Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The spin-off becomes a parent
By it's third season, Angel was established enough as a series to start to have a deeper look at itself. We now know all about the moody titular vampire with a soul who has more dark moments than coffee, so this is the time to give him an extension of character and a new worry.
The gift the writers have is the ability to exploit the shows mythology and give us...
Published on 6 Sep 2004 by bazbantam

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not worse or better, just darker
I did and didn't enjoy season 3 as much as 1 and 2, simply because I found season 3 too dark and maudlin for my taste. Wesley's gradual alienation, Angel's heartache and Cordelia's trancendence, coupled with some bumbling around by Wolfram and Hart (less believable and more ridiculous as time goes on) left me feeling like I needed to see something lighthearted to cheer...
Published on 1 Oct 2002 by C. Dawson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The spin-off becomes a parent, 6 Sep 2004
By 
bazbantam (Newbury, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Angel - Season 3 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [2000] (VHS Tape)
By it's third season, Angel was established enough as a series to start to have a deeper look at itself. We now know all about the moody titular vampire with a soul who has more dark moments than coffee, so this is the time to give him an extension of character and a new worry.
The gift the writers have is the ability to exploit the shows mythology and give us amazing plot twists that don't seem stupid or over the top, really. When Darla returns, the audience is treated to ramifications of the second season episode 'epiphany', a luxury not afforded to most 'storry of the week' shows. Indeed, the arc structure takes over this season strongly from the start of the second quarter and refuses to let go. Once more we are introduced to a face from Angels past who is brought in to 'mix it up', and we start to see the seeds being sown for the dark conclusion to this season.
Aside from Angel, the supporting cast also get some good moment to shine. Cordy's growth of a character comes to a head in 'Birthday', a real treat of an episode full of what might have beens. Gunn even shines in 'That old gang of mine', an episode that opens the door for the wonderful Lorne to have a more direct involvement in proceedings. New addition Fred is very welcome in my mind, her character brings a new angle to the team, and Amy Acker herself is divine. If anyone draws the short straw in these episodes it is Wesley, who takes a back seat most of the time despite now being the leader. Oh, how that will change later on...
The golden age of Angel continues, this season being perhaps the most important in forming the mould which the show would continue to grow in in the next couple of years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angel's best season yet. All time must buy, 24 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Angel - Season 3 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [2000] (VHS Tape)
This is a fantastic box set. it has eleven episodes of angel season 3 which are amazingly consistent in quality. It opens strongly with Heartthrob an interesting episode that gets us back into the swing of things with angel and new character fred. Things run off from there and the pace only lets down in the first 2 or 3 episodes but even then it is fantastic. there is some great comedy (carpe noctem and fredless) character moments and amazing action. the first couple of eps are stand alone wiht a cool darla sub plot that matures into several amazing action packed episodes which change the dynamic in what you think is going to be a silly way but turns out to work alot better than expected. The new character of Fred is great too. What was shown of her alreeady made me think that she would be annoyiong but the skill of the writers mean that she is totally believeable. Cordelia grows even more and is given a spot light episode that ends this first half nicely after all the action and gives a great ending (along with a great episode). If you've never watched angel this will convert you. simply put despite it's own flavour and style this season picks up much of the sparkle that buffy is losing and uses it too great effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Angel Season 3 Box Set 1 - Can it survive alone?, 20 Mar 2005
This review is from: Angel - Season 3 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [2000] (VHS Tape)
Despite many story strands somewhat stretching belief, this half of "Angel"'s third season furthers a trend begun almost at its conception; consistently producing episodes stronger than that of its parent show, "Buffy the Vampire Slayer." Whether this is indicative of its strength or the latter's weakness is perhaps debatable, however, with unsurpassed moments of comedy ("Carpe Noctem"), drama ("Billy") and character development ("That Old Gang Of Mine," "Fredless," "Birthday"), it is clear that "Angel" has not suffered from its loss of crossovers with "Buffy;" on the contrary, it has been able to showcase its strengths and establish itself as an excellent show in its own right.
The pregnancy of Darla does, in my opinion, begin to show a slight spiral out of control, however, as the world built up by Joss Whedon & Co relies so heavily on its rules that when these rules begin to, for seemingly no clear reason, be broken, some element of trust between viewer and show is broken as well. If we have been led to believe that vampires cannot give birth, when they suddenly and irrationally do so it reeks of ratings winners and makes the whole show appear a little more ridiculous - of course its premise is exactly that, but the usually almost flawlessly constructed universe built up allows you to forget you are watching a show about a vampire with a soul and a penchant for hair gel and simply enjoy the forty-five minutes of quality entertainment. Also, the baby noises and faces do start to kill the Angel coolness we know and love.
Having said that, it's interesting to speculate where (in the words of Buffy) we go from here. Surely a demon fighting team can't have a newborn baby needing his nappy changed every time they need to stake something? And why hasn't Wesley done anything at all for weeks (incidentally, am I the only one who thinks his usually impeccable accent is starting to slip? Must be lack of practice.)? And WHAT is going on with Angel and Cordelia? It's a good thing they have abolished crossovers - if Buffy could see him now...
Overall, this half of the season, although flawed, has shown "Angel" is capable of something almost never achieved by spin-off shows - rivalling and often beating its original. Almost every episode of "Buffy" this season has been bettered by the equivalent "Angel." And whilst some factors are difficult to swallow, in general these eleven episodes have been entertaining and compelling, and although answering many questions, have opened up a whole lot more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than ever before., 4 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Angel - Season 3 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [2000] (VHS Tape)
Many people rubbished Angel as a series before it had time to get on its feet, Series one was good, season 2 was great and series 3 surpasses the show which spawned it. The deepening relationship between Angel and Cordelia and Gunn and Fred is beautifully juxtaposed against the gradual alienation of Wesley culminating in the biggest shock EVER in the Angelverse.
Whilst Buffy seems to be floundering, Angel just goes from strength to strength. I personally cannot wait untill Series 4- these clifhanger endings will be the death of me yet!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great improvement on the second series!!!, 20 May 2002
This review is from: Angel - Season 3 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [2000] (VHS Tape)
What can i say, this series is so much better than series 2, which ended up being extremely disappointing. This series starts strong as angel and the gang try to reorientate Fred into the world and angel is trying to get over the death of Buffy. But the reintroduction of darla and the twists that occure with this storyline is great, even the surprising couplings that appear are a shock and angel as a dad this has to be seen. What can i say five stars for a series that finally got back on its feet. A real improvement on the second series!!!Well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavenly!, 22 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Angel - Season 3 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [2000] (VHS Tape)
The FANTASTIC new series of Angel finally going to be on video - if you thought Season 2 was good, just wait 'til you see this lot!
Angel has a son (dont worry, it is explained!) and old friendships and alliances are broken and new are cemented.
Angel tries to come to terms with the loss of Buffy at the beginning of this season, but after a while it seems his attentions may be moving to another...Kye-rumption is the word.
Connor brings a whole new dimension to the team as does Fred and Groo, both whom we met in Pylea last season.
If you dont like this slicker, more mature vampire series, I will be stunned!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angel is better than ever!, 29 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Angel - Season 3 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [2000] (VHS Tape)
Angel is better than ever in its third season. Possibily taking over from Buffy as the best Cult Tv Series on television. With brilliant episodes such as 'Fredless'where Amy Acker gives her best performance, 'Billy' where Alexis Denisof and J August Richards give thrilling performances and the very funny and moving episode of 'Birthday' where Charisma Carpenter shows the audience how good an actress she is.
This season is more thirlling with the constant threat of Wolfram & Hart and the new 'big bad' and past enemy of Angelus, Holst come wreak havopc amonsgt 'Angel Investigations'.
Buy this box set and then wait for the next one!
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best season ever, 28 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Angel - Season 3 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [2000] (VHS Tape)
What can I say this is the best season of Angel so far and I loved the other two,so that is saying something.
This season has everything,great storylines,plenty of suspence,unexpected surprises,comedy and more besides.
The characters have all really developed and new girl Fred is a great addition.
All in all this is a must buy box set,you wont be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not worse or better, just darker, 1 Oct 2002
By 
C. Dawson "claired77" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angel - Season 3 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [2000] (VHS Tape)
I did and didn't enjoy season 3 as much as 1 and 2, simply because I found season 3 too dark and maudlin for my taste. Wesley's gradual alienation, Angel's heartache and Cordelia's trancendence, coupled with some bumbling around by Wolfram and Hart (less believable and more ridiculous as time goes on) left me feeling like I needed to see something lighthearted to cheer me up!
However, it was these dark elements that drew me back to see more episodes, as I was desperate to see some decent writing and a good plot to resolve some of the issues left hanging. The actors are obviously talented, but Fred can't always be stereotyped as absent-minded boffin, and Gunn definitely needs some fleshing out; if they leave these two characters as they are, there will be very little foundation for a fourth season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why is everybody insane?, 11 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Angel - Season 3 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [2000] (VHS Tape)
OK, first lets dispel any notions that this season of Angel is any better than the corresponding season of Buffy (that's seasons three and six respectively). It's really not. Essentially because however bad Buffy gets, unless Steven S. Deknight is involved, the writing on Buffy never sinks to the same depths that Angel has taken to exploring in the last couple of seasons. (It's interesting to note that the aforementioned Mr. Deknight has now joined the Angel writing staff; he's very excited you know).
Aside from the writing - which is pretty much an insurmountable obstacle - the whole character dynamic is just awful. There's no natural humour or repartee between the group despite what the writers seem to believe. Worse than that, they seem to have forgotten to give Gunn a character entirely. Now, I could be wrong but isn't it a tad bit offensive that his only defining characteristic is the fact that he's black? Come on can you think of another one? I guess he's a little impulsive but that's hardly enough. Buffy's characters were pretty much fully developed by the first exchange of the very first episode but Angel still can't get it right.
By this point in its lifetime Angel (the series) is pretty much witless in both senses of the word. If they just didn't attempt to do comedy then I could probably sit through the majority of the episodes without cringing. There is a little consolation by way of the fact that they attempt it less than they did at the end of the last season but that really isn't much of one. Half the time the only clue that a scene is meant to be comic, as opposed to just clumsily written, is those annoying little plucked violin sounds.
And it's not bad enough to have such dire attempts at comedy in the series but Angel is then prepared to undermine the entire foundation of its fantasy world for a quick joke - something that Buffy would never stoop to. While Buffy might casually undermine an overly emotional or dramatic scene for a joke, it woule never go so far as to compromise the integrity of its fantasy world. Sometimes this even emphasizes how human and real the characters are. Angel, though, is quite happy to take the viewer completely out of its world just to make some pointless, unfunny joke about a demon (or something).
But....there are some good things about the first half of the season. I mean, the plot is actually pretty good. With the return of the pregnant Darla and the birth of the baby, they've really thought out the things they can put Angel through and the new emotional places they can take him. Unfortunately, it's just not enough to redeem a series that so carelessly discarded all its credibility at the end of the last season.
Would someone explain how the rest of the world can still take this series seriously? How come in the US it's been hailed as its best season yet? Why have all these customer reviews given it five stars?
Really, I'm confused and I don't think I can voice my anger at the world without launching into torrent of expletives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angel - Season 3 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [2000]
Angel - Season 3 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [2000] by David Boreanaz (VHS Tape - 2002)
£6.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews