Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent action adventure/platform game
This is an action adventure in the Tomb Raider/Indiana Jones mould albeit based on the Harry Potter book/film.
My wife and I have not seen the films or read the books yet though this game has prompted us to read the books and no doubt we will watch the films too.
I have been playing computer games for about 20 years wheras my wife has not played for many years...
Published on 2 Jan 2003

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good game but.....
This IS a good game for the Xbox, graphics are nice, ambience is good, backgrounds excellent. Gameplay ok, puzzles are not too bad to solve but here is the but! THE CAMERA ANGLES STINK! I bought this for my daughter and she has given up in disgust, there is no jump control you just jump automatically when needed, usually this happens when you are not directly following...
Published on 22 Jan 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent action adventure/platform game, 2 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Xbox) (Video Game)
This is an action adventure in the Tomb Raider/Indiana Jones mould albeit based on the Harry Potter book/film.
My wife and I have not seen the films or read the books yet though this game has prompted us to read the books and no doubt we will watch the films too.
I have been playing computer games for about 20 years wheras my wife has not played for many years and is very much a novice. Nevertheless we have both been captivated by this game. It is not a hugely difficult game although there are some demanding parts,
The graphics are excellent as is the atmospheric music & effects.
It isn't perfect (there are few games which are). The camera angles can be a bit disorientating sometimes especially when you are frantically shooting spells at poisonous spiders! Also the save points are few and far between which in some ways is good because you are not able to save every few seconds (which is very lazy gaming indeed!) but on the other hand there is a long way to go before you can turn your x-box off!! Having said that, if you do get killed, you only get put back to the start of the particular room you are in, not the last save, and also anything you achieved before you were killed remains done.
A splendid family game and the best and most enjoyable movie tie in I have seen since Ghostbusters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good game but....., 22 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Xbox) (Video Game)
This IS a good game for the Xbox, graphics are nice, ambience is good, backgrounds excellent. Gameplay ok, puzzles are not too bad to solve but here is the but! THE CAMERA ANGLES STINK! I bought this for my daughter and she has given up in disgust, there is no jump control you just jump automatically when needed, usually this happens when you are not directly following Harry and you miss the target of your jump, this can be extremely frustrating when you have to do the same puzzle so many times when the reason for you having to repeat the task is completely out of your control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars bad quality of the disc, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As soon as the game started, everything on the game was too slow! Every time a character speaks, i have to wait about 5 minutes so everything can catch up with itself. Also, a message keeps appearing saying the disk is dirty or damaged and ive only just had it delivered! Was looking forward to playing this game, and the quality of the disc has ruined it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Xbox) (Video Game)
Super fast delivery item is in good condition it jumps now and again but that's because I'm using it on another console.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Game did not work, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Xbox) (Video Game)
Game worked when I first popped it in to check it was working so put it to one side to finish playing another game, but when I went to play this game, it froze about 10 mins into gameplay. Which is a shame because I bought the philosopher's stone from zoverstocks and it worked fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Only Buy for the ORIGINAL console., 7 Dec 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Xbox) (Video Game)
I bought this game because I already have it for the game cube. I liked it before but wanted a nostalgia trip so i bought it
knowing it would would on my xbox 360, though it's laggy, really slow, the levels don't load and the graphics are awful.
I think I'll stick to my game cube version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cm Wright, 14 Feb 2009
By 
D. Wright "actually it's C. Wright" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Xbox) (Video Game)
I just finished this game and after loving the 3rd harry potter game for the xbox, I was really suprised to find that i enjoyed this one a whole lot more. The graphics were so much better! I really liked it because of the consistency with the graphics. I would really recommend it. The Quidditch especially is fun but still at the same time challenging. It's kinda scarey at some bits but that could just be me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Version of any harry potter game on any cosole, 13 Dec 2008
By 
Mr. C. Denney (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Xbox) (Video Game)
This is bad. The graphics are almost the same as the PS2 version but the gameplay is bad.
The Graphics are glitchy, you can see through walls in many locations & the targetting is way off. All this make this a bad Game.

Then theres the content (or I should say lack of content)
The PS2 has massive amounts of sub games/tasks such as Broom Racing & Gnome Tossing to name just 2 but the XBox doesn't have (I know you can toss Gnomes at the burrow & fly through hoops above Hogwarts on the XBox but the PS2 has games & races on hogwarts roof tops against other students).
You cannot explore the grounds ouside the castle (You can on the PS2 & there are alsorts of tasks & bits to find)
Saving your game must be done by locating a Save podium which can be hard or in some locations there just isn't one. (PS2 just press Start & select Save any time)
Overall this version is about half the size of the PS2 version & less than 1 tenth the fun.
If you like Harry Potter & have a PS2 then but the PS2 version. (or you could get the GameCube Version which although not as good as the PS2 version it is far better than the XBox version)
The First, Third & Fourth Games are virtualy the same on XBox & PS2 yet this Second Game has been screwed up on the XBox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter on the Xbox, 13 Dec 2002
By 
R. Holdcroft - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Xbox) (Video Game)
Being a game based on the best selling book and the film of the same name, it just a shame that the graphics are not upto the par of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. The faces are not quite upto scratch.
As for sound, the voices well, lets just say, again compared to Buffy are very poor indeed.
The gameplay is good, though. The game is full of puzzles to solve and there is the usual sneaking around. Kids will love it but us more adult game players will find getting stuck in a library area where you have to sneak past 3 prefects very annoying as it is really difficult. The camera angle too doesn't help sometimes.
The controls are easy to learn and you have the usual inventory which is great to help you remember what to do.
One thing missing from this is a multi-player game.
As for my rating, it's a fair relfection that the game's developers have not tried hard enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite a good game, 11 April 2004
I am a fan of the Harry Potter books, and I was satisfied by the Harry Potter games. They're good fun, and quite challenging for younger gamers. This game is an action adventure game, which is quite short but good all the same.
I found that the environmental graphics were reasonably good, but that the appearances of the people were not particularly good. The xbox is capable of very good graphics, but EA didn't quite fulfil an xbox gamers expectations.
There are some very dull levels of this game. There is no jump button, so some challenges that should take a minute or so end up being a huge hassle, because Harry often doesn't grab onto the ledge properly. Duelling can be quite hard as there is a delayed reaction when Harry does his shield charm. This can be extremely annoying. I think that collecting Bertie Botts beans is a pain, as whenever Harry gets harmed he drops several. You end up having to fly around the grounds and going through hoops for about half an hour to collect them, which is extremely boring because Harry is so slow. However, if you don't bother collecting Bertie Botts beans and wizard cards, it is a far better game (but shorter).
Quidditch is reasonable, though slightly annoying at times. If you bump into an object, you get automatically sent very far behind the Snitch, and you have to build up speed again.
The music does get rather repetetive after a while, but there are some nice pieces. It doesn't create atmosphere very well. The voiceovers are of varying quality. Harry and Hermione sound completely wrong, but the teachers sound like the actors in the films.
Overall scores:
Gameplay: 7 / 10
Graphics: 6.5 / 10
Sound: 6 / 10
I would personally give this game 3.5 stars, but that isn't possible, and 3 doesn't do it justice. It is worth buying, and can now be found at extremely cheap prices from amazon marketplace and second hand game shops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Xbox)
29.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews