a certain extent, given that tracks written and sung by Roger Hodgson tended to alternate with tracks written and sung by Rick Davies. But here, this division seems more pronounced. Three of the latter's songs are concerned with his own love-life (you could run all four of his songs together as one); but the former's songs provide a more objective breadth and breath of material. I prefer the latter, and so with this album, for me, Supertramp effectively came to an end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Last classic Supertramp album, 15 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Famous Last Words (Audio CD)
Some great tunes in this album, but a sad one as it was their last with Roger. After Roger's departure the band never managed to convince me.
There's enough classic material here to please any Supertramp fan. The upbeat "It's Raining Again", the contemplative "Know Who You Are", the old-fashioned "My Kind Of Lady".
It was their last words as far as I'm concerned, but well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite Supertramp album, 7 Aug 2005
By 
D. A. Ratcliffe "Gortonite" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Famous Last Words (Rmst) (Audio CD)
This album doesn't have the hit singles that featured on the previous 'Breakfast In America', but I prefer it. I find the music more melodic and rememberable. Less of a rock album, more easy on the ear, and so obviously less appreciated by the music press. Don't believe the negative hype. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hodgson's Last Stand, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Famous Last Words (Rmst) (Audio CD)
Although much criticised I have a quiet affection for this 1982 release. There are, as ever, 1 or 2 below-par tracks but overall this is not a bad album. 'Crazy' and 'Bonnie' are both superb whilst 'Know Who You Are' sees Roger Hodgson at his peak form. Sadly this is the last Hodgson album before he left to pursue a solo career and the group suffered without his creative genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nostalgia, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Famous Last Words (Rmst) (Audio CD)
this is a lp I bought for nostalgic reasons I liked it then so many years ago and I still like it now .really though I would only recommend it to people who also liked the group ages ago as it is not their best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Famous Last Words (Rmst)
Famous Last Words (Rmst) by Supertramp (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews