Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical drama
I enjoyed all five series of up/down as I call it. Social History as it was. I think it should be shown in schools to teach history in a more human context and not just textbooks fact and figures. I feel I understand my Grandmother better knowing what it was like as she was growing up, from the suffregette movement to the war and rationing etc. Excellent series.
The...
Published on 21 Oct. 2009 by CricedwrCoch

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Upstairs Downstairs
Old-fashioned serial with an image quality that also dates but still pleasant to watch by old retired people like us.
Published on 26 Dec. 2012 by Asperule


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical drama, 21 Oct. 2009
I enjoyed all five series of up/down as I call it. Social History as it was. I think it should be shown in schools to teach history in a more human context and not just textbooks fact and figures. I feel I understand my Grandmother better knowing what it was like as she was growing up, from the suffregette movement to the war and rationing etc. Excellent series.
The extras were a bit hit and miss, they hadn't read the scripts for the voice overs had they? But interesting to see them as they are now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Upstairs Downstairs - Fifth Series, 23 Sept. 2009
By 
Nai Truoc (Somerset, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
How I miss this series; I remember it so well from my childhood. Every episode is a joy to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this programme, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to be able to visit 165 Eaton Place again. It was direct purchase to my TV and have watched the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality material, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The series was seen in a number of countries and now some slightly older people are delighted to be able to see again such fine acting, language and historical anecdotes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime drama, 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I rediscovered this wonderful series after the ill-advised attempts to breath new life into it last year

For get the latter. The original is one of television's all-time pinnacles and sits alongside I Claudius, The Sopranos and Brideshead Revisited.

In series 5 you have 16 1 hour plays picking up life in Britiain post World War 1. The ghost of war, the aimlessness of the bright young things, the sense of betrayal between the social classes, the seeping decline of the aristocracy and a gradual shift in social expectations are all thoughtfully explored through the eyes of a Tory politician's aristocratic family and their house servants. Mesmerising performances all round, crisp direction and stunning production raise this series to the very highest levels of TV drama.

The DVD set is excellent quality with interesting bonus features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Upstairs Downstairs - The complete Fifth Series (1975) DVD, 10 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a truly great series. They don't make them like that anymore. I'll be very sorry when it's finished. However, it will be nice to watch it again at some future date. The acting on everyones part is superb. A finely drawn script and a great way to learn the history of the time. ( late 19th to early 20th century ).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NICE TO WATCH AGAIN AND AGAIN, 6 May 2010
By 
Mr. Bryan Davies (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I got this for my wife. She watches over and over again and may wear the DVD out before long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars upstairs downstairs- complete fifth series, 19 Mar. 2009
By 
M. Birch "s birch" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sadly series five is the final instalment from 165 Eaton Place... after the horrors of the First World War Series Four, We hit the roaring 20's, obviously you lose the Edwardian spirit of the previous years! But series five covers other historical events!! Fantastic entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice item well packaged good price and delivered with thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Upstairs Downstairs, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upstairs Downstairs: Comp 5 Season [DVD] [1971] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Old-fashioned serial with an image quality that also dates but still pleasant to watch by old retired people like us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Upstairs Downstairs: Comp 5 Season [DVD] [1971] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £21.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews