Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars41
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2012
I have to admit I am not a martial arts film expert but I know good quality films when I see them, and this is one of them. The tone, direction and acting (especially the lead actor) is fantastic. The action sequences are incredible and I quite enjoyed the humour.
A must see. I only wish they would upgrade this for blu-ray!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2005
Comedy Kung Fu at it's best! We saw about 3/4 of this film in 1996, on a Channel 4 Kung-fu Weekend and have been trying to find it on DVD ever since. It's one the funiest films I have ever seen, with brilliant martial arts too. A fantastic scene involving an uncle and caligraphy is about the funiest and amazing thing I have ever seen in any film!
If you like Kung Fu films this is simply excellent, funny and skilful and easy to watch. Can't rate this film enough.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2012
This movie truly is a great one. It's in the historical style, and the costumes and sets look great. Part of the story revolves around the chinese opera, and you get some great scenes there. The story is much better than many movies of this type, it's also generally much less corny/cheesy than many of these kind of films. Although Yuen Biao is the star, and has some great performances here, to me the true star of this movie is Lam Ching Ying. He is absolutely amazing. Sammo Hung is great and very funny too.

The version I got was the Cine-Asia re-release of the Hong Kong Legends version, and it's great. The picture and sound are great, and the extras are solid.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
A cocky young rich kid (Chang) learns his kung fu is not all it's cracked up to be, when a drag artist (and Wing Chun master ~ Leung Yee~Tai) from a local theatre group gives him a lesson in reality. From there the humbled rich kid pays to become Leung's student, however Leung is having none of it and refuses to teach Chang. Then one day, a kung fu master happens to challenge Leung and although a 'friendly' bout, this leads to the massacre of the theatre troupe and Chang and Master Leung barely escaping by the skin of their teeth. They go back to Master Leung's home and there he eventually agrees to teach Chang Wing Chun...

I've seen this movie scores of times over the years and there is a good reason for that. The fighting on display here is brilliantly choreographed and it is without doubt one of the best of it's kind. Lam Ching Ying, Yuen Biao, Sammo Hung and Frankie Chan all very good. Of course there is a little melodrama and some rather silly slapstick humour but I don't mind that at all, even if it wont be to everyone's tastes. All in all a very entertaining martial arts movie that has some top drawer fight action and should not be missed by any fans, old or new.
The disc I watched is my old chinese dvd by Universe Laser & Video Co. Ltd. The picture is better than vhs but hardly great by today's standards. Though it is clear and nicely letterboxed and the subtitles are obvious enough. No extras except for a couple of very brief biographies though.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2011
Prodical Son .... Very good film. Full of humor and wit, a real gem of a film which shows Yuen Biao in top form. A great cast, solid enough story and the extras in the dvd were excellent.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2005
this film and worriors two are the and only best films ever tracing back to the legendary ancestors of the wing chung art. as well as the comedy side of the film which is so hilarious, the names given to the characters are true. in prodical son leung chan as young tought by wong wah bo & leung ye tai. & worriors two leung chan teaches chan wah who tought our late grand master yip man who tought bruce lee. the film is of excelence and coreography at the highest best of the best
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2007
It's a tragic love story - with comedy and fights. Oh, and Chinese opera. The late Master Lam Ching Jing started his career in Chinese opera playing women's parts. His amazing talents and charisma shine throughout this film. It starts with a lot of knockabout stuff, but then the likeable Yuen Biao decides to run away with the circus - I mean Chinese opera troupe so he can take wing chun lessons. And the story gets darker - and darker. This movie is in my all-time top ten.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2004
this was the film that brought me into the world of kung fu movies.
the characters the acting and the fights are at the highest level.
starring the 3 best kung fu stars yuen biao, sammo hung and the late lam ching ying makes this the best ever kung fu movie.
it has to be the best yuen biao movie ive ever seen, the fights are untouchable, and all characters even the extra guys are funny and great to watch. unbeatable
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2000
I won't spoil the film by explaining the plot, but the fight scences and choreography are second to none. Amazing, a must see, as a martial artist I was envious of a lot of the moves, only a few of which I could hope to emulate.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2012
The best kung fu film ever made. I really can't say much more than that - you can keep your wires, your super powers and your video game style violence. This boils it all down to the nitty-gritty and showcases the late great Lam Ching Ying at his best. Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)