Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars8
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 September 2002
it's only the greatest soul singer of all time with his best album ever. Nobody - not Al Green, Marvin Gaye or even Otis could sing like James Carr. If you need a soundtrack to your broken heart , put this on and cry your pain away. If you have known good love go bad or sweet love get sweeter, you'll recognise it here. James Carr makes the words he sings vibrate with feeling and this is his definitive recording.
Put simply, if you aren't moved by this record you haven't got a heart and you've never been in love...
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2005
not much i can add to the other excellent reviews, but i'd encourage all to buy this - simply phenomenal. what a voice.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2005
Absolutely fantastic album. after listening to this i can't believe that more people haven't heard of James Carr. His voice has an emotional power and rawness that i don't think i have ever heard before. The more you listen to this album, the better it gets. A real soul classic.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2003
i have a few of james carrs CDs , but i really think this has to be my all time favorite, i could listen to this guy all night long, i never tire of him, hes "Da man" o southern soul, with a voice that gets to yer heart strings ,
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
I picked this up after reading Andy Kershaw's autobiography, No Off Switch. I hadn't heard of James Carr before then. The guy had the most amazing soul voice and this collection of songs is likewise a great discovery. If you like soul music, get this and compare it to Al Green.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2003
if you like the deep southern soul sound, then this Cd beats them all, he is up there with the greatest! this cd really gets straight to your heart strings, take my word for it, Liz from Scotland.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2011
James Carr suffered from mental illness all his life, but he left a legacy of music which, in this reviewers opinion, is unmatched in the soul canon. If you think you might like soul music you have to buy this album. It just doesn't get any better than this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2010
I love this CD and play it a lot. James Carr did not get a massive amount of recognition or reward in his lifetime and this CD keeps his legacy bubbling along.

I am particularly fond of "Forgetting You", "There Goes My Used To Be", and the title track along with the fairly well-known "Dark End of the Street". I'd have to admit to preferring Otis' version of "These Arms of Mine".

A lover of 60's soul would not have a complete collection without this CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)