Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little bit of history
This DVD captures a llittle bit of history.
It gives a well chosen wide range of artists, (not all to my taste but that's not the issue). To criticise performances however misses the point. The tracks span the generations and delightfully shows the rapport between the established and the up and coming. Will Young with Queen was very touching and a great track and Tom...
Published on 6 July 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Party at the palace.
I gave it three stars. because it is good viewing. Thanks again for your services has always very good. Bye
Published 2 months ago by tin ribs


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little bit of history, 6 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Party At The Palace - The Queen's Concerts, Buckingham Palace [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This DVD captures a llittle bit of history.
It gives a well chosen wide range of artists, (not all to my taste but that's not the issue). To criticise performances however misses the point. The tracks span the generations and delightfully shows the rapport between the established and the up and coming. Will Young with Queen was very touching and a great track and Tom Jones with 'Kermit the frog' at the end, great fun.
Technically the sound is much improved from the quality on the night and although it cannot hope to capture the immediacy of the live performance it is worth fondly placing in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Party at the Palace, 9 July 2002
By 
C Harris (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Party At The Palace - The Queen's Concerts, Buckingham Palace [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
As someone who was lucky enough to be present at the concert I can say that this DVD really captures the electric atmosphere through the 3 hours. Viewers of the television broadcast will be happy to know that the audio is much improved on the DVD - all those microphones that were turned off when they should have been turned on have been edited in to give a rendition of the concert that can be treasured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb recording of a unique concert, 1 Jan 2003
This review is from: Party At The Palace - The Queen's Concerts, Buckingham Palace [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Three hours of music from an all-star cast. A “resident” band including Brian May and Eric Clapton on guitar, Phil Collins on drums, Sam Brown on backing vocals and the Royal Academy of Music Symphony Orchestra. With performances by Tom Jones, Joe Cocker, Shirley Bassey, Annie Lennox, Paul McCartney and many other music legends and contemporary stars. There is something for everybody in this show.
I was not at the concert but I watched it live on the TV and this DVD is very close to that broadcast. I was a bit disappointed to find the sound was in stereo, not surround, but the sound and picture quality are superb nevertheless. The vocals to the final part of Bohemian Rhapsody, which were muted on the TV broadcast, are present and correct on the DVD.
I think the DVD may have been re-cut since its initial release, as other reviewers have mentioned the appearances by Ruby Wax and Kermit the Frog but they, along with Ben Elton and some of the other presenters, are omitted from my copy. Lenny Henry and Dame Edna Everage are present, although Lenny’s hilarious exchange with Ozzy Osbourne is cut. Paul McCartney’s “Blackbird” and the little ditty he sang to the Queen before that are missing but all the other musical performances seem to be present and uncut.
The DVD is much better value for money than the audio CD version as, for a small extra cost, you get 39 tracks playing for 2 hours 55 min (the CD has only 21 tracks lasting 80 minutes) and, of course, pictures.
Despite my criticisms, this is a disc you will want to play again and again. A superb recording of a unique event. Overall, this is a must have item for all music lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars perfect keep sake, 3 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Party At The Palace - The Queen's Concerts, Buckingham Palace [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
here in the space of 180 minutes you get from the likes of your paul mcartney to your s club - which ever may be your cup of tea it's here.
it's a great piece of memorabilia for the jubilee too.
will young's performance out shone many of them with his fabulous rendition of 'i heard it through the grapvine' and i think it's definatley buying worthy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Memento, 9 July 2002
By 
J. Lennox "jlennox" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Party At The Palace - The Queen's Concerts, Buckingham Palace [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
As far as I can tell this is very similar to the concert that was broadcast on the BBC, there are no 'extras' apart from the fireworks display at the end.
It would have been nice to have extras such as crowd shots, interviews with stars and behind the scenes footage.
All in all this is a nice keepsake for people who were at the concert- but it doesn't offer much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review and Tracklist, 23 July 2002
This review is from: Party At The Palace (DVD)
Event: Pop/Rock concert for the Golden Jubilee of the Queen
Place: Buckingham Palace Gardens, London
Date: 3rd June 2002
Duration: 2 hours and 54 minutes
Format: PAL / 16:9 / 720 x 576
Really a MUST for any pop/rock fan, because it shows all the great monuments of the rock era playing together the same evening! Phil Collins played the drums for almost every song, except the ones with Roger Taylor on the drum. Brian May was great that evening, and Eric Clapton too. You'll see a unique rendition of Bohemian Rhapsody all live in its enterely! Yes, even the operetical part was performed live by the cast of 'We Will Rock You' musical.
Phil Collins was really great, even when he sang You Can't Hurry Love. Then you'll see The Corrs covering The Beatles' The Long And Winding Road, Tom Jones covering Joe Cocker's You Can Leave Your Hat On, Joe Cocker covering The Beatles' With A Little Help From My Friends, Paul McCartney and Eric Clapton performing together While My Guitar Gently Weeps (as it was in the original record, where the solo was played by Eric Clapton as a guest, instead of George Harrison).
Just some few defects:
- Will Young's rendition of We Will Rock You is not so good
- Elton John's performance was not live but pre-recorded in a room, and he played just one song whereas Brian Wilson played four...
- The concert is not in its entirety. All the speeches were cut out, even Prince Charles's, and two Paul McCartney's songs were cut out, too. They were Black Bird and Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band.
If you are interested in having those tracks you should look on e-bay if anyone is selling a videotape of the concert as it was broadcast on BBC that same evening.
- And eventually, being a British event, the concert lacks of some artists...
Yet, the DVD remains a MUST, even just only for Brian May's performance!
Here is the complete track list of the DVD:
1 God Save The Queen (Brian May)
2 Cup Of Life (Ricky Martin)
3 Livin La Vida Loca (Ricky Martin)
4 Don't Stop Movin' (S Club 7)
5 Sisters Are Doing It For Themselves (Annie Lennox)
6 You Can't Hurry Love (Phil Collins)
7 Dancing In The Street (Atomic Kitten)
8 I Heard I Through The Grapevine (Will Young)
9 Get Ready (Blue)
10 Baby Love (Emma Bunton)
11 Stop In The Name Of Love (Mis-Teeq)
12 Sex Bomb (Tom Jones)
13 The Long And Winding Road (The Corrs)
14 Dancing In The Moonlight (Toploader)
15 Goldfinger (Dame Shirley Bassey)
16 Everything I Do (Bryan Adams)
17 You Can Leave Your Hat On (Tom Jones, Blue)
18 Radio Ga Ga (Roger Taylor)
19 We Will Rock You (Brian May)
20 We Are The Champions (Queen, Will Young)
21 Bohemian Rhapsody (Queen, 'We Will Rock You' Cast)
22 If I Ruled The World (Tony Bennett)
23 Why (Annie Lennox)
24 Living Doll (Cliff Richard)
25 Move It (Cliff Richard, Brian May, S Club 7)
26 Paranoid (Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi)
27 I Want Love (Elton John)
28 California Girls (Brian Wilson)
29 The Warmth Of The Sun (Brian Wilson, Eric Clapton)
30 God Only Knows (Brian Wilson, The Corrs)
31 Good Vibrations (Brian Wilson, Cliff Richard)
32 Layla (Eric Clapton)
33 Gimme Some Lovin' (Steve Winwood)
34 With A Little Help From My Friends (Joe Cocker, Brian May, Steve Winwood)
35 Lola (Ray Davies)
36 Handbags & Gladrags (Rod Stewart)
37 While My Guitar Gently Weeps (Paul McCartney, Eric Clapton)
38 All You Need Is Love (Paul McCartney, Joe Cocker, Rod Stewart)
39 Hey Jude (Paul McCartney and everyone)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Party at the palace., 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Party At The Palace - The Queen's Concerts, Buckingham Palace [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I gave it three stars. because it is good viewing. Thanks again for your services has always very good. Bye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Party At The Palace - The Queen's Concerts, Buckingham Palace [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This was a Christmas gift. It arrived on time and contained all the highlights of the concert and more. It was purchased for family who were away during the celebrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keep the party going..., 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Party At The Palace - The Queen's Concerts, Buckingham Palace [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Very good DVD. I ve seen it on TV but that was much better. Loved the menu and it was great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice souvenir, 24 July 2011
By 
T. W. Kok (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Party At The Palace - The Queen's Concerts, Buckingham Palace [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
First part isn't very special, second part is more interesting: Annie Lennox, Eric Clapton, Cliff Rchard, Brian Wilson and Sir Paul. Not at their best but quite acceptable. If you want an evening with a variety of good music in a fascinating entourage, you will enjoy this video. Special attention for the entree of the Queen who looks like she wonders what this fuzz is all about....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2686984)

This product

Party At The Palace - The Queen's Concerts, Buckingham Palace [DVD] [2002]
Used & New from: 3.42
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews