Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent chillout album
I only came across Frou Frou from watching the trailer online for Garden State. I subsequently found out the featured music was 'Let Go', a haunting, beautiful, atmospheric track that gave me goosebumps. On the basic of hearing that one track, I purchased the album. Its one of the best album purchases I've made and I only wish I'd discovered them sooner! I have not...
Published on 22 Jan 2005 by Ms. Sharon M. Mcdermott

versus
10 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but basically coffee table music
The one over riding factor in the album is that it has been created by a producer. Sounds wonderful but there is nothing new here at all. The vocal style is interesting but very Dido-like. It's a shame because if this album had been released 2-3 years ago it could have become a classic but now it is a me-too.
Breath In is the outstanding track but you can get that on...
Published on 22 Oct 2002 by E. Walker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent chillout album, 22 Jan 2005
By 
This review is from: Details (Audio CD)
I only came across Frou Frou from watching the trailer online for Garden State. I subsequently found out the featured music was 'Let Go', a haunting, beautiful, atmospheric track that gave me goosebumps. On the basic of hearing that one track, I purchased the album. Its one of the best album purchases I've made and I only wish I'd discovered them sooner! I have not stopped listening to it since and I love every track, particularly 'Let Go', 'Breathe In, 'Its Good to be in Love' and 'Hear Me Out'. Finally, thank you to Zach Braff for producing Garden State's soundtrack otherwise I wouldn't have found this excellent band. Buy it... you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 16 July 2002
By 
xolondon (Arlington, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Details (Audio CD)
If you thought Madonna's "What It Feels Like For A Girl" was one of her finest moments, you should try this beautiful CD from the co-producer/writer of that song. The music has a similar depth and beauty. It really washes over you. Good lyrics, strong melodies and good singing - this is an all around success with very little filler. It's been a long time since I put on a record and said "WOW!" Thank God for Frou Frou!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summer Breeze!, 23 July 2002
By 
R. Wallace "DrK" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Details (Audio CD)
Summer has finally arrived with the tour de force that is Frou Frou "Details". Like Dido a year ago, it really is so rare these days to witness the birth of something new, refreshingly different, original. Something hard to classify, categorise. Details has all these qualities and more - truly inspiring arrangements - never too complex, never over sampled or looped - just perfect! - the fade out of "Let go" compels you to smile, dance and turn the volume up! The backing tracks (and lyrics) to "hear me out" are superbly mixed with Imogen's voice, a voice that teases, caressess and flirts with you all at the same time (oh, and what a vocal range! Makes you wonder were our values have gone in terms of sheer musicality!). ALL tracks here are wonderful, from the slightly intimidating "Psychobabble" to the 3.00am, post whatever calmness of "The dumbing down of love". Perhaps the best recommendation I can make for you to but this CD is this. If you like..........well, er MUSIC, buy this CD. Therein lies the compliment - there is no one to compare Frou Frou with - they are simply that good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It returns like a boomerang, 4 April 2004
This review is from: Details (Audio CD)
....and always delights. Frou Frou remains fresh and imaginative. Its sonic imagery tests ones perception of beauty by serving delicate emotions with unparalleled grace. It is not a mere collection of songs, rather an offering. An invitation to explore the meandering of passion, so rare these days. Guy Sigsworths production creates a world of seemingly conflicting sounds. Like warm fire, it oozes sincerity and elegance. He nurtures his music, never allowing programming precision to kill the ephemeral. Heap's breath-like vocal can only be compared to oxygen. Hardly ever does the word "beautiful" means exactly what it should. It is a beautiful album. Thank you guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This Amazing Album!, 7 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Details (Audio CD)
Details is a beautiful album from supergroup duo Frou Frou comprising of singer/songwriter Imogen Heap (who's worked with Urban Species, Way Out West and LHB)and superstar producer Guy Sigsworth, who previously worked with Madonna, Seal and Bjork. Stand out tracks are opening track "Let Go" with gorgeous strings, the hypnotic debut single "Breathe In", the funky "Must Be Dreaming", the Dido-esque "Hear Me Out" and the catchy "It's good to be in love". This album is going to be huge no doubt. Be there first and buy it now! Also included in this album is a UK bonus track Old Piano and a cool easy to use Enhanced section. Highly recommended. If you have I Megaphone, Imogen's debut album, you will be amazed how much she has grown as an artist, as this album is a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 27 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. G. P. Hunt (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Details (Audio CD)
When I looked upon the other reviews for this CD (22 reviews at the time, all 5 Stars), I couldnt believe an album could get such consistent high praise. Now I own the album, and I understand why!

I was first introduced to Frou Frou through a Hed Kandi complilation, and this album has that house/jazz/dance/popish sound that Hedkandi does so well on their "Serve Chilled" selections. The entire album is filled with wonderfully diverse and well written songs, the voice of Imogen Heap perfectly complemented with the relaxed instrumental styles of beat.

Top marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars proving that electronica can be warm, 12 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Details (Audio CD)
This is an amazing album that i would highly recommend. Having first heard Frou Frou's unique, but brilliant cover of Holding on to a Hero on the Shrek 2 soundtrack i was intrigued to hear their album, and i wasn't disappointed. Guy Sigsworths technical wizardry and Imogen Heap's vocals merge to produce a natural, organic form of electronica. The lyrics, unlike most electronica having real meaning, and the passion with which Heap sings is moving and inspiring. A must have for any music lover. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A daring musical project which achieves its goal., 15 Aug 2003
By 
This review is from: Details (Audio CD)
(...) Heap supplies beautiful vocals, with an impressive range and almost yodelling quality accompanied by Sigsworth's trademark futuristic sounds and experimental studio techniques. (...)'Details' is certainly an album which requires an open mind and broad musical appreciation.
Songs such as the opening 'Let Go' and 'shh' are perfect examples of how technological music can also be emotional. Neither too heavy nor too sparse, Sigsworth's futuristic sounds, decorative bass lines and sweeping string arrangements both showcase Heap's voice and create the warmth of the album. Other notable songs range from those with that 'feel good factor': 'Breathe In, Only Got One and Hear me Out' to those with a darker undertone such as 'The Dumbing Down of Love and Psychobabble which clearly echoes Sigsworth's past collaboration on Bjork's 'Debut' and 'Homogenic' albums.
This album will undoubtedly find its way into the hands of those who actively look for different kinds of music. 'Details' offers technology driven music at its very best and is truly unique in sound and feel and I doubt any other album will come close to the standard set by this one. All in all, despite the many criticisms people may have, this album is a rare gem, masterpieces such as this are rarely seen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imogen Heap = very talented, 30 Mar 2011
By 
DennyT (Nottinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Details (Audio CD)
Thanks to other reviewers I decided to buy this album. Even though I am old enough to get mail from SAGA I think this music is terrific. Inovative, interesting, musical and enjoyable: this lady is very talented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars totally fabulous!!!!, 8 Dec 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Details (Audio CD)
I have only had this cd in my possession a few days, and it has not been off the cd player. Every song is top notch, I am not disappointed with anything on there. Imogen's voice is so haunting and unforgettable, a must have for a cd collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Details
Details by Frou Frou (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews