Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Robert Plant. This isn't Led Zep 2
This is an ecclectic collection of cover versions - not bland copies of the originals but thoughtful and provocative reworkings. 'Hey Joe' becomes a sonic acrobatic drive through the cosmos, 'Song to the Siren' (always a treat, whoever does it) a gentle lament and 'One More cup of Coffee' a delicate introspection with muted vocal. Justin Adams seems to have brought some...
Published on 29 Mar. 2007 by Moz

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plant pays his dues
An album of cover versions in which Plant tackles songs by those who influenced him - Hendrix, Tim Buckley, Skip Spence, Bob Dylan and a selection of old blues numbers. This is inevitably a bit of a mixed bag. Things perhaps not surprisingly work best with the more blues based tracks; Morning Due / Darkness Darkness, and not so well when he moves into territory his voice...
Published on 21 Jan. 2003 by Lendrick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars plant's best solo album, 24 July 2008
This review is from: Dreamland (Audio CD)
There is a great feel to this album. The tracks slither and glide around your sound system and grow on you over time. In the 5 years's I've had this album it has grown on me like a fine wine.

There are two weak tracks, but don't all albums have those?

The band Plant assembled here (and reprised more or less for Mighty Rearranger) are the best live band I have ever seen... sadly they arent currently touring as Plant is on the road with Alison Krauss.

If they are to record together no more, this album will stand as the zenith of what they achieved - if you like Plant/zep or the general vibe of the 1960's west coast american blues movement you need this album! Its a underrated classic, and tracking back the original artists introduced me to some music I had not heard before - chiefly Tim Buckley and Skip Spence.

Morning Dew is the best thing Plant has ever recorded as a solo artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting and enjoyable, 11 Dec. 2012
By 
Jonathan Greenyer "JonathanGreenyer" (Windsor, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamland (Audio CD)
this takes his music further into new areas that are really worthwhile. this album is an album to play loudly in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dreamed I saw a Siren!, 7 Oct. 2014
By 
P. L. Wightman (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamland (Audio CD)
Bought this for the updated track list including Dirt In A Hole which was not on my original. You've gotta love Robert!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plant pays his dues, 21 Jan. 2003
By 
Lendrick (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
An album of cover versions in which Plant tackles songs by those who influenced him - Hendrix, Tim Buckley, Skip Spence, Bob Dylan and a selection of old blues numbers. This is inevitably a bit of a mixed bag. Things perhaps not surprisingly work best with the more blues based tracks; Morning Due / Darkness Darkness, and not so well when he moves into territory his voice doesn't suite so well e.g. One More Cup Of Coffee.
It an interesting album which will hopefully send people out to trackdown some of the originals which is perhaps at least some of the point. However, the production tends a little towards the bland and much of this drifts by pleasantly but unexciting. I can't see why anyone would play this in preference to his better solo stuff; Manic Nirvana, Fate of Nations, or anything by Led Zepplin.
Plant is still in fine voice and having got this one out of his system hopefully his next album will see a return to his own songwriting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamland (Audio CD)
Solo Plant is a relatively recent discovery and I like him a lot. Good variety of sounds and tempos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Work in Progress, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamland (Audio CD)
I wholeheartedly admire Robert Plant for the way he has conducted himself since the demise of Led Zep. He has taken risks, explored the roots of his music and branched out into interesting new areas. All this, while mostly (I haven't forgotten that sort of lukewarm disco period.) remaining true to his musical values. This is him exploring, but the music is easier to admire than to like.

Given who Plant is working with here, one desperately wants it to be successful. But it isn't. The melodies are missing and the work seems heavy and laborious. It took the wonderful Alison Krauss to put a real spring in Robert's step. I see this record as the great man feeling his way towards the serendipitous meeting with Alison in T Bone's studio when they raised sand.

If you don't own "Raising Sand", buy that. If you do, you might like this, but don't expect too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamland (Audio CD)
I just love this album by the mighty Mr Gary Moor all of the songs are just fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plants new album strikes the right balance..., 30 Jun. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dreamland (Audio CD)
This is a good album. I've only had it for a few days and im slowly working my way through it. Its definatley one of those albums you need to listen to a number of times to get into it... so dont dismiss it early on. Its nothing like zep and his voice is a lot more restrained than back in the day, so dont get it thinking you're gonna hear ten rounds of black dog (even tho the clear reason i got it was due to my love of zep). its a cool album and i recommend it tho. i like all of the songs, the dylan cover on track 3 is cool too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent., 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamland (Audio CD)
Typical of his range and class. excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great record, only be careful of the 'double cd' ..., 24 Aug. 2014
By 
great record ,only be careful of the 'double cd' description...as in cardboard book version, because there is only 'one' disc, the version with the plastic box has two...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreamland
Dreamland by Robert Plant (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews