Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cross your heart
Words can't describe how much I love this album.
I've had it for around 10 months now, and since the day I bought it, it's been in steady rotation in my CD player.
I remember the day I bought it, because I ordered it from this here site and it got to my doorstep on September 11th 2001. So in more ways than one, this record means more to me than most will ever...
Published on 27 Jun. 2002 by Betty Applewhite

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
The order was ok
Published 25 days ago by Alberto Belpassi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music as the soundtrack to your life, 7 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
'Believe In What You Want' was the first song of this album that I heard and its one thats firmly lodged itself into my mind. The vocals of Tom and Jim work so well together and as with 'static prevails' they combine a real raw yearning with a sense of warmth and optimism. This is music that will effect you emotionally but its not depressing or morbid, its life affirming. I consider this album to be a modern classic alongside Weezer's first album, Radioheads 'the bends' and AFI 'black sails in the sunset'. This album is destined to be one of your all time favourites if you give it a listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unrivalled in the field - a masterpiece, 30 Oct. 2007
By 
This review is from: Clarity (Audio CD)
There are those that will tell you that Bleed American or Futures were Jimmy Eat World's best work, but they underestimate the scope and depth of this album. While the aforementioned later works are more instantly accessible, the shorter, simpler pop hooks offer a lot less after repeated listens. Clarity, however, is a treasure trove of small details and great ideas. Clarity emerged in 1997 in an era where the alternative scene was very much in transition: headline acts like NOFX, Sonic Youth and Faith No More had peaked, while new pretenders like the Offspring, the Foo Fighters and Modest Mouse had not yet attained the status they went on to achieve. It was a time for new ideas and new sounds, with Silverchair completing reinventing their post-grunge sound with Neon Ballroom, Aphex Twin releasing Windowlicker, Mogwai Come On Die Young, Dredg the unparalleled Leitmotif, Slipknot Slipknot and Opeth the beautiful Still Life. The first generation of pop-punkers were dying out and nu-metal was just starting to bud. Amid this cacophany of bands vying for the limelight, Jimmy Eat World released by far their most expansive album: Clarity. Static Prevails had already shown their capacity for interchanging guitar parts, vocal harmonies and mixtures of heavy and soft tones, but Clarity took that so much further. Here was a vast soundscape for a whole new generation of bands to explore and be inspired by. Long, slow builds, cutting rhythms, hard rock, vast choruses, hugely layered epics - this album had everything. It became a textbook for the next generation, though sadly most watered down the ideas and few took them further. Jimmy went on to make more commercially successful records, but Clarity was undoubtedly their artistic pinnacle, and one of the best albums of a generation. A classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By Far the Best from Jimmy Eat World., 1 Feb. 2005
By 
Mary K. Grout (Austin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clarity (Audio CD)
I got this album less than a month ago because people kept telling me it was absolutely amazing. I've only been a fan for about two and a half years, and didn't think it could get better than Bleed American. But I was wrong.
This album is by far the best yet, going from melodic, sad songs, to fast rockers, to cheerful songs. You can listen to this album no matter what mood you're in. I recommend this album to anyone, not just J.E.W. fans.
Tracks that stood out: Goodbye Sky Harbor, Ten, Lucky Denver Mint, For Me This is Heaven
Hope this review is helpful.
-M
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly merits the word 'brilliant', 24 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: Clarity [Us Import] (Audio CD)
Jimmy Eat World's first major-label effort was a beacon of light on its release, a treasure trove full of glittering gems that rewarded any who took the plunge. However, it sold little, despite a good critical reception, and faded into obscurity. Today, it is just as fulfilling.
Opener 'Table For Glasses' begins subtly, showing a maturity and depth in this Arizona band that so many of their contemporaries lack, before swelling into a harmonious ballad that tugs at the heartstrings with genuine emotion, and gives meaning to the term 'emo', which has been so cruelly bastardised in this day and age. The album doesn't let up, from the edgy pop of 'Lucky Denver Mint' to the lush 'A Sunday', and finally to a knockout final six, the first three of which are wondrous, soaring exercises in harmony and melody, and then the next three are power-chord punk gut punches that still shine with musicianship - it begins with 'Just Watch The Fireworks' and ends with 'Goodbye Sky Harbor'.
Buy it, love it, and cherish it. A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another 5 star review, 19 Oct. 2006
By 
Stuart Nock "Nice guy Stu" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clarity (Audio CD)
Jimmy Eat World... they snuck up on me and I was never quite aware how much I loved them. That is, until I bought Clarity. In regular rotation since then, it is one of my favourite albums ever. Each and every song on it is special, but it is my opinion that the second half of the album is even better than the first (so if you get sucked in by the first few songs, give the whole thing a listen and you'll love it!). After Crush, which is a rollicking pop rock song, come four songs of such perfect intensity and heart that they will probably never be bettered. 12.23.95, a simple ode to a regretted day, and Ten, an understated song, lull the listener. Then drift through Just Watch the Fireworks and For Me This is Heaven, two of the finest songs ever written and no mistake. They truly are masterpieces. The album finishes with the suddenly powerful and intensly dreamy Goodbye Sky Harbor which feels like floating through space watching stars drift past...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 24 Sept. 2008
By 
I. Mc Farland (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clarity (Audio CD)
Having discovered Jimmy around the release of Futures I decided to work my way back and see what they were all about.

After the rockier, more raw Static Prevails comes Clarity, perhaps the pinnicle of Jimmy Eat World. With catchy sing-a-longs like Lucky Denver Mint, proper rock out tunes like Blister and Your New Aesthetic and epic emotive songs such as Just Watch The Fireworks, you owe it to yourself to check this out. Anyone calling themselves a Jimmy fan is a fraud if they don't have this in their collection, I'm probably doing the rest of the album a diservice by failing to mention them, but I'll leave you to discover them on your own...

Without doubt one of the top records in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First Masterpiece From A Stunning Band, 3 Sept. 2005
By 
Alex (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clarity (Audio CD)
I truly believe Jimmy Eat World to be one of the best band's around, and Clarity (they're second full length proper) is a wonderful example of a band unafraid to explore their emotional feelings, which are put forward in some beautiful lyrics and just as importantly, music.

Clarity bridges the gap between earlier, more raw sounding efforts, and the heavy/mellow mix of later albums. This one's nearly all mellowed out pure-emo, straight from the heart. The majority of tracks are acoustic driven, but this is by no means a collection of soppy ballads.

Whilst he album starts calmly enough - the spine tingling 'Table For Glasses' - songs like the lush vocally harmonised 'Ten' and lead single 'Lucky Denver Mint' arrive with enough urgency to satisfy those looking for something a bit more up tempo. And if that's not enough, 'Your New Aesthetic' is arguably the heaviest thing the band have done.

Elsewhere it's essentially track after track of beautifully written emo classics (before emo became such a dirty word), with experimentation seeping through at appropiate moments. Jim Adkins vocals are perfect throughout with an honest quality shining through as he sings often meaningful lyrics, a far cry from current mainstream music and the pre-millenium crap that was about then.

Other highlights come in the way of album closer 'Goodbye Sky Harbour', a song that changes pace, volume and fades out into a delightful 10 minute plus instrumental, that ends the album fittingly. And 'Clarity' itself is pretty damn fine.

Lastly, the production creates a deeply warming impact, be it through the big, raw sounding drums, the gentle and constantly melodic guitars, or as mentioned before the perfectly captured vocals.

All in all Clarity is an essential album, and in the world of emo rock, an absolute must as well as a blueprint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They were the best unknown band in the world at one point - Barring none, 20 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Clarity (Audio CD)
Buy it and make up your own mind. I cannot think of a greater album in the sphere of rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn Fine Record, 6 April 2006
By 
N. Letters (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clarity (Audio CD)
I'd guess to most of the general music listeners out there Jimmy Eat World means to you means the album Bleed American. Well that was a great pop record it doesn't really come close to this masterpiece. It lacks the easy listening pop tunes such as 'A Praise Chorus' or the infectious 'The Middle' but this record is a lot more emotional and beautiful that BA, something which the band has since attempted to mix in Futures. If you like tuneful, emotional and above all meaningfull music then this is the album for you. Highlights include Lucky Denver Mint, the heartfelt 'On a Sunday' and 'Goodbye Sky Harbor'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Stunning, 11 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Clarity (Audio CD)
This is without a doubt the finest album in my collection. Played to death but still as powerful as it is the first time it really hits you. A must have for absolutely everyone regardless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clarity
Clarity by Jimmy Eat World (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews