Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crime what Crime?
Beautiful album. I loved the LP and I love the CD just as much. Forget what my fellow oldies say about youth of today not appreciating this stuff. Of course they do. It's fresh it's vibrant and it tells you what school is all about! Rebel again and treat yourself to some beautifully crafted keyboard centred rock that stirs you up, chills you out and inspires you. Best...
Published on 20 April 2006 by N. Alldridge

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 star Music - 3 star Blu-ray Audio because IT IS NOT 5.1
5 stars for the music as always. BUT what a disappointment the Blu-ray audio is! Billed and ordered as 5.1 surround sound it is, in fact 2.0 (stereo). Another missed opportunity by the music business mis-marketed by Amazon and a range of music websites. AND the free download from the Pure Audio site is not hi-res (e.g. FLAC) but an mp3 download - WHAT'S THE POINT OF...
Published 7 months ago by Trismegistus


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crime what Crime?, 20 April 2006
By 
N. Alldridge "rocking chair" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crime Of The Century (Audio CD)
Beautiful album. I loved the LP and I love the CD just as much. Forget what my fellow oldies say about youth of today not appreciating this stuff. Of course they do. It's fresh it's vibrant and it tells you what school is all about! Rebel again and treat yourself to some beautifully crafted keyboard centred rock that stirs you up, chills you out and inspires you. Best track - Hide in your shell - one of my favourite songs by anyone ever! Probably the most cohesive Supertramp album, certainly the moodiest/darkest and its always been my favourite. Breakfast in America is too superficial and the others have some excellent tracks but some weak fillers this one is end to end brilliance with Hodgson and Davies both at the top of their game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMGA!, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crime Of The Century (Audio CD)
Giddy Aunt since you ask!

What a treat! The 'Tramp finally get round to remastering and, er, padding out their glorious masterpiece Crime of the Century.

And boy is it good. The first disc is merely the remastered original 44 minute album. And remastered it certainly is. It's generally quieter and less bright than the previous CD issue. At first, I thought it was muddier, but simply adjusting the volume between the two versions highlights the near perfection reached on this remaster - the previous version substitutes volume and brightness for detail and clarity. Top job by Ray Staff at Air Studios.

I'm always a sucker for extra tracks. There are none here. Which is a shame on one hand, but at least when you fancy listening to the album, you don't have the dilemma of sticking around for an extra half an hour of John Helliwell practising his on-stage 'repartee' or Rick accompanying Roger's original accordion version of Dreamer with a tasteful comb and paper solo.

The treat here is the 2nd CD - the band recorded live at Hammersmith in March 1975. This set has been widely bootlegged and got its official release over 10 years ago as 'Is Everyone Listening'. By this gig, the band had played almost 30 gigs across the UK in support of the Crime album, visiting the likes of Preston, Swansea, Torquay, Fife and Lampeter, prior to an extensive jaunt across North America.

The whole of the Crime album is played, alongside 4 tracks from follow-on 'Crisis? What Crisis?' The band replicates the album extraordinarily well. Whilst the sound isn't quite as thick and polished as later recordings, the playing is tight, the singing excellent and the execution of a complex studio-realised masterpiece divine. For me, the real stand-out is the drumming of Bob Siebenberg. His sound is just epic, bringing a real significance to lyrics that possibly don't *quite* justify the drama. He's not only thunderous when called upon, but he's also skating around his kit, adding in multiple bounces and grace notes that I hadn't previously noticed. He really was a major part of the magic that revitalised the band from Crime onwards and he's here in all his glory!

There is a minor amp buzz noticeable in very quiet sections, but otherwise the recording is superb.

A major addition to the Supertramp musical oeuvre and yet another reason that these two gloriously talented songwriters should be locked in a room - without their respective wives (deadly enemies apparently) - and forced to listen to this on repeat until they promise to start working together again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Schools Out ............again!!, 30 Dec. 2014
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Crime Of The Century (Audio CD)
If your a fan then you'll already know this is a superb album,arguably the best they ever released,so there's no need for a track by track report.

Sound quality is excellent,compared to my (original release) cd then its a definite improvement,i havent heard the prev reissue remaster so i cannot compare.

Disc 2 i s a revelation,the 'Breakfast in America' reissue's live disc was a little rough around the edges not over produced and not as smooth as the 'Paris' release,this however is amazing,didnt expect a recording nearly 40 years old to clean up as good as this,hats of to Ken Scott's production,its worth the price of the cd on its own.

Packaging as mentioned in an earlier review is very good with informative essay.

If you already have 'Crime..',its still worth buying for the live disc,if you dont already own this then dive in its a classic.Thanks to the kids another xmas pressie hits the spot!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "You're coming along", 5 July 2009
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crime Of The Century (Audio CD)
This is a review of the remastered edition. I emphasise that, because in the past I have viewed remastered editions as simply another way for record companies to make money. This time though - and this goes for all the Supertramp remastered editions - the difference in sound quality is profound. All I can say is: Wow!

`Crime of the Century' dates from 1974 when the group were a kind of Anglo-American Genesis. It opens with the harmonica wail of `School', a protest song of a kind that seems almost to have completely disappeared in today's world. It ends with those words of ironic condescension from teacher to pupil, "You're coming along".

Intelligent lyrics are to be found in all of the other tracks too, the protests and the hopes of the 1970s. The sound quality is so good that we can make out in the song `Rudy' the tannoy system at Paddington Station, calling out the train "to Bristol Temple Meads from Platform Two". This song also exemplifies the clever arrangements that the band employed, where the central section of the song has a rhythm like a train ride. Another example would be the last three minutes of the title track, which features purely instrumental music that sounds like a soundtrack to a heist movie.

Unfortunately, Rick Davies's singing is not as clear as Roger Hodgson's. We can hear every word that the latter sings without the need for a songsheet. Roger has a beautiful and deceptive weak voice, as fragile as the subjects of which he sings. As for the music, much of the rhythm is surprisingly keyboard-led with the drums simply augmenting. I like all the songs very much, apart from `Bloody Well Right' (which is OK), and `Dreamer' (which is brilliant).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unheralded classic, 13 Jun. 2005
This review is from: Crime Of The Century (Audio CD)
This has to be one of my top ten albums of all time. I think a good sign is the fact that the better known tracks ie Dreamer and Bloody Well Right are probably the weaker songs on the album.
Hide in your shell, Asylum, If everyone was listening and Crime of the century are absolutely ace tracks which rate amongst the very best of prog rock. However you don't need to be a prog rock freak to enjoy the wonderful record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all-time classic 'prog' album that doesn't date, 18 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Crime Of The Century (Audio CD)
This deserves to be in any progressive rock lover's all time top 5 albums. Despite having a copy of it since the mid 70's, it never tires. Difficult to pick any "outstanding" track as such, because the whole album is outstanding - well crafted & produced, with high quality songs. (If I had to select 3 tracks, I'd probably go with 'School', 'Hide in your shell' & 'Rudy', but then again the other 5 tracks are probably equally good). It works well with alternate tracks being sung by the 2 different vocalists (an approach taken on the next 4 studio albums, until Roger Hodgson's departure). Once I'd heard this (& the subsequent "Crisis? What Crisis" - an excellent album in itself by any other standards), I was tempted to say this would be Supertramp's zenith achievement, but then came "Even in the Quietest Moments", an album every bit as good as "COTC"!!!! - conclusion : an amazing band (or at least until Roger Hodgson's departure).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Supertramp album by far, 14 May 2009
I totally agree with all the other reviews. This is a superb album. I was fortunate enough to see Supertramp perform this album from start to finish in Bristol back in the 1970's and I was totally blown away! The quality of the songs, the performance and the production is absolutely first class.
If I had to pick one album from my collection, this would be the number one - and I own well over 300 CD's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 star Music - 3 star Blu-ray Audio because IT IS NOT 5.1, 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
5 stars for the music as always. BUT what a disappointment the Blu-ray audio is! Billed and ordered as 5.1 surround sound it is, in fact 2.0 (stereo). Another missed opportunity by the music business mis-marketed by Amazon and a range of music websites. AND the free download from the Pure Audio site is not hi-res (e.g. FLAC) but an mp3 download - WHAT'S THE POINT OF THAT?

However... the hi-resolution version on the Blu-ray is ABSOLUTELY fantastic! I was all ready to bung it back in the case, return it to Amazon, and give a 1-star reviewbut after starting to listen I can't part with it. So much depth to the sound, and bass unheard before on this recording.

But no more pre-orders for Blu-ray audios from me I'm afraid as this is the second time I've been stung by Amazon's mis-marketing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crime not to buy, 4 April 2006
This review is from: Crime Of The Century (Audio CD)
this album (sorry cd) typifies the growth of sound in the seventies - every track is awesome, even now thirty odd years later it still sounds as fresh and vibrant as ever. Personally I prefer this to Breakfast In America (which is excellent) As a review I give this a 10 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Supertramp took the right direction, 16 Aug. 2010
By 
virgo47 (Bratislava, Slovakia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crime Of The Century (Audio CD)
Supertramp was originally financed by some rich fan who decided to back off after their first two albums. So they had to do something that could actually be profitable. What a paradox - much better recording than previous two is the result. This is the foundation of what Supertramp really are "From Now On" (ah, sorry, thas song is not on this album ;-)). It's no accident that on their live Paris you can find all but one song from this album. Starting with School and ending with eponymous track (again, like Paris) this is great listening all the time. Even during those lighter pieces (Bloody..., or smaller hit Dreamer). But soulful pieces like Hide In Your Shell, Asylum and Rudy - those are just brilliant and those are true core of this album without making the frame (School/Crime) any less significant. Ending of the Crime is just perfect, tense piano with those stop times, then all those strings going up and up, saxophone and crying harmonica waving you a good-bye. Unless you wanna go through the album again, of course.

I'm just so glad that Supertramp lost that millionaire's money support and they had to find themselves. Because they absolutely did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crime Of The Century
Crime Of The Century by Supertramp (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews