Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EA's best bond yet
I played this for a few days with some mates, and I was expecting it to be a bit rubbish. However, I was very impressed. The game overall is the best bond other than GoldenEye, and a worthy partner to the new James Bond film hitting the screens at this same time. The graphics are similiar to Agent Under Fire, but more detailed, and bond actually looks like Pierce...
Published on 8 Dec. 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Saved by the Multiplayer
As the first Bond game i purchased for the PS2 i expected alot more. The First two missions lead you to believe that the rest of the game will be as good, alas, this is not to be. The few FPS missions there are, are pretty good but why oh why did they have to include driving levels! Of the 12 missions in the game, i count only five or six i can say i actually enjoyed. The...
Published on 7 Jan. 2003 by T. O'shea


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EA's best bond yet, 8 Dec. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: James Bond 007: Nightfire (PS2) (Video Game)
I played this for a few days with some mates, and I was expecting it to be a bit rubbish. However, I was very impressed. The game overall is the best bond other than GoldenEye, and a worthy partner to the new James Bond film hitting the screens at this same time. The graphics are similiar to Agent Under Fire, but more detailed, and bond actually looks like Pierce Brosnan(despite not sounding like him). Gun controls have also been improved, with nearly all weapons having two different actions (eg:a certain pistol has both semi automatic fire or burst fire)this adds lots more variety and fun.
The multiplayer is a great laugh, with up to four people meeting up and, well, shooting each other to the death. The locations and characters in the multiplayer are from both the game's story and other Bond films, like Fort Knox from Goldfinger and Jaws from The Spy Who Loved Me.
And, despite still being an FPS at heart, there are some on rails and driving missions to boot. NightFire doesn't bring anything new or revoloutionary to the shoot 'em up genre, but it's pure fun and pure bond... and isn't that what counts?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!!!!, 9 Jan. 2007
By 
G. Warner "The G-Man" (Chandlers Ford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: James Bond 007: Nightfire (PS2) (Video Game)
NO game compares to the multiplayer on this, me and my friends love running about, capturing the other teams flag, blowing each other to pieces with helicoptors and sniping one another from the rooftops. Single player is good as well with a good variety of missions and a bold storyline. EVERYONE with a PS2, GET THIS GAME! You will not regret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Jan. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: James Bond 007: Nightfire (PS2) (Video Game)
This new Bond game is so brilliant. I completed it recently and it was certainlymuch harder (and more fun) than Agent Under Fire. For a start the first level is very good cos you got to protect a French intelligence agent called Dominique by sniping some villains from a helicopter. Then you go into your car and kill some more people. But thats only the first level. In the others you get to experience zero gravity, rendezvous with under cover agents in Austria use guided rockets and heatseeking ones, use your car under water (not in a Lotus though), fly in a plane while shooting others down and much more. You can also tranquilise, stun enemies and obviously shoot them as usual. Multiplayer has been improved alot and you can use mounted weapons plus mini helicopters and tanks. There's more scenarios like Uplink, Goldeneye Strike, Assasination and more. This is a first person game with sometimes some cool dramatic third person moments. But there are some minor errors such as floating tripbombs and satchel charges. I actually went under ground once and killed enemies from there! But this is one good game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good - Great Multiplayer function, 5 Jun. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: James Bond 007: Nightfire (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a great game! The levels are well designed and are fun to play. There are lots of different levels which can be played on three different difficulties.
However, the best part about this game is the multiplayer function. There are loads of different games which can be unlocked by playing levels but also with cheats. I have played on the multiplayer function so many times that I know the best ways to play it back to front! By the way, if you play multiplayer, always choose Skyrail as your location - it is the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The name's Game, Great Game, 30 April 2007
By 
D. Climo - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: James Bond 007: Nightfire (PS2) (Video Game)
Well, I have to say one of the first games I got for my Playstation 2 was 007: Agent Under Fire, which in my opinion, was good in that it offered something different i.e.: Bit of First-Person-Shooting, on rails shooting and driving. But getting through the game and most of the unlockables was easy.

I mean for example, you can take on that game 50 bullets approx but your enemies take about three. Also the snipers were really easy to spot as the lasersights from their guns made a ruddy line! Wheras on this game not only are the graphics more polished, the enemies are harder and more intelligent. They hide more when you shoot at them instead of running straight towards you. Also getting some of the unlockables is incredably hard and there are loads of them to unlock. The storyline is also darker as well, well it has a darker and more gritty feel about it. It feels more like something out of Brosnan film instead of a Roger Moore one, which Agent Under Fire doesn't.

Some of the best levels are the driving ones. My personal favourite levels are 'The Exchange' because it is the level where you can use the most of your stealth abilities without being forced to, and 'Enemies Vanquished' as you can drive the Aston Martin V12 (as seen in Die Another Day) at breakneck speed. Another great addition to the game is the ability to have bots in multiplayer, (something that the PS2 version of AUF didn't have but the Xbox and Gamecube ones did evidently!) so if you're bored with the one player and have no friends around you can still have a deathmatch on multiplayer against upto three computer controlled characters.

This game is essiential to all Bond fans and is by far the best yet. It will leave you feeling both shaken and stirred. *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best bond game so far, 11 Sept. 2004
By 
D. Reynolds (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've had this game since last year and it is class. This is a great bond game. Graphics: The graphics are amazing. Bond himself just looks exactly like he does in the film. The other girls in it also look like the kind he normally has in the films, very exotic. The enemys such as drake and rook look quite good although there not in the films (i think) but they still look very detailed. The cars, the vanquish looks so realistic and its speed is also amazing. The bullets it fires look good and the smoke it makes. EA obviously spent alot of time on the cars and people. The guns look quite good aswell and so do the explosions. The environment looks good as it sits in the background. The graphics are 10/10. Audio: Pierce Brosnan recorded his voice into the game (i think, again) which makes it better because then at least it sounds like the real bond. The missiles, gunshots, cars and explosions sound quite real. Sometimes the sounds are a bit dodgey. Audio equals 9/10. Gameplay: The gameplay is brilliant. There are 12 missions just like all the others but some are quite challenging this time. You can drive a few differrent cars such as the vanquish and a police car but you drive/control over things such as a plane, tank and a little snow bike sort of thing. There are many things you can use against your enemys such as Bonds normal gun but when you kill others you can take their weapons and use it. They have machine guns, snipers and grenade launchers and many more. There are many guns, alot are machine guns. You carry some of the gadgets Bond does such as the watch laser, stunner, dicrypler etc. Is it a four player game where you take you and others and there are mutiplayer options such as normal arenas where you just play with first to kill how many you choose (it goes up to 120). There is capture the flag and demolition and many more. On the screen you choose your weapon set and which characters you want to have in the game. There are quite alot. I recommend this to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Saved by the Multiplayer, 7 Jan. 2003
By 
T. O'shea - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: James Bond 007: Nightfire (PS2) (Video Game)
As the first Bond game i purchased for the PS2 i expected alot more. The First two missions lead you to believe that the rest of the game will be as good, alas, this is not to be. The few FPS missions there are, are pretty good but why oh why did they have to include driving levels! Of the 12 missions in the game, i count only five or six i can say i actually enjoyed. The worst level of the game has got to be when you(bond) must infiltrate an island base underwater in your car...please!
The only reason that i didn't return this game is the multiplayer which is fun( using guided missiles and sniper rifles to take out your foe )and in my opinion the games saving grace.
WHY I'D BUY IT: The few good single Player FPS levels and multiplayer.(If you are after a good FPS-Medal of Honor Frontline)
WHY I'D LEAVE IT: Driving levels, lack of good levels and price
FINAL THOUGH: There's alot more better PS2 games out there.
I don't understand how the game got such good ratings here, maybe i'm being too harsh on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A amazing games in all aspects., 12 July 2003
By 
Alexander (Kingston Upon Thames, London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: James Bond 007: Nightfire (PS2) (Video Game)
This is much better than any of the other 007 games, the levels are cool and the mutiplayer games are much more fun. You are 007
with a wide variety of weapons and gadgets at your disposal. The best bit about this game is definately the weapons ranging from the wolfram PP7/P2K standard issue pistol to the hugely poweful sentinel and scorpion rocket launchers. This game isn't very violent (there is NO blood) and the graphics and sound are superb. Fight your way through 12 action packed missions with a few cars to smash up along the way. The multiplayer game has 10 modes (most of which are unlocked in single player) and about 15 locations in which to play.
Overall a really fun game with up to four human players in multiplayer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST PS2 game eva, 31 July 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
this game is brilliant! full of action packed fun and laughs,the missions are fun but get tough at times.
the game is better than ever due to all the new guns with diffrent modes like burst, auto, semi, heatseaker....(many more)
the multiplayer is fun with up to 4 players sniping each other or just having fist fights.
overall good buy and definetly worth it.

+++ if you want even more fun try playing as oddjob, he has a throwable hat which is one hit kill.

any questions please post to my account
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bond, James Bond, 12 Feb. 2003
By 
This review is from: James Bond 007: Nightfire (PS2) (Video Game)
Yes! Finally a James Bond that can harken back to the glory days of 'Goldeneye' on the N64. Nightfire is a healthy mix of everything Bondian, Big Guns, Gorgeous Ladies, Cool gadgets and Tasty Motors. The game is effectively a first-person shooter concerning Bond's latest mission to stop industrialist Raphael Drake from ruling the world with an arsenal of nuclear missiles, but it goes about this beautifully.
the game begins with an opening mission in the vein of classic Bond pre-credits sequences. It has nothing to do with the central plot line but introduces sniping and driving sections perfectly. This is a great strength of the game. Although the game is dominated by first-person levels, it does throw in some on-rails shooters with Bond just firing a massive gun at his enemies, some driving games which are suprisingly well-done considering the primary genre, then some. Even the shooting segments are divided beautifully. Some levels involve stealth, some involve sniping, some involve pitched gun battles, the list is certainly impressive and helps to keep each level refreshing and exciting. The game also rewards good players in certain aspects at the end of each mission, such as speed, health, accuracy, and bond moves performed (clever moves like alternate routes). These can unlock new multi-player options, characeters, games, or weapons and gadgets upgrades which gives the game a much needed boost of lifespan.
Of course the massive lifespan can be found in multiplayer, a huge plethora of games inhabited by classic faces in the Bond world from an impressive selection of films. The sheer beauty of the multiplayer however lies in the vast variety of options. not only are there well over 10 game types, but these can be team or non-team and can have configurable bots, or personality bots (characters), a vast number of weapons options, not to mention the option to include mini- helicopters/tanks and gun turrets on the map. Wow! The options to be explored are truly phenomenal. True, initially this is a much more limited selection, but as you progress through the single player game, you unearth more and more bonuses and it makes it all the more rewarding.
If there are any low points to the game, my main gripe would be the difficulty in places. In order to get the more difficuly unlocks, you have to perform Bond Moves that can often be quite obscure (blowing up a barrel to kill a guard instead of just shooting him, but it only works if he's involved in a firefight with you for example). But eventually it all becomes clear as you start to think and play like Bond.
Unlike the less worthy Agent Under Fire, Nightfire is a solid game that really does provide a true Bond experience (even if the plot does rip off some of the poorer movies such as 'Moonraker') and you'll have tons of fun driving the vehicles, palying with the gadgets, and getting the girl.
'Ready the save the world again 007?'
You will be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

James Bond 007: Nightfire (PS2)
James Bond 007: Nightfire (PS2) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation2)
£17.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews