Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EA's best bond yet
I played this for a few days with some mates, and I was expecting it to be a bit rubbish. However, I was very impressed. The game overall is the best bond other than GoldenEye, and a worthy partner to the new James Bond film hitting the screens at this same time. The graphics are similiar to Agent Under Fire, but more detailed, and bond actually looks like Pierce...
Published on 8 Dec 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Saved by the Multiplayer
As the first Bond game i purchased for the PS2 i expected alot more. The First two missions lead you to believe that the rest of the game will be as good, alas, this is not to be. The few FPS missions there are, are pretty good but why oh why did they have to include driving levels! Of the 12 missions in the game, i count only five or six i can say i actually enjoyed. The...
Published on 7 Jan 2003 by T. O'shea


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same Bond action, 17 Mar 2003
By 
CJ (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: James Bond 007: Nightfire (PS2) (Video Game)
Nightfire is the latest Bond effort from EA which is not based on any particular Bond movie but instead features a plot dreamt up by EA themselves and weaves the game's missions around it. They took a similar approach with the prequel to this game, Agent Under Fire, and on neither occasion have the results story-wise been all that spectacular, but it's the gameplay that counts.
Agent Under Fire was a surprisingly good first FPS (First Person Shooter) with the odd driving section and on-rails shooter section to mix things up. Featuring plenty of 'Bond moves' (i.e. shooting ropes to drop objects on evil henchmen, jumping over rivers in your car, etc.) which were particularly cool and lots of unlockable multiplayer features, etc.
Nightfire retains virtually all of this, but introduces slightly better graphics and also the (fairly) recognisable visage of Pierce Brosnan as Bond - albeit sadly without Brosnan's own voice. Other regular characters from the movies bear little resemblance to their on-screen counterparts but this is not too much of a problem. The graphics are still a bit chunky but there are some nice effects and a decent range of enemies for Bond to take on.
There are still FPS, driving and on-rails shooter sections but they have all received varying degrees of polish. Certainly driving and shooting are a bit better to play than before but the FPS sections, which are the main part of the game, feel a little laboured and fiddly. The weapons are generally unsatisfying, when occasionally most of a whole clip of ammo needs to be emptied into a standard bad guy to take them down. This is not terribly noticeable but can be annoying at times. There is one particularly tedious section of shooting snipers with your sniper rifle which is much too drawn-out and cumbersome as you often can't spot them until they are firing at you, and if you take just a few hits you have to start again, memorising where each of them are. Yawn.
The music is of a high standard, with lots of Bond-esque themes accompanying the action, but the sound effects as a whole are not great, the speech is unconvincing and the weapons effects are not the high standard you would expect in a game of this type.
You can still unlock various multiplayer components depending on your single player performance and scores. The multiplayer element consists of play for up to 4 players in various arenas, and one big improvement over its prequel is Nightfire's inclusion of AI bots to make up the numbers (as in Timesplitters). This really improves the whole MP game, but the maps are generally unimaginative so you can quickly become bored of them.
Nightfire is a decent effort, but it has very, very few new ideas and is more or less a complete retread of Agent Under Fire. It's playable and can be fun, but on the whole it's just a bit too average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bond takes his throne, 29 Nov 2002
This review is from: James Bond 007: Nightfire (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is excellent. The great combination of Bond's style, and a straightforward shooter make this one of the best games out there. The addition of the multiplayer make it have an even better lifespan. Definately somethinf to put in your Christmas list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't really work on this platform., 10 May 2003
This review is from: James Bond 007: Nightfire (PS2) (Video Game)
Although, 007: Nightfire is a reasonably good game, it fails in one major area: Gameplay. A very important area I'm sure you'll agree. The problem is that using a gamepad - as you have to on a console - you can't move fast or accurately enough to get the bad guys before you're toast. I found this game to be extremely frustrating in that respect. Another problem was that there was only one mission driving the Aston Martin, and it was very short and pretty easy.
I've since gotten rid of this game and bought Splinter Cell instead. Now that's much more like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game is very, very good, 11 Jan 2003
By 
Mr. S. Price - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: James Bond 007: Nightfire (PS2) (Video Game)
I think Bond is rubbish. I saw GoldenEye the other day and I wasn't impressed at all. I prefer the American antics of John McClane. I'm shallow like that, see? However, this game is rather fantastic.
The first thing that struck me about the game was the graphics. The first level has you sitting in a helicopter shooting at villains in cars. I wasn't expecting it - I expected dodgy, movie tie-in graphics where the character's limbs vanished for a few seconds and stuff like that - but the graphics in this game are pretty lush. Maybe they used EA's Medal of Honor Frontline graphics engine, but the beautiful graphics and breathtakingly realistic scenery makes this game all the more fun to play. That and the great cutscenes, which were a total surprise as well.
And that's what this game's all about: fun! It makes FPS games fun again, with the funny script and the decent voice-acting, and the groovy level design that makes you feel like a secret agent (or John McClane - I couldn't help but mow down a foriegn perp with my handgun and say "What was that?" after he shouted something in German). Yeah, it's a bit easy, but I'm rubbish at games so that was alright for me. I finished this game in two days, but I had a blast. And now I'm going to play it again, and this time I'll pay attention to the story (which is great, by the way).
Yeah, James Bond may be a womanising drunkard with stupid eyebrows, but this game is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Bond 007:nightfire, 2 Oct 2002
This review is from: James Bond 007: Nightfire (PS2) (Video Game)
A game to set the records straight, a game that shows that the old master still has it in him. With this new and explosive adventure, all the Bond film are mixed together with the best result possible...
A great game and one that is a most for the Bond fans and for the adventure fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nightfire * * * 3 stars, 27 July 2005
James Bond Nightfire is a good game at the start but i must say that the way they use for the shooting ( the sort of angle ) as a hand with a gun is not too impressing.
The maps are good but get tiring and a bit boring after a while.
Overall i would give this a okay 4/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

James Bond 007: Nightfire (PS2)
James Bond 007: Nightfire (PS2) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation2)
7.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews