Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars58
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£5.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2005
The third album in that timeless four album run from this band (1974-79) when they could do No Wrong. It opens with the timeless classic 'Give A Little Bit' and had the rest of the album stayed at this level we would probably be talking about the greatest album of all time. It doesn't....quite. But the dip in quality is pretty minimal. Only the second track leaves something to be desired. 'Lover Boy' is not exactly bad Supertramp but in this company it sinks pretty much without trace. The title track is Roger Hodgson at his mysterious spiritual best. You are never sure which God he is singing to, but it hardly seems to matter. It is an immensely moving song. 'Downstream' is one of Rick Davies' best piano ballads. Wonderful chords, and a great lyric. Heartfelt and to use that word again....moving. 'Babaji' finds Roger again in happy mood and the melody is outstanding. It perhaps goes on a minute too long to be classified as a Supertramp classic, but that first minute....is nothing short of fantastic. 'From Now On' is one of Rick Davies' three best ever songs in my opinion. It is utterly brilliant. It's a shame that no live version can match the studio original as it positvely cries out for thousands of fans to chant those great lines 'Guess I'll always have to be....living in a fantasy.' Which they never did for some reason. The piano playing and musicianship here is of course as usual of the highest quality. Then the finale 'Fool's Overture' is so brilliant that one is again simply lost for words. This song has a wonderfully melodic and beautiful verse and then crescendos into a wonderful climax of tuneful keyboards and quite brilliant backing vocals. Listening to this track you are quite entitled to think this band were indeed touched by a Great Power. There is also a wonderful reference to the Blue Meanies, those infamous Anti-Music baddies from the Beatles film 'Yellow Submarine'. But ah! Those opening lines: 'Hist-o-ry recalls how great the fall can be'.....Quite brilliant.
As is this entire album bar one track. And that's a pretty good percentage. The follow up to this would be the stupendous 'Breakfast In America' album (1979). But here on this album they shine pretty damn brightly.
0Comment34 of 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2000
A superbly modern album.
The album starts off with Give A Little Bit - a lively song based around Hogdson's acoustic guitar. Lover Boy - Is again a lively song - which I am sure a lot of teenager (Like myself) can relate to! Even in the Quietest Moments - an acoustic, open-aired sounding masterpiece. The song starts off quietly and builds to a climax before disappearing into the background at the end. Downstream - an emotional love song - centred solely around Davies and his Piano.
Babaji - a song about a mystical entity - a lot like their "Breakfast in America" single - again, a very light but emotional song. From Now On - a relatable song. Fools Overture - This song is well ahead of it's time. Originally it was going to be called "The String Machine Epic", as Hogdson makes full use out of the keyboard. The song was written to symbolise the fall of mankind - and when you listen closely, you can see the images via the music. The instrumentation and emotion shown by all five members of the band truly blows you away. They take the keyboard and use it to it's full potential by creating the trumpet effects and such. One of their longest songs and deffinetly one of the best.
A unique album, one that was a turning point in their career - A Masterpiece!
0Comment18 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2010
For me this album is more arty than their previous or later - in a very good way. While the first song (well known Give a Little Bit) is not telling you what will go on on this album, it's a nice fresh intro with Roger mostly on guitar. Rick counters with his Lover Boy that seems musically a bit boring until the refrain with its nice arches and repetitive piano riff over a chord progression (I always like this - something changes and something stays - creates nice tension). We go on with Quietest Moments - soft song with guitars and clarinets, going into climax (yet still soft enough) with saxophones. Slow and nicely developed. First half of the album is concluded with Downstream - piano driven song about little boat trip and other big problems. :-)

Babaji is another moody song so typical for Roger - starting rather slow but later driven by their view of rock - that is normal band with some strings, saxes, piano of course. Sometimes it reminds me ELO a bit - but it's pure Supertramp anyway. And then there is From Now On. I just love this song - especially on their live Paris where the crowd adds to the mood so much. Here you have to live without it - but it still shines. Piano work is effective, supported by organ of some kind. The later part of the song is pure peace in heart - may I even say coziness - I just wish I could watch some fireplace or what and listen to this. Absolute beauty, absolute atmosphere.

And lastly - Fool's Overture - also highlight on their Paris. This version is slower and I'm missing something (I can't name), but without this comparison this is one of their biggest achievements. Not that the longer is always the better - but this one really works. Nice complex piece it is and I can't quite say why I feel this all is not 5/5, but it was really very close. And it's absolute no-brainer for Supertramp fan, of course. They were in perfect form on this one.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2004
Like "Crime of the Century", this deserves to be in any progressive rock lover's all time top 5 albums. Despite having a copy of it since released in 1977, it never tires. The whole album is outstanding - well crafted & produced, with high quality songs, for example 'Fool's overture', 'Lover boy', 'Downstream' & the title track, as well as the brilliant single 'Give a little bit'. It works well with alternate tracks being sung by the 2 different vocalists (an approach taken on the band's studio albums between '74 & '82). An album every bit as good as the classic & unforgettable "Crime of the Century".
0Comment20 of 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 October 2007
Well what can I say that hasn't already been said about this amazing group. I absolutely love this album. In my mind, it's a great one to sing-a-long to. And after a few listens, it just so happens to end up as one of my favourite albums.

Opening up with the lively and catchy classic tune, "Give A Little Bit", Quietest Moments starts with a a lovely piano phrase. The song is a belter. Then it moves on to "Lover Boy" which I think is a pretty good track although the ending is superb. Just when you thought the track came to an end, they start back with '...He's gotta have a good time in the city, he's gotta have a good time every night...' Great stuff. I think that the title track is terrific with a beautiful judged opening of bird song melting into the piano riff. "Downstream" is a gorgeous ballad which when listened to brings a lump to the throat. "Babaji" is a fun track which starts off with a lovely piano opening. "From Now On" is a great track where towards the end the piano links nicely with the wind instruments and the choir for the chorus. And finally we get to the epic track that is "Fool's Overture". A fantastic blend of keyboards, percussion, wind instruments and the usual excellent vocals.

I think that my favourite track on here is 'From Now On' but that's if I were given a choice. I haven't so I'll choose all seven tracks. This is one of those polished and superb albums that come along every once in a while. This one was made during their heyday though I dare say they're finished because on this evidence, they're near the top of the tree already and have been there for the last 30 odd years. They're right where they're supposed to be leading the way with their catchy tunes and making some great music.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2012
1977 brought out another fabulous smash hit by superstar rock glam band Supertramp, with this fantastic album.
Another memorable classic of the fantastic seventies.
Give a Little Bit exhorts people to give and recieve love and thereby bring happiness to themselves and others, then there is the supercool and robust From Now On, and the mysterious Fool's Overture, with the opening by Winston Churchill.
Regardless of the message this is great music, and you can't go wrong with Supertramp.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 March 2012
As far as I can see, you don't get the by far the best track, 'Fool's Overture' by downloading, as it's listed as 'Album only'. Fool's Overture is a symphony, a superb piece, lyrically and musically and without doubt, one of Supertramp's opuses, their Bohemian Rhapsody. At nearly 11 minutes, it's the Godfather of album tracks.

A better version happens to be on their 'Paris: Live' double album, but here is the original. It makes up the five stars I award it, though 'From Now On', running just before it is a strong number.

Otherwise, it's a typical Supertramp mid-period album, with the opening 'Give A Little Bit' a nice jaunty song, whilst the title track is a quality, semi acoustic piece. I had the LP originally and the artwork photo of a grand piano sitting, waiting to be played on top of a snowy mountain looked even more startling than it does on CD. You don't get such 'luxuries' with a download!

Only essential Supertramp for 'Fool's Overture' and devout 'Tramp fans.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2003
This work is the business, fools overture is one of the most interesting Supertramp tracks ever written
Love It you should buy
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2012
... with the best of 'em. This album falls into the classic period of Supertramp (ie with Roger Hodgson in fine form). I would have given four and a half stars if the system allowed. It does fall short of 'Crime' and 'Breakfast,' but only marginally so.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2009
This album is a masterpiece! Likely "Breakfast In America" here you find brilliant songs. Here Roger and Rick contest to resolve who makes better, and they both get perfect masterpieces and touching songs, perfectly, Rick with your jazzy moods and Roger with your rock/pop moods!!! They really get a amazing care in it. Who gets more is ours. A great arrangement, long length songs and perfect lyrics. All songs sounds remarkable like the excellent "Lover Boy", and unusual and astonishing like the masterpice "Fool's Overture" (this track is 10:52 length and is a great progressive rock, with strong presence of synths in electrifying sequences, remembering some like Alan Parsons Project).
If you don't own this, the time is now. I know you won't regret about this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.