Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sadly, something of a dissapointment
Much as I love Cradle, I was definitely not as impressed as I should have been with this. In the studio they are a fantastic band, playing some of the most complex metal currently available, and seeing them live I'm sure would be a great experience (haven't had a chance myself yet though). Unfortunately, seeing them live is completely different to just hearing a live...
Published on 10 Oct. 2002 by neopowell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Massively dreadful
This is a no-star album, but as Amazon's minimum is 1, that will have to do.

Cradle Of Filth are not a great live band. Paul Allender mangles his solos, many full songs are played in varied tunings and Adrian tended to throw caution to the wind when it came to timing. Dani Filth covers the mic with his hands and as such sounds like he's screeching from within a...
Published on 5 Aug. 2008 by Paul McNamee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sadly, something of a dissapointment, 10 Oct. 2002
This review is from: Live Bait For the Dead (Audio CD)
Much as I love Cradle, I was definitely not as impressed as I should have been with this. In the studio they are a fantastic band, playing some of the most complex metal currently available, and seeing them live I'm sure would be a great experience (haven't had a chance myself yet though). Unfortunately, seeing them live is completely different to just hearing a live recording. In technical terms, this is an excellent piece of work, every note is spot on perfect and the speed is up to the usual high Cradle standard.
Sadly, the flaws are there as well. The most notable being that the instruments have a bad tendancy to blur into each other, making it almost impossible to hear exactly whats going on, which is a real shame because one of the beauties of Cradles studio albums was the clarity of the sound.
The vocals are a mixed bag, occaisionaly Dani has stunning moments better than anything from the studio, particulary in the ear-splitting opening performance of Lord Abortion. But it frequently goes downhill as he lapses into a synthesised-sounding voice, that seems to sound more mechanical than menacing.
Despite these flaws, the quality is still there, and it shows that here is a band who really care for their fans. The between song comments range from the funny ("What a f*cking horrible way to spend an evening", "I just got a look at our tacky background, I thought we were playing in front of a tohican monestary") to the ridiculous ("Excuse me while I just reingest my vocal tract") but each one of them is spoken with obvious affection for the freaks in the audience.
In all, this is an album worth buying, but dont expect to be blown away. Highlights are Lord Abortion, Cthulu Dawn and the vicious rendition of Dusk and her Embrace.
Oh yeah, the second CD has some excellent stuff on it, but I wont spoil the surprise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Massively dreadful, 5 Aug. 2008
By 
Paul McNamee "Rambleast Reviews" (North Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Live Bait For The Dead (Audio CD)
This is a no-star album, but as Amazon's minimum is 1, that will have to do.

Cradle Of Filth are not a great live band. Paul Allender mangles his solos, many full songs are played in varied tunings and Adrian tended to throw caution to the wind when it came to timing. Dani Filth covers the mic with his hands and as such sounds like he's screeching from within a cupboard. Eloquent, but cupboard-bound nonetheless. Sarah Jezebel Deva is frequently out of breath because she's a whale in a corset and the keyboards are barely audible. The setlist isn't particularly great, and I would even say its obvious. At least on the DVD there's something to look at, but here, there's nothing to distract you from the muddy production and messups which plague this release.

On top of that, the artwork is rubbish and the bonus disc is literally wasted on stupid dance songs, half-hearted covers and soundcheck performances, which of course sound even worse than the main album. Stay well away fellow filth fans, and buy an extra copy of Vempire with the money instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They are VERY good live, however......, 3 Nov. 2002
This review is from: Live Bait For the Dead (Audio CD)
First of all I rate this CD at 4 1/2 stars.
I am going to start on a positive note. This is a superb effort from Cradle of Filth who show that they can be fast and extreme. Their songs are heavily structured and technical and hard to pull off live. They accomplish this with what seems like minimum fuss.
All 7 members of the band play to their maximum best on this album. I shall start with Dani. Plenty of screeches and dark bellows from the most diverse singer in the genre. He pulls off some incredibly high notes and yet can change from high to low very quickly. He has alot to say in every line so it is understandable that he misses some words out just to catch his breath! I was pleasantly surprised so well done Dani- some great rallying of the crowd is included aswell!
Paul, Gian and Robin (both have sadly moved on) were impressive with their speed and heaviness. Some of the riffs they produced are quite awesome, most noticeably in 'Lord Abortion' and 'Cruelty Brought Thee Orchids'. They seem to blend better live than the sometimes too seperate sound they create on album versions of songs. Martin never put a note wrong all night- he is by far their best keyboard player to date. Sarah had a mixed night- a little out of tune in places at first, most noticeabley in 'Lord Abortion' during the heavy riff and possibly 'The Forest Whispers My Name'(which, in her defense, is very difficult to sing live) but her performances in other songs including 'Her Ghost in the Fog' were beautiful.
Last mention goes to Adrian Erlandsson- second best drummer on the planet to Trym Torson. Being a drummer myself I appreciate the efforts of these quick and technical drummers. Adrian performed the best of the lot- i liked how he quickened the double bass in older songs like 'Cruelty Brought Thee Orchids' and 'Dusk and Her Embrace'. Also 'From the Cradle to Enslave' would be very boring indeed without his fill ins. His double bass work was exceptionally fast and the fill ins were perfectly timed and executed so I think he deserves most of the credit for this CD being as good as it is! Just listen to 'Dusk and Her Embrace' and the solo part to know what I mean! That always brings a smile to my face!
However, this isn't perfection. First of all, the production isn't top notch. Most noticeably, and most sadly, Adrian loses out here as his drums are muffled out by the loud guitars and sometimes his snare drum lacks a crisp sound- a fill in during 'Cthulhu Dawn' will prove that when you can't hear it at all. The drum production on Midian is perfection and should be used in all their upcoming albums.
Secondly, where the hell was 'Amor E Morte'??? Perhaps their best song, I think everyone would have preferred to hear that rather than 'From the Cradle to Enslave'.
Thirdly, sometimes I wish Dani would keep quiet during some fantastic musical work from the band. This is most evident at the end of 'Queen of Winter Throned' when it would be more appropriate to stay quiet than shout "hate"(? i think) over and over again.
There isn't much on the 2nd disc to get excited about- pretty much a waste of time! But that's personal taste I guess.
Best tracks have to be 'Cruelty Brought Thee Orchids', 'Dusk and Her Embrace', 'Lord Abortion' and 'Queen of Winter Throned'.
Worst track has to be 'From the Cradle to Enslave'.
So, a great effort from Cradle Of Filth and something to keep us occupied till their next musical excretion. Good work lads!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suprised, 31 Jan. 2006
By 
This review is from: Live Bait For The Dead (Audio CD)
I wasn't a fan of COF and I begrudingly went to see them in December 2005. I was impressed with the band - he can't sing for toffee but the package went down well so I purchased their live album and I was very impressed with it. Not only was it an eyeopener seeing them live but their live album is good. Musically I think they are very good althought his singing is not good - his vocals are unique. I think any fan of COF will like this album because I know I did infact I went on to purchase Nymphetamine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Remember, drink bleach!", 7 Oct. 2004
This review is from: Live Bait For The Dead (Audio CD)
This two disc set is brilliant, and a must-have for disrespecting Cradle fans everywhere.
Disc one is live from Nottingham 2001, always a good addition to pre-recorded stuff, with familiar tracks Lord Abortion, The Forest Whispers My Name, From The Cradle To Enslave, and Dusk And Her Embrace standing out, and interspersed with Dani Filth's typically larger than death stage presence.
Disc two is a little different, an oft winning trait of the Filth - Deleted Scenes Of A Snuff Princess and the Under Martian Rule remix of From The Cradle To Enslave near being pounding dance tracks - a major musical departure from their usual stuff that'd be, so maybe not all hardcore fans will quite get it - while Born In A Burial Gown, The Fire Still Burns, Scorched Earth Erotica, and No Time To Cry return to more familiar (burial) ground with duelling of ghostly aria tones and serrated snarls, and also less angry, vaguely approachable guitar riffs common to more traditional metal - showing their inspirations, maybe?
Anyway, great stuff, and a bargain at £7.99 - I snapped mine up for a tenner in a store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Live Bait For The Dead, 28 Aug. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Live Bait For the Dead (Audio CD)
This album captures the atmosphere of the average Cradle concert excellently, Dani rallying the crowd while the band play. I sincerely believe that nothing was lost between the original performance and this cd. Such an amazing live band, never dropping a note, and the extra features on the 2nd cd are well worth shelling out a few extra quid for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live Bait For The Dead, 24 Aug. 2002
This review is from: Live Bait For the Dead (Audio CD)
Cradle of Filth's first live album, recorded at Nottinghams rock city in 2001. Same concert as seen in "Heavy Left Handed And Canded". Very good with 13 live tracks on disk 1 and re-mixes, recording sessions, No Time To Cry promo video, COF screensaver and Windows Toolbar. An album no Cradle fan should be without!...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars bow down and worship you dogs, 1 Mar. 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Live Bait For The Dead (Audio CD)
i have said it before that i hate live albums,very few of them recreate a bands sound in the live enviroment so whats the point then,maidens live after death was class,strapping young lads live in australia is immense and thats about it really,ah apart from cradle of filths live bait opus,it is hard hitting,well produced and filled with all the fury and complexities of a cradle live set,the songs are well picked,the instruments all sound great and it truly is sensational,after hearing this i bought the live dvd of the same concert and it is class as well but as live albums go this is superb,key songs are Dusk And Her Embrace and her ghost in the fog which are as good as they have ever sounded,kneel at their bloody altar friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best live and cradle album EVER!!! 666 stars, 15 Oct. 2002
This review is from: Live Bait For the Dead (Audio CD)
This is the BEST cradle and live album you will ever hear!
The 1st disc is the gig itself, capturing Dani Filth's varity of vocals(from screams to deep growl) and not forgetting the other members who performed(Gian-great work on your guitar).
My favourite tracks are probably 'Lord Abortion', 'From The Cradle To Enslave' and the unforgettable 'Her Ghost In The Fog'!
I don't think anything was lost between the actual concert and the CD.
The 2nd disc contains remixes, a demo and 2 Soundcheck Recordings. My favourite track in disc 2 has to be the remix of 'Born In A Burial Gown'.
It also contains an extended artwork and a CD-ROM video for 'No Time To Cry' AND a transparent slipcase. VERY VERY NICE!
Overall-666 Stars. go get it NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live Bait For the Dead
Live Bait For the Dead by Cradle Of Filth (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews