Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Satanists and stoners!
I first heard of Tenacious D many years ago, and thought that they'd sound absolutely rubbish. A comedy actor singing rock? How often has that actually worked?
But it really, really does! Black is incredibly talented at both singing and rocking it up on guitar, and the songs themselves - a strange mix of comedy lyrics and excellent REAL rock music (not like some of...
Published on 15 Feb 2005 by H. Derbe

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I was expecting good things from this, but I was disappointed. I think the reason for this was that i've owned the work of Bad News (Rik Mayall et al - 1980s) for a long time - which has great songs and is clever and properly funny. I didn't find much in Tenacious D's offering funny at all. "Tribute" is a good song and genuinuely amusing, but if you're expecting the rest...
Published on 3 Aug 2009 by Zaphod Beeblebrox


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Satanists and stoners!, 15 Feb 2005
By 
H. Derbe "the_small_print" (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tenacious D (Audio CD)
I first heard of Tenacious D many years ago, and thought that they'd sound absolutely rubbish. A comedy actor singing rock? How often has that actually worked?
But it really, really does! Black is incredibly talented at both singing and rocking it up on guitar, and the songs themselves - a strange mix of comedy lyrics and excellent REAL rock music (not like some of the watered-down pop crap that are appearing recently) - are just brilliant!
Some people may find it a bit offensive, and at first I was a little wary of Keilbasa and Double Team, but if swearing and songs about anal sex aren't to your taste the music alone more than makes up for it!
It's impossible to feel depressed when you're listening to this album, whether you're playing air guitar to Tribute, giggling at Inward Singing, or just rocking to Rock Your Socks, there isn't a single duff track to be found.
Some of the tracks that are just talking can get a bit annoying sometimes, but fans of JB won't be dissappointed. (Personally I really like KG, he has a really nice voice and it's very funny listening to him dealing with JB's random bouts of insanity.)
In conclusion, just BUY THE DAMN ALBUM, WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR?! I've been listening to it for only three days and it's changed the way I think about rock! BUY IT, RENT IT OR STEAL IT BUT FOR THE SAKE OF YOUR CD PLAYER, PLEASE! GET IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great comedy stylings from one of the best acts out there, 25 Nov 2002
By 
This review is from: Tenacious D (Audio CD)
Tenacious D is one of the best albums I have heard in ages. Those people who are usually worried about listening before they buy should not worry, if you like the singles tribute and wonderboy, then you should definately buy the album. The album comprises of 21 short but sweet tracks, all of which provide a refreshingly funny and eclectic taste in rock. From the acoustic, almost soothing picking of 'F**k her Gently' up to the speed, hard rocking 'Explosivo'. The skits between the tracks are excellent, and I never tire of them, KG's "I believe in Gawd" skit at the end of the album actually gets funnier every time I hear it. There is one criticism, which doesnt really affect me, or most of you, but, if you dont appreciate the Mother F and F**king useage in every other line, then this might not be your cup of tea, its a shame, I know, your parents might not like it.
GET THIS ALBUM!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 'Best Band In The World' Living Up To Their Name, 23 July 2002
By 
This review is from: Tenacious D (Audio CD)
The D will 'Rock Your Socks off' with this brilliant album. The acoustic rock/comedy band made up of Jack Black (Vocals, Guitar)and Kyle Gass (Guitar, Vocals) have been rocking for 27 years now. Only last year they released this album in america and it was worth the wait. With help from Dave Grohl, Foo Fighters' main man and former Nirvana drummer on drums once again and other guests the album is the best buy of the year so far. You will never get bored of songs such as 'Tribute', 'Wonderboy', 'The Road' and 'City Hall' among many others. The harmony of Jack and KG's vocals, the melodys of their 'oversized guitars' and the humour really make the D's debut album worth the money, and lets hope Jack and KG have more from wherever this stunner came from. You will as stated in 'Rock Your Socks Off', 'Give it up for KG Give it up for me' sings Jack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars consider the rest of the world..., 23 Mar 2003
This review is from: Tenacious D (Audio CD)
the main criticism of this album so far has been the talking parts.... so what? Tenacious D are comedians, not 'pure' musicians... and these scenes do not generally get boring! I love them.... over and over again, especially the Mc***...'s one. It's good fun, unless you are too serious about music, otherwise, if you enjoy a bit of humour thrown in, absolutely recomended! :). Light harted, sometimes slightly primitive (keep your children away!; but that americ**** are.... watch the news!..). simply: special!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 13 July 2002
This review is from: Tenacious D (Audio CD)
I'd never heard of the Tv show or band Tenacious D until i heard their first release "Tribute" on the TV. I knew of jack Black and have loved his insane comedy since his role as "Barry" in "High Fidelity".
The album is great and the only predictable thing is that you know you are going to laugh from start to finish!
Personal favourite tracks for me would be the heroic "Wonderboy", the funky sounding "Kielbasa" and the weirdly sweet "F**k Her Gently". Black is very clever with his funny lyrics, so this album will be enjoyed from start to finish.
If your a fan of Jack Black and love funny bands mixed with a bit of cool Rock and Metal, buy this CD. Let's hope they make a follow up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Full of some of the funniest lyrics mixed with kick ass rock, 5 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tenacious D [Us Import] (Audio CD)
Tenacious D are a rockin' band that just came from no where! Jack Black has some of the funniest lyrics. Just imagine Adam Sandler mixed with a little hard rock and then you have Tenacious D! I can't say anything bad about this CD. If you've seen Jack Black and thought that he was as funny as I thought he was, you must buy this CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is just a tribute, 21 Feb 2004
By 
M. Gardner "Afro Matt" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tenacious D (Audio CD)
This album is not for the faint of heart. For many, the comedy will be a touch too crass and lewd; but for the rest of us this offering from Jack Black and Kyle Gass should be placed high upon a pedestal and saluted. Comedy albums are dangerous. Often the band is a one-hit-wonder and then sinks without a trace. Not so with Tenacious D, mainly because they actually ROCK!!!! Finally an album that is genuinely funny and fulfils its promise to 'rock your socks off'. Who on this earth could not fail to be swayed by the gem that is 'Tribute', weep as Black tells how 'Kyle Quit The Band' or chuckle at 'Drive-Thru'. But this album is also educational....I can now inwardly sing, kick ass with karate and do a pushup with my...yes, well. In short, if, like me, you are a fan of silly humour, want to rock hard or simply need a pep-up in your otherwise bland cd collection then go out and immediately buy this cd.....hell, whoever you are go out and buy it! Spread the word of the D, purge the unbelievers and listen to this kick-ass record. Get it in...NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one is all you need, 27 Sep 2006
By 
Ms. H. Hughes (wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tenacious D (Audio CD)
Tenacious D's first album is a hugely entertaining mix of very funny comedy sketches (well, funny if you're not easily offended, that is) interpersed with some genuinely impressive rock songs ("Tribute" - fab track!).

This isn't meant to be taken seriously: these guys are comedians after all. You only have to look at the song list to know what you're going to get with this album so if you find swearing or sex jokes distasteful it really isn't going to be your thing. At all.

However, if songs about "humping discretely" make you giggle into your schnitzel then you'll love this album and will probably end up quoting it to all and sundry.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Under rated, 10 Sep 2007
This review is from: Tenacious D (Audio CD)
After listening to this album for the twentieth time, and looking forward to the twentyfirst, I can honeslty say this album is amazing.
Im a Tool fan, so nothing hilarious there, but Tenacious D have a refreshing outlook with their rock. Its evident that they take their music and lyrics seriously, and put allot of thought into it.

There are a few songs on here that would cause offence, and the songs that dont make you think that they were put on the album not to, but they all have layers like most decent rock songs. there purpose is not to offend or to create comedy.

If you listen to tracks such as "F*uck her gently", you will instantly laugh. After a few more listens you'll realise that the guitaring is excellent, as are the vocals. Black sings with emotion in a song that deserves none. Reviewers have commented on this humour as offensive and prepubecent, i beg to differ. Its the sheer innocence of this comedy that make this album great.

Then there are tracks that have been carefully thought out and crafted. City Hall is a delightful poiltical satire. Yet this song is sung in such a playful and sarcastic way.

There are snippets of conversation that is hilarious on this album.

This album will have mixed opinions. So I dont disagree with any bad reviews. Its like a comedy DVD. If you've seen a show or comedy for over 20 times, it ceases to be funny. This album can have that affect, but the songs themselves can stand as decent rock songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars some great tunes and some funny interludes, 16 July 2006
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tenacious D (Audio CD)
This album has some rocking tunes, as well as some funny interludes. This album isn't meant to be too serious (as rock is fun after all) and has a great combination of humour and well written songs. It's a perfect summer album and will make you laugh out loud at times, sure some of the jokes are school boyish but they're funny as hell. Enjoy!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tenacious D
Tenacious D by Tenacious D (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews