Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 November 2000
It has been a long time since the heady days when most people knew of Kraftwerk, but they still command respect from those who enjoyed their cold Teutonic accuracy of musical form, and it is only now that this veil should be lifted. Enter stage right the splendidly named Senor Coconut, a fellow german in disguise methinks, who has brought the warmth to the form that has been missing for so long. The Cha-cha-cha, and merengue merge seamlessly into the original music to breathe new life into old classics such as Autobahn, and Showroom Dummies. Do be warned though, this is not for those who take their music too seriously. The fit and finish of the songs is not always good, but the overall effect is one that will put a smlie on your face, whether you remember the originals or not. A worthy purchase!
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2002
This truly is music to bring a smile to your face. Even if you don't know the original tracks, the cheeky humour present throughout this Latin sample fiesta will keep you guessing. If you are familiar with Kraftwerk's oeuvre, the thrill of finding out how Senor Coconut will deal with a particular bit of a track will leave you grinning like an idiot.
It does wind down a bit towards the end, and the cut-up techniques on "Tour de France" expose the computer-generated nature of the beast a bit too much for my liking, but all in all, a great listen.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2002
Totally bonkers - off the wall interpretations of Kraftwerk - reworked in a bossanova stylie! A great conversation starter or stopper. Fun Fun all the way - the surprise sensation of the summer. Don't take my word for it. Buy and play, sit back and just enjoy. European 1970s-1980s electronic music never ever sounded like this!
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2000
Kraftwerk unplugged is an old gag that Nick Hornby used in High Fidelity, but it takes a brave man to give the Ubermenchen of Electronic music the full latino treatment. Like the Dread Zeppelin of the early 90's (reggae zep covers band with a Vegas-period Elvis impersonator on vocals) and Frank Bennett (aussie crooner does "Creep" in a big band stylee) about five years ago, the joke runs a bit thin after a while, but for post techno fun (it's all sampling by a fellow german) this summer, it should put a smile on the faces of all but the most earnest Teuton.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2006
This has to be heard to be believed.

I read about it somewhere just as it was released and, being nuts about the Dusseldorf doyens nearly all my life, I decided to see what it was about.

If you've ever wondered what the immaculate Showroom Dummies or The Robots sound like rendered as Latin tunes, wonder no more as they're here plus other corkers like the truly brilliant Home Computer.

God himself knows what Ralf Hutter and Florian Schnieder think of it all but I dare say it makes them smile. It's also staggering to think of the sheer man hours Uwe put into this: knowing the songs intimately which he probably does is one thing but analysing what makes them work and then re-work totally differently is something else entirely.

Is he taking the piss? Of course! If he presented south American dance musics from Chile (where he lives) as full-on techno or austere electro, the transference would be reciprocated. That I'd like to hear! Since this album, he's covered Smoke On The Water and Jarre's classic Oxygene 2, again in a Latin style. It takes a brave man to do what he's done so fair play to him.

If that weren't enough, a new album Latinising the exemplary work of Tokyo electromeisters Yellow Magic Orchestra has just appeared too. I can hardly wait to hear him have a go at Sakamoto's steely "T-E-C-H-N-P-O-L-I-S...Tokyo!" vocal!

Brilliant but not everyone gets it.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2003
Having been a devoted Kraftwerk fan for years. I stumbled upon Autobahn by a certain Snr Coconut. I played it thinking it was an underground remix. To my surprise - I discovered an outrageously funny version of the Kraftwerk classic.
But the rest of this album is also clever in so many ways
It makes Kraftwerk sound very laid back.
It dupes everyone who listens to it - into thinking how wonderful the cha cha cha is!
It makes a mockery of the seriousness of Kraftwerk
The interpretations are very relaxed compared to Kraftwerk's version - but - ironically Snr. Coconut made all these composition on a computer!
If you are a Kraftwerk fan - and have a sense of humour - buy this album - it will always cheer you up.
(I wonder if Kraftwerk have hired a hit-man to 'sort out' Snr. Coconut for this scandalously funny album!)
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2001
snr coconut has breathed new life into some of Kraftwerks greatest musical acheivements in such a way that the listener will never see them in the same light again. The original concept is pure genius and the programming is top notch.But enough of the critical bull-s**t, this album is just pure pleasure to listen to and is a must for any fan of Kraftwerk or scintilating latin rythums.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
I'm a big fan of Kraftwerk, but not so fanatical about them that I get upset when someone has a bit of fun with their music. This is great... though one record is enough, the idea is pretty much played out by the end of the record.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2002
Imagine if Kraftwerk decided to re-record some of their classic
tracks in Chile and not Dusseldorf? Imagine if The Mix had been
mixed in the skinny South American country? What would it have
sounded like?
In case you have ever pondered this, the answer is at hand!
Senor Coconut (a pseudonym) has done just that. If you ever
wanted to hear The Robots rendered as an authentic
cha-cha-cha, here's your chance. It sounds like nothing else!
It could be said that electronic music - as exampled by Kraftwerk (the founding fathers of modern synth music) -
is the total opposite to Latin grooves with its emphasis
on ultra-tight timekeeping and minimalism. It's ironic
that all the sounds on this album were sampled and
sequenced on a PC!
I'm not quite sure if Sr Coconut is having the last laugh
at a sound which has always been seen as 'naff' with its
association with big flowery shirts and ballroom dancing.
At the end of the day, there is only twelve notes anyway.
It's up to you how you play them or to what tempo.
Al Ferrier
0Comment0 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.99
£4.99
£19.27

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.