Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great end to John Singletons 'Hood Trilogy'
This is the third film in John Singleton's hood trilogy the other two being Boyz N Tha Hood and Poestic Justice and this one has to be the second best of the three cos Boyz N Tha Hood is a classic film.
This third film has a great cast also including Snoop Dogg Omar Gooding, Ving Rhames and Tyrese Gibson who is the lead. John Singleton wanted tupac for the lead in...
Published on 24 Dec 2002 by JL

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Film!
I bought this movie for a friend, as her local Blockbuster's no longer stocked it. I myself have seen the film a few times, and found parts of it funny. As was typical of films of this era, it portrays black men living in urban areas with no much going on in their lives and not much to hope for in the future. Also, the treatment of women was also typical of this type of...
Published on 16 Jun 2012 by M. Kelly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great end to John Singletons 'Hood Trilogy', 24 Dec 2002
This review is from: Baby Boy [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is the third film in John Singleton's hood trilogy the other two being Boyz N Tha Hood and Poestic Justice and this one has to be the second best of the three cos Boyz N Tha Hood is a classic film.
This third film has a great cast also including Snoop Dogg Omar Gooding, Ving Rhames and Tyrese Gibson who is the lead. John Singleton wanted tupac for the lead in this movie before he died but then turned to Tyrese which was a good move as Tyrese is outstanding in this film as he gives an excellent performance and he is one of the highlights of this movie.
This film is a tough, honest and unflinching look at modern urban life and this film sees Tyrese as Jodi a 20 year old growing up in south central trying to live large but events which occur in his life which forces him to learn hard lessons about living, loving and surviving as a man in the hood.
Tyrese plays the part perfectly and this is a great film from John Singleton and if ur a fan of the other two in the trilogy this is a must for all fans of films that deal with this issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 17 Sep 2004
This review is from: Baby Boy [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I am neither male nor black nor an American, yet from the first time I saw this movie I found myself drawing uncomfortable parallels between myself and Jody, your main character. I probably shouldn't have been so surprised; John Singleton has always had a talent for creating characters that you can relate to regardless of your place in life.
From what I've heard, the late Tupac Shakur had been Singleton's first choice for the movie, and after Shakur's death he searched for a long time until he found Tyrese Gibson - understandable, because with Shakur's legendary talents, any role of his would be a hard one to fill. Gibson, however, does not disappoint. Despite his pretty-boy looks and image - or perhaps, to some extent, because of them - he makes a convincing, and at times heart-warming portrayal of this troubled young man who is eager to be respected and considered an adult, yet too scared to accept the responsibilities that come with it.
If I had to make a criticism, it'd be that the film isn't long enough. Although I can understand why the length had to be cut and am not at all unhappy with this complete version, a small part of me can't help wistfully hoping that one day I'll go into a video store and see "Baby Boy - the extended version" on the shelves. Even a double-disc wouldn't be unfeasible, because there's certainly enough emotional material here to play around with and come up with a movie that's twice or three times as long.
As in "Boys N the Hood", "Baby Boy" provides you with a small slice of humanity at both its best and its worst - and unarguably its most human, with all the pain and sorrow and joy and anger and fear and love that comes with it. Honestly, I cannot recommend this film enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film- true to life, 1 Oct 2012
This review is from: Baby Boy [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Good acting, good story line and plenty of eye candy for ladies and men!! Star studded cast of African Americans including Snoop Lion as he now wants to be called!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baby Boy [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I love this film, Tyrese is great in this movie. :o)

it has a good story and everything runs smoothly together, Omar Gooding, Ving Rhames and Tyrese Gibson make this film great, but this is let down by Snoop Dogg who looks nothing like a gangster let alone a dangerous crimal, he just looks like a weed addict, anyways this film has some moment that just have to be seen, there is some deep meaning and some couple of tense emotional moments in this film, I would recommend buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars B.B = Bloody Brilliant!, 14 Oct 2011
By 
Andy (Walsall, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Baby Boy [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I love this film!!!! Its the kind of you can watch with your girl/boy friend or even with your mum! This film had me glued from start to finish, with hints of comedy mixed in with the sadness you cant help but love this film, its under-rated by many people but i put it right up there with the greats like Goodfellas, Ghost and the Full Monty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mmmm tyrese, 15 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baby Boy [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Well if u love drama this is for you. And tyrese and Taraji best film!! For second hand brilliant copy clear no scratches. Like new packaging. Fast delivery would recommended !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baby Boy [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Brilliant DVD action packed all the way! Good story line and a very good ending it is one of those DVD'S YO CAN WATCH OVER AND OVER AGAIN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baby Boy [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Very pleased with my purchase wrapped very well to and it was on time lovely film to watch recommend it to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars UK users do not buy!!, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Disk does not work on my DVD plays are it says 'wrong region' not happy at all it was a stupid mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite films, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baby Boy [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I've always loved this film, it keeps it real without too much violence, whilst showing you that Baby boy has a softer side in regards to his family. Some really funny moments as well, oh I love the bike in it too!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Baby Boy [DVD] [2001]
Baby Boy [DVD] [2001] by John Singleton (DVD - 2002)
£4.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews