Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smooth Jazz
The very best of Smooth Jazz. Not really. Very easy listening and probably smooth but not jazz. Not all of it anyhow. A very listenable collection of soul, r&b and pop, with a hint of jazz scattered here and there. Hardly a dance tempo track anywhere to be found. All very laid back and very enjoyable. 2CD seduction might be a better title. A very eclectic mix. Who'd a...
Published 21 months ago by Colin the Bear

versus
89 of 99 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Neither the best, nor smooth, nor jazz
It's always faintly embarrassing buying a compilation album in a store, because it just screams that you don't know much about the genre. I've always been happy enough to do it for pop music and am the proud owner of several of the Now That's What I Call Music series, on the basis that I don't really care much for pop music anyway and it's a cost-effective way of getting...
Published on 2 Aug 2004 by David Abbott


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smooth Jazz, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Smooth Jazz - UCJ (Audio CD)
The very best of Smooth Jazz. Not really. Very easy listening and probably smooth but not jazz. Not all of it anyhow. A very listenable collection of soul, r&b and pop, with a hint of jazz scattered here and there. Hardly a dance tempo track anywhere to be found. All very laid back and very enjoyable. 2CD seduction might be a better title. A very eclectic mix. Who'd a thought putting Bill Withers, The Temptations, Earth Wind and Fire and Curtis Mayfield together together with Ella Fitzgerald, Stan Getz, Nina Simone and Sarah Vaughan would work?. I must admit it does work well and I do like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 99 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Neither the best, nor smooth, nor jazz, 2 Aug 2004
By 
David Abbott "therealgoatee" (Gloucester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best of Smooth Jazz - UCJ (Audio CD)
It's always faintly embarrassing buying a compilation album in a store, because it just screams that you don't know much about the genre. I've always been happy enough to do it for pop music and am the proud owner of several of the Now That's What I Call Music series, on the basis that I don't really care much for pop music anyway and it's a cost-effective way of getting hold of the few good tracks that are worth owning without shelling out on masses of singles or, worse, mediocre albums where only one song is single-worthy. But I've suffered for this policy, with several of my friends getting very sniffy and telling me that I have neither a defined musical taste nor sufficient critical faculties.
Finally with The Very Best Of Smooth Jazz, I've discovered exactly what they mean. This is an album pitched squarely at people who have heard one or two tracks accompanying television adverts and want to hear more of the same. Even the track listing admits as much, with its "as heard on" subtitles.
This means that vast swathes of this double-CD collection are filled with the sort of music that, if you heard in a lift, would make you get out and walk up fourteen storeys just to avoid. For every genuine classic - Ella Fitzgerald's performance is, of course, utterly brilliant - there are at least half a dozen songs which aren't even jazz, but are in fact quasi-jazz MotR easy-listening rubbish. It's unfortunate that Amazon won't allow reviewers to use obscenities because a nice earthy metaphor for excrement would come in quite handy for describing some of the tracks here.
I'd go so far as to say that even the likes of Louis Armstrong's song included here, better known as a Bond theme tune, isn't real jazz either. To include one of the world's greatest ever jazz musicians but to select a non-jazz track is very disappointing but effortlessly sums up the publisher's intentions.
My recommendation, and Amazon makes this spectacularly easy to achieve, is that you avoid this album and instead, dip in to the jazz section and find a couple of albums that reviewers recommend whole-heartedly. There is plenty of really good "smooth jazz" waiting to be discovered but it would be absolutely tragic if anyone heard this particular album and came to the conclusion that it is anywhere near the best that the genre has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this cd!, 12 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best of Smooth Jazz - UCJ (Audio CD)
I often read the reviews on Amazon, if I am not sure on whether to buy a cd or not. I tend to go on the fact that if there are 4 good reviews and only one bad one, then that's a safe ratio and I buy it. This is why I feel compelled to warn you about this cd. If you see the tunes you recognise and like and hope the others will be familiar, then forget it. There are one or two good tunes on here and the rest of the cd is padded out with the sort of tunes you hear when you call the gas company and you're waiting in a queue. I was so disappointed by this cd and wish more people had given it the review it truly deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smooth = Relaxing, 2 July 2002
By 
Simon Parkman (Plymouth, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best of Smooth Jazz - UCJ (Audio CD)
Possibly the most relaxing jazz album i've had the pleasure to listen. Interesting blend of different jazz, from earth wind & fire (one of the best songs on the cd) to contempory jazz. I tell you buy this and you will never have problems falling asleep again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like it a lot, but..., 1 Jun 2006
This review is from: The Very Best of Smooth Jazz - UCJ (Audio CD)
it's not jazz.

I love every single song on these CDs and yes, as someone else pointed out, they are songs you'd recognise from films and adverts.

If you're a hardcore out and out jazz fan then this CD isn't really for you, but if you like easy listening jazzesque sounds then go for it, this CD is gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth Jazz no.1 album, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Smooth Jazz - UCJ (Audio CD)
We love this CD but it isn't really jazz, its music that you listen to at dinner parties or on lazy Sunday afternoons in the garden with a glass of white wine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Music, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Smooth Jazz - UCJ (Audio CD)
Excellent CD, Excelllent price and FAB service, an all time selection of great artists are on this cd, something for all occassions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT, 31 Mar 2013
By 
A. J. Harknett (london,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Smooth Jazz - UCJ (Audio CD)
Smooth Jazz is what I turn to so I can relax and this collection does just that, some great music here well produced in the main. my system really comes alive with smooth jazz, very impressed well worth the money great value, recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the car, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Smooth Jazz - UCJ (Audio CD)
Great for long dark journeys in the car. Good mix, throwing up some old faves and introducing some new ones. As with most compilations 1 or 2 seem out of place, but they are definitely the exception
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent, 6 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: The Very Best of Smooth Jazz - UCJ (Audio CD)
Nice background easy listening jazz. A good compilation - too many of these have filler tracks but this one has a decent quality of tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best of Smooth Jazz - UCJ
The Very Best of Smooth Jazz - UCJ by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews