Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 Giants = masterpiece
This album was bought for me many years ago by a friend, and I have been listening to it ever since. The sessions were recorded in 1962 and feature Max Roach on Drums, Charlie Mingus on Bass and Duke Ellngton on the Piano.

Most of the material was written especially for the session and there are some wonderful compositions here. Like a lot of Ellingtons...
Published on 27 Oct. 2006 by S J Buck

versus
3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Certainly Raw
In terms of ambition then this collaboration is certainly a masterpice. However, this album reminds me of a modern rap album with a filler or two for every excellent track and so for this reviewer 4-5 stars is too much. A condensed version however would recieve a superior mark.
Published on 24 Oct. 2008 by Brian P. Richards


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding sessions, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Money Jungle (Audio CD)
Hard to believe that these famous three appear together. Although Mingus rates Duke as his major influence, they are separated by 23 years in age, and a disparity in styles which both strive to overcome. Famously irascible, Mingus is said to have stormed out, unhappy with Roach's drumming - which sounds pretty unimpeachable to me - although he was there at Mingus' insistence. The creative tension is in the music too, to good effect. And Backward Country Boy Blues is a hit! The alternative takes are for the afficionados, but even the original tracks are not as well known as they should be. If you like jazz in any style from New Orleans to post-bebop, this will tickle your fancy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect music, plus........., 2 Mar. 2014
By 
Richard Leigh (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Money Jungle (Audio CD)
I'd recommend playing tracks 1 - 7, the stopping the disc. The remaining tracks are pretty good, too, but the original LP had just the seven tracks, I can still remember the impact it had, and I'm sure it will make the same impression on you.. Once you've absorbed the seven original tracks (one lifetime should be about enough), then you can listen to the rest. Along with his albums with Coltrane and with Hawkins, this one is evidence that Ellington was a great pianist throughout his career. I think this record is up there with the best of Monk, and I can't think of higher praise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic album, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Money Jungle (MP3 Download)
it doesn't get better than this! An all star cast a degree of tension, every jazz fan should have this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good jazz album, 20 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Money Jungle (Audio CD)
This album has a number of good pieces, but I would say that the best track on the album is Fleurette Africaine. Infact that track is so good it is worth buying the album for that track alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A spikey but interesting set, 4 May 2013
By 
Mr. Aa James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Money Jungle (Audio CD)
these 3 giants together make it a volitile session full of spikey
rythems all in all it makes interesting listening and is worhwhile
investigating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Money Jungle (Audio CD)
Excellent!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Money Jungle (Audio CD)
Imprescindible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Money Jungle (Audio CD)
Great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Certainly Raw, 24 Oct. 2008
By 
Brian P. Richards (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Money Jungle (Audio CD)
In terms of ambition then this collaboration is certainly a masterpice. However, this album reminds me of a modern rap album with a filler or two for every excellent track and so for this reviewer 4-5 stars is too much. A condensed version however would recieve a superior mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Money Jungle
Money Jungle by Duke Ellington (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews