Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars99
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2003
I bought this album having only heard two of the songs on it, and i thought they were good. When i heard the rest of the album i realised that those two were probably the weaker songs.
I admit to never having heard any of the Flaming Lips's previous albums, but now i am sure to go and buy them. The highlights of this album are the first song "Fight Test" (bears an uncanny resemblence to Father and Son by Boyzone?!??...)and "Yoshimi Battles the pink robots part 1". The lyrics are bizarre and original at times and i think that sums this band up- they aren't like any other bands i have heard, completely original, but completely amazing.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
don't ask me but the son reckons it so nuff said about the cd it arrived within time slot and in good condition thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2003
Tons better than The Soft Bulletin!! (yes, that is possible). Can't really say much else abt the album that hasn't been said before so I won't bother.
If you don't have this album then buy it, and if you do then buy it again in an attempt to relive the excitement of hearing it for the first time.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2016
do you realize is worth the album, but the rest is a little too experimental for me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2002
You are brought into the Album initially with the catchy lyrics of the 2 singles, do you realise and yoshimi battles the pink robots part 2. Lyrically they are well written and almost have a traditional style, if not for the offbeat music that carries it along. When you listen to the whole album the pieces of music and lyrics fade together and speed through oh so quick. You follow the storyline of the album. At first I took the lyrics litteraly but now I see there are many different layers you could see the songs from. Each song slowly and subtly crawls into you. Every time I hear a part of the album I find a new thing to listen too. This isn't album you'll pickup, listen and like until next week, you'll grow into this and Love it.
Highly reccomended, Espescially if you like the Soft Bulletin, although perhaps more accesable than earlier albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Flaming Lips were a great cult secret, it seemed. Seeing them around 'Transmissions...Satellite Heart' I became a fan. And the albums just got better- 'Clouds Taste Metallic', 'Zaireeka' (which still sounds great even mixed) and the album of 1999: 'The Soft Bulletin'.
'Yoshima Battled the Robots' is even better...Every song is a highlight- though the ones that stand out are single 'Do You Realize?' that makes you appreciate the moment: death is there but can be transcended by the present tense of a girl's face. Really- this is poetry. 'Fight Test' is as great as 'A Spoonful Weighs a Ton' from TSB - though I love 'Yoshima Robots II'- with its Boredoms sample and sense of harmonic pop and whirling electronica.
I seem to be saying this about every album- Gemma Hayes, Wilco, New Pornographers, Tom Waits, Jim O'Rourke: contender for album of the year. But that would be incorrect- album of the year. You won't be able to live without it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2003
.... this is the first album of theirs I heard and I love it! My favourite song is Fight Test and I also recognise the song Do You Realise .... But this album has such wonderfully written lyrics and such a beautiful vocal track, not to mention the instruments or the artwork. If one thing besided the music makes me appreciate a group it is the artwork that thwy use for their releases. If only I had discovered the group earlier. They have opened my eyes (and ears!) and they are of such calibar that I feel like I have heard the tracks all before which for me is good as I really go for familiarity.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 August 2002
I saw The Flaming Lips in London last month and it was the best gig I've ever been to. The Soft Bulletin is one of my favourite records ever. I have Zaireeka, I have Satellite Heart, I have Clouds Taste Metallic and all of these albums are first rate. But Yoshimi is a let down to my ears.
While it's far from being a bad album, it's also a logn way from being the instant modern classic that everybody seems to be saying it is. It's too clean, to organised, too thought-out and too polished. Lyrically Coyne seems to be retreading areas he went over more effectively on The Soft Bulletin, retreading those same childlike emotional platitudes that were so meaningful and shockingly effecting on TSB, but now they just come across as clichéd and meaningless. The Flips were always typified by bonkers lyrics in the past, and this descent into pseudo-meaningful, naive philosophy is not for the better.
Do You Realise? could be an awesome tune, but all there is to it is an acoustic guitar and Wayne's cracked voice plus a hole load of overdubbed fx and drums, while the lyrics are too blank and uninspired to really captivate like, say, The Spark That Bled or Buggin' off TSB.
Take Fight Test, a damn-near great tune, that unfortunately pinches half of it's melody from father & Son by Cat Stevens. Lyrically abpout the best track on the album, it's musically very good too, if, again, perhaps too clean. But that half-inched melody puts me in mind of Boyzone's cover of the Cat Stevens tune, and soils my enjoyment. The whole robots & karate concept is wearing too, an unnecessary conceit from a band capable of much more.
I wanted Yoshimi to be a great album, and I think a lot of journalists and reviewers did too, which is why they were so quick to praise it to high heaven. I'm afraid I have to say that Yoshimi is a case of Emperor's New Clothes. Which is a great shame when his old clothes were so bloomin' great.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
Satisfied :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2002
As one of those who jumped on the bandwagon after The Soft Bulletin, I'm afraid I was expecting something quite different.
Whatever it was that The Flaming Lips have been on to come up with the concept and tunes for this album, I really wish they'd spent the time in The Priory instead!
I was also lead to believe that this was a concept album, but I'm afraid I can only follow the narrative for the first half of the album - after that it just goes on and on and on about love, (hardly a ground breaking subject!).
So... two weeks after buying it, I'm afraid I've replaced it on the Hi-Fi with The Soft Bulletin - in the hope that the disappointment of this album will fade into memory!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)