Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
9
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 September 2015
Subterranean Jungle was plagued from the start with Marky Ramone and the rest of bands relationship strained in the making and release of the album. He would eventually be replaced by Richie Ramone and would later return in 1987. But saying that both Joey and drummer Marky Ramone were dealing with alcoholism while Dee Dee Ramone was severely addicted to cocaine and was undergoing psychotherapeutic treatment.The band was in turmoil and it clearly shows on this release.

But Out of all 14 Ramones albums Subterranean Jungle has the worst production and drum sound without a doubt it doesn't help that the album has three covers. With also the wrong song and single release choice. "Time Has Come Today" is certainly a weak moment of the album. But with songs like Outsider,Somebody Like Me, I Need Your Love, Psycho Therapy,Little Bit O' Soul keeps this album a float with enough quality to salvage something from Subterranean Jungle.

Out living a majority of the bands of the punk movement they still managed to release an album that is certainly worth your time and purchase. With one of there finest moment just around the corner with the 1984 release "Too Tough to Die".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
The usual fantastic, amazing, powerful music of the great Ramones! Best ever group on the planet and best voice, drummer ang guitar! I bought all the remasterized CDs and the sound is much better, clean and clear. And the New covers and internal parts in the case are just great with a lot of new photos! And there are a lot of more songs. Amazing music with RAMONES.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2005
This really is not as bad an album as some would have you believe, it's no "Rocket To Russia" or "End Of The Century" but there are some cracking tracks on here.
"Psychotherapy" is a top song ,as is the catchy "Little Bit O' Soul" the only real disappointment (in my opinion) is the fairly weak "Everytime I Eat Vegetables.." It might not be the best they ever recorded but it certainly isn't the worst,it's a better album than "Too Tough To Die" for example (well,at least that's what I think ! )
If you are a fan of the Ramones , you've still GOT to have this record !!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
Yeah, this is a generally underrated album from the autumn years of the Ramones. Sure, it's not as essential as the first album or Leave Home or Rocket To Russia, but I'd rate this alongside Road To Ruin, and I'd take it over Animal Boy or Brain Drain or Halfway To Sanity any day. I'd like to put in a good word for 'My-My Kind of a Girl' - like Joey Ramone, I'm just a soppy old romantic at heart, and I've always loved the Ramones' bubblegum ballads like 'I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend' from the debut album. Other standout tracks on Subterranean Jungle are 'Outsider' and 'Somebody Like Me', and of the bonus tracks presented here, the pick of the bunch is 'New Girl In Town' - which is another smoocher.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2004
A lot has been written about this album, many people claiming it to be a total disaster whilst others call it a misunderstood classic. In truth it's neither. Although it's nowhere near as essential as any of their other albums it's not as bad as it's often made out to be.
The main downfall of this record is that it features the Ramones desperately trying to score a hit record and they give up their distinctive classic sound in favour of a watered-down commercial sound. The production really is appalling (Marky's drums especially suffer) but despite all these downsides there are reasons why you should own this record.
The opener "Little Bit O' Soul" is totally unlike any previous Ramones record. Instead of flat out punk it features the group playing mid-tempo soul (with unconvincing results). Sadly, too many of the songs are lukewarm overproduced pop-punk songs and the onlyhighlights of the record are when they return to their classic sound. They include "Highest Trails Above" (classic Ramones energy with totally trippy lyrics), "Outsider" (as covered by Green Day), "Time Bomb" (with Dee Dee's first lead vocal) and the superb "Psycho Therapy" (easily the equal of any of their previous anthems).
The albums main single "Time Has Come Today" is interesting but again strangely unconvincing. The group try mid-tempo soul but it just doesn't work. The closer "Everytime I Eat Vegetables" is a return to the quirky lyrics of their previous records but this time it sounds forced and uninspired.
The bonus tracks are interesting, if only to hear the Ramones in their raw glory without the awful production, plus "Indian Giver" is a great track that really would have lifted this record. Overall the record is inconsistent but it does contain some great material.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
This is the sound of The Ramones high on life ,they wrote like they were in it ( they were) and they played it like they meant it ( they did) this is the sound of real American subterranean jungle ;im a time bomb baby!!!Maximus Metalicus.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Not their best album, but well worth buying
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2010
The item was delivered in NO TIME and the quality is just perfect! Looking forward to my own one, since that first one was for a present. Thank you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)