Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Singalong with the Ramones, 27 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: PLEASANT DREAMS (Audio CD)
One of a host of slated Ramones albums, this one is actually a pretty good testament to the bubblegum pop that inspired them to originally learn their 3 chords. Whilst it has nowhere near the punky rawness of the first four [and much loved] long players, the formula which made da brudders what they are, still works here. Simple straightforward songs about life, love and the KKK. Whilst this may not be rocket science it's still extremely enjoyable. Not a definitive Ramones album but one very much worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how come an album like this didn't get higher in the charts?, 17 Nov 2006
This review is from: Pleasant Dreams (Expanded & Remastered) (Audio CD)
The songs are among the best ones I know by the Ramones. I also think Gouldman's production is excellent. Echoes from the 60's pop music meet the powerful Ramonian style and the result is this album. The bonus tracks include two outtakes from the recording sessions and the song 'Chop Suey': the three of them are really worth listening.
Yet I think the vocal harmonies often give the songs a melancholy shadow that prevents the album from having or reaching the "drive" or strength of other ones by this band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent pop bubblegum summer album, 3 Aug 2004
This review is from: Pleasant Dreams (Expanded & Remastered) (Audio CD)
I remember this album coming out on vinyl and having 2 days to listen to it before going away on holiday. The KKK Took my Baby Away and 7-11 stayed in my head. This gets a bit of a slating in Ramones reviews, but to my mind it is a fantastic melodious summer album. Good to hear some of the releases of demos as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than you know, 4 Sep 2007
This review is from: Pleasant Dreams (Expanded & Remastered) (Audio CD)
Always overlooked by the reviewers who always seem to all write the same stuff. You know cartoon image, leather jackets, ripped jeans, 3 good albums, never changing etc. etc. You would be best to ignore them and Johnny Ramone(RIP) who always claimed The Ramones to be pure punk and dismissed this album and the excellent End OF The Century as garbage. He was wrong and so were those silly critics. This is pure pop, and the Ramones were one of the best pure pop bands ever. The melodies are amazing, total sunshine. In an alternative Universe this would have been no 1 with a smash and the kids would have danced in the streets with it on their ghetto blasters.
Buy all their albums up to this one (Sub..Jungle is not quite so magical) and remember them this way when Joey was writing pop gold and before Johnny hijacked their legacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i was there i know the whole truth man!, 28 Jan 2012
This review is from: Pleasant Dreams (Expanded & Remastered) (Audio CD)
This is a great Ramones album i had the privalege to see them on the Pleasant Dreams tour (and many others) and to say these toons really worked is an understatment, tracks like Shes a Sensation ,KKK and Lets Go hit the mark and then some and still do 36 years later, the hairs on the back of my neck still rising as Joey wails "i was born on a rollercoaster ride",at the time i really felt i had arrived ,the rush was tangible; often described as bubble gum rock i would say on Pleasant Dreams they had it candy flossed ,big fat chunks of rock n roll like a yummy Wonka bar.And at the end of their set it being the end of that tour Dee Dee flung his white Bass out into the crowd (no guitar picks and drum sticks here mate)such was the emotion of the Ramones live ~ they loved their crowd and we loved them that was the spark, the ingredient that made them so special, a great album .Maximus Metalicus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ramones Pleasant Dreams Review, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pleasant Dreams (Expanded & Remastered) (Audio CD)
Good album , Quite poppy at times , best songs: KKK took my baby away , We want the airwaves , 7-11. Worth the buy! Fast delivery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They're A Sensation, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pleasant Dreams (Expanded & Remastered) (Audio CD)
Following hot on the heels of their previous best selling album - 'End Of the Century' - The Ramones kept to the pop-punk menu for this excellent record. Graham Gouldman's production gives it a classic sound, with Joey's singing, the group's playing AND the songs all being first rate. Unfortunately, without a big hit single it didn't really register with the 'pop crowd' whilst punks/music critics breezily dismissed it as inconsequential; oh how fickle Joe Public can be! Finally, without much radio support, The Ramones' attempts to be all things to all people just ended up with diminishing returns. It was all a travesty, of course, but since when did musical genius ever equal good chart positions?!

To the album then. It kicks off with the awesome rock-stomp of 'We Want The Airwaves' - irony of ironies! - the single that should have been massive BUT of course never was. There's the barmily loveable 'The KKK Took My Baby Away' and the hugely infectious 'She's A Sensation'. Best of the lot is '7-11' which has 60s class stamped all over it, but unfortunately wasn't a hit in any decade!!

As with most of The Ramones' re-issues there are a lot of really great bonus tracks; 'Chop Suey' - the Debbie Harry duet is excellent. In fact there isn't a duff track on the whole album.

'Pleasant Dreams' is one of The Ramones most under-rated records. It's actually up there with 'The Ramones', 'Rocket To Russia' and 'End Of The Century' - a poptastic little gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best, 2 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pleasant Dreams (Expanded & Remastered) (Audio CD)
this album is one of the best ramones albums along with leave home and end of the century. all the songs on this are the type of melodic songs that make you want to sing along a must buy for ramones fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa20e8a5c)

This product

Pleasant Dreams (Expanded & Remastered)
Pleasant Dreams (Expanded & Remastered) by Ramones (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews