Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2014
This limited edition steelbook is great!

I was worried about it arriving with a bit of damage, as steelbooks are really delicate, and especially when the covers are silver like this one. but it arrived in perfect condition, thank you Amazon!

Now the film itself is a classic as we all know, so I'm not going to bore you all with a review.

This edition comes with both a Digital copy and an Ultraviolet copy, it also comes with a typical steelbook jaycard/sleeve with all the information needed.

The steelbook itself comes with great front and back artwork, with an amazing picture on the back. It also has great inside artwork, with a picture that uses both inside areas/sides to become one perfect image of E.T flying over trees with Elliott and his bike!

This version is the 1982 original E.T, not the 20th anniversary edition. It has been completely restored with a great transfer to blu ray, the sound and picture are one of the best have seen.

The best thing about this edition is the extras!!! As well as other things, the most interesting include:

A Steven Spielberg and E.T documentary,
The evolution and creation of E.T documentary (which is great)
The Music of E.T with John williams
The 20th Anniversary Premiere (which brings back all the actors to comment on E.T's success over the years)

Technical Information:

VIDEO, 1080p widescreen 1.85:1
AUDIO, English DTS HD Master Audio 7.1 / French DTS HR 7.1 / French DTS Surround Stereo 2.0 / Dutch DTS Surround 5.1
SUBTITLES, English SDH / French / Dutch / Arabic / Ukranian / Cantonese / Korean

Overall a great buy, very happy and I give it a 5 star rating!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 January 2015
WOW!!! this is a great steelbook, and E.T. deserves nothing less than this wonderful release. When I was a very young boy my brother in law took me and my twin brother to watch E.T. at the cinema and we just both loved it, you could say this was my best film I have seen when I was growing up. The amazing thing about this film is, it never seems to age and feel dated, if anything it just gets better with age. Me and my brother have a debate he says "JAWS" is Steven Spielbergs best film but E.T. just edges it for me.(PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT AND TELL ME WHAT DO YOU THINK?) The Blu-ray and sound is just perfect and the score which was done by john Williams is outstanding.

***FEATURES BELOW***

Steven Spielberg and E.T.
The E.T. Journals
A look Back
The Evolution and Creation of E.T.
The E.T. Reunion
The Music of E.T.: A Discussion with john Williams
The 20th Anniversary Premiere
Designs Photographs and Marketing

Blu-ray comes with UV and Digital copy
review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2002
ET is, without question, Steven Spielberg's acknowledged masterpiece.
Originally released to stunned cinema audiences worldwide in 1982, ET is a movie containing all of the basic elements required to make it a box office hit. There are comic moments (like ET blowing bubbles in the bath), there are moments of suspense (like when ET tried to run back to his spaceship and we are all wondering if he'll make it), there are haunting and harrowing moments (like the bit when the men in spacesuits invade the house) and there are pure emotional moments (for example, the final scene when ET says goodbye).
The 20th anniversary edition has been digitally remastered and a few extra scenes have been added. John Williams has also brushed up his award-winning score and added a few new tracks to the soundtrack, available on CD.
The DVD contains plenty of interesting and informative extras - especially the option of watching the movie in sync with John Williams' live performance of the score from the premiere at the LA Shrine in March 2002. This basically means that as you watch the movie, the music you hear will be 'live', so the speak - you can ever hear the amazing standing ovation during the end credits! There is also a featurette on reuniting the cast and Spielberg himself, who talk openly and emotionally about their experiences of filming and the effect ET had on their lives.
This DVD is an absolute must for any respectable DVD collection. In my opinion, ET is the greatest film made since the Hollywood boom.
0Comment23 of 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
Fantastic quality and classic just got clearer, never dates, love the collectable cover

Buy it today you will not be dissapointed
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 November 2012
ahhhhh, remember when Spielberg was all about fun and feel good? No? Well check out E.T!

Love my horror and gore. Love my serious stuff. Love my cheesy action movies. But E.T still has a special place in my movie collection. Never has it stopped making me smile and laugh with nothing other than visuals. Hard to come by these days.

The BD transfer is outstanding again. Not quite the equal of Jaws but knocking on the door. Worthy of upgrading from the DVD in a millisecond!

Audio: English DTS HD-Master 7.1; French DTS-HR 7.1; English and French DTS Surround 2.0; Dutch DTS Surround 5.1

Subs: English SDH; French; Cantonese; Dutch; Korean; Arabic; Traditional Mandarin; Ukranian

Running time: 114mins

I'm trying to confirm that it is actually region free. The disc isn't marked up with any region. Nothing on the box to suggest it is region locked. Blu-ray.com suggest it's region free. Everything suggests it is region free!
55 comments16 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
E.T. – THE EXTRA-TERRESTRIAL [1982] [Limited Edition SteelBook] [Blu-ray + Digital Copy + ULTRAVIOLET]

‘E.T. – The Extra-Terrestrial,’ is often referred to simply as E.T. and is a 1982 American science fiction film coproduced and directed by Steven Spielberg and written by Melissa Mathison, featuring special effects by Carlo Rambaldi and Dennis Muren, and starring Henry Thomas, Dee Wallace, Robert MacNaughton, Drew Barrymore, and Peter Coyote. It tells the story of Elliott [Henry Thomas], a lonely boy who befriends an extra-terrestrial, dubbed "E.T.," who is stranded on Earth. Elliott and his siblings help it return home while attempting to keep it hidden from their mother and the government.

FILM FACT: Awards and Nominations: 55th Academy Awards®: Won: Best Original Score. Won: Best Sound for Robert Knudson, Robert Glass, Don Digirolamo and Gene Cantamessa. Won: Best Sound Effects Editing for Charles L. Campbell and Ben Burtt. Won: Best Visual Effects (Carlo Rambaldi, Dennis Muren and Kenneth F. Smith. 40th Golden Globe® Awards: Won: Best Picture in the Drama. Won: Best Score. Nominated: Best Director. Nominated: Best Screenplay. Nominated: Best New Male Star for Henry Thomas. The Los Angeles Film Critics Association awarded the film Best Picture, Best Director, and a "New Generation Award" for Melissa Mathison. The film won Saturn Awards for Best Science Fiction Film, Best Writing, Best Special Effects, Best Music, and Best Poster Art, while Henry Thomas, Robert McNaughton, and Drew Barrymore won Young Artist Awards. In addition to his Golden Globe® Award and Saturn Award, composer John Williams won 2 Grammy Awards and a BAFTA® for the score. “E.T.” was also honoured abroad: the film won the Best Foreign Language Film award at the Blue Ribbon Awards in Japan, Cinema Writers Circle Awards in Spain, César Awards in France, and David di Donatello in Italy.

Cast: Dee Wallace, Henry Thomas, Peter Coyote, Robert MacNaughton, Drew Barrymore, K.C. Martel, Sean Frye, C. Thomas Howell, Erika Eleniak, David M. O'Dell, Richard Swingler, Frank Toth, Robert Barton, Michael Darrell, Ted Grossman, Kevin Jessup, James Kahn, Richard S. Weisman, Debra Winger and Pat Welsh (E.T. voice)

Director: Steven Spielberg

Producers: Steven Spielberg and Kathleen Kennedy

Screenplay: Melissa Mathison

Composer: John Williams

Cinematography: Allen Daviau

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1

Audio: English: 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, English: 2.0 Original Stereo, French: 7.1 Dolby Digital 1982, French: 2.0 Dolby Digital 1982 and Dutch: 5.1 Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English SDH, French, Arabic, Cantonese, Dutch, Korean, Mandarin (Traditional) and Ukrainian

Running Time: 110 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Universal Pictures

Andrew's Blu-ray Review: ‘E.T. – The Extra-Terrestrial’ [1982] is more than a film, it is one of those rare cinematic occurrences that strikes at exactly the right time and place, revealing the cultural zeitgeist of the moment. The film sparked an immediate pop culture frenzy when it was released in 1982; it turned the precocious, young Drew Barrymore into a household name, led to a 65% increase in the sale of “Reese's Pieces” and had kids, and even adults, everywhere saying, "E.T.” phone home." The film grossed $700 million worldwide, making it the top-grossing film of the 1980s and the 4th highest U.S. box office of all time. Variety called “E.T.” "the best Disney movie Walt Disney never made." And Rolling Stone raved that Steven Spielberg was "the most successful movie director in Hollywood, America, the Occident, the planet Earth, the solar system and the galaxy." But E.T. was never intended to be such a phenomenon.

After his success with ‘Raiders of the Lost Ark’ [1981], Steven Spielberg had instead set out to make a smaller, more personal film. "E.T.” was about the divorce of my parents, how I felt after my parents broke up," Steven Spielberg admitted. "It was the first movie I ever made for myself." The idea for “E.T.” began to form while the director was on location in Tunisia for ‘Raiders of the Lost Ark.’ A lonely Steven Spielberg started picturing something of an imaginary friend. "It was like when you were a kid and had grown out of dolls or teddy bears," he recalled. "You just wanted a little voice in your mind to talk to. I began concocting this imaginary creature, partially from the guys who stepped out of the Mother Ship for ninety seconds in ‘Close Encounters of the Third Kind’ [1977]." He shared the idea with Melissa Mathison, Harrison Ford's screenwriter girlfriend who had already penned two family films ‘The Black Stallion’ [1979] and ‘The Escape Artist’ [1982]. Together Steven Spielberg and Melissa Mathison fleshed out the story.

Melissa Mathison would receive sole screenwriting credit on “E.T.” even though there was a significant second influence on Steven Spielberg's story. John Sayles had a script in development at Columbia called ‘Night Skies.’ Steven Spielberg had done some work on the project and was considering directing it. John Sayles' story revolved around malevolent aliens who terrorize a farmhouse. The aliens could kill just by touching a victim with a long, bony finger. Night Skies also featured a friendly alien "Buddy" who forms a friendship with a child. And in the last scene, Buddy is marooned on earth, left behind by his people. Given the similarities between E.T.'s set up and Night Skies' ending, Spielberg offered Sayles and Columbia first refusal on his new benevolent alien angle. Sayles declined and did not pursue screen credit. The studio also passed on “E.T.,” but they retained 5% of the profits enough to make “E.T.,” a film produced by Universal, Columbia's most profitable film of the year.

Steven Spielberg was given a $10.5 million budget for “E.T.” and not a huge amount considering Raiders estimated $20 million price tag. The “E.T.” puppet alone cost $1.5 million. It was designed by special effects wizard Carlo Rambaldi and made use of two control systems; the first allowed for the “E.T.” movements to be controlled by puppeteers and the second, an electronic system, created E.T.'s mannerisms, like wrinkling his nose. In all, E.T. was capable of 85 movements, had 35 facial expressions and stood three feet tall. There were three versions of the puppet with four interchangeable heads. In long shots, when “E.T.” was walking, little people in an E.T. suit took over the part.

Along with a smaller-than-usual Steven Spielberg budget, the director took a chance with his normal production process, forgoing his need to storyboard every scene. For “E.T.,” Steven Spielberg mainly sketched just the effects shots. "I had the feeling the boards might force the child actors into stiff unnatural attitudes and I didn't want that," explained Steven Spielberg. “E.T.” was shot over 61 days in the fall of 1981. Several exterior locations around Southern California were used, as well as interiors filmed at Culver City High School. The bulk of the film was shot at Laird International Studios in Culver City. Spielberg chose Laird to keep “E.T.” off the Universal lot. He was greatly concerned with secrecy during the production. All the cast and crew were required to sign confidentiality agreements. Even Spielberg's dog Willie was issued an ID badge while visiting.

“E.T.” grossed $11.8 million its opening weekend; Spielberg himself was said to be making half a million dollars a day during the first week of the “E.T.” release. He was also guaranteed 10% of all licensed “E.T.” products, as well as product approval on everything from pyjamas to lunchboxes and alarm clocks to bubble gum. Universal Pictures spent $2 million filing suit against non-licensed merchandise. It was a small price to pay as “E.T.” set a new standard for movie merchandising. It took in an additional $1 billion in merchandise revenue. But home video profits were put on hold. Steven Spielberg felt that E.T. should only be viewed on the big screen. The film was finally released on video in 1988. Again, in a brilliant bit of foresight, Steven Spielberg was contractually guaranteed 50% of video profits.

With the film's success came the inevitable complaints and lawsuits. Melissa Mathison cited her screenplay description of the alien as proof that she created E.T.'s likeness and the Writers' Guild agreed. Arbitration was settled in her favour, granting Melissa Mathison a piece of the merchandising profits. Several other writers made claims that their work had been plagiarised by “E.T.,” but these suits were all thrown out. The allegation that probably concerned Spielberg the most was made by Indian filmmaker Satyajit Ray, who asserted similarities and down to specific scenes between “E.T.” and an unproduced screenplay of Satyajit Ray's called ‘The Alien’ which had been circulated in Hollywood. Eventually Satyajit Ray was persuaded to withdraw the claim.

A few final notes of interest about E.T.: In Sweden, Finland and Norway, children under 12 were banned from seeing the film because of the "portrayal of adults as the enemies of children." The week “E.T.” opened; Steven Spielberg used some of his half-million dollar-a-day profits to buy the original Rosebud sled from ‘Citizen Kane’ [1941] for $65,000 at auction at Sotheby's. “Reese's Pieces” will forever be associated with “E.T.” but the candy selected for the film was originally supposed to be M&M's. Allegedly, Mars declined to be involved, saying the subject matter was unsuitable and would frighten children.

Blu-ray Video Quality – Restored and remastered from the original 35mm negatives, 'E.T. - The Extra-Terrestrial' lands on Blu-ray with a terrific awesome 1080p encode image. The cinematography of Allen Daviau is well preserved and remains faithful to the intentions of the filmmakers. A large portion of the film was shot indoors with poor lighting conditions, an artistic choice which reflects the story's many themes. Despite the amount of heavy shadows and limited light, details come through without issue, revealing many of the small trinkets and pieces of furniture scattered throughout the family house. Fine lines are distinct with excellent lifelike textures on the faces of the cast and on a variety of clothing. E.T., in particular, looks especially realistic with a never-before-noticed slimy sheen, allowing fans to fully appreciate Carlo Rambaldi's creation. Daylight exteriors, as would be expected, look best with sharp definition in the surrounding foliage and the architecture of the suburban neighbourhood. Presented in its original 1.85:1 aspect ratio, the transfer displays a fine, visible layer of grain that's consistent and stable with a crisp and well-balanced contrast. True to the film's deliberate look, interiors are quite dim and dark with an interesting haze and lots of shadows. This has a slight effect on the colour palette, but primaries are accurate from beginning to end with warm secondary hues. Black levels are also somewhat effected, but not to any damaging extent, appearing quite rich and deep for a majority of the films runtime. All in all, the picture quality is in excellent condition and should satisfy fans.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – The sci-fi family classic also arrives with a spectacular and immersive 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, but you also get the 2.0 Original Stereo soundtrack. Without a doubt, the track's greatest and most thrilling aspect is the memorable score of John Williams, breathing life to the sound system with rich detail and clarity in all seven channels. Every time the haunting, fairy-tale-like motif comes on, the front soundstage fills with warmth and fidelity, generating a wonderfully engaging image. Dynamics and acoustics are crisp with sharp, almost lifelike precision in the instrumentation. Vocals are clean and well-prioritized in the centre with remarkable intonation, allowing for viewers to hear every tearful piece of dialogue. Low bass is appropriate for a movie of this vintage, mostly reserved for providing depth to the music. Equally impressive, and adding to the overall joy of listening to “E.T.” as if for the first time, are the surrounds, utilized on numerous occasions to enhance the action. Surprisingly, discrete effects never sound artificial or forced. Instead, they create a satisfyingly immersive sound field with excellent directionality. Subtle atmospherics in outdoors sequences broaden the listening area while the sounds of cars or space ships flying overhead move with fluid, flawless panning. John Williams' music also participates in the fun with great envelopment, pulling viewers into the middle of the excitement and drama. It's a fantastic lossless mix that long-time fans will love, like watching the film again for the first time.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Deleted Scenes [1080p] The two, now-infamous scenes which were restored to the 2002 re-release of the film with digital alterations are shown here.

Special Feature: Steven Spielberg and E.T. [1080p] [13:00] A recent interview with the legendary filmmaker about the story's origins, its themes and the final script. Several comments are reiterations from other documentary, but it still makes for a good conversation about a few of the technical details of the filmmaking process.

Special Feature: The E.T. Journals [Parts 1 and 2] [54:00] Another great documentary made from Behind-the-Scenes footage and interviews shot during the production and edited in order as they would appear in the film. Broken into two parts that can be watched sequentially or separately, fans can watch how each scene was accomplished, see Steven Spielberg at work and enjoy several never-before-seen scenes from the set. While Williams's iconic score plays in the background, we get lots of wonderful footage of the daily activity of the kids, hear many amusing comments and get a good sense of the camaraderie of cast and crew.

Special Feature: A Look Back [38:00] A short making-of documentary, formerly exclusive to the 3-disc DVD, features interviews with cast and crew talking about their experiencing on the production and sharing many wonderful memories. Tons of Behind-the-Scene footage plays in between the comments, making it a great watch for fans.

Special Feature: The Evolution and Creation of E.T. [50:00] A bit more recent and longer doc than the previous, showing Spielberg talking about the story's origins, the film's themes and the personal influences the director injected into it. With more Behind-the-Scene footage interspersed throughout, several comments from other key players revolve around working with each other and the alien creature, the casting and of course, developing the right look for “E.T.” and the casts' emotional response. Best bits are towards the end with comparisons of the original 1982 cut to the digital alterations of the 2002 version, which actually look awful but Spielberg defends wholeheartedly.

Special Feature: The E.T. Reunion [18:00] Steven Spielberg and Kathleen Kennedy reunite with the main cast to talk and reminisce on the production, working with one other and the film's impact on each person's life.

Special Feature: The Music of E.T.: A Discussion with John Williams [10:00] A brief but fairly interesting conversation with John Williams, where he talks about his impression of the film and about developing one of the most memorable cinematic scores.

Special Feature: The 20th Anniversary Premiere [18:00] A look at the preparation, rehearsal and work that went into the 2002 theatrical premiere with a live performance of John Williams's score.

Special Feature: Designs, Photographs and Marketing [1080p] Broken into six categories, this is a still gallery of concept art and design by Ed Verreaux, Carlo Rambaldi and Ralph McQuarrie. There is also a large collection of production stills and marketing photos for fans to enjoy.

Theatrical Trailer: The Original Theatrical preview. Special Olympics TV Spot: Vintage TV spot for the Special Olympics with “E.T.”

Finally, following one box-office success after another, Steven Spielberg delivered another blockbuster smash with 'E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial,' a sci-fi masterpiece about friendship, family, and dealing with feelings of loneliness. During its release, the simple story of a boy befriending a stranded alien captured the imagination of the world, quickly growing into a cultural phenomenon and is today remembered as a timeless classic with a universal appeal for future generations. The Blu-ray lands with a spectacular and cinematic high-definition transfer, along with an excellent audio presentation that will surely entertain. While many of the supplements are the same from previous inferior NTSC DVD releases, the package includes two new exclusives that will satisfy fans, making this Blu-ray edition a must-own. Ever since I first viewed this beautiful film in London and had a 10 hanky Kleenex crying experience, like the rest of the cinema going public as the credits rolled up the screen, I have loved this exquisite beautiful film ever since and now I have this equally beautiful designed Limited Edition SteelBook exclusive to a UK Release, it has now gone pride of place in my ever increasing Steven Spielberg Blu-ray Collection. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
Well have always been debating whether to get this or not since it was released; you know how it is something you once loved to watch re-watch it and you end up not liking it.
Granted ET is a classic you can't deny that. But with my taste greatly changed as I do like the darker material. But purchased this after the price was good and a keen Blu ray steelbook collector I couldn't resist.
The steelbook is nice better than some that have come out, the picture is brilliant, this is what blu rays are for. None of that half done high definition transfers that barely look better than its dvd counterpart. Though with the various content out their they could have put more special features on. though can't complain with the ones you get. And at least you get a digital copy as well fed up with that pain in the backside Ultra-violet but no dvd copy. Now i will stop moaning now.
I don't see the point in reviewing the actual film as everyone must have heard of it.
But it's a film that will bring back memories for a lot of people; it does for me.
As i loved this when i was growing up. It made me smile and gave me that joyful goosebumps you get when your young and you watch a feelgood movie. but thankfully ET isn't your average feel good movie. it doesnt lean to trying to overly convey a message.
Yes happy ending and all that; But this is a must for family viewing.
Nothing like a sunday afternoon snacks curled up on the sofa and travel through childhood.
Special Features:

The E.T. Journals: In this all-new bonus feature, retrace the day-to-day experience of creating E.T from never-before-seen, behind-the-scenes footage shot by Academy Award®-winning cinematographer John Toll. This piece will give viewers a unique feeling of being on-set and living the excitement of what it was like to make E.T.

Steven Spielberg & E.T.: Watch an all-new interview with Steven Spielberg, as he reflects back on the film and discusses his experience working with children as well as his overall and current perspective on E.T.

Deleted Scenes

· A Look Back: A special insider's look into the making of E.T. featuring interviews with Steven Spielberg, the cast, and others intimately involved with the film.

· The E.T. Reunion: The cast and filmmaker reunite to discuss their thoughts on the impact of the film.

· The Evolution and Creation of E.T.: From idea to screenplay, through casting and making the film.

· The Music of E.T.: A Discussion with John Williams: Interviews and footage of the long-standing relationship between John Williams and Steven Spielberg.

· The 20th Anniversary Premiere: Composer John Williams played the score of E.T. live at the Shrine Auditorium for the re-release premiere of E.T. This featurette gives us a behind the scenes look at this presentation.

· Original Theatrical Trailer
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
E.T. stands as one of the greatest fantasy films, and also Steven Spielberg's best, along with Saving Private Ryan. It is a pity the 2002 version seems so predominant now, and I am certainly with those who want the original version without the new one, which it seems to be impossible to buy. You have to get the 3-DVD boxset to get it at all ... I was unaware of this as I watched the copy I have, although it did occur to me that some of the sequences were not in the film I had on VHS, and that they were inferior, particularly the bathroom scene. E.T. looks a lot less good in these bits and his mystery is severely undermined, I would say ... This is a shame, because the rest of it is so brilliant and the presentation of E.T. himself was wonderfully done, not showing us too much, and keeping the lighting dim. There is a real sense of magic in his appearance, such that you really don't object to the sentimentality (as an adult), you just go with the wonder of it. I love the part where he creates a solar system in the air using fruit, and where he hides among the cuddly toys to avoid detection. At the same time, it works on an epic scale, using the big screen to full effect and making some comment on marital break-up, middle-class life in California, science and ethics, and the loss of imagination that occurs between childhood and adulthood that is seen as a sad reduction. There is also some comment implied on the different stages of childhood as represented by Elliot and his younger sister and older brother. E.T. can tap into the child in any of us (who should never be entirely extinguished, perhaps, in that we should not lose touch with our younger selves if we can help it!), and it is hard not to look at him with a kind of love. The film does pull at the heart strings, but somehow it really works - who can ever forget the sight of E.T. in the ditch? I was already 17 when I first saw it, but it made an indelible imprint on me!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
ET was such a well-made film when it first made its appearance at the cinemas, with such wonderful characterization and an endearing extra terrestrial, who made such an impact on cinema audiences at the time.

Filmed in storyline order, which was a rare undertaking at the time, as it was more cost-effective to film in terms of locations regardless of the sequence of events, the (mainly) child actors were able to portray realistic emotions. Consequently they were able to relate to the situation in a most believable way and entrance the audience with the sincerity of their acting.

On a 50 inch Full HD plasma television screen, the visual quality is absolutely superb, when played via a blu-ray player and when viewed by my own children so many years after I first saw the film myself, it is a real pleasure to witness their response.

This is a timeless film, which is a credit to the film-making industry and from my viewpoint- and that of my family, has well and truly stood the test of time.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2004
I was thrilled to receive this in my Christmas stocking last December. E.T. remains one of my favourite films ever - I vividly remember going to see it with my parents and sister when I was 8 years old, and being utterly captivated and obsessed.
I've actually only seen it about 4 times in my life. I like to come to it fresh at each viewing. I love it because I think it's a wonderful story, flawlessly told.
I was a little disappointed by the remastered version - I don't agree with Spielberg's assertion that the changes are discreet and almost unnoticeable. For someone who has only seen the film a handful of times, I could spot the changes a mile away.
I'm not a fan of CGI - I think it makes many modern films look utterly fake and soulless. The beauty of E.T. is that the special effects were merely secondary to this timeless tale, and very adequete. Touching them up makes the film a teeny bit blander. What harm to leave them as they were? The original film has aged beautifully. I especially take umbrage to dickeying with E.T.'s face - making him too cutesy and removing much of his poignancy. Seeing the extra bathroom scene was interesting, but I agree with its original deletion. It just didn't sit with the tone of the rest of the film - it was unnecessarily comical.
It was good to see Spielberg's new director's cut, but I'm surprised at him for feeling the need to alter his most personal film. It was perfect the first time - so why change it, and water it down slightly?
This 20th anniversary box set does include the original film, though, and I've more or less decided to only watch this version in future. I also enjoyed all the little documentary pieces about the making of the film and the reunion of the cast. So I am still thrilled to have the DVD - just a little underwhelmed by the new and 'improved' version!
44 comments36 of 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.