Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EA Does Sports It Again!
Yet Again i waited and waited in anticipation of this game for probably the 8th year running, hoping that EA SPorts could surprise me yet again with the TV Style Presentations and a brand new way of playing the game and once i got my first go i wasn't diappointed....
Started of with my favourite Team Arsenal and was amazed to see that you could choose which strip to...
Published on 28 Oct 2002 by y2j2002

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best FIFA...
Before buying FIFA 2003, I had read several articles about it. People had been impressed by its game engine, and had said that it was a completely different and new game from the other FIFA's. So naturally, I expected it to be the best FIFA game yet, but it isn't...
GRAPHICS: 18/20
Yes the graphics are superb, players actually look realistic, examples being V...
Published on 1 April 2003 by Michael Hayward


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EA Does Sports It Again!, 28 Oct 2002
This review is from: FIFA Football 2003 (PS2) (Video Game)
Yet Again i waited and waited in anticipation of this game for probably the 8th year running, hoping that EA SPorts could surprise me yet again with the TV Style Presentations and a brand new way of playing the game and once i got my first go i wasn't diappointed....
Started of with my favourite Team Arsenal and was amazed to see that you could choose which strip to play in and once you get past the same routine of choosing your controllers etc the game got underway
As the players ran on the pitch it was evident that the Graphics again were top notch and the familiar voice of John Motson Echoed out on my surround sound, when the surprise that is Ally McCoist introduced himself another good addition by EA. The Commentary is linked so surperbly to the game, better than ever before and once the game kicked off you just knew that they had done it again. With A Feel of Pro evolution in the gameplay it became very easy to settle into the game.
Eventually i got a free kick just outside the box and found the next new feature. There is a new free kick sytem where you adjust the ballspin as well as where you want to put the ball, it isn't easy to master and i have only scored once out of about 20 attempts, might just be me...........
Once i did score again the replays are just as good as normal and now the game has a half time package with highlights from the half - The match stats are a lot more detailed as well.
There are loads of little details in this game that you see on the TV today when you are watching the footie and it makes it feel more and more realistic, after the disappointing Fifa World Cup game with the silly star system the die hard Fifa Fans As well as some brand new fans it will genrate will know straight away how good a game it is....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Fifa Title Ever, 26 Oct 2002
By 
R. A. S. Brown "Raymondo" (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: FIFA Football 2003 (PS2) (Video Game)
I must admit when I settled down to play Fifa 2003 I wasn't expecting too much, even though I was aware that this is a completely revamped game. The previous Fifa games had not impressed me. I'd already snapped up league leader Pro Evolution 2 and rented This Is Football 2003 so I knew what the key opposition was like.
Well I have to say that I am in shock over what must easily be the best Fifa football game ever.
The general presentation and menus and so on are still up to their usual high standards. Watching a Fifa match in broadcast camera mode, however, looks the closest thing I've yet seen to a real game on TV. The graphics are simply stunning and easily put Pro Evo 2 and the good looking TIF 2003 into the shade. The stadiums look great with everything that you would expect to see in them present, except may be the rioting. The crowds cheer, boo, whistle and chant their teams' names. The stadium announcer burbles away in that muffled sound you hear in real stadiums. The commentary by Motty and Ally is also great.
The player animations are simply phenomenal. The famous players are easily identifiable. Players use their bodies very convincingly to control the ball. They turn, twist, jink, chest and stretch very realistically and throw their arms down amusingly when they miss a good chance.
The all important gameplay has been dramatically upgraded. No longer does the ball cling to the end of a player's foot like a sticky ballon. When a player takes a long kick, the ball moves in a realistic Pro Evo way rather than in a strange looping manner that you might expect to see on the moon. Passing along the ground is now ultra slick allowing fast flowing attacking play that didn't seem possible in previous Fifa games. Shooting requires more thought than the usual press and hope efforts of the past too. Games are now exciting without endless goals.
Gripes? Well the auto player selection is still substandard when trying to defend. It seems very hard to get control of your defenders to stop skilful attackers running in on goal. I also thought that the camera views always seemed to show the action either slightly too far away or slightly too near.
So, has Fifa taken the footy crown from Pro Evolution Soccer? No, not in my opinion! The Pro Evo games are still far more intuitive and allow you to produce good attacking and defending play without the effort that Fifa requires. I think, however, that EA have done a good job and Fifa now clearly beats TIF 2003 on gameplay. In summary, if you are a footy fan who can only afford one game then Fifa 2003 will more than do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fantastic football game, 5 Oct 2003
This review is from: FIFA Football 2003 (PS2) (Video Game)
This is the best football game ever made in my eyes, People have been saying, this is football as the best, but now fifa rules the football world, this game has fantastic graphics such as when corlos kicks the ball, he kicks it with power.
The sounds are good too, the crowds chant!!. There are over 10,000 player playing for 350 officail teams in 16 of worlds top leagues. The new features are : new dynamic free kick control , New detailed player animations , New ball control , New goalkeeper realism and new in stadium atmosphere. You can even play your country too , england , portugal , brazil , you name it . The thing that im not so impressed is that not all of europes leagues are in the game , i carnt see portugals league ? ? , i mean the winners of the uefa cup arent in the game!
over all i find this game a fantastic game to play , and is one of the best ever made , if not the best ever yet , And if you liked this game , Youll love the 2004 season :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best FIFA..., 1 April 2003
By 
This review is from: FIFA Football 2003 (PS2) (Video Game)
Before buying FIFA 2003, I had read several articles about it. People had been impressed by its game engine, and had said that it was a completely different and new game from the other FIFA's. So naturally, I expected it to be the best FIFA game yet, but it isn't...
GRAPHICS: 18/20
Yes the graphics are superb, players actually look realistic, examples being V. Nistelrooy, Davids, Sheringham, Beckham and many others. There are many camera angles, and whilst playing the match, the graphics look good. However, they are not perfect. The players shoulders, particularly in the post match celebrations, are enormous, and although there are many camera angles, none of them enable you to know exactly where everyone is and where they are going. As a result, too many passes into nowhere are played (the radar doesn't help).
SOUND: 14/20
The sound of FIFA 2003 is basically three parts:
The background music is good, but nothing special. More tracks would improve the boredom of listening to the same tracks over and over whilst trying to pick your team.
The commentary varies a lot. At times it is excellent, Motty getting it spot on, but there are too many instances where the commentary is sub-standard. Ally McCoist really doesn't know what he is talking about most of the time, you have just played some lovely passing and scored a 35 yard pearldriver and all Ally can say is that it was the keepers fault for being in the wrong place!
The crowd noises are quite good, reacting to much pressure from the home side and cheering them on, but again this could be improved. A more definite cheer is necessary when you score to make you feel even more satisfied would be nice.
GAMEPLAY: 13/20
Obviously the gameplay consists of trying to kick a small-ish piece of leather into a large net. But that doesn't mean that every football game is exactly the same. Unfortunately the gameplay is lacking in FIFA 2003. When attacking, both you and the defence are too rigid, and too many times I have found myself in a very repetitive and boring game. One good point is that you are guaranteed lots of goals, but even a 0-0 draw (which I have NEVER managed yet in 4 months) is good occasionally.
LIFESPAN: 13/20
Introducing the club championship was a smart move, because without it, this game would not last long at all. Yes you can play in 14 different leagues, but the games can get so repetitive at times, that playing leagues are boring. There are many different cups to play in, but these are quite pointless unless you play then around a league. The custom tournament option is not as detailed as previous versions, so it is difficult to create your own league.
USER FRIENDLINESS: 12/20
Quite a disappointing score, but deserved. The menus are fiddly and take an age to load up, meaning you press the x button too many times and you end up going a menu too far, the writing is far too small (unless you own a widescreen TV) and you never feel that you are in control of the game.
OVERALL SCORE: 70/100
Not a bad game, but nothing special. I have not tried Pro Evolution 2 or TIF 2003, so I can't advise on which is the best, but I'm sure they would give this a run for its money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fifa Improved?!, 4 Nov 2002
This review is from: FIFA Football 2003 (PS2) (Video Game)
Every year we are inundated with hapless rehashes of older games promising to be better than before and the FIFA series set the mould for such behaviour. Every year about November time we can expect an improved version of Fifa where the improvements don't seem that significant however this time is an exception to the rule. Ditching a lot of the customisable options and much more attention seems to have been paid gameplay. This version of Fifa has two modes:
Simulation mode, where the gameplay is far more involving and requires lots more skill and uses more tactics and strategies and plays more like the Pro Evolution series.
Action mode, is your traditional Fifa game.
There are lots of nice little touches here and there like the detail players attributes, behaviour and looks. for example Raul kisses his ring when he scores and alike. The kits are authentic as usual and i like how there is far more skill involved when shooting.
The tactics are clever as well. When beating a computer controlled team it will substitute defenders for strikers and likewise if they are winning they tend to sub strikers for defenders.
All in all i was well impressed with this game and needless to say it is a massive improvement on an ageing game engine. This is simply a must for any footy mad gamer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A huge improvement!, 31 Oct 2002
By 
Richard (Doncaster, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: FIFA Football 2003 (PS2) (Video Game)
Compared to the previous fifa games this one is alot better. For one it is actually playable, I managed to play it for more than an hour without getting bored. It is also more challenging and is harder to score so you don't get the usuall 10-0 thrashing. The gameplay doesn't seem like fifa anymore, which is a good thing, but then you here the commentary and you know you're playing fifa again. Don't get me wrong though, the commentary is better, but I think we all need a break from good old Jon Motson. Overall Fifa 2003 is a very good game and definately one of the best going for the PS2, but I still think they can go one better next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yet Another FIFA flop???, 25 Oct 2002
This review is from: FIFA Football 2003 (PS2) (Video Game)
... Thankfully no! Finaly EA have got their finger out and produced a really good game. The graphics are vastly improved and now you get analysis by Ally McCoist!!
In this newest version in the franchise, you have an enourmous number of teams and players as usual but they have added a large number of very accurate stadia to play in (Old Trafford, Nou Camp etc...). You can bask in the eerie quiet as you silence the Arsenal faithful with the first goal at Highbury .. or lisen in horror as the Gunners fans sing "Your not singing anymore" when they equalise .. Little touches like this make the game a joy to play.
Shooting and passing have been completely remodeled including the useful through ball being added. Set pieces are much improved - now it IS actually possible to score that Beckham free kick.
The only fault is the annoying loading time at substitutions but it is a small price to play for an excellent, expansive and very addictive game.
enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fifa 2003 - Review from a gamer's point of view, 4 Nov 2002
This review is from: FIFA Football 2003 (PS2) (Video Game)
Fifa 2003 is a truly magnificent game. It uses a completely re-vamped game engine (which is much better than Fifa 2002) and features incredible graphics. Each player actually moves, passes, and shoots like their real life counterparts e.g shoot with Beckham and he tries a chip but Scholes or Gerrard will smash it low. You will easily recognise the players in this game from Beckham's hair to Davids' shades. It features 10,000 players and over 400 teams which are fully licensed. It also uses official kits (even third kits such as the Man Utd Blue Kit and Arsenal Gold Kit). It has the usual season mode plus updated stats and loads more. Soak up the atmosphere at Old Trafford, Highbury or Anfield, hear the fans chant your favourite players name - you can on Fifa 2003. Well done EA Sports - Great Graphics, Gameplay and the best footie game around. Buy it now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One word Brilliant, 19 Oct 2003
Fantastic game great player stats but the only thing bad about it is that it doesn't have Wales on it.Can't wait for Fifa 2004
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a letdown, 6 July 2003
This review is from: FIFA Football 2003 (PS2) (Video Game)
Compared to previous versions, this came across as quite a disappointment. Previously, the only version of fifa i had played oftenly was Fifa 99 on the pc. And though the graphics were poor, the gameplay more than made up for it. Also with the option to save replays, and even watch them from a view that you could control yourself. With my PC becoming increasingly slow, i decided to invest in a PS2 last year, which i now only ever buy games for. But this has to be one of the worst ive bought so far. This is because occasionally games suffer from appalingly long times to load up, and also have a tendency to freeze up during a match, while the drive is trying to read the information off the disc. This is very irritating, and does not happen with any other games i have. The other disapointing thing is that you cant save replays - ive lost count of some of the best goals ive scored, that i wouldve otherwise shown to my mates. The graphics have improved though -at least the players now look something like the real thing, but the default camera angle you play a match with is dodgy. The gameplay is good, but it doesnt come with enough controls compared to earlier PC versions - for instance, you cant commit any dirty tackles that you could've done for a laugh (well i do anyway), and its difficult to pull off a decent trick using the right analogue stick as well. For the best results, I reccomend playing with a group of mates, (especially if your p***ed - you have a good laugh - believe me), with some cr*p foreign teams - like those from israel.Otherwise, buy a different footy game, preferably on the PC if you got one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

FIFA Football 2003 (PS2)
FIFA Football 2003 (PS2) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation2)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews