Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EA Does Sports It Again!
Yet Again i waited and waited in anticipation of this game for probably the 8th year running, hoping that EA SPorts could surprise me yet again with the TV Style Presentations and a brand new way of playing the game and once i got my first go i wasn't diappointed....
Started of with my favourite Team Arsenal and was amazed to see that you could choose which strip to...
Published on 28 Oct. 2002 by y2j2002

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best FIFA...
Before buying FIFA 2003, I had read several articles about it. People had been impressed by its game engine, and had said that it was a completely different and new game from the other FIFA's. So naturally, I expected it to be the best FIFA game yet, but it isn't...
GRAPHICS: 18/20
Yes the graphics are superb, players actually look realistic, examples being V...
Published on 1 April 2003 by Michael Hayward


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EA Does Sports It Again!, 28 Oct. 2002
This review is from: FIFA Football 2003 (PS2) (Video Game)
Yet Again i waited and waited in anticipation of this game for probably the 8th year running, hoping that EA SPorts could surprise me yet again with the TV Style Presentations and a brand new way of playing the game and once i got my first go i wasn't diappointed....
Started of with my favourite Team Arsenal and was amazed to see that you could choose which strip to play in and once you get past the same routine of choosing your controllers etc the game got underway
As the players ran on the pitch it was evident that the Graphics again were top notch and the familiar voice of John Motson Echoed out on my surround sound, when the surprise that is Ally McCoist introduced himself another good addition by EA. The Commentary is linked so surperbly to the game, better than ever before and once the game kicked off you just knew that they had done it again. With A Feel of Pro evolution in the gameplay it became very easy to settle into the game.
Eventually i got a free kick just outside the box and found the next new feature. There is a new free kick sytem where you adjust the ballspin as well as where you want to put the ball, it isn't easy to master and i have only scored once out of about 20 attempts, might just be me...........
Once i did score again the replays are just as good as normal and now the game has a half time package with highlights from the half - The match stats are a lot more detailed as well.
There are loads of little details in this game that you see on the TV today when you are watching the footie and it makes it feel more and more realistic, after the disappointing Fifa World Cup game with the silly star system the die hard Fifa Fans As well as some brand new fans it will genrate will know straight away how good a game it is....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Fifa Title Ever, 26 Oct. 2002
This review is from: FIFA Football 2003 (PS2) (Video Game)
I must admit when I settled down to play Fifa 2003 I wasn't expecting too much, even though I was aware that this is a completely revamped game. The previous Fifa games had not impressed me. I'd already snapped up league leader Pro Evolution 2 and rented This Is Football 2003 so I knew what the key opposition was like.
Well I have to say that I am in shock over what must easily be the best Fifa football game ever.
The general presentation and menus and so on are still up to their usual high standards. Watching a Fifa match in broadcast camera mode, however, looks the closest thing I've yet seen to a real game on TV. The graphics are simply stunning and easily put Pro Evo 2 and the good looking TIF 2003 into the shade. The stadiums look great with everything that you would expect to see in them present, except may be the rioting. The crowds cheer, boo, whistle and chant their teams' names. The stadium announcer burbles away in that muffled sound you hear in real stadiums. The commentary by Motty and Ally is also great.
The player animations are simply phenomenal. The famous players are easily identifiable. Players use their bodies very convincingly to control the ball. They turn, twist, jink, chest and stretch very realistically and throw their arms down amusingly when they miss a good chance.
The all important gameplay has been dramatically upgraded. No longer does the ball cling to the end of a player's foot like a sticky ballon. When a player takes a long kick, the ball moves in a realistic Pro Evo way rather than in a strange looping manner that you might expect to see on the moon. Passing along the ground is now ultra slick allowing fast flowing attacking play that didn't seem possible in previous Fifa games. Shooting requires more thought than the usual press and hope efforts of the past too. Games are now exciting without endless goals.
Gripes? Well the auto player selection is still substandard when trying to defend. It seems very hard to get control of your defenders to stop skilful attackers running in on goal. I also thought that the camera views always seemed to show the action either slightly too far away or slightly too near.
So, has Fifa taken the footy crown from Pro Evolution Soccer? No, not in my opinion! The Pro Evo games are still far more intuitive and allow you to produce good attacking and defending play without the effort that Fifa requires. I think, however, that EA have done a good job and Fifa now clearly beats TIF 2003 on gameplay. In summary, if you are a footy fan who can only afford one game then Fifa 2003 will more than do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best FIFA..., 1 April 2003
By 
This review is from: FIFA Football 2003 (PS2) (Video Game)
Before buying FIFA 2003, I had read several articles about it. People had been impressed by its game engine, and had said that it was a completely different and new game from the other FIFA's. So naturally, I expected it to be the best FIFA game yet, but it isn't...
GRAPHICS: 18/20
Yes the graphics are superb, players actually look realistic, examples being V. Nistelrooy, Davids, Sheringham, Beckham and many others. There are many camera angles, and whilst playing the match, the graphics look good. However, they are not perfect. The players shoulders, particularly in the post match celebrations, are enormous, and although there are many camera angles, none of them enable you to know exactly where everyone is and where they are going. As a result, too many passes into nowhere are played (the radar doesn't help).
SOUND: 14/20
The sound of FIFA 2003 is basically three parts:
The background music is good, but nothing special. More tracks would improve the boredom of listening to the same tracks over and over whilst trying to pick your team.
The commentary varies a lot. At times it is excellent, Motty getting it spot on, but there are too many instances where the commentary is sub-standard. Ally McCoist really doesn't know what he is talking about most of the time, you have just played some lovely passing and scored a 35 yard pearldriver and all Ally can say is that it was the keepers fault for being in the wrong place!
The crowd noises are quite good, reacting to much pressure from the home side and cheering them on, but again this could be improved. A more definite cheer is necessary when you score to make you feel even more satisfied would be nice.
GAMEPLAY: 13/20
Obviously the gameplay consists of trying to kick a small-ish piece of leather into a large net. But that doesn't mean that every football game is exactly the same. Unfortunately the gameplay is lacking in FIFA 2003. When attacking, both you and the defence are too rigid, and too many times I have found myself in a very repetitive and boring game. One good point is that you are guaranteed lots of goals, but even a 0-0 draw (which I have NEVER managed yet in 4 months) is good occasionally.
LIFESPAN: 13/20
Introducing the club championship was a smart move, because without it, this game would not last long at all. Yes you can play in 14 different leagues, but the games can get so repetitive at times, that playing leagues are boring. There are many different cups to play in, but these are quite pointless unless you play then around a league. The custom tournament option is not as detailed as previous versions, so it is difficult to create your own league.
USER FRIENDLINESS: 12/20
Quite a disappointing score, but deserved. The menus are fiddly and take an age to load up, meaning you press the x button too many times and you end up going a menu too far, the writing is far too small (unless you own a widescreen TV) and you never feel that you are in control of the game.
OVERALL SCORE: 70/100
Not a bad game, but nothing special. I have not tried Pro Evolution 2 or TIF 2003, so I can't advise on which is the best, but I'm sure they would give this a run for its money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fifa Improved?!, 4 Nov. 2002
This review is from: FIFA Football 2003 (PS2) (Video Game)
Every year we are inundated with hapless rehashes of older games promising to be better than before and the FIFA series set the mould for such behaviour. Every year about November time we can expect an improved version of Fifa where the improvements don't seem that significant however this time is an exception to the rule. Ditching a lot of the customisable options and much more attention seems to have been paid gameplay. This version of Fifa has two modes:
Simulation mode, where the gameplay is far more involving and requires lots more skill and uses more tactics and strategies and plays more like the Pro Evolution series.
Action mode, is your traditional Fifa game.
There are lots of nice little touches here and there like the detail players attributes, behaviour and looks. for example Raul kisses his ring when he scores and alike. The kits are authentic as usual and i like how there is far more skill involved when shooting.
The tactics are clever as well. When beating a computer controlled team it will substitute defenders for strikers and likewise if they are winning they tend to sub strikers for defenders.
All in all i was well impressed with this game and needless to say it is a massive improvement on an ageing game engine. This is simply a must for any footy mad gamer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yet Another FIFA flop???, 25 Oct. 2002
This review is from: FIFA Football 2003 (PS2) (Video Game)
... Thankfully no! Finaly EA have got their finger out and produced a really good game. The graphics are vastly improved and now you get analysis by Ally McCoist!!
In this newest version in the franchise, you have an enourmous number of teams and players as usual but they have added a large number of very accurate stadia to play in (Old Trafford, Nou Camp etc...). You can bask in the eerie quiet as you silence the Arsenal faithful with the first goal at Highbury .. or lisen in horror as the Gunners fans sing "Your not singing anymore" when they equalise .. Little touches like this make the game a joy to play.
Shooting and passing have been completely remodeled including the useful through ball being added. Set pieces are much improved - now it IS actually possible to score that Beckham free kick.
The only fault is the annoying loading time at substitutions but it is a small price to play for an excellent, expansive and very addictive game.
enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fantastic football game, 5 Oct. 2003
This review is from: FIFA Football 2003 (PS2) (Video Game)
This is the best football game ever made in my eyes, People have been saying, this is football as the best, but now fifa rules the football world, this game has fantastic graphics such as when corlos kicks the ball, he kicks it with power.
The sounds are good too, the crowds chant!!. There are over 10,000 player playing for 350 officail teams in 16 of worlds top leagues. The new features are : new dynamic free kick control , New detailed player animations , New ball control , New goalkeeper realism and new in stadium atmosphere. You can even play your country too , england , portugal , brazil , you name it . The thing that im not so impressed is that not all of europes leagues are in the game , i carnt see portugals league ? ? , i mean the winners of the uefa cup arent in the game!
over all i find this game a fantastic game to play , and is one of the best ever made , if not the best ever yet , And if you liked this game , Youll love the 2004 season :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a letdown, 6 July 2003
This review is from: FIFA Football 2003 (PS2) (Video Game)
Compared to previous versions, this came across as quite a disappointment. Previously, the only version of fifa i had played oftenly was Fifa 99 on the pc. And though the graphics were poor, the gameplay more than made up for it. Also with the option to save replays, and even watch them from a view that you could control yourself. With my PC becoming increasingly slow, i decided to invest in a PS2 last year, which i now only ever buy games for. But this has to be one of the worst ive bought so far. This is because occasionally games suffer from appalingly long times to load up, and also have a tendency to freeze up during a match, while the drive is trying to read the information off the disc. This is very irritating, and does not happen with any other games i have. The other disapointing thing is that you cant save replays - ive lost count of some of the best goals ive scored, that i wouldve otherwise shown to my mates. The graphics have improved though -at least the players now look something like the real thing, but the default camera angle you play a match with is dodgy. The gameplay is good, but it doesnt come with enough controls compared to earlier PC versions - for instance, you cant commit any dirty tackles that you could've done for a laugh (well i do anyway), and its difficult to pull off a decent trick using the right analogue stick as well. For the best results, I reccomend playing with a group of mates, (especially if your p***ed - you have a good laugh - believe me), with some cr*p foreign teams - like those from israel.Otherwise, buy a different footy game, preferably on the PC if you got one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIFA 2003 way better than 2002, 18 May 2003
This review is from: FIFA Football 2003 (PS2) (Video Game)
FIFA 2003 is the most enjoyable game I have ever played. The reason I say it is better than its predecessors is mainly because of its AI. For e.g., if I bring a defender forward into the midfield, the computer will pass the ball to the lone attacker and Goal! Similarly if I try to take a player from his formation, I get the consequences. The most realistic aspect of the game is that I just can NOT hit a goal by the skill of a single player only. All of them, the Defenders, Midfielders and Forwards need to be helping each other for a goal. The player attributes and skill moves are unique, like Ronaldo's nutmeg. Another example is that if you keep Beckham in the attack and play (with the computer as ManUtd), he just shoots from the midfield itself, just like a real midfielder and that he cannot be a Forward. The ball control is perfect because the attacker can shoot at the goal only if he has the ball at his feet and not when the ball is away from him. In the 2002 version, if you shoot when the ball is not at his feet it gets attracted back to him as if by magic and he shoots (I'm NOT kidding! Just try it and see if what I've said is true!). The largest room in the world is the room for improvement, and FIFA 2003 is not an exception (nothing under the sun is!). The player hair needs to be dynamic and so should be his expressions. The substitutes and stadium guards are mere dolls. The intensity of the sun must change from time to time and clouds must pass now and then casting shadows and sometimes rain on the gruond. The players must breathe and sweat (under the lights). Rain should form mud that sticks to the clothing and face. Substitutions must be shown with the players coming in and out. The players at no moment (especially during free kicks and corners) should stand still like statues. Shirt pulling must be added. Fans should reach for the ball when it is coming on to them and replays should have custom camera angles. And don’t forget to make Michael Owen look a little younger (he looks 40 years old!) The list is a big one but still I say this is THE best football game till now because the list of corrections that this game draws is very very small compared to that of other football games. I can say this is the next best thing to, well... Playing real football!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Graphics, shame about the game play, 7 April 2003
This review is from: FIFA Football 2003 (PS2) (Video Game)
From the moment the intro sequence starts you know the graphcs are going to be a bit special and this is true throughout the entire game. The only problem is the game play and I guess this to a degree has been true of the entire range and should be no surpirse. But this version really stinks! When defending its almost imposible to select the player you want and when doing a sliding tackle is quite common to see another player miles away slide and not the selected player. I thought this might be me at first hitting the wrong buttons but it wasn't.
The levels are quite well spaced but by the time you get to prof level the bugs in the controls really do hamper progress and in World class where one mistake costs you a goal its very anoying when the software seams to make as many mistakes as it does on your behalf.
The free kicks and penality is another area where the games is let down. The computer seams to be able to score great goals but no matter what you try, the ball always ends up in the wall or well wide of the mark. Some sort of practice option would really improve the game. David Beckham probably spends hours practing this sort of thing every week so why not include this sort of feature in the game
The two player game is really where this game comes to into its own. The great graphics and both sides being on an even par in terms of "computer errors" makes for a good game.
All in all if EA would have does half as much development and testing on there game play as they have the graphics this would be the best football game in the world. Unfortunalty they didn't and what we are left with is a game you will probably play for one season just to see what hapens when you win everything. To put those who gave up out of your misery, its a quite poor celebration sequence which looks exactly the same for each tournment with only the cup changing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Yet, 27 Oct. 2002
This review is from: FIFA Football 2003 (PS2) (Video Game)
After playing many of the Fifa titles in the past, I have always been impressed with the way they look so realistic, however I have accepted that the overal gameplay has never been that skilful. However the game has been re-worked offering a lot more technical style of play, such as controlling how hard you shoot and pass, and a completely new set piece system, yet the fun factor of the game is not lost at all.
The overal wow factor is the attention to detail, i have never seen so much detail gone into a football game before, player likenesses are amazing, even going down to details of what colour boots they where, such as David Beckham's distinctive Red ones. You even have a choice of what kit to wear, choosing from home, away and third kit (if the team has one) all kits are authentic, and give the game an amazing realism. The Stadia are also fantastic, evry detail is put into famous grounds such as Highbury or Old Trafford, and the atmosphere is alos unique with real football chants being belted out from the stands. The game is also Dolby Surround and DTS compatible, enabling surround users to experience a fantastic football simulation.
The reason I have deducted a star is because there is one frustrating aspect, which is there are long loading times when bringing on substitutes which can be a little frustrating while playing a match, but all round the game is awsome, and is well worth buying, and a must have for all football fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

FIFA Football 2003 (PS2)
FIFA Football 2003 (PS2) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation2)
£10.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews