Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now get your mind messed up...., 27 Sept. 2002
By 
paul o'farrell (sheffield, south yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
it's only the greatest soul singer of all time with his best album ever. Nobody - not Al Green, Marvin Gaye or even Otis could sing like James Carr. If you need a soundtrack to your broken heart , put this on and cry your pain away. If you have known good love go bad or sweet love get sweeter, you'll recognise it here. James Carr makes the words he sings vibrate with feeling and this is his definitive recording.
Put simply, if you aren't moved by this record you haven't got a heart and you've never been in love...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars like no other, 17 May 2005
By A Customer
not much i can add to the other excellent reviews, but i'd encourage all to buy this - simply phenomenal. what a voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended, 7 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
Absolutely fantastic album. after listening to this i can't believe that more people haven't heard of James Carr. His voice has an emotional power and rawness that i don't think i have ever heard before. The more you listen to this album, the better it gets. A real soul classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars james is "Da man", 19 April 2003
i have a few of james carrs CDs , but i really think this has to be my all time favorite, i could listen to this guy all night long, i never tire of him, hes "Da man" o southern soul, with a voice that gets to yer heart strings ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Soul Classic, 7 Aug. 2010
I love this CD and play it a lot. James Carr did not get a massive amount of recognition or reward in his lifetime and this CD keeps his legacy bubbling along.

I am particularly fond of "Forgetting You", "There Goes My Used To Be", and the title track along with the fairly well-known "Dark End of the Street". I'd have to admit to preferring Otis' version of "These Arms of Mine".

A lover of 60's soul would not have a complete collection without this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the greatest soul singers ever born, 2 April 2003
By A Customer
if you like the deep southern soul sound, then this Cd beats them all, he is up there with the greatest! this cd really gets straight to your heart strings, take my word for it, Liz from Scotland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great soulful music, 30 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I picked this up after reading Andy Kershaw's autobiography, No Off Switch. I hadn't heard of James Carr before then. The guy had the most amazing soul voice and this collection of songs is likewise a great discovery. If you like soul music, get this and compare it to Al Green.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best, 4 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
James Carr suffered from mental illness all his life, but he left a legacy of music which, in this reviewers opinion, is unmatched in the soul canon. If you think you might like soul music you have to buy this album. It just doesn't get any better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You Got My Mind Messed Up [VINYL]
You Got My Mind Messed Up [VINYL] by James Carr (Vinyl - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews